S. Elsasser v. UCBR
CourtCommonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Date FiledNovember 3, 2026
Docket607 C.D. 2025
JudgeTSAI
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Stephanie Elsasser, :
Petitioner :
:
v. :
:
Unemployment Compensation :
Board of Review, : No. 607 C.D. 2025
Respondent : Submitted: July 24, 2026
BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, President Judge
HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge
HONORABLE STELLA M. TSAI, Judge
OPINION
BY JUDGE TSAI FILED: November 3, 2026
Petitioner Stephanie Elsasser (Claimant) petitions, pro se, for a review of an
order of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board) that affirmed
a Referee’s decision that held Claimant ineligible for benefits pursuant to
Section 402(b) of the Unemployment Compensation Law (Law), relating to
voluntary resignation without cause of a necessitous and compelling nature.1 Upon
review, we affirm.
I. BACKGROUND
Claimant filed a claim for unemployment compensation benefits effective
July 21, 2024, following her resignation from employment with Great Lakes
Services L.L.C./Great Wolf Lodge (Employer). Certified Record (C.R.) at CR64.
1
Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43
P.S.§ 802(b). Section 402(b) of the Law provides, in part, that “an employe[e] shall be ineligible
for compensation for any week . . . in which his unemployment was due to voluntarily leaving
work without cause of a necessitous and compelling nature.”
The Department of Labor and Industry’s (Department) Office of Unemployment
Compensation Benefits (UC Office) issued a Disqualifying Separation
Determination (Determination), concluding that Claimant was ineligible for benefits
under Section 402(b) of the Law. Id. The Determination provided that Claimant
“did not inform [her] employer of [her] work limitations.” Id. Claimant appealed
the Determination. Id. at CR79.
A Referee conducted a hearing. Id. at CR175. At Claimant’s request, the
Referee admitted dozens of pages of medical records into the record. Id. at CR183.
Claimant, assisted by counsel, testified on her own behalf, and Employer presented
the testimony of Karen Clark, who is employed by Employer as a manager. Id. at
CR179.
Claimant testified that she began working for employer in October 2021. Id.
at CR184-CR185. Claimant explained that she resigned from a position as a front
desk agent at Employer on July 15, 2024, because of “health reasons,” citing that the
“stress and the toxic environment” was taxing on her. Id. at CR185, CR188. She
stated that “ever since [she] had [an] episode where [she] passed out and had to go
to the hospital, [her] doctor wanted [her] to leave” her employment because it was
“too much, health-wise.” Id. at CR185. She explained that her doctor placed her on
medication for stress, but it did not work well. Id. She testified that she was sick
every month and had pneumonia during her last year, which resulted in bronchial
tube spasms and her having to use an inhaler. Id. Claimant testified that, “after the
bronchial spasm, it was time to leave and follow [her] doctor’s recommendation.”
Id.
As to her work environment, Claimant testified that it got worse after the new
building opened in September 2023, because they started having as many as 500 or
2
more guests checking in. Id. at CR185-CR186. When asked about her having
worked for an additional nine months after the new building opened, she explained
that she tried to stay there as long as she could because she enjoyed it; her health,
however, got worse and worse. Id. at CR168.
More specifically, Claimant testified that she suffered a minor stroke while
working on November 12, 2023, and had to be transported to the hospital. Id.
Claimant testified that she informed her manager “about the stress level” and that it
was “affecting her health.” Id. Her manager, who Claimant asserts knew about her
stroke, told Claimant that she thought “it would be advisable if [Claimant] cut back
on [her] hours.” Id. Claimant testified that she reduced her working hours from 40
hours per week to 32 hours per week in December 2023. Id. at CR187-CR188.
However, as she subsequently developed pneumonia and a permanent bronchial
wheeze for which she uses a powder atomizer, Claimant testified that she “could no
longer perform the essential . . . functions” of the job. Id. at CR188-CR189.
When questioned as to whether she asked Employer for a different type of
job, Claimant stated that Employer “never mentioned that there was any other thing
available to [her] when she gave [her] notice.” Id. at CR 189. As to whether she
notified Employer as to any medical restrictions before she left her job, Claimant
testified that Employer “knew of [her] restrictions, because [one manager] was
holding . . . her medication in the event [Claimant] needed it while . . . on the job.”
Id. at CR189. According to Claimant, “working in another department or . . . in a
different position would have been worse, because it would have been [customer
complaint] calls.” Id. Claimant testified she is looking for a position in the customer
service field but not in hospitality. Id. at CR190. Claimant also testified that her
doctor wrote a letter dated July 24, 2024 (July 2024 letter), that recommended that
3
Claimant seek alternative employment. Id. at CR188. A review of the July 24, 2024
letter from Claimant’s physician reveals that the physician recommended that
Claimant “seek alternative employment . . . for continued health concerns.” Id. at
CR34. He further stated that Claimant “has been treated for multiple medical
concerns, some of which [were] life threatening, during her period of employment,
and feel alternative employment would benefit her long[-]term health status.” Id.
On cross-examination, Claimant confirmed that the July 2024 letter was
prepared by her doctor after she resigned her employment for the purpose of
submitting something in writing to the Referee. Id. at CR190. Claimant also
affirmed that, in all cases with the exception of one, the medical records in the record
regarding Claimant’s health stated that she had no restrictions to return to work. Id.
Claimant explained that when she got sick, she would heal then get sick again the
following month due to the amount of germs in the workplace. Id. With regard to
the incident when she went to the hospital in November 12, 2023, the note from the
hospital physician indicated that she was under a physician’s care from November
11-13, 2023, and could return to work on November 17, 2023. Id. at CR191.
During Claimant’s testimony, Employer attempted to dispute the reason for
the visit to the hospital, citing an incident report that indicated that Claimant became
light-headed after taking some pain medication and was told by Employer to rest and
go home; Claimant disputed the accuracy of the incident report, asserting she is
allergic to the type of pain medication mentioned in the report. Id. at CR191-CR192.
Employer’s witness, Karen Clark (Clark), testified that Claimant submitted a
resignation letter on July 5, 2024, stating that she was resigning due to health reasons
and her last day of employment would be July 19, 2025. Id. at CR192. Clark stated
that Claimant worked her time and left on a “re-hirable” status. Id. Clark testified
4
that Claimant never indicated that she had work restrictions or that she was seeking
alternative employment opportunities with Employer; Claimant’s resignation notice
indicated that Claimant verbally spoke with the manager to resign for ongoing health
concerns and a plan for open-heart surgery that was scheduled for the end of the
month. Id.
Following the hearing, the Referee affirmed the Determination and made the
following findings of fact:
1. [C]laimant last worked as a fulltime front desk agent for [Employer]
beginning employment on October 21, 2021, with a last day worked
on July 15, 2024.
2. While employed[,] [C]laimant had multiple health issues, including
but not limited to a stroke and pneumonia.
3. On July 5, 2024, [C]laimant notified [E]mployer that July 19, 2024,
was to be her last day of work due to health issues.
4. On July 15, 2024, [C]laimant quit her job.
5. [C]laimant did not notify [E]mployer of any work restrictions at the
time of resigning the job.
6. [C]laimant is able to work in a non-hospitality work environment.
Id. at CR197.
The Referee found to be incredible Claimant’s assertions that “[E]mployer
knew [about] her health restriction due to her manager ‘holding’ her medication and
the stress of the job causing health issues.” Id. As for the Referee’s reasoning, the
Referee wrote:
In the present case [C]laimant testified on July 15, 2024, she quit the
job due to health issues. [C]laimant’s assertions that [E]mployer knew
her health restriction due to her manager “holding” her medication and
the stress of the job causing health issues are found to be incredible.
Moreover, [C]laimant continued working for an extended period under
the same conditions. [E]mployer[’s] witness testified [C]laimant did
not notify [E]mployer of any work restrictions at the time of
resignation. As such, the Referee cannot find that . . . Claimant has
established a necessitous and compelling reason for leaving
5
employment at the time . . . or that . . . Claimant acted with ordinary
common sense and made a good faith effort to preserve the
employment. Accordingly, benefits must be denied under Section
402(b) of the . . . Law.
Id. at CR197. Claimant appealed the Referee’s decision to the Board. Id. at CR208.
The Board adopted and incorporated the Referee’s findings of fact and
conclusions of law and affirmed the Referee’s decision. Id. at CR225. In so doing,
the Board reasoned:
Based on a review of the record, the Board concludes . . . [C]laimant
did not meet her burden of showing that her reasons for quitting were
necessitous and compelling under Section 402(b) of the Law. The
record established . . . [C]laimant quit due to health issues. However,
. . . [C]laimant provided insufficient evidence to establish that she
brought these issues to the attention of . . . [E]mployer prior to quitting.
. . . [C]laimant did not inform . . . [E]mployer of her health issues prior
to quitting and failed to give . . . [E]mployer any opportunity to provide
an accommodation. Additionally, . . . [C]laimant did not establish that
seeking an accommodation would be futile. As such, . . . [C]laimant
failed to meet her burden under Section 402(b) of the Law.
Id.
II. ISSUES
On appeal to this Court,2 Claimant essentially challenges whether there is
substantial evidence to support the Board’s finding of fact number 5, which provides
that Claimant “did not notify [E]mployer of any work restrictions at the time of
resigning the job.” Claimant’s Br. at 2. Claimant also argues that the Board erred
in concluding that she lacked a necessitous and compelling reason to terminate
employment. Id.
III. DISCUSSION
A. SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE
2
This Court’s review of a Board order is limited to determining whether the findings of
fact are supported by substantial evidence, whether errors of law were committed, or whether
constitutional rights were violated. 2 Pa. C.S. § 704.
6
Substantial evidence is “evidence upon which a reasonable mind could base a
conclusion.” Henderson v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 77 A.3d 699, 718 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 2013). In determining whether there is substantial evidence to support the
Board’s findings, this Court must examine the testimony in the light most favorable
to the prevailing party, giving that party the benefit of any inferences that can
logically and reasonably be drawn from the evidence. Johnson v. Unemployment
Comp. Bd. of Rev., 502 A.2d 738, 740 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1986). A determination as to
whether substantial evidence exists to support a finding of fact can only be made
upon examination of the whole record. Taylor v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev.,
378 A.2d 829, 831 (Pa. 1977). The Board’s findings of fact are conclusive on appeal
if there is substantial evidence in the record to support them. Penflex Inc. v. Bryson,
485 A.2d 359, 365 (Pa. 1984). Even if there is evidence of record to the contrary,
the Board’s findings of fact are binding on our Court when supported by substantial
evidence. Johnson v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 504 A.2d 989, 990 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 1986).
In support of her substantial evidence challenge, Claimant points to her
testimony at the Referee hearing, which she asserts establishes that she informed
Employer of her medical restrictions prior to terminating employment. Specifically,
Claimant notes that she testified that she “told [her manager] about the stress level
. . . [and] that it was affecting [her] health.” Id. at CR186. Claimant also points to
testimony where she claimed that Employer knew of “[her] restrictions” because one
manager was holding her medication. Id. at CR189. This was not credited by the
Board. Id. at CR235. Claimant never testified that she informed Employer of any
medical restrictions prior to leaving her employment. Conversely, Clark testified
that Claimant never notified Employer of any work restrictions either during her
7
employment or at the time of her resignation. Id. at CR192. Although Claimant
entered medical records into evidence, the record does not show that she provided
those documents to Employer during her employment. As Claimant presented
insufficient evidence to establish that she had ever informed Employer of any work
restrictions, we conclude that substantial evidence exists to support the Board’s
finding of fact number 5.3
B. ERROR OF LAW
Next, we will address Claimant’s argument that the Board erred in concluding
that Claimant lacked a necessitous and compelling reason to terminate employment.
A claimant has the burden of proving that the claimant had a “necessitous and
compelling reason” to terminate employment, which results from “real and
substantial” pressure to terminate employment and which would “compel a
reasonable person under the circumstances to act in the same manner.” Taylor, 378
A.2d at 832-33. To meet this burden, the claimant must generally demonstrate that
the claimant took “all necessary and reasonable steps to preserve the employment
relationship.” PECO Energy Co. v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 682 A.2d 58,
60-61 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1996). The purpose of the “reasonable steps to preserve
employment” requirement is to allow an employer to “accommodate a claimant’s
3
Claimant appears to argue that the Referee and Board discarded or disregarded her
medical records, as they did not consider them. The certified record includes the medical records
that Claimant introduced at the hearing. C.R. at CR34-CR62; CR182-CR183. As noted above,
Claimant did not testify that she gave any of these medical records to Employer, and, therefore,
the records do not establish that Claimant provided the requisite notice of her medical conditions
or restrictions to Employer prior to her resignation. Moreover, the records did not inform
Employer of any work restrictions imposed on Claimant at the time of her resignation. To the
extent that the medical records document bouts of illness, we observe that neither the Referee nor
the Board found that Claimant did not have health issues. As such, we see no error on the part of
the Referee or the Board with regard to Claimant’s medical records.
8
problem by offering suitable work.” Fox v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 522
A.2d 713, 715 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1987) (emphasis in original).
Our courts have held that a medical condition that limits a person’s ability to
perform work duties can provide a “necessitous and compelling reason to quit one’s
employment.” St. Clair Hosp. v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 154 A.3d 401,
405 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2017). To establish that a medical condition qualifies as a
“necessitous and compelling reason” for termination, a claimant must “(1) establish,
via competent evidence the existence of a medical condition; (2) inform the employer
of the condition; and (3) be able and available to work if a reasonable
accommodation can be made.” Id. at 405 (emphasis added). Our Supreme Court
has opined:
Where an employee because of a physical condition[] can no longer
perform his regular duties, he must be available for suitable work,
consistent with the medical condition, to remain eligible for benefits.
However, once he has communicated his medical problem to the
employer and explained his inability to perform the regularly assigned
duties, an employee can do no more.
Genetin v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 451 A.2d 1353, 1356 (Pa. 1982).
A claimant’s failure to notify an employer of work restrictions may not
preclude the claimant from establishing necessitous and compelling reasons for
terminating employment if the claimant can establish that notifying the employer
would have been futile. See Hoffman v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 528 A.2d
1050 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1987). In Hoffman, the unemployment compensation claimant
was a custodial worker who faced serious health problems. The claimant’s doctor
advised her to seek lighter work duties and imposed restrictions on her lifting,
stooping, and bending. The claimant did not provide her employer with medical
documentation attesting to the severity or presence of a medical condition, and the
claimant did not inform her employer of the fact that she could perform work with
9
restrictions. Based on those circumstances, the Board concluded that the claimant
“did not take the necessary steps to preserve her employment” and reversed the
referee’s award of benefits. Id. at 1057.
On appeal, this Court in Hoffman reversed the order of the Board. We
concluded that the Board improperly denied benefits. We focused our analysis on
the concept of futility, noting that the claimant elicited testimony from the employer
that, even if the employer had known of the claimant’s medical condition and work
restrictions, it could not have offered the claimant a suitable alternative position. We
opined that, “although an employer is under no duty to offer alternative employment
to an employee when the employee’s account of her medical condition is admittedly
vague, this failure to properly communicate is not fatal to eligibility under
Section 402(b)[ of the Law]4 when evidence in the record shows that no suitable
work would have been available.” Hoffman, 528 A.2d at 1053. In reaching that
conclusion, we reasoned:
We do not believe that under Genetin, a claimant’s only duty is to
communicate that she is in ill-health and quitting. The Genetin decision
interpreted the [Law] to place the onus on the employer, not the
employee, to initiate the quest for an alternate position but an employer
cannot undertake such a responsibility unless it is aware that the
employee is permitted to do some type of work.
Hoffman, 582 A.2d at 1052. We emphasized in Hoffman that the claimant in that
case “cannot be considered to have accurately communicated her medical condition
to [the] employer in a manner which would enable a transfer to a lighter duty
position.” Id.
4
It appears to the Court that the Hoffman opinion mistakenly referred to Section 402(b)(1)
of the Law rather than Section 402(b) of the Law.
10
The framework set forth above for analyzing medical conditions for purposes
of necessitous and compelling reasons to terminate employment requires this Court
to consider whether the finding that “[C]laimant did not notify [E]mployer of any
work restrictions at the time of resigning the job” precludes Claimant from receiving
benefits. C.R. at CR197. For the reasons that follow, we conclude that Claimant’s
failure to notify Employer of the nature of her medical conditions and associated
restrictions that she contends form the basis for compelling and necessitous reasons
to quit is fatal to Claimant’s unemployment compensation claim.
Although Claimant contends that her medical conditions constitute
necessitous and compelling reasons for terminating her employment, a review of the
record reveals that the nature of any medical condition that existed at the time
Claimant resigned is unclear and vague. Consistent with this point, the Referee
found that “[C]laimant had multiple health issues, including but not limited to a
stroke and pneumonia.” Id. More importantly, however, Claimant has not explained
what restrictions, if any, her medical conditions require. Unlike in Hoffman, there
is no testimony describing work restrictions imposed on Claimant due to any medical
condition. Claimant’s lack of specificity as to the nature of any work restrictions she
had at the time of resignation makes it impossible for Claimant to establish that any
attempts by Employer to accommodate actual, medically necessitated work
restrictions would have been futile. See Hoffman, 528 A.2d at 1052. Claimant’s
testimony that one of the other jobs available at Employer’s workplace would be
“worse” than the job from which she resigned does not save Claimant’s claim. See
C.R. at CR189. Claimant’s testimony rejecting other jobs potentially available at
Employer’s workplace appeared to be based on her dissatisfaction with work within
the hospitality industry and not based on her inability to perform other jobs due to
11
specified work restrictions. Thus, the testimony would not support a determination
of futility.
For the reasons set forth above, we conclude that the Board did not err in
concluding that Claimant failed to establish necessitous and compelling reasons for
terminating her employment.
IV. CONCLUSION
Accordingly, we affirm the order of the Board.
__________________________________
STELLA M. TSAI, Judge
12
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Stephanie Elsasser, :
Petitioner :
:
v. :
:
Unemployment Compensation :
Board of Review, :
Respondent : No. 607 C.D. 2025
ORDER
AND NOW, this 3rd day of November, 2026, the order of the Unemployment
Compensation Board of Review is AFFIRMED.
__________________________________
STELLA M. TSAI, Judge