Karen McKnight v. Board of Review
CourtNew Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Date FiledJuly 3, 2023
DocketA-3067-20
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION
SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
DOCKET NO. A-3067-20
KAREN MCKNIGHT,
Appellant,
APPROVED FOR PUBLICATION
July 3, 2023
v.
APPELLATE DIVISION
BOARD OF REVIEW,
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,
TOYS "R" US - DELAWARE,
INC., and WEGMANS FOOD
MARKETS, INC.,
Respondents.
__________________________
Argued April 17, 2023 – Decided July 3, 2023
Before Judges Gooden Brown, DeAlmeida, and Mitterhoff. 1
On appeal from the Board of Review, Department of Labor,
Docket No. 192641.
Alan H. Schorr argued the cause for appellant (Schorr &
Associates, PC, attorneys; Alan H. Schorr and Christine A.
Cross, on the briefs).
Ian Fiedler, Deputy Attorney General, argued the cause for
respondent Board of Review (Matthew J. Platkin, Attorney
General, attorney; Donna Arons, Assistant Attorney
1
Judge Gooden Brown did not participate in oral argument but joins in the opinion
with the consent of counsel. R. 2:13-2(b).
General, of counsel; Jana R. DiCosmo, Deputy Attorney
General, on the brief).
The opinion of the court was delivered by
MITTERHOFF, J.A.D.
Appellant Karen McKnight appeals from the Board of Review's (the "Board")
August 26, 2022 final agency decision, which held her liable to return an overpayment
of $6,277 for unemployment benefits she was allegedly ineligible to receive for the
weeks ending June 30, 2018 through May 4, 2019, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 43:21-16(d).
The central issue on appeal is whether a claimant, who is otherwise separated from full-
time employment, may include wages received from a part-time position, which they
continue to maintain, in the calculation of their average weekly wage for purposes of
unemployment benefits. We conclude that the exclusion of the wages contravenes the
legislative purpose of the unemployment benefits statute and is arbitrary as legally
unsupported. We therefore reverse and remand for a recalculation of benefits.
We discern the following facts from the record. Appellant was employed full
time at Toys "R" Us, where she started working on September 27, 1981. She was also
employed part time at Wegmans Food Market ("Wegmans"), where she started
working in September of 2011.
In June 2018, Toys "R" Us closed and appellant was permanently laid off after
twenty-one years of employment. Thereafter, on June 24, 2018, appellant applied for
A-3067-20
2
unemployment benefits to supplement the loss of income from her full-time job while
she continued to work part time at Wegmans with no reduction in hours.
On July 5, 2018, appellant received an initial benefit determination from the
New Jersey Department of Labor, Division of Unemployment Insurance (the
"Division"), which established a weekly benefit rate of $452, a partial weekly benefit
rate of $542, and a maximum benefit amount of $11,752. This initial benefit
determination included both appellant's full-time and part-time wages.
Each week thereafter, appellant certified for benefits and reported her earnings
from her part-time job. Appellant collected partial unemployment benefits from June
30, 2018 to May 5, 2019; she was paid her partial benefit rate of $542 per week less her
actual earnings at Wegmans.
On May 23, 2019, appellant received a monetary redetermination, which
excluded her income from Wegmans in the calculation of her benefits; this reduced
appellant's weekly benefit rate to $304, her partial benefit rate to $364, and her
maximum benefit amount to $7,904. Due to the change in her partial benefit rate,
appellant also received a request for refund, advising her that the redetermination
rendered her liable for a refund in the amount of $6,099 in overpayments received as
benefits for the weeks ending June 30, 2018 through May 4, 2019.
On June 5, 2019, appellant appealed the Division's redetermination, and a
hearing was held before the Appeal Tribunal (the "Tribunal") on November 13, 2019.
A-3067-20
3
There, appellant admitted to underreporting the earnings she received from Wegmans
for the weeks ending July 7, 2018 through July 28, 2018, and for the weeks ending
August 18, 2018 through September 29, 2018, leading to an overpayment totaling $342.
However, appellant testified that she had paid that money back at the time of the
hearing.
In a decision mailed on November 14, 2019, the Tribunal determined that
appellant "was not considered unemployed" and was, therefore, "ineligible" to receive
benefits for the weeks ending July 7, 2018 through July 28, 2018, and for the weeks
August 18, 2018 through September 29, 2018. Thus, the Tribunal held appellant liable
for a refund in the sum of $342, received as benefits for the subject weeks.
On March 26, 2020, appellant appealed the Tribunal's decision to the Board,
arguing that the Division incorrectly removed appellant's part-time earnings from her
benefit calculation. On June 17, 2020, the Board remanded the matter to the Tribunal,
stating only that "there [was] need for additional testimony from [appellant] concerning
benefits received on a claim dated June 24, 2018, to ascertain her liability for refund[.]"
A second hearing was held before the Tribunal on July 17, 2020, in which
appellant argued that the Department of Labor's regulations required them to include all
earnings for purposes of calculating base year earnings. In a decision mailed on July
23, 2020, the Tribunal again determined that appellant was "not considered
unemployed" and held her liable for a refund in the amount of $342, received as
A-3067-20
4
benefits for the weeks ending July 7, 2018 through July 28, 2018, and from August 18,
2018 through September 29, 2018. In so doing, the Tribunal conceded that it was "not
aware of any regulation or law that requires the Division to place [appellant]'s part-time
wages on hold." Nevertheless, the Tribunal concluded that the Division's action "in
placing [appellant]'s wages on hold from [Wegmans]" was "not unreasonable," "since
[appellant] was still employed by [Wegmans] with no reduction in hours of work when
the claim dated [June 24, 2018] was filed."
On August 10, 2020, appellant appealed to the Board for a second time, arguing
that the decision of the Tribunal must be reversed as it was not supported by regulation
or law. In a decision mailed on December 9, 2020, the Board again remanded the
matter to the Tribunal, stating only that "there [was] need for additional testimony to
ascertain [appellant]'s liability for refund, and for the . . . Tribunal to properly address
the arguments presented by [appellant]'s attorney concerning the legality of" the
Division's redetermination.
A third hearing was held before the Tribunal on January 29, 2021. In advance of
that hearing, appellant's attorney sent the Tribunal certain sections of the New Jersey
Unemployment Compensation Law ("UCL" or the "Act"), N.J.S.A. 43:21-1 to -71, and
associated regulations in support of appellant's position. Specifically, appellant's
attorney sent the Tribunal N.J.S.A. 43:21-19 and N.J.A.C. 12:17-9.2.
A-3067-20
5
In a decision mailed on March 9, 2021, the Tribunal again refused to consider
the wages earned from appellant's part-time job at Wegmans, reasoning that the Board
"has historically held that the legislature did not intend to base benefits for
unemployment on earnings with an employer who is still employing the claimant." The
Tribunal went on to state:
Herein, [appellant] contended she should be able to use the
wages for both employers. The intent was not to allow a
claimant to continue to work for an employer who is still
employing the claimant under the same terms and charging
that employer's account for unemployment benefits paid.
Therefore, [Wegmans] was properly placed on hold and the
wages removed as those wages could not be used to
establish the monetary entitlement on the claim dated [June
24, 2018].
Thus, the Tribunal determined that appellant was liable for a refund of the overpayment
in the sum of $6,099, received as benefits for the weeks ending June 30, 2018 through
April 6, 2019.
On March 16, 2021, appellant appealed the Tribunal's decision to the Board a
third time. On June 24, 2021, the Board rejected appellant's arguments, stating:
The appellant's contention that N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(t)(3) and
N.J.A.C. 12:17-9.2 should be applied in this case to allow
the [appellant] to establish base weeks from both
employers[] is rejected. N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(t)(3) refers to the
calendar week option that allows unemployed individuals
with a history of multiple concurrent employers to establish
base[] weeks from each employment. N.J.A.C. 12:17-9.2
provided for eligibility upon separation from full-time and
part-time employment. Conversely, the [appellant] in this
A-3067-20
6
case cannot be considered unemployed with respect to her
job with [Wegmans].
Ultimately, the Board modified the Tribunal's decision by declaring that appellant was
never unemployed and was, therefore, not eligible for benefits in the first place. In so
doing, the Board held appellant liable for a refund in the amount of $6,277 for benefits
received for the weeks ending June 30, 2018 through May 4, 2019, which represented
the entirety of appellant's unemployment benefits.
In February 2020, appellant was notified by the U.S. Department of Treasury,
Bureau of Fiscal Service that $3,184 of her federal tax refund was being applied to her
debt with the Division. In March 2020, appellant was notified that $3,700 of her state
tax refund was also being applied to her debt with the Division. In total, the Division
received $6,884 from appellant's tax refunds, which is $607 more than what she
allegedly owed.
On July 1, 2021, appellant appealed to this court. Subsequently, we granted the
Board's motion for remand to allow further development and clarification of the record.
In a revised decision mailed on August 26, 2022, the Board reaffirmed its June 24, 2021
decision, this time relying on two unpublished cases for support.2 The Board's decision
also added the following reasoning:
2
See Swindell v. Bd. of Rev., No. A-4266-92 (App. Div. March 23, 1994), and
Cummings v. Bd. of Rev., No. A-4793-92 (App. Div. May 16, 1994). We find that
these cases are inapposite as the decisions were issued prior to the 2001 amendments to
A-3067-20
7
Without question, any benefit determination including
[appellant]'s base period earnings from Wegman[]s in the
[appellant]'s weekly benefit rate, would result in charges
being assessed against that employer. . . . Since [appellant]
had not suffered a lack of work from Wegmans upon her
initial filing for benefits, allowing [appellant] to collect
unemployment benefits using wages from that employer
would require an assessment of benefit charges,
inappropriately penalize that employer, and undermine the
purpose of the UCL.
This appeal followed. On appeal, appellant raises the following arguments:
I. THE REMEDIAL PURPOSES OF THE
UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION STATUTE
SHOULD BE INTERPRETED LIBERALLY IN
FAVOR OF DISPENSING BENEFITS.
II. THE UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION LAW
WAS INTENDED TO REWARD EMPLOYEES
THAT WORK PART-TIME JOBS, NOT TO
PUNISH THEM.
III. THE INITIAL DETERMINATION OF
[APPELLANT]'S BENEFITS WAS CORRECT.
IV. THE [DIVISION] ERRED IN PLACING THE
EARNINGS FROM WEGMANS "ON HOLD"
AND REFUSING TO CONSIDER THOSE
WAGES IN CALCULATING [APPELLANT]'S
AVERAGE BASE YEAR EARNINGS.
V.BASED ON THE ORIGINAL BENEFIT
DETERMINATION, [APPELLANT] WAS PAID
________________________
the UCL, which included an amendment of the definition of "base week." N.J.S.A.
43:21-19(t)(3). In addition, as unpublished decisions, they do not constitute precedent
and are not binding upon this court. Rule 1:36-3.
A-3067-20
8
PROPER BENEFITS. THE IMPROPER
REDE[TE]RMINATION CAUSED [APPELLANT]
TO LOSE MOST OF HER BENEFITS.
VI. THE BOARD OF REVIEW FURTHER ERRED BY
FINDING [APPELLANT] NEVER TO HAVE
BEEN UNEMPLOYED AND THEREFORE
ENTITLED TO NO BENEFITS AT ALL.
VII. THE BOARD OF REVIEW HAS AGAIN
CONFUSED ELIGIBILITY WITH
CHARGEABILITY, RESULTING IN AN
ERRONEOUS, ARBITRARY, AND CAPRICIOUS
DECISION.
Judicial review of administrative actions is "severely limited." Mazza v. Bd. of
Trs., Police & Firemen's Ret. Sys., 143 N.J. 22, 25 (1995). It is not the function of the
reviewing court to substitute its own judgment for that of the administrative agency,
"even though the court might have reached a different result." In re Stallworth, 208 N.J.
182, 194 (2011) (quoting In re Carter, 191 N.J. 474, 483 (2007)). Thus, "[a]n
administrative agency's final quasi-judicial decision will be sustained unless there is a
clear showing that it is arbitrary, capricious, or unreasonable, or that it lacks fair support
in the record." In re Herrmann, 192 N.J. 19, 27-28 (2007). In making this
determination, our role is restricted to three inquiries:
(1) whether the agency's action violates express or implied
legislative policies, that is, did the agency follow the law; (2)
whether the record contains substantial evidence to support
the findings on which the agency based its action; and (3)
whether[,] in applying the legislative policies to the facts, the
agency clearly erred by reaching a conclusion that could not
A-3067-20
9
reasonably have been made on a showing of the relevant
factors.
[Id. at 28 (quoting Mazza, 143 N.J. at 25).]
The party challenging the administrative action bears the burden of making that
showing. Lavezzi v. State, 219 N.J. 163, 171 (2014).
In addition, "'we are required to defer to an agency's technical expertise, its
superior knowledge of its subject matter area, and its fact-finding role,'" and, therefore,
are "obliged to accept all factual findings that are supported by sufficient credible
evidence." Futterman v. Bd. of Rev., 421 N.J. Super. 281, 287 (App. Div. 2011)
(quoting Messick v. Bd. of Rev., 420 N.J. Super. 321, 325 (App. Div. 2011)).
Although we are not bound by an agency's interpretation of law, we also accord a
degree of deference when the agency interprets a statute or a regulation that falls
"within its implementing and enforcing responsibility," Wnuck v. N.J. Div. of Motor
Vehicles, 337 N.J. Super. 52, 56 (App. Div. 2001) (quoting In re Appeal by Progressive
Cas. Ins. Co., 307 N.J. Super. 93, 102 (App. Div. 1997)), "unless the interpretation is
plainly unreasonable," Ardan v. Bd. of Rev., 231 N.J. 589, 604 (2018). "Despite this
level of deference, '[t]he judiciary may intervene in those rare circumstances in which
an agency action is clearly inconsistent with [the agency's] statutory mission or with
other State policy.'" Futterman, 421 N.J. Super. at 287 (alterations in original) (quoting
In re Petition for Authorization to Conduct a Referendum on Withdrawal of N. Haledon
A-3067-20
10
Sch. Dist. from the Passaic Cnty. Manchester Reg'l High Sch. Dist., 181 N.J. 161, 176
(2004)).
At issue here is the interpretation of N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(t)(3), which is "a question
of law subject to de novo review." Saccone v. Bd. of Trs., Police & Firemen's Ret.
Sys., 219 N.J. 369, 380 (2014) (citation omitted). Specifically, this case focuses on
whether a claimant, who is otherwise separated from full-time employment, may
include wages received from a part-time position, which they continue to maintain, in
the calculation of their average weekly wage for purposes of unemployment benefits.
This dispute centers around the language included in the latter half of N.J.S.A. 43:21-
19(t)(3), as amended in 2001, which states:
"Base week," . . . means any calendar week during which the
individual earned in employment from an employer
remuneration not less than an amount [twenty] times the
minimum wage in effect . . . on October 1 of the calendar
year preceding the calendar year in which the benefit year
commences, which amount shall be adjusted to the next
higher multiple of $1.00 if not already a multiple thereof,
except that if in any calendar week an individual subject to
this paragraph [] is in employment with more than one
employer, the individual may in that calendar week establish
a base week with respect to each of the employers from
whom the individual earns remuneration equal to not less
than the amount defined in this paragraph [] during that
week.
[(emphasis added).]
Relying on N.J.S.A. 43:21-7(c), the Division interprets the above provision to
mean that it may consider only those wages derived from a "chargeable" employer or
A-3067-20
11
employers in calculating a claimant's average weekly wage. Appellant, however,
interprets the above provision—coupled with the language of N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(u)—to
mean that all wages from all employers must be included in the calculation of a
claimant's average weekly wage, regardless of chargeability.
We are, therefore, tasked with resolving these conflicting interpretations of the
statute. In interpreting the meaning of a statute, "our role 'is to discern and effectuate
the intent of the Legislature."' Saccone, 219 N.J. at 380 (quoting Murray v. Plainfield
Rescue Squad, 210 N.J. 581, 592 (2012)). "[G]enerally, the best indicator of that intent
is the statutory language," S.L.W. v. N.J. Div. of Pensions & Benefits, 238 N.J. 385,
394 (2019) (alteration in original) (quoting DiProspero v. Penn, 183 N.J. 477, 492
(2005)), the words of which we give "their ordinary meaning and significance,"
DiProspero, 183 N.J. at 492. Thus, "[i]f the statutory language is clear, our inquiry
ends[.]" S.L.W., 238 N.J. at 394 (citation omitted). "However, if a statute's seemingly
clear language nonetheless creates ambiguity in its concrete application, extrinsic
evidence may help guide the construction of the statute." Saccone, 219 N.J. at 380
(citing In re Kollman, 210 N.J. 557, 568 (2012)). "Extrinsic guides may also be of use
'if a literal reading of the statute would yield an absurd result, particularly one at odds
with the overall statutory scheme.'" Id. at 380-81 (quoting Wilson ex rel Manzano v.
City of Jersey City, 209 N.J. 558, 572 (2012)).
A-3067-20
12
We begin our analysis by reviewing the plain language and overall statutory
scheme of the UCL, which establishes the procedure for calculating a claimant's
eligibility for, and amount of, unemployment benefits. See N.J.S.A. 43:21-3, -4. Under
the Act, the Division must first determine whether a claimant is, in fact, eligible for any
unemployment benefits. N.J.S.A. 43:21-4; see N.J.A.C. 12:17-5.1 (describing the basic
eligibility requirements). To be eligible, a claimant must be separated, or unemployed,
from work from a base year employer. See N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(c)(1). "Unemployment"
is defined as any week in which the claimant "is not engaged in full-time work and with
respect to which his remuneration is less than his weekly benefit rate[.]" N.J.S.A.
43:21-19(m)(1)(A). Here, it is undisputed that appellant established sufficient base
weeks of employment during the base year with Toys "R" Us to qualify for
unemployment benefits.
Once found eligible, the Division calculates the claimant's benefit amount, which
is equal to the claimant's "weekly benefit rate less any remuneration." N.J.S.A. 43:21-
3(b). A claimant's "weekly benefit rate" is sixty percent of the "average weekly wage"
earned by the claimant during his or her base year, which in turn is comprised of base
weeks. N.J.S.A. 43:21-3(c)(1); N.J.A.C. 12:17-2.1. N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(u) defines
"average weekly wage" as "the amount derived by dividing an individual's total base
year wages by the number of base weeks worked by the individual during the base year;
A-3067-20
13
provided that for the purpose of computing the average weekly wage, the maximum
number of base weeks used in the divisor shall be [fifty-two]." (emphasis added).
A claimant's "base year" consists of "the first four of the last five completed
calendar quarters immediately preceding an individual's benefit year," N.J.S.A. 43L21-
19(c)(1), which begins on the day he or she "first files a valid claim for benefits[.]"
N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(d). A "base week" is defined as "any calendar week during which
the individual earned in employment from an employer renumeration not less than an
amount [twenty] times the [New Jersey] minimum wage in effect . . . on October 1 of
the calendar year preceding the calendar year in which the benefit year commences[.]"
N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(t)(3). N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(t)(3) goes on to provide that, if an
individual "is in employment with more than one employer, the individual may in that
calendar week establish a base week with respect to each of the employers from whom
the individual earns remuneration equal to not less than the amount defined in this
paragraph [] during that week."
Moreover, the Division increases a claimant's "weekly benefit rate" by an
additional twenty percent for claimants employed in part-time work while unemployed
from their full-time jobs, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:17-2.1. That regulation defines
"[w]eek of partial employment" as:
a calendar week ending at midnight Saturday in which an
individual is employed not more than [eighty] percent of the
hours normally worked in that individual's occupation,
profession, trade, or industry; due to lack of work; and earns
A-3067-20
14
remuneration which does not exceed the weekly benefit rate
plus [twenty] percent of such rate.
[N.J.A.C. 12:17-2.1.]
Based upon that definition, the Division calculates a claimant's "partial benefit rate,"
which is one hundred and twenty percent of the weekly benefit rate.
Based upon our reading of N.J.S.A. 43:21-19(t)(3), in conjunction with the
associated statutes and regulations, we find that the statutory language is ambiguous as
it "'leads to more than one plausible interpretation[.]'" MasTec Renewables Constr. Co.
v. Sunlight Gen. Mercer Solar, LLC, 462 N.J. Super. 297, 320 (App. Div. 2020)
(quoting State v. Twiggs, 233 N.J. 513, 532 (2018)). Therefore, we "may resort to
extrinsic sources" in determining the Legislature's intent. Ibid. (quoting Twiggs, 233
N.J. at 532).
We recognize that the UCL was created to protect against the "economic
insecurity due to unemployment [which] is a serious menace to the health, morals, and
welfare of the people of" New Jersey. N.J.S.A. 43:21-2. "The purpose of the [Act] is to
provide some income for the worker earning nothing, because he is out of work through
no fault or act of his own." Utley v. Bd. of Rev., 194 N.J. 534, 543 (2008) (quoting
Battaglia v. Bd. of Rev., 14 N.J. Super. 24, 27 (App. Div. 1951)). In order "'[t]o further
its remedial and benefits purposes,' we have recognized that 'the [Act] is to be construed
liberally in favor of allowance of benefits.'" Ibid. (second alteration in original)
(quoting Yardville Supply Co. v. Bd. of Rev., 114 N.J. 371, 374 (1989)).
A-3067-20
15
Guided by the remedial purpose of the UCL, we are constrained to find that the
Division's initial benefit determination was proper and that the Board's decision to
affirm the Division's redetermination was in violation of the Act's express legislative
policies. See Herrmann, 192 N.J. at 28 (quoting Mazza, 143 N.J. at 25). First, the
interpretation forwarded by the Division "would yield an absurd result," Saccone, 219
N.J. at 380-81 (quoting Manzano, 209 N.J. at 572), as it essentially punishes claimants
who maintain part-time employment after being laid off by a full-time employer.
Following the calculation method applied by the Division, appellant's Wegmans
earnings were initially deducted from her weekly benefit rate; then those earnings were
deducted again from her partial benefit rate, leaving her no benefits at all for any week
in which she earned more than the partial benefit rate based only on her Toys "R" Us
earnings. Thus, Toys "R" Us is charged nothing despite causing appellant's
unemployment.
Second, the Division's interpretation seriously frustrates one of the main
objectives of the UCL, which "is to encourage persons to work[.]" Wojcik v. Bd. of
Rev., 58 N.J. 341, 346 (1971). Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:17-9.2(a)(2), if appellant had
quit her job at Wegmans in order to search for a new full-time job, she would have been
entitled to her full benefits. However, appellant was instead punished for maintaining
her part-time job following the loss of her full-time job of twenty-one years. Thus, we
A-3067-20
16
find that to punish appellant, rather than reward her, for maintaining her part-time job
after losing her full-time job runs counter to the policy of this State.
Finally, we find that the Division has conflated eligibility and chargeability in
this matter. In asserting that Wegmans would be charged if appellant's part-time wages
were included in the calculation—despite her continual employment—the Division
relies on N.J.S.A. 43:21-7(c), which states, "[b]enefits paid . . . shall be charged against
the account or accounts of the employer or employers in whose employment such
individual established base weeks constituting the basis of such benefits[.]" However,
that language is qualified by the succeeding sentence, which states, "[b]enefits paid
under a given benefit determination shall be charged against the account of the
employer to whom such determination relates." N.J.S.A. 43:21-7(c).
Here, we are aware of no provision of the UCL, or any other authority, under
which Wegmans could be charged because they did not discharge appellant. Moreover,
there is no need to charge Wegmans because appellant's benefits are properly
chargeable to Toys "R" US. In fact, under the correct calculation, all parties benefit:
Toys "R" Us benefits because less benefits are paid and, therefore, less benefits are
charged to its account due to the part-time earnings paid by Wegmans; the Division
benefits by paying less than full benefits from the unemployment fund; Wegmans
benefits by retaining appellant's employment and by not being charged; and appellant
A-3067-20
17
benefits by not being penalized for working part-time to supplement the loss of her full-
time employment.
In sum, we find that appellant earned a total of $24,867.30 during her base year
with Toys "R" Us, the full-time employer that laid her off. Following the correct
calculation, which is her yearly earnings divided by fifty-two, appellant's average
weekly base year earnings for this employer was $478.22. During that same base year,
appellant earned an additional $14,367.54 from her part-time employment with
Wegmans, who continued to employ her. Following the same calculation, her average
weekly base year earnings from Wegmans was $276.30. Thus, appellant's total base
year wages were $39,234.84 and her average weekly earnings amounted to $754.52.
Because a claimant's weekly benefit rate is sixty percent of their average weekly
earnings, we conclude that the Division's initial calculation—which established a
weekly benefit rate of $452—was proper. Moreover, appellant's partial benefit rate of
$542 ($452 x 120%), less her actual earnings from Wegmans, was also correctly
calculated in the Division's initial benefit determination.
Reversed and remanded for a recalculation of benefits in accordance with this
opinion.
A-3067-20
18