Dennis R. Tanner v. Jamie D. Tanner
CourtDistrict Court of Appeal of Florida
Date FiledOctober 20, 2021
Docket2D20-3042
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF FLORIDA
SECOND DISTRICT
DENNIS R. TANNER,
Appellant,
v.
JAMIE D. TANNER,
Appellee.
No. 2D20-3042
October 20, 2021
Appeal from the Circuit Court for Polk County; Catherine L.
Combee, Judge.
Jean M. Henne of Jean M. Henne, P.A., Winter Haven, for
Appellant.
Samuel A. Walker of CPLS, P.A., Orlando; and Tee Persad of CPLS,
P.A., Orlando, (substituted as Counsel of record), for Appellee.
MORRIS, Chief Judge.
Dennis R. Tanner, the former husband, appeals an order
denying his supplemental petition for modification of the final
judgment of dissolution of marriage and granting a motion for
contempt and enforcement filed by Jamie D. Tanner, the former
wife. We reverse the portions of the order relating to alimony.
The parties' thirty-three-year marriage was dissolved in
January 2016. The final judgment of dissolution required the
former husband to pay permanent periodic alimony to the former
wife in the amount of $1,000 per month. This amount was based
on findings that the former husband earned $4,993.73 per month
and that the former wife earned $432 per month. The final
judgment recognized that "the [former] husband was nearing what
is considered the standard retirement age of 65 and that upon
retirement, the [former] husband's ability to pay alimony and the
[former] wife's need may be greatly diminished, possibly requiring a
modification, once all matters are considered by the Court at that
time."
In September 2018, the former husband filed a supplemental
petition for modification of the final judgment of dissolution,
seeking to reduce or eliminate the alimony award based on a
substantial change in circumstances. He alleged that he was
required to take an early retirement and that his medical condition
prevented him from finding comparable employment. In June
2
2020, the former wife filed a motion for contempt and enforcement,
arguing, among other things, that the former husband had stopped
paying the required alimony. After an evidentiary hearing in August
2020, the trial court denied the former husband's supplemental
petition, finding that his early retirement at age sixty-four was
unreasonable. The trial court also found the former husband in
contempt of the final judgment of dissolution for failing to pay
alimony after filing the petition for modification and for failing to
maintain a life insurance policy for the alimony. The trial court
ordered the former husband to pay an alimony arrearage in the
amount of $25,000. The trial court also made rulings on other
issues not relevant to this appeal.
On appeal, the former husband argues that the trial court
erred in finding that he had not established a substantial change in
circumstances warranting a modification of alimony. He contends
that his retirement was reasonable, based on his age and failing
health.
In moving to modify an existing alimony support order, a
"petitioner must show 'that (1) there has been a substantial change
in circumstances, (2) the change was not contemplated at the time
3
of the final judgment of dissolution, and (3) the change is sufficient,
material, permanent, and involuntary.' " Dogoda v. Dogoda, 233 So.
3d 484, 486 (Fla. 2d DCA 2017) (quoting Jarrard v. Jarrard, 157 So.
3d 332, 336 (Fla. 2d DCA 2015)). "[R]etirement, if reasonable, can
support the finding of a substantial change in circumstances." Id.
(citing Pimm v. Pimm, 601 So. 2d 534, 535 (Fla. 1992)).
In determining whether a voluntary retirement is
reasonable, the court must consider the payor's age,
health, and motivation for retirement, as well as the type
of work the payor performs and the age at which others
engaged in that line of work normally retire. The age of
sixty-five years has become the traditional and
presumptive age of retirement for American workers . . . .
Based upon this widespread acceptance of sixty-five as
the normal retirement age, we find that one would have a
significant burden to show that a voluntary retirement
before the age of sixty-five is reasonable. Even at the age
of sixty-five or later, a payor spouse should not be
permitted to unilaterally choose voluntary retirement if
this choice places the receiving spouse in peril of poverty.
Thus, the court should consider the needs of the
receiving spouse and the impact a termination or
reduction of alimony would have on him or her. In
assessing those needs, the court should consider any
assets which the receiving spouse has accumulated or
received since the final judgment as well as any income
generated by those assets.
Pimm, 601 So. 2d at 537.
At the hearing in August 2020, the former husband was sixty-
six years old. He had retired in August 2018, six months before he
4
turned sixty-five, because his employer had informed him it was
unable to accommodate his return to work after he had taken a
leave of absence and received short-term disability benefits. He had
no intention of going back to work because he was unable to
continue to perform the duties he had been performing for forty
years as an electrical instrument technician. He was required to
work twelve-hour shifts that consisted of manual labor, and he was
no longer in a physical condition to be able to work such shifts
because he suffers from COPD, diabetes, and multiple sclerosis.
The former husband made the decision to retire based on his health
condition.
In its order, the trial court found that none of the former
husband's health issues prevented him from working in his current
position and none were supported by his employer's insurance
carrier. The trial court made reference to a letter from his
employer, which stated that the carrier denied continuation of his
short-term disability benefits and that his employer had stated that
it was "unable to accommodate [his] return to work with or without
a reasonable accommodation." However, there was no evidence
explaining or interpreting this letter from his employer, explaining
5
or interpreting the denial of benefits from the carrier after he had
received four months of short-term disability benefits from the
carrier, or otherwise showing that the former husband did not
suffer from the health issues to which he testified at the hearing. In
light of the former husband's age, the unrefuted evidence of the
former husband's health issues, and the nature of his work, the
trial court erred in finding that the former husband's retirement
was unreasonable. The former husband was six months shy of the
presumptive age of retirement, and he presented evidence that he
was unable to continue to perform the work he had been doing for
forty years. See Holder v. Lopez, 274 So. 3d 518, 521 (Fla. 1st DCA
2019) (holding that former husband's retirement as a trucker at age
sixty-five was reasonable where there was evidence that he had a
variety of physical limitations).
Even if it was unreasonable for the former husband to retire
early, it was reasonable for him to retire at sixty-five based on the
presumptive age of retirement and the facts of this case. The trial
court failed to consider the former wife's needs at the time of the
former husband's retirement, as required by Pimm. The trial court
found that the former wife receives a monthly disability of $550, but
6
the former wife testified that in addition to her disability benefit, she
also now receives $693.15 from the former husband's pension. The
trial court failed to consider this pension income, as well as the fact
that the former wife is not in peril of poverty. The former wife's
monthly expenses are $1053, but she currently earns more than
that in disability and pension payments. The continuation of
permanent periodic alimony exceeds the former wife's needs. See
Rosecan v. Springer, 845 So. 2d 927, 929 (Fla. 4th DCA 2003)
("Absent special circumstances which do not appear in the
judgment, an alimony award should not exceed a spouse's need.
One spouse's need is a crucial component in the alimony equation."
(citation omitted)).
Further, the trial court appeared to find, and the former wife
argues on appeal, that the final judgment of dissolution
contemplated the former husband's retirement when it awarded
permanent periodic alimony. That is an unreasonable
interpretation of the final judgment. The final judgment simply
acknowledged the presumptive retirement age, as the law does, and
the final judgment explicitly stated that the former husband's
impending retirement may require a modification.
7
In sum, the trial court erred in denying the former husband's
supplemental petition for modification, and therefore, we reverse
the order on appeal at it relates to alimony. The former husband's
petition should have been granted retroactive to the date of his
filing. See Thyrre v. Thyrre, 963 So. 2d 859, 862 (Fla. 2d DCA
2007) ("Retroactivity is the rule rather than the exception which
guides the trial court's application of discretion when modification
of alimony or child support is granted." (quoting DeSantis v. Smith,
634 So. 2d 796, 797 (Fla. 4th DCA 1994))). Accordingly, the award
of alimony arrearage in the amount of $25,000 must also be
reversed. In addition, because a change in alimony should have
been granted and an alimony arrearage is no longer required to be
paid, the portion of the order requiring the former husband to
maintain a life insurance policy and finding him in contempt for
failing to maintain the policy is also reversed. We affirm the
remainder of the order, as it is not challenged on appeal and does
not relate to alimony.
Affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded.
SILBERMAN and LaROSE, JJ., Concur.
8
Opinion subject to revision prior to official publication.
9