John Brooks, Father of Madison Brooks v. C.B., LLC, d_b_a Reggie&39;s Bar
CourtLouisiana Court of Appeal
Date FiledNovember 6, 2026
Docket2026 CA 0444
StatusUnknown
๐ฐ News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
TATE OF LOUISIANA
COURT OF APPEAL
FIRST CIRCUIT
NO. 2026 CA 0444
JOHN BROOKS, FATHER OF MADISON BROOKS
jQ5 VERSUS
C. B., LLC D/B/ A C." GIE' S BAR, DARIN P. ADAMS, ABC
INSURANCE COMPANY, JOHN LANDRY, DEF INSURANCE
COMPANY, BARTENDER NO. I, BARTENDER NO. 2,
BARTENDER NO. 3, BARTENDER NO. 4, ANDY GLENECK,
ALEX SCHEXNAYDER, LANDON REES, JACKSON ROBICHAUX,
XYZ INSURANCE COMPANY, XXX INSURANCE COMPANY,
KAIVON WASHINGTON, DESMOND CARTER, CASEN CARVER,
EVERETT LEE, JAMES HAYWARD, JR., SAFECO INSURANCE
COMPANY LYFT, INC. & STATE FARM FIRE & CASUALTY
Consolidated with
ASHLEY BAUSTET, MOTHER OF MADISON BROOKS
VERSUS
C.B., LLC D/B/ A REGGIE' S BAR, 242 INVESTMENTS, LLC,
DARIN P. ADAMS, JOHN LANDRY, ANDY GLENECK, ALEX
SCHEXNAYDER, LANDON REES, JACKSON ROBICHAUX,
ZACHARY BOTT, KAYDEN DYKES, NOAH FREDERICK JAMES
RIVER INSURANCE COMPANY, USAA CASUALTY INSURANCE
COMPANY, ABC INSURANCE COMPANY, DEF INSURANCE
COMPANY, GHI INSURANCE COMPANY, XYZ INSURANCE
Judgment Rendered:
NOV0 b 2026
On Appeal from the
19th Judicial District Court
Parish of East Baton Rouge, State of Louisiana
Trial Court No. 738084 c/ w Trial Court No. 742919
The Honorable Tiffany Foxworth-Roberts, Judge Presiding
David I. Courcelle Attorneys for Plaintiff -1 st Appellant,
Scott C. Stansbury John Brooks, Father of
Bernard A. Dupuy Madison Brooks
Metairie, Louisiana
Kerry J. Miller Attorneys for Plaintiff 2
- nd Appellant,
Danielle C. Teutonico Ashley Baustert, Mother of
Monica L. Bergeron Madison Brooks
Brennan F. O' Keefe
Daniel J. Dysart
New Orleans, Louisiana
Steven W. Usdin Attorneys for Defendant -Appellee
Stephen R. Klaffky James River Insurance Company
Laura M. Blockmann
New Orleans, Louisiana
Matthew L. Mann Attorneys for Defendant -Appellee
Kirk D. Pfefferle USAA Casualty Insurance Company
Adrienne D. Rachel
Stetson S. Aubrey
Beau E. Ackal
Gabrielle E. Miller
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
William C. Helm Attorneys for Defendant -Appellee
Brittney M. Reed 242 Investments, LLC
Colton J. Hilgenkamp
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Matthew W. Bailey Attorneys for Defendants -Appellees
Katherine M. Cook C. B., LLC d/ b/ a Reggie' s Bar, Darin
Catherine A. Rutherford -Kidder P. Adams & John Landry
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Shelby S. Talley Attorneys for Defendant -Appellee
Arita M.L. Bohannan Andrew Gleneck
Caitlyn L. Mayer
Landis Silva Prestigiacomo
Kenner, Louisiana
Joseph J. Long Attorney for Defendant -Appellee
Baton Rouge, Louisiana Casen Carver
2
Robert T. Garrity, Jr. Attorneys for Defendants -Appellees
Pierre W. Mouledoux Landon Rees & Everett Lee
Harahan,, Louisiana
Felix " Andy" DeJean, IV Attorney for Defendant -Appellee
Baton Rouge, Louisiana Alex Schexnayder
Jackson Robichaux In proper person -Defendant -Appellee
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
11011111
3
WOLFE, J.
In this consolidated appeal, Appellants, John Brooks, father of Madison
Brooks, and Ashley Baustert, mother of Madison Brooks, appeal a summary
judgment in favor of Appellee, USAA Casualty Insurance Company (" USAA"), and
dismissing all of the Appellants' claims against USAA with prejudice. For the
following reasons, we affirm the judgment.
Tragically, in the early morning hours of January 15, 2023, Madison Brooks,
who was nineteen years old at the time, was struck and killed by a vehicle on
Burbank Drive in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The evening before, on January 14, 2023,
she had visited a bar owned by C. B., LLC d/ b/ a Reggie' s Bar (" Reggie' s Bar"),
which was located near the Louisiana State University campus. Despite being under
the legal age to drink in Louisiana, Appellants maintain that managers, bartenders,
and employees of Reggie' s Bar served Madison numerous drinks until she left the
bar after 1: 00 a.m. in the morning. Appellants allege that Madison was visibly
intoxicated and fell down at least four times in front of Reggie' s Bar employees.
Madison left Reggie' s Bar in a vehicle with four individuals who had also been
patrons of the bar, Kaivon Washington, Desmond Carter, Casen Carver, and Everett
Lee.
After leaving Reggie' s Bar, Appellants assert that Washington and Carter
sexually assaulted Madison in the back seat of the car, which was recorded by Carver
on his cell phone. Appellants claim that Madison was then let out of the vehicle on
a dark, busy street and was fatally struck by a different vehicle on Burbank Drive.
Washington, Carter, Carver, and Lee were all charged criminally in the death of
Madison.
0
A wrongful death and survival suit was originally filed by John Brooks on
September 15, 2023. Ashley Baustert filed a separate lawsuit on January 16, 2024.'
Shortly thereafter, the East Baton Rouge District Attorney' s Office filed a Motion
to Stay Discovery in Civil Matters in Accordance with La. C. C.P. art. 1426. 12 due
to the pending criminal cases. After a contradictory hearing held on April 22, 2024,
the trial court orally granted the motion to stay discovery.
The Appellants maintain that at the time of the underlying events Landon
Rees, USAA' s insured, was a manager and/ or bartender at Reggie' s Bar. Both
Appellants make allegations that the bartenders, managers, and other employees
breached a duty to refrain from serving alcohol to Madison, an underage patron who
was visibly intoxicated, and to ensure her safety given her inebriated state.
USAA issued a homeowner' s policy and an umbrella policy that included
Rees as an insured. USAA moved for summary judgment, asserting that the business
pursuits exclusion in each policy applied; there was no coverage for the allegations
made by Appellants; and it should be dismissed with prejudice. Attached as exhibits
to the motion are John Brooks' s petition and first supplemental and amending
petition; Ashley Baustert' s petition; USAA' s homeowner' s policy; and USAA' s
3
umbrella policy.
I Each parent of Madison Brooks filed separate lawsuits that have been consolidated by the trial
court for all purposes. See John Brooks, Father of Madison Brooks v. C.B., LLC, et al., 19th
Judicial District Court, Docket No. 738084 and Ashley Baustert, Mother of Madison Brooks, v.
C.B., LLC, et al., 19th Judicial District Court, Docket No. 742919.
2 Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure article 1426. 1 provides, in pertinent part, " Upon motion of
the district attorney in a criminal proceeding, a court having jurisdiction over any related pending
civil action or proceeding may, in the interests of justice and for good cause shown after a
contradictory hearing with all parties in the civil action, stay all or a portion of discovery sought
in such civil action or proceeding."
3 On January 17, 2024, John Brooks also filed a second supplemental and amending petition.
USAA filed its motion for summary judgment on April 7, 2025. However, no party attached the
second supplemental and amending petition to either the motion for summary judgment or
opposition thereto. Additionally, no party referenced the second supplemental and amending
petition as an exhibit. Under La. C. C. P. art. 966( D)( 2), we may consider only those documents
filed in support of or in opposition to the motion for summary judgment or referenced thereto as
I
Both Appellants opposed the motion for summary judgment and attached an
affidavit of attorney Monica L. Bergeron explaining that there had been no
opportunity for discovery given the trial court' s stay.
After a hearing, the trial court granted summary judgment in favor of USAA
in both consolidated cases, dismissing Appellants' claims against USAA with
prejudice. This judgment was reduced to writing and signed on October 14, 2025.
Both John Brooks and Ashley Baustert filed devolutive appeals from that judgment.
This court has consolidated those appeals.
ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR
Appellants maintain that the trial court erred in ( 1) granting USAA' s motion
for summary judgment with prejudice; ( 2) determining that there could be no
coverage under the policies; and ( 3) finding that all claims in the petitions were
excluded by the business pursuits exclusion in both the homeowner' s and umbrella
policies. Appellants further contend that the trial court erred in finding that
disposition of USAA' s motion for summary judgment was ripe for determination in
light of the fact that discovery in this matter is stayed due to the pending criminal
cases.
LAW AND DISCUSSION
Motion for Summary JudgMent
A motion for summary judgment is a procedural device used when there is no
genuine issue of material fact for all or part of the relief prayed for by a litigant.
Murphy v. Savannah, . 2018- 0991 ( La. 5/ 8/ 19), 282 So. 3d 1034, 1038. The
summary judgment procedure is favored and is designed to secure the just, speedy,
and inexpensive determination of civil actions. La. C. C. P. art. 966( A)(2). After an
an exhibit. S& P Investments, LLC v. Nguyen, 2020- 0602 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 1/ 25/ 21), 319 So. 3d
864, 867; Go -Graphics of New Orleans, LLC v. Regional Transit Authority, 2025- 0255 ( La.
App. 4th Cir. 12/ 22/ 25), 430 So. 3d 552, 556 n. l, writ denied, 2026- 00103 ( La. 4/ 09/ 26), 429 So. 3d
726. Therefore, we may not consider on appeal the second supplemental and amending petition
filed by John Brooks.
opportunity for adequate discovery, a motion for summary judgment shall be granted
if the motion, memorandum, and supporting documents show that there is no
genuine issue as to material fact and that the mover is entitled to judgment as a matter
of law. La. C. C.P. art. 966( A)( 3).
If the mover will not bear the burden of proof at trial on the issue that is before
the court on the motion for summary judgment, he is not required to negate all
essential elements of the adverse party' s claim, action, or defense; instead, the mover
must point out to the court the absence of factual support for one or more elements
essential to the adverse party' s claim, action, or defense. The burden is on the
adverse party to produce factual support sufficient to establish the existence of a
genuine issue of material fact or that the mover is not entitled to judgment as a matter
of law. La. C. C.P. art. 9660)( 1).
A genuine issue of material fact is one as to which reasonable persons could
disagree; if reasonable persons could reach only one conclusion, there is no need for
trial on that issue and summary judgment is appropriate. Higgins v. Williams
Energy Partner, L.P., 2017- 1662 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 4/ 10/ 19), 280 So. 3d 195, 203,
writ denied, 2019- 00722 ( La. 9/ 06/ 19), 278 So3d 371.
In determining whether summary judgment is appropriate, appellate courts
review evidence de novo under the same criteria governing the trial court' s
determination of whether summary judgment is appropriate. Bonano v. Docar
Sales, Inc., 2024- 0195 ( La. App. I st Cir. 10/ 22/ 24), 405 So. 3d 886, 891, writ denied,
2025- 00011 ( La. 4/ 1/ 25), 4.04 So. 3d 653. Because it is the applicable substantive law
that determines materiality, whether a particular fact in dispute is material can be
seen only in light of the substantive law applicable to the case. Succession of
Hickman v. State Through Board of Supervisors of Louisiana State University
Agricultural & Mechanical College, 2016- 1069 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 4/ 12/ 17), 217
So. 3d 1240, 1244.
7
Interpretation of Insurance Policy
The interpretation of an insurance policy usually involves a legal question that
can be resolved properly within the framework of a motion for summary judgment.
Ellis v. Circle L Trucking, L.L.C., 2021- 0457 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 12/ 30/ 21), 340
So. 3d 985, 989. An insurance policy is a contract between the parties and should be
construed using the general rules of contractual interpretation. Boudreaux v. Coco,
2021- 1009 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 4/ 28/ 22), 342 So. 3d 354, 359. Interpretation of a
contract is the determination of the common intent of the parties. La. C. C. art. 2045.
When the words of a contract are clear and explicit and lead to no absurd
consequences, no further interpretation may be made in search of the parties' intent.
La. C. C. art. 2046.
When determining whether a policy affords coverage for an incident, the
insured bears the burden of proving the incident falls within the policy' s terms.
Miller v. Superior Shipyard and Fabrication, Inc., 2001- 2683 ( La. App. 1st Cir.
11/ 8/ 02), 836 So. 2d 200, 203. However, an insurer has the burden of proving that a
loss falls within a policy exclusion. Savoie v. Anco Insulations, Inc., 2020- 0584
La. App. 1st Cir. 4/ 9/ 21), 322 So. 3d 1264, 1266. Additionally, in determining
whether an exclusion applies to preclude coverage, courts are guided by the well-
recognized rule that an exclusionary clause in an insurance policy must be strictly
construed against the insurer, and any ambiguity in the exclusion is construed in
favor of the insured. See Id. at 1266- 1267. Nonetheless, an insurance policy,
including its exclusions, should not be interpreted in an unreasonable or strained
manner so as to enlarge or to restrict its provisions beyond what is reasonably
contemplated by its terms or so as to achieve an absurd conclusion. Id. at 1267.
Subject to the above rules of interpretation, insurance companies have the
right to limit coverage in any manner they desire, so long as the limitations do not
conflict with statutory provisions or public policy. Myers v. Welch, 2017- 0063 ( La.
M
A-
FP.
1st Cir. 10/ 25/ 17), 233 So. 3d 49, 55, writ denied, 2017- 2165 ( La. 3/ 9/ 18), 238
So.3d 454. A summary judgment declaring a lack of coverage under an insurance
policy may be rendered when there is no reasonable interpretation of the policy,
when applied to the undisputed facts shown by the evidence supporting the motion,
under which coverage could be afforded. Boudreaux, 342 So. 3d at 360.
USAA sought summary judgment on the basis that an exclusion applies in
each policy to preclude coverage for Appellants' claims. Accordingly, USAA bore
the burden of proof both as the moving party seeking summary judgment and as the
insurer seeking to avoid coverage through summary judgment. See Boudreaux, 342
So. 3d at 362. Thus, the initial question before this court is whether USAA
established that the exclusions contained in the policies apply based upon a set of
facts which are not genuinely in dispute to exclude coverage for Appellants' claims.
The Business Pursuits Exclusions
In its motion for summary judgment, USAA relied on the business pursuits
exclusion in both the homeowner' s policy and the personal umbrella policy. The
homeowner' s policy provides:
1. Coverage Personal Liability and Coverage F โ Medical
Eโ
Payments to Others do not apply to " bodily injury" or " property
damage":
b. (1) Arising out of or in connection with a " business" engaged in
by any " insured". This exclusion applies but is not limited to an act
or omission regardless of its nature or circumstance, involving a
service or duty rendered, promised, owed, or implied to be provided
because of the nature of the " business."
The homeowner' s policy defines " business" as " any full or part-time activity arising
out of or related to any trade, profession or occupation of any ' insured'."
The personal umbrella policy provides:
G. This insurance does not apply to bodily injury, property damage
or personal injury:
0
5. Arising out of any business or business property of any insured.
does not apply to the extent that liability
This exclusion ( G. 5.)
coverage is provided by underlying insurance and is not excluded
elsewhere in this policy.
The personal umbrella policy defines " business" as " any full or part-time activity
arising out of or related to any trade, profession or occupation of any ' insured'."
USAA maintains that these exclusions preclude coverage because the claims
against Rees are that he served alcohol to Madison, who was under the legal age,
over -served her, and failed to render assistance after she became intoxicated. USAA
further claims that his actions are alleged to have occurred while he was working as
either a bartender or manager for Reggie' s Bar. Appellants contend that the
allegations also include the independent and/or personal liability of Rees for serving
alcohol to a minor.
Applicable Law
The applicable law herein is found in La. C. C. arts. 2315 and 2316, which
pertinently provide that every person is responsible for the damages caused by his
negligence. Criminal statute La. R.S. 14: 93. 11 makes it unlawful to sell alcohol to
any person under twenty-one years of age. Appellants further assert that a personal
duty arises from La. R.S. 26: 90, 26: 286( A), and 26: 931. 4 We also note that La. R.S.
9: 2800. 1 limits the liability of any seller of alcohol or social host who serves alcohol
to a person over the age for the lawful purchase thereof, which is twenty-one years
old. La. R. S. 9: 2800. 1( B) and ( C); La. R.S. 14: 93. 11.
USAA does not contest that Rees had a duty to refrain from selling alcohol to
a person under the age of twenty- one. Instead, USAA maintains that the allegations
are that Rees served Madison while he was a bartender and/or manager, not in any
4 These statutes pertain to permit regulations for the sale of alcohol and prohibited acts by sellers
of alcohol. We also note that Ashley Baustert cites to La. R.S. 26: 9331, which does not exist. We
assume this is a typographical error and is referring to La. R.S. 26: 931.
10
personal capacity. The narrow issue before this court is whether the business pursuits
exclusions in the insurance policies apply under the circumstances of this case.
Analysis of the Business Pursuits Exclusions
USAA asserts that its homeowner' s policy was not intended to cover
commercial risks. " The business pursuits exclusion, like other exclusions in a
homeowner' s policy, is drafted to exclude risks that should be covered by a different
policy. A commercial policy should cover commercial risks, not a homeowner' s
policy." Richard v. Milazzo, 2001- 2233 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 11/ 08/ 02), 831 So. 2d
1055, 1058. The definition of business and the business pursuits exclusion must
involve both continuity of activity and monetary gain. Id. at 1058- 1059 ( citation
omitted).
The purpose of the " business pursuits" exclusion in a homeowner' s
policy is to lower rates by removing coverage which is not essential to
the purchasers and which would require specialized rating and
underwriting. The terms, " business pursuits" and " course of
employment," serve different purposes in these separate contexts and
are not analogous in the circumstances.
Jackson v. Frisard, 1996- 0547 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 12/ 20/ 96), 685 So. 2d 622, 630,
writ denied, 1997- 0193 ( La. 3/ 14/ 97), 689 So. 2d 1386, and writ denied, 1997- 0201
La. 3/ 14/ 97), 689 So. 2d 1387 ( quoting LeBlanc v. Broussard, 396 So. 2d 535, 536
5
La. App. 3d Cir. 1981)).
This court reviewed the applicability of a business pursuits exclusion in a
homeowner' s policy in Jim Carey Distributing Co., Inc. v. Zinna, 589 So. 2d 526
La. App. 1st Cir. 1991). In Jim Carey, the employer filed an action against its
officer manager and her homeowner' s insurance company pertaining to the
embezzlement of funds from the business. The insurer filed a motion for summary
judgment asserting that the exclusion of property damage " arising out of business or
5 Both of these cases also contained an exception to the business pursuits exclusion, which required
further analysis as to whether the activity was ordinarily incident to non -business pursuits. That
exception is not present in the policies at issue herein.
11
professional pursuits of any insured person..." precluded coverage for the actions of
the office manager. Id. at 528- 529. This court determined that the duties of the office
manager included the receipt and safeguarding of funds. Id. at 529. While she was
in the course and scope of her employment, the office manager embezzled funds
from her employer. " But for this employment ( the business pursuits) these acts of
theft could not have occurred." Id. This court held that the business pursuits
exclusion applied to preclude coverage as "[ t]here could not be a more clear showing
that the loss in question arouse of [the office manager' s] business pursuit[.]" Id.
Appellants maintain that Jim Carey is distinguishable because the duties
owed in the present case were for Rees not to serve alcohol to an under -age person,
not to over -serve her, and not to increase the peril to an intoxicated person. They
argue that he had those duties even if he had not been working at the time. Appellants
aver that the duty pursuant to La. R. S. 14: 93. 11 was independent of his employment.
They claim that the duty does not derive from his employment -specific duty owed
to his employer not to serve alcohol to minors.
Appellants rely on Spears v. Bradford, 94- 0892 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 3/ 3/ 95),
652 So. 2d 628, 632 ( citations omitted), where this court stated, "[ c] learly, an adult
has a duty not to purchase alcohol for or furnish alcohol to a minor. Further, under
La.] C. C. arts. 2315 and 2316, the sellers or servers of alcohol also have a duty to
avoid performing an affirmative act which increases the peril to an intoxicated
person." Under -age drinking took place at a house party in Spears. This court
affirmed the summary judgment in favor of the defendant homeowner and her
insurer based on the evidence that the defendant did not actually serve alcohol to the
minors at issue. Id. at 632- 633.
We find Spears distinguishable as that case did not address the applicability
of the business pursuits exclusion or an individual working as a bartender and/or
manager at a business establishment. As stated earlier, USAA does not contest that
12
Rees had a duty to refrain from selling alcohol to a person under the age of twenty-
one.
Appellants also rely on Zaunbrecher v. Succession of David, 2015- 769 ( La.
App. 3d Cir. 12/ 9/ 15), 181 So. 3d 885, 889, writ denied sub nom. Zaunbrecher v.
David, 2016- 0049 (La. 2/ 26/ 16), 187 So. 3d 1002, where the court addressed whether
three tribal casino employees could be found personally liable for an automobile
accident that occurred after a patron was served alcohol and required to leave the
premises. Before the court was a declinatory exception raising the objection of lack
of subject matter jurisdiction based on the sovereign immunity of the tribe. The tribe
enjoyed sovereign immunity, as did tribal officers acting in their official capacities
within the course and scope of their authority. Zaunbrecher, 181 So.3d at 887. The
court had to decide if the individual defendants could be held liable acting in their
personal or individual capacity for wrongful actions taken " under color of [state]
law[.]" Id. (citing Pistor v. Garcia, 791 F. 3d 1104, 1112 ( 9th Cir. 2015) ( uq otin
Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U. S. 159, 165, 105 S. Ct. 30995 3105, 87 L.Ed.2d 114
1985)). 6 The court in Zaunbrecher decided that a trier of fact could determine that
the defendant employees owed personal duties to the individual who was killed by
the intoxicated patron. Zaunbrecher, 181 So. 3d at 889. Therefore, sovereign
immunity did not bar the suit against the tribal casino employees in their individual
capacities. Id.'
6 Zaunbrecher and the cases cited therein pertain to 42 U. S. C. ยง 1983 and whether a person is
acting " under the color of state law." Sovereign immunity is provided for persons who are state
actors in their official capacities, but not in their individual capacities. See Spivey v. Chitimacha
Tribe of Louisiana, Cypress Bayou Casino, 2024- 1287 ( La. App. 1st Cir. 7/ 31/ 25), 2025 WL
2166291, at * 7 ( unpublished). There are no allegations that Rees is a state actor in this matter or
that he is entitled to sovereign immunity. Therefore, we do not find these cases applicable. The
issue before this court is whether the business pursuits exclusions apply.
7 We note that the three employees subsequently were dismissed upon a motion for summary
judgment based on the statutory immunity provided in La. R.S. 9: 2800. 1. Alcohol had been
provided to a patron " over the age for the lawful purchase thereof." Therefore, the bartender and
two security guards were found to have immunity for the accident caused by the patron.
Zaunbrecher v. Martin, 2017- 932 ( La. App. 3d Cir. 3/ 21/ 18), 242 So. 3d 712, 732.
13
The present case does not include Rees " acting under color of state law" to
the extent that his official capacity and individual capacity would differ. The court
in Zaunbrecher did not address whether a person has different capacities in relation
to a business pursuits exclusion in an insurance policy. We decline to extend
Zaunbrecher and those cases cited therein to a business pursuits exclusion and an
Therefore, Zaunbrecher is
employee' s liability under an insurance policy.
distinguishable from the facts of the case before us.
Neither Spears nor Zaunbrecher interpret the business pursuits exclusion in
an insurance policy. After reviewing numerous cases interpreting that exclusion, we
find no case, and Appellants have cited to no case, that separates a personal duty
from one owed while in a business pursuit in relation to the exclusion in an insurance
policy.
Other Cases Interpreting the Business Pursuits Exclusion
Shortly after Jim Carey was decided, this court also addressed the business
pursuits exclusion in MVG v. Lucas, 590 So. 2d 1322 ( La. App. I st Cir. 1991). The
defendant ran an in-home daycare. A child in her care was sexually molested by
defendant' s adult son. The plaintiff alleged failure to supervise, failure to ensure the
child' s safety, and failure to keep her adult son away from the child. Defendant' s
homeowner' s insurer moved for summary judgment based on the business pursuits
exclusion contained in the insurance policy. The policy excluded coverage for bodily
injury " arising out of business pursuits of an insured[.]" Id. at 1324. The policy also
provided an exception to the exclusion if the activity was " ordinarily incidental to
non -business pursuits." Id. This court held that the business pursuits exclusion
precluded coverage. See Id. We determined that the defendant operated a daycare
for compensation. Her business was babysitting. Her job entailed supervising the
minor child. She was alleged to have improperly supervised the minor child, which
was pursuant to defendant' s business. Id.
14
MVG also distinguished, Jackson v. Lajaunie, 270 So.2d 859 ( La. 1972),
which is relied upon by Appellants in the present case. MVG, 590 So.2d at 1324
n.2. In Lajaunie, the Louisiana Supreme Court held that a practical joke of shooting
a pistol at a gas station customer did not fall within the business pursuits exclusion.
Lajaunie, 270 So. 2d at 863. The practical joke was incidental to a non -business
pursuit, which was an exception to the exclusion.
Both parties in the present case rely on Frisard, 685 So. 2d 622, which
addressed the issue of horseplay and the business pursuits exclusion. In Frisard, the
plaintiff, a state trooper, was attending a training session at the State Police Training
Academy. The plaintiff was injured by defendant during the training when he was
struck on the back. Defendant' s homeowner' s insurer asserted that the business
pursuits exclusion precluded coverage. This court stated:
In order to determine whether the exception ( for activities which
are ordinarily incident to non -business pursuits) to the business pursuits
exclusion applies, the inquiry should not be whether the insured was
engaged in a business pursuit at the time of the accident, but rather
whether the particular activity engaged in at the time of the accident
was nevertheless one ordinarily incident to non -business pursuits.
Frisard, 685 So. 2d at 631. This court determined that the training maneuvers
practiced at the session did not require the employee to strike plaintiffs back. Id.
Instead, the impulsive action of defendant striking plaintiff was ordinarily incident
to non -business pursuits. Therefore, the business pursuits exclusion did not preclude
coverage. Id.
Frisard, which involved horseplay, is distinguishable from the present case
for the same reason as Lajaunie, which pertained to a practical joke. The actions of
the insureds in both cases were not in furtherance of the business, i.e., trade,
profession, or occupation, at the time of the accident.
Although Frisard found that coverage applied under the facts of that case,
this court cautioned that isolating ordinary functions would render the business
15
pursuits exclusion meaningless. I. at 630. This court cited to LeBlanc, 396 So. 2d
535, wherein the Third Circuit found the defendant was engaged in a business pursuit
while driving his tractor to a field where he was to cut hay for a price as part of his
partnership' s business activities. The defendant' s homeowner' s policy did not
provide coverage for injuries resulting from a tractor -automobile collision which
occurred while the defendant was driving the tractor from his home to the field. The
court concluded defendant was driving the tractor in pursuit of a business
undertaking and that the activity was not " ordinarily incident to non -business
pursuits." Id. at 537.
The defendant in LeBlanc, attempted to analogize " business pursuits" with
the general rule in workers' compensation cases that an accident befalling an
employee while he is going to and from work does not occur in the course of his
employment, contending that until he reached the field and began cutting grass he
was not engaged in a business pursuit. However, as noted above, the court stated,
t]he terms, ' business pursuits' and ' course of employment,' serve different
purposes in these separate contexts and are not analogous in the circumstances." Id.
at 536 ( citation omitted).
Frisard specifically cautioned:
The business pursuit exclusion is intended to apply to all
activities that are involved in furtherance of any business, employment,
trade, occupation or profession. There are relatively few functions, such
as walking, opening and closing doors, bending or standing that a
person performs in a business that cannot be viewed in isolation as
nonbusiness activity. One cannot perform normal work without
engaging in such functions or activities, and to treat these activities in
isolation as incidental to nonbusiness activity would render this
exclusion meaningless.
Frisard, 685 So.2d at 630 ( citipg Appelman' s Insurance Law and Practice (Berdal
ed.), Vol. 7A, ยง 450 1. 10, pp. 276- 279).
Similar to this Court' s opinion in MVG, the Third Circuit in Latour v.
Allstate Ins. Co., 2018- 395 ( La. App. 3d Cir. 12/ 28/ 18), 262 So. 3d 1088, addressed
16
an in-home daycare and the application of the business pursuits exclusion in a
homeowner' s policy. A fifteen -month old was bitten during nap time possibly by
one of the other daycare attendees or the homeowner' s grandchild who was there
that day. The parents sued the operator of the daycare and her homeowner' s insurer.
The insurer filed a motion for summary judgment based on the business pursuits
exclusion. The policy excluded coverage for bodily injury " arising out of the past or
present business activities of an insured person." Id. at 1091. The court found that
the risk sued upon was for failure to supervise the minor child. The risk that the
minor child would be injured was the exact risk that the insurer excluded from
coverage for operating a daycare. Id. at 1092.
Latour relied on the Fifth and Fourth Circuit cases of Elorza v. Massey,
2000- 313 ( La. App. 5th Cir. 3/ 14/ 01), 783 So. 2d 453, and Felder v. Despinasse,
564 So.2d 1331 ( La. App. 4th Cir. 1990), as well as MVG. Elorza involved a child
injured at an in-home daycare while playing on a trampoline. The business pursuits
exclusion was held to preclude coverage since the daycare children were allowed to
play on the trampoline. The incident occurred while the daycare owner was
performing the function of operating as a daycare. The injured child was only at the
home because it was a daycare. Elorza, 783 So. 2d at 456. The negligence of the
daycare owner did not render the business pursuits exclusion inoperable. Id. Felder
involved a child who broke his arm at an in-home daycare. The homeowner' s insurer
moved for summary judgment based on the business pursuits exclusion. The court
determined that the child would not have broken his arm at the homeowner' s home
had he not been placed there because it operated as a daycare. Felder, 564 So. 2d at
1332. Therefore, the business pursuits exclusion precluded coverage.
The business pursuits exclusion was analyzed under a different set of
circumstances by the Second Circuit in Stills v. Mims, 42, 799 ( La. App. 2d Cir.
12/ 5/ 07), 973 So. 2d 118. A tenant brought an action against her landlord, the
17
landlord' s landscaping business, and the landlord' s homeowner' s insurer. A tree fell
on the home the tenant was renting. While the landlord was removing the tree, a
branch fell and injured the tenant' s son. The homeowner' s insurer filed a motion for
summary judgment based on the business pursuits exclusion. The tenant argued that
the claim did not arise from any business pursuits of the landlord but on his personal
liability and involved an activity that was ordinarily incident to nonbusiness pursuits.
Id. at 119- 120.
The court held that "[ t]he business pursuits exclusion is intended to apply in
this type of incident. [ The landlord] would not have removed the limb but for it
having fallen on his rental property. Moreover, he acted at his tenant' s request." Id.
at 123. The court further stated, "[ t]he fact that [ the landlord' s] personal actions
resulted in the injury to [ the tenant' s son] does not preclude application of the
business pursuits exclusion." Id. Application of the business pursuits exclusion
depends on the purpose of the activity at the time of the accident. Id. ( citing
LeBlanc, 396 So. 2d 535). Because the facts and circumstances of the case showed
that the damages claim arose from the rental of the property, coverage was precluded
under the business pursuits exclusion as it pertains to the rental or holding for rental
of a premises by the insured. Stills, 973 So. 2d at 123- 124.
The facts and circumstances of the present case are that the damage claims
resulted from the trade, business, or occupation of Rees. The allegations are that
Rees was a bartender and/ or manager on the night in question. Appellants contend
that he served drinks to Madison, who was under age to legally drink. The also aver
that Rees noticed Madison was intoxicated, observed her fall, and failed to render
aid. All of the allegations arise out of his activities as a bartender and/ or manager,
which was his occupation, trade, or business. He would not have encountered
Madison had she not been in Reggie' s Bar and but for his trade, business, or
occupation. The purpose of his activity at the time of the events alleged was for his
18
trade, business, or occupation.. Therefore, based on the above cited -case law,
coverage is precluded under the business pursuits exclusion.
Cases relied upon by Appellants are Distinguishable
Appellants cite to no cases that have held the business pursuits exclusion
inapplicable in circumstances similar to the present case. The cases relied upon by
Appellants do not pertain to the business pursuits exclusion of an insurance policy.
Appellants argue that " liability may be imposed against an individual for violation
of a personal duty owed to another even though he may have been acting within the
course and scope of his employment at the given time." However, this court is not
determining whether Rees was within the course and scope of his employment at the
time of these events for purposes of vicarious liability.' We are determining whether
his actions arise out of a business pursuit as defined by the USAA policy. Appellants
argument is similar to the one rejected by the court in LeBlanc finding that "business
pursuits" and " course of employment" serve different purposes. LeBlanc, 396 So. 2d
at 5