E.C. v. Board of Trustees, Police and Firemen's Retirement System
CourtNew Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Date FiledNovember 4, 2026
DocketA-3687-23
StatusUnpublished
π° News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION
This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court." Although it is posted on the
internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited . R. 1:36-3.
SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
DOCKET NO. A-3687-23
E.C.,1
Petitioner-Appellant,
v.
BOARD OF TRUSTEES,
POLICE AND FIREMEN'S
RETIREMENT SYSTEM,
Respondent-Respondent.
___________________________
Argued October 5, 2026 β Decided November 4, 2026
Before Judges Berdote Byrne, Perez Friscia, and
Torregrossa-O'Connor.
On appeal from the Board of Trustees of the Police and
Firemen's Retirement System, Department of the
Treasury, PFRS No. xx9137.
Stuart J. Alterman argued the cause for appellant
(Alterman & Associates LLC, attorneys; Stuart J.
Alterman, on the briefs).
1
Due to the discussion of E.C.'s medical condition, we refer to appellant by
initials pursuant to Rule 1:38-3(a)(2).
Thomas R. Hower, Staff Attorney, argued the cause for
respondent (Nels J. Lauritzen, Legal Affairs Deputy
Director, attorney; Thomas R. Hower, on the brief).
PER CURIAM
In this matter, we are asked to determine whether petitioner, who allegedly
contracted Guillain Barre syndrome ("GBS") from an adverse reaction to an
employer-mandated vaccination, is entitled to accidental disability retirement
benefits. The Board of Trustees ("Board") rejected the Administrative Law
Judge's finding petitioner was eligible for accidental disability benefits because
it found: 1) an adverse reaction to an employer-mandated vaccination cannot
qualify for accidental-disability retirement benefits; and 2) petitioner failed to
demonstrate her disability was a direct result of the vaccination. After careful
review, we affirm the Board's decision because there was sufficient evidence to
conclude petitioner failed to prove her disability was directly related to the
employer-mandated vaccination.
I.
In March 2008, petitioner began working as a police officer for the City
of Passaic. Petitioner claimed nothing prevented her from performing her
responsibilities prior to receiving the vaccine. She was accustomed to running
five to seven miles three times a week. She was able to "run after and apprehend
A-3687-23
2
suspects" and "wrestle with combative suspects." Additionally, she passed
semi-annual qualifications, which required her to "drop to her knees and go into
a barricaded position and shoot from the 25-yard line within a designated time
period."
In January 2012, petitioner was ordered to receive the two-part Hepatitis
B vaccine, even though she had previously received them. After receiving the
first additional vaccine, she felt "tingling" in her lower legs. Nonetheless, she
continued her usual running routine. She received her second additional vaccine
a month later, in February 2012, and reported to her lieutenant "I don't feel good
. . . my legs β something's not right."
In May 2012, petitioner called out of work and went to see her primary
doctor. At the doctor's office, she approached the front desk but "couldn't make
it" to the receptionist and started "slurring her speech," causing the doctor's
office to call for emergency services. She was transported to the hospital and
"could not feel a thing," even when the doctors were performing a spinal tap on
her. During her hospital stay, she was told for the first time she was suffering
from GBS.
Thereafter, petitioner spent several months receiving physical,
occupational, and speech therapy. She was wheelchair bound for four months
A-3687-23
3
before transitioning to a walker. She testified she originally hoped to return to
her job as a police officer but made the decision to file for disability in 2013
when she realized she was unable to return.
On May 6, 2013, petitioner filed an application for accidental disability
retirement benefits, alleging the Hepatitis B vaccines caused her GBS. In
approximately November 2013, the Medical Review Board of Examiners
("medical board") found no evidence of a GBS diagnosis, and the Board denied
her application for disability benefits in February 2014. She appealed the
Board's decision, and the matter was transmitted to the Office of Administrative
Law ("OAL") as a contested case.
The record is composed of various medical reports and indicates petitioner
was examined by at least five doctors.
On June 4, 2012, Dr. Pandya, an independent neurologist, examined
petitioner and wrote her symptoms are "multifactorial with so many etiologies"
and he "doubt[s]" she has GBS.
On July 1, 2013, Dr. Klein, one of petitioner's doctors, examined
petitioner and wrote:
Based on the above clinical examination, history of
injury and the medical records provided, this individual
has sustained a significant reaction to the hepatitis B
vaccine . . . Unfortunately, after she received this
A-3687-23
4
vaccine, she developed [GBS] that has affected her
entire being. It is well known in the medical literature
that this syndrome does occur after inoculation of
vaccines. The hepatitis B vaccine has also been
implicated also in the development of [GBS] . . . .
These opinions are based upon a reasonable degree of
medical certainty.
On October 15, 2012, Dr. Mian, petitioner's expert witness, examined
petitioner and originally wrote: "[t]here is no evidence of demyelinating disease
consistent with GBS."
On September 12, 2013, petitioner consulted with Dr. Gainey who
examined petitioner and wrote:
If [GBS] was diagnosed I am suspicious that it may
have been related as a secondary effect from her upper
respiratory tract infection from May 10 through May
14, 2012. Complaints of cognitive dysfunction and
headaches would not correlate with a history of [GBS].
With a reasonable degree of medical probability, it is
my opinion that her symptoms are not a result of the
hepatitis B vaccines.
On August 30, 2013, Dr. Mian reevaluated petitioner and diagnosed her
with GBS.
On November 20, 2013, Dr. Lomazow, the Board's expert witness,
evaluated petitioner and wrote:
[T]here is no evidence whatsoever that [she] had or has
[GBS], there is absolutely no basis for her contention
that a vaccine caused it, resulting in disability. This can
A-3687-23
5
be stated to a reasonable degree of medical probability
. . . [Petitioner] has chronic psychiatric illness which is
well documented. She has some form of nonspecific
neurologic disease and possible chronic fatigue
syndrome. Once again, this is not what I am asked to
address at this time. In summary, on a neurologic basis
[petitioner] is not totally and permanently disabled
from performing the duties of her job as a police
officer.2
Petitioner, Dr. Mian, and Dr. Lomazow testified at the Board hearing.
Dr. Mian testified he had treated petitioner since 2012, following
petitioner's hospitalization, and believes she suffers from ongoing residual
effects of GBS. He explained GBS could be caused by a virus or vaccination,
and he believed her condition was "most likely related to the vaccine." He
explained:
Q: . . . in case I didn't preface this earlier, can you give
all of your answers to a reasonable degree of medical
certainty and probability? And to a reasonable degree
of med -- medical certainty and probability in your
expert medical opinion as [p]etitioner's treating
physician what was the cause of her . . . [GBS]
A: So, I be β so with β reasonable certainty I believe it
was vaccine was the antecedent for it. And I know β I
know she had like a viral illness later on I think which
also acted as a trigger.
2
It is unclear from the record how Dr. Lomazow found petitioner was not totally
and permanently disabled while noting she had "chronic psychiatric illness
which is well documented" and "possible chronic fatigue syndrome."
A-3687-23
6
Q: And what do you base your conclusion on?
A: Clinical history.
However, Dr. Mian admitted there is no test capable of separating the causes of
her disability.
In contrast, Dr. Lomazow testified he does not believe petitioner has GBS.
He explained her complaints were inconsistent with GBS and he has never seen
a case of GBS where the person had preserved reflexes. Further, he testified the
"EMG" test results spoke "loudly against" GBS because all "F-wave latencies
were within normal limits." Regarding vaccines, Dr. Lomazow testified: "I'm
not an expert in immunology," but nonetheless opined, within a reasonable
degree of medical probability, the vaccine did not cause petitioner's condition.
In addition to his testimony, Dr. Lomazow issued two addendums to his
expert report after being provided with additional medical records. On June 23,
2016, he wrote: "[t]hese notes do not in any way change my opinion. There is
no evidence that this woman has or has ever had [GBS]. Therefore, there is no
basis whatsoever to contend that a vaccine taken in the course of her job
precipitated her problems." On January 11, 2022, Dr. Lomazow issued another
addendum and wrote "there is no change in my opinion that [the vaccine] is not
A-3687-23
7
the cause of any neurological disability within a reasonable degree of medical
probability."
On March 22, 2024, 3 the ALJ issued an initial decision recommending the
Board find petitioner eligible for accidental disability retirement benefits. The
ALJ found petitioner's disability was caused by an external event because:
It is undisputed that, prior to the second vaccine,
[p]etitioner was able to satisfactorily perform her usual
duties. She was also very active, despite her pre-
existing condition. After the second vaccine, she did
not feel herself, but pushed through to the point she was
rushed to the hospital. As [r]espondent's expert
advised, there is a "very minuscule" possibility for the
vaccine to produce serious side effects such as GBS. A
"very minuscule" possibility is still a possibility.
Petitioner's injuries were not induced by the stress or
strain of the normal work effort.
Accordingly, the ALJ concluded petitioner was eligible for accidental disability
retirement benefits.
On June 11, 2024, the Board issued its final administrative determination.
Although it found petitioner totally and permanently disabled and thus granted
retroactive ordinary disability benefits, it denied her claim for accidental
disability retirement benefits. The Board explained it "rejects the conclusions
3
The OAL matter experienced several delays including those associated with
the Covid-19 pandemic and reassignment to a different ALJ.
A-3687-23
8
that [petitioner] had GBS . . . . based on the expert medical opinion of Dr.
Lomazow."
Additionally, the Board found:
Absent some irregularity, compliance with employer-
required vaccinations is neither undesigned nor
unexpected. Based on its rejection of the conclusion
that [petitioner's] disabling condition is a direct result
of the Hepatitis B vaccinations, the Board similarly
rejects the conclusion that the act of obtaining
vaccinations in itself can be considered undesigned and
unexpected. Although the Board allowed the
concession that the member is totally and permanently
disabled from her job duties based on her symptoms,
the Board does not concede that [petitioner] had GBS,
so it cannot logically conclude that "the impact and
outcome of developing GBS was undesigned and
unexpected."
II.
"The principles governing appellate review of an administrative agency 's
decisions are well-settled." M.R. v. N.J. Dep't of Corr., 261 N.J. 322, 337
(2025). Our focus is on whether the decision is "arbitrary, capricious, or
unreasonable." Ibid. An agency decision is entitled to a presumption of
reasonableness, and we generally will not disturb it unless there is a clear
showing that the agency: "(1) did not follow the law; (2) acted in an arbitrary,
capricious, or unreasonable manner; or (3) the decision was not supported by
substantial evidence." In re Virtua-West Jersey Hosp. Voorhees for a Certificate
A-3687-23
9
of Need, 194 N.J. 413, 422 (2008). That standard of review is not affected by
the U.S. Supreme Court's opinion in Loper Bright Enters. v. Raimondo, 603 U.S.
369 (2024).4 The burden of demonstrating the agency acted arbitrarily,
capriciously, or unreasonably rests with the party challenging the decision. In
re Arenas, 385 N.J. Super. 440, 443-44 (App. Div. 2006).
In reviewing an agency decision, we consider:
(1) whether the agency's action violates express or
implied legislative policies, that is, did the agency
follow the law; (2) whether the record contains
substantial evidence to support the findings on which
the agency based its action; and (3) whether in applying
the legislative policies to the facts, the agency clearly
erred in reaching a conclusion that could not reasonably
have been made on a showing of the relevant factors.
[In re Protest Filed by El Sol Contracting & Const.
Corp., 260 N.J. 362, 373-74 (2025) (quoting In re Quest
Acad. Charter Sch., 216 N.J. 370, 385 (2013)).]
4
See Bd. of Educ. of Sparta v. M.N. ex rel. A.D., 258 N.J. 333, 342 n.4 (2024)
("Loper Bright is not binding on this Court."); In re State, 484 N.J. Super. 442,
453 n.6 (App. Div. 2026) (noting the Court otherwise "has not yet decided
whether our deference to agency decisions should track Loper"); In re P.T.
Jibsail Fam. Ltd. P'ship, 263 N.J. 208, 217 (2026) (stating "[w]e do not attempt
to . . . grapple with the reasoning of Loper Bright, because our decision in this
case would be the same regardless of whether we deferred to the
[Commissioner's] interpretation . . . or review the [regulatory language] de
novo.").
A-3687-23
10
If there is substantial evidence supporting an agency's decision, a court "may
not substitute its own judgment for the agency's even though the court might
have reached a different result." M.R., 261 N.J. at 337 (quoting Greenwood v.
State Police Training Ctr., 127 N.J. 500, 513 (1992)).
III.
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 43:16A-6(1), members of the Police and Firemen's
Retirement System may retire on an ordinary disability allowance upon
certification by the medical board that the member is "mentally or physically
incapacitated for the performance of h[er] usual duty and of any other available
duty in the department which h[er] employer is willing to assign to h[er] and
that such incapacity is likely to be permanent and to such an extent that [s]he
should be retired." Further, members may receive a higher disability allowance
pursuant to accidental disability retirement upon certification by the medical
board that a member is:
permanently and totally disabled as a direct result of a
traumatic event occurring during and as a result of the
performance of his regular or assigned duties and that
such disability was not the result of the member's
willful negligence and that such member is mentally or
physically incapacitated for the performance of his
usual duty and of any other available duty in the
department which his employer is willing to assign to
h[er].
A-3687-23
11
[N.J.S.A. 43:16A-7(1).]
Here, the parties agree petitioner is permanently and totally disabled as a
result of her condition, although they dispute the diagnosis and the cause. The
Court has explained, to obtain accidental disability retirement benefits, a
member must prove:
1.that [s]he is permanently and totally disabled;
2. as a direct result of a traumatic event that is;
a. identifiable as to time and place;
b. undesigned and unexpected; and
c. caused by a circumstance external to the member (not
the result of pre-existing disease that is aggravated or
accelerated by the work);
3. that the traumatic event occurred during and as a
result of the member's regular or assigned duties;
4. that the disability was not the result of the member's
willful negligence; an[d]
5. that the member is mentally or physically
incapacitated from performing h[er] usual or any other
duty.
[Mount v. Bd. of Trs., 233 N.J. 402, 421 (2018)
(quoting Richardson v. Bd. of Trs., 192 N.J. 189, 212-
13 (2007)).]
In this matter, the Board rejected the ALJ's finding petitioner's condition,
regardless of the diagnosis, was a direct result of the vaccination. The Board
also determined any condition caused from her "compliance with [an] employer-
required vaccination[] is neither [an] undesigned nor unexpected" traumatic
event. We do not address whether an adverse reaction to an employer-mandated
A-3687-23
12
vaccination may qualify for accidental disability retirement benefits as the
parties primarily dispute whether petitioner's disability was directly related to
the vaccination. We need only reach the Board's first finding because we agree
there is insufficient evidence in the record to support the petitioner's position
that the vaccine caused her alleged disability from GBS. After examining
petitioner, Dr. Gainey concluded "it is [his] opinion that her symptoms are not
a result of the hepatitis B vaccines" and mentioned "he is suspicious [petitioner's
alleged GBS] may have been related as a secondary effect from her upper
respiratory tract infection."
Likewise, Dr. Lomazow strongly contested petitioner's allegation the
vaccine caused her to contract GBS. Dr. Lomazow personally evaluated
petitioner, conducted objective testing that rendered results inconsistent with a
diagnosis of GBS, reviewed her medical history, reviewed the reports of other
expert witnesses, and repeatedly stated, "There is no evidence that this woman
has or has ever had [GBS]. Therefore, there is no basis whatsoever to contend
that a vaccine taken in the course of her job precipitated her problems." Taken
together, there was enough evidence for the Board to find petitioner 's disability
was not caused by the employer-mandated vaccination. Even Dr. Mian,
petitioner's treating physician, could point to no objective evidence of GBS,
A-3687-23
13
conceded there was no ability to separate the potential viral cause from the
potential vaccination cause, and added the virus may have acted as a trigger.
Simply stated, petitioner failed to meet her burden of showing her permanent
disability was caused by the mandatory vaccines. Because we conclude
sufficient evidence supported the Board's finding that petitioner failed to prove
the employer-mandated vaccination caused her total and permanent disability,
we do not reach the Board's alternative conclusion: that an adverse medical
reaction, caused by an employer-mandated vaccine rendering an employee
completely and totally disabled, cannot meet the definition of undesigned or
unexpected pursuant to N.J.S.A. 43:16A-7(1). See Richardson, 192 N.J. 189.
The Board's final administrative decision is affirmed.
A-3687-23
14