K. Lemke v. UCBR
CourtCommonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Date FiledAugust 25, 2026
Docket413 C.D. 2025
JudgeTsai
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Karen Lemke, :
Petitioner :
:
v. :
:
Unemployment Compensation :
Board of Review, : No. 413 C.D. 2025
Respondent : Submitted: June 16, 2026
BEFORE: HONORABLE LORI A. DUMAS, Judge
HONORABLE STELLA M. TSAI, Judge
HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge
OPINION
BY JUDGE TSAI FILED: August 25, 2026
Petitioner Karen Lemke (Claimant) petitions, pro se, for review of an order of
the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board). The Board affirmed a
Referee’s determination that Claimant was ineligible for benefits under Section
402(b) of the Unemployment Compensation Law (Law),1 relating to voluntary
separation from employment without cause of a necessitous and compelling nature.
For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the Board’s order.
I. BACKGROUND
Claimant filed for unemployment benefits on November 15, 2023, after
separating from her part-time position as a millwork specialist with Home Depot
USA, Inc. (Employer). (Certified Record (CR) at 003, 014, 017, 020, 094-095.) The
Department of Labor and Industry, Office of Unemployment Compensation Benefits
1
Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S.
§ 802(b).
(Department) issued a “Disqualifying Separation Determination,” concluding that
Claimant was ineligible for benefits pursuant to Section 402(b) of the Law. (CR at
031-044.) Claimant appealed the Department’s determination, and a Referee
conducted a hearing. (CR at 046-052, 090-100.) Claimant and Employer’s witness,
Jacqueline Larsen, testified at the hearing before the Referee. (Id.)
Claimant testified to the circumstances surrounding her separation from
employment, asserting that Employer terminated her employment due to her
inability to lift heavy objects. (CR at 095-096.) Claimant testified that Employer
formerly hired her as a part-time millwork specialist and she worked an average of
24 to 25 hours per week, receiving $21 per hour as compensation. (CR at 094.)
Claimant previously worked at one of Employer’s other locations as a kitchen
designer, and she moved to the Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania location expecting to
retain the same position. (CR at 095.) She testified that she has a degree in
architecture and has “certain skills [she] wanted to . . . make use of.” (Id.) However,
when Claimant arrived at Employer’s Stroudsburg location, she was informed
Employer was not in need of kitchen designers, and Employer offered her the
millwork specialist position instead. (Id.) Claimant expressed concerns about the
need to lift heavy objects as part of this role, but Employer reassured her that it would
be taken care of by others. (Id.) Claimant stated Employer brought her in for
coaching to improve her performance, but she testified that it felt more like she was
being reprimanded. (CR at 096, 098.) As to her separation from employment,
Claimant testified that, on November 14, 2023, Employer informed Claimant that it
was transferring her to a cashier position because she was not able to meet the lifting
requirements of her millwork specialist position. (CR at 095.) Claimant testified
that the transfer was unacceptable to her. (Id.)
2
Claimant disputes Employer’s assertion that she walked out of the meeting
and quit the job. Claimant explained to the Referee that, at the time she did not
accept the transfer she was still scheduled to work as a millwork specialist, but
Employer planned to schedule her to work as a cashier. (CR at 99.) Claimant stated
that Matthew Smith, an assistant special manager who was also at the meeting, told
her to leave, take off her uniform, and clean out her locker. (Id.) She further
explained to the Referee that she was hired because she had certain skills and
questioned whether there is a level of transfer that is unacceptable. (Id.) She asked
whether a person just has to accept any sort of demotion. (Id.)
Ms. Larsen testified on behalf of Employer. (CR at 091.) She stated that
Claimant did come in as a millwork specialist but struggled in regard to the special
orders system, and, as a result, Employer implemented coaching to improve her
performance. (CR at 097.) She further testified that Employer did not terminate
Claimant’s employment. (Id.) Ms. Larsen clarified that the heavy objects Claimant
was referring to were doors, but those were not the objects Employer asked her to
move; rather, Employer asked Claimant to move objects in the store aisles, which
tended to block customers from shopping. (Id.) Ms. Larsen further testified that
employees were able to ask others to lift the objects in the aisles if they were unable
to do so themselves. (Id.)
As to Claimant’s last day of employment, Ms. Larsen testified that she met
with Claimant to inform her that she would not be able to continue as a millwork
specialist because she did not understand the special ordering system. (CR at 097.)
Ms. Larsen offered Claimant a front-end cashier position instead. (Id.) According
to Ms. Larsen, Claimant refused the offer, saying it was “beneath her” and that she
quit. (Id.) Ms. Larsen stated that she did not fire Claimant, as Employer has a
3
process for termination. (Id.) She confirmed that, had Claimant not walked out,
there was continuing work available to her after November 14, 2023. (CR at 098.)
Following the hearing, the Referee issued a decision, concluding that
Claimant was ineligible for unemployment compensation benefits under Section
402(b) of the Law. (CR at 102-112.) The Referee issued the following findings of
fact:
1. The claimant last worked as a part time millwork specialist for
Home Depot USA, Inc. beginning employment in November 2021
with a last day worked on November 24, 2023.
2. The claimant worked an average of 24 hours per week earning $21
per hour.
3. On November 24, 2023, the employer met with the claimant to
inform the claimant that she was going to be transferred to a front-
end cashier.
4. The claimant walked out of the meeting.
5. On November 24, 2023, the claimant quit the job.
6. After November 24, 2023, continuing work was available to the
claimant from the employer.
(Id. at 103.)
Claimant appealed to the Board.2 (CR at 114-116.) The Board affirmed the
order of the Referee, concluding that Claimant was ineligible for benefits because
she voluntarily quit her position and failed to prove she quit for a necessitous and
compelling cause.3 (CR at 146-154.) In doing so, the Board adopted and
incorporated the Referee’s findings and conclusions but noted that findings of fact
2
The Board previously issued an order dismissing “employer’s appeal” on the basis that
Employer was not an aggrieved party. (CR at 134-142.) Claimant appealed the Board’s order to
this Court at docket number 1218 C.D. 2024. (CR at 144.) On November 6, 2024, at the Board’s
request, this Court remanded the matter to the Board because the Board had issued its prior order
dismissing “employer’s appeal” in error. (Id.)
3
The Board’s order vacated its prior dismissal order dated May 29, 2024. (CR at 147.)
4
1, 3, 5, and 6 should read November 14, 2023, not November 24, 2023. 4 (CR at
147.) The Board offered the following reasoning for its decision:
The claimant testified that she was fired for inability to lift heavy doors.
However, the employer witness credibly testified that the employer has
a policy where, if an employee cannot lift something, they do not need
to lift it, they only need to notify someone else who is able to lift the
item, so the item is out of the customer’s way. Additionally, the
employer credibly testified that the claimant quit because, after being
informed she needed to be transferred into a different department, she
felt the job was beneath her.
....
As the transfer was to a different department, but at the same rate of
pay, the claimant has not met her burden that she quit for a necessitous
and compelling reason.
(Id.)
II. ISSUES
On appeal to this Court,5 Claimant essentially argues the following: (1) the
Board’s findings of fact that Claimant voluntarily quit her position with Employer
are not supported by substantial evidence; and (2) the Board erred in its conclusion
that Claimant did not have cause of a necessitous and compelling nature for her
voluntary separation from Employer.
4
We note that Employer initially hired Claimant as a kitchen designer in November 2021,
and she began the millwork specialist position in November 2022. (CR at 014, 017, 025, 094-
095.)
5
This Court’s review is limited to determining “whether constitutional rights are violated,
whether an error of law was committed, or whether necessary findings of fact were supported by
substantial evidence.” Ferguson v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 356 A.3d 278, 283 n.3 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 2026) (citing Wise v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 111 A.3d 1256, 1261 n.5 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 2015)).
5
III. DISCUSSION
A. Substantial Evidence
First, we will address Claimant’s argument that substantial evidence does not
exist to support the Board’s finding that she voluntarily quit her job. We interpret
this argument as a challenge to the Board’s adopted findings of fact 4 and 5, which
provide that “[C]laimant walked out of the meeting[,]” and, “[o]n November 14,
2023, . . . [C]laimant quit the job.” (CR at 103,147.) “The Board’s findings of fact
are conclusive on appeal only so long as the record, taken as a whole, contains
substantial evidence to support them.” Johnson v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev.,
502 A.2d 738, 740 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1986). Substantial evidence is relevant evidence
upon which “a reasonable mind, without weighing the evidence or substituting its
judgment for that of the fact finder,” could base a conclusion. Id.; Minelli v.
Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 39 A.3d 593, 595 n.4 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2012)
(en banc) (citation omitted). In determining whether there is substantial evidence to
support the Board’s findings, this Court must examine the evidence and testimony
in the light most favorable to the prevailing party, giving that party the benefit of
any inferences that can logically and reasonably be drawn from the evidence.
Johnson, 502 A.2d at 740. Additionally, the Board has discretion to make its own
determinations as to witness credibility and evidentiary weight. Peak v.
Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 501 A.2d 1383, 1388 (Pa. 1985). “In making
such determinations, the Board is free to reject the testimony of any witness, even
uncontradicted testimony.” Russo v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 13 A.3d
1000, 1003 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2010).
Claimant challenges the findings to the extent that they suggest she quit her
job by walking out of the meeting. Claimant contends that, after she declined to
6
accept the transfer, Employer instructed her to clean out her locker and leave.
Claimant interpreted this instruction as a termination of her employment. In other
words, she disputes that she quit. During the hearing, Claimant and Employer
provided contradictory testimony, which the Referee recognized and resolved in
favor of Employer. Employer provided testimony indicating that Claimant left the
meeting without Employer having fired her. Employer contends that Claimant, after
being offered the front-end cashier position, felt that such a position was “beneath
her” and that she said she quit. The Board, therefore, did not ignore Claimant’s
proffered evidence but rather found Employer’s contrary testimony to be credible.
Claimant is essentially asking this Court to overturn the Board’s credibility and
evidentiary weight determinations, which we cannot do. Thus, the Board’s findings
of fact are supported by substantial evidence.
B. Cause of a Necessitous and Compelling Nature
We next consider Claimant’s argument that the Board erred in concluding that
Claimant failed to establish cause of a necessitous and compelling nature for
voluntarily quitting her position. Under Section 402(b) of the Law, a claimant is
disqualified from unemployment compensation benefits if she did not have cause of
a necessitous and compelling nature to voluntarily quit her position. Whether a
claimant had such cause for voluntarily leaving work is a question of law subject to
this Court’s review. Wasko v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 488 A.2d 388, 389
(Pa. Cmwlth. 1985). The claimant bears the burden to demonstrate the following to
establish a necessitous and compelling cause: “(1) circumstances existed which
produced real and substantial pressure to terminate employment; (2) such
circumstances would compel a reasonable person to act in the same manner; (3) the
claimant acted with ordinary common sense; and, (4) the claimant made a reasonable
7
effort to preserve her employment.” Fitzgerald v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev.,
714 A.2d 1126, 1129 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998), appeal denied, 794 A.2d 364 (Pa. 1999);
Brunswick Hotel & Conf. Ctr., LLC v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 906 A.2d
657, 660 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006).
Under our jurisprudence, a claimant must show that circumstances existed that
produced real and substantial pressure to terminate employment. Brunswick Hotel,
906 A.2d at 660. An employer may make modifications in job assignments, and “as
long as [those] modifications are reasonable, the employee must abide by the
employer’s decision or risk being held ineligible for unemployment compensation
benefits.” Kistler v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 416 A.2d 594, 597 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 1980). However, a substantial unilateral change in the terms of
employment renders a job unsuitable and constitutes a necessitous and compelling
cause for an employee to terminate her employment. Accu-Weather, Inc. v.
Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 634 A.2d 818, 820 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1993);
Brunswick Hotel, 906 A.2d at 660. Whether a change is “so substantial as to warrant
necessitous cause for terminating employment” is examined on a case-by-case basis.
Brunswick Hotel, 906 A.2d at 660. “[S]ubstantiality is measured by the impact on
the employee, and whether the change involves any real ‘difference’ in employment
conditions.” Yingling v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 228 A.3d 289, 298 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 2020) (quoting McCarthy v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 829 A.2d
1266, 1272 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003)). Our law is clear that a claimant’s mere
dissatisfaction with her work assignment is not a necessitous and compelling cause
to voluntarily quit her position. Stiffler v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 438
A.2d 1058, 1060 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1982).
8
Courts have examined numerous instances of circumstances that produced
real and substantial pressure to terminate employment that rose to the level of a
necessitous and compelling cause. For example, significant reductions in pay,
increases in responsibilities, or increases in working hours can constitute such a
necessitous and compelling cause. See A-Positive Elec. v. Unemployment Comp.
Bd. of Rev., 654 A.2d 299 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1995) (holding a 33.8% reduction in
claimant’s wages was a substantial unilateral change and thus constituted a
necessitous and compelling cause for termination); see also Naylon v.
Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 477 A.2d 912 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1984) (holding
reduction of claimant’s averaged commissions from $420 to $150 per week
constituted a necessitous and compelling cause for termination); see also Brunswick
Hotel, 906 A.2d at 663 (holding employer’s unilateral termination of health care
benefits was substantial change in terms of employment and thus constituted a
necessitous and compelling cause for termination); see also Fitzgerald, 714 A.2d at
1129-30 (holding an increase in claimant’s responsibility from one floor to all five
floors of employer’s health care facility, which required working weekends and
holidays, was a substantial and unilateral change in employment and thus constituted
a necessitous and compelling cause for termination); see also Yingling, 228 A.3d at
299 (holding doubling of working hours due to absence of an assistant manager,
whom claimant expected to be hired when he first accepted the job, produced real
and substantial pressure to terminate employment and thus constituted a necessitous
and compelling cause for termination). Furthermore, we have held that “[l]ack of
work, perpetual layoffs[,] and drastic reductions in hours constitute a necessitous
and compelling [cause] to quit one’s job.” Earnest v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of
Rev., 30 A.3d 1249, 1256 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011). In addition, this Court has held that
9
an alteration in a claimant’s duties after her employment in a skilled position, with
the attendant loss or diminution of those skills, was cause of a necessitous and
compelling nature for a voluntary quit. See Nat’l Aluminum Corp. v. Unemployment
Comp. Bd. of Rev., 429 A.2d 1259 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1981) (holding claimant’s fear of
losing her stenographic skills as a result of her employer gradually changing the
nature of her job from secretarial tasks to clerical functions to be compelling cause
for her resignation).
Here, Claimant failed to prove the first factor required to establish that she
had a necessitous and compelling cause to quit her position—that “circumstances
existed which produced real and substantial pressure to terminate employment.”
Brunswick Hotel, 906 A.2d at 660. The Board, in making its credibility
determinations and findings of fact, found the proposed transfer to a front-end
cashier position was to a different department but at the same rate of pay. The record
does not indicate that the new position required a change in working hours or
workload, nor does Claimant maintain that certain skills would be diminished as a
result of the change. Rather than having terminated employment based on
circumstances recognized by the courts as creating real and substantial pressure, the
Board determined that Claimant left work because the proposed transfer was beneath
her, or, in other words, Claimant was dissatisfied with the transfer. Thus,
Employer’s offered transfer would not constitute a substantial unilateral change that
rises to the level of cause of a necessitous and compelling nature.6 The Board,
6
Claimant states that the Department’s basis for declining unemployment compensation
benefits was that she did not provide a reason for her failure to accept the transfer offered. In
advancing this argument, Claimant cites to Section 402(b) of the Law, but the language is actually
cited from the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania website’s Eligibility Information page for
claimants. The information, in full, provides:
10
therefore, properly concluded that Claimant had not satisfied her burden that she quit
for a necessitous and compelling cause.
IV. CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the order of the Board.
__________________________________
STELLA M. TSAI, Judge
When an employee accepts a position, he/she admits to the initial suitability of the
position with respect to its wages and the conditions of employment. When a
claimant quits because the job was unsuitable, the claimant must show there were
changes in the conditions of employment, to which he/she did not agree upon, that
made the job unsuitable, or there was deception on the part of the employer with
regard to the conditions of employment at the time of hire, or he/she shall be
considered ineligible.
https://www.pa.gov/agencies/dli/resources/for-claimants-workers/benefits-information/benefit-
guide/eligibility-information (last visited on August 24, 2026). Here, it is not sufficient for
Claimant to argue that there was a change in the condition of employment that she did not agree
to. Claimant would fail to satisfy the test for unsuitability as her only reason provided was that
the transfer was “beneath her,” which would not be a valid reason to prove unsuitability and thus
fail to be a necessitous and compelling cause to quit. Moreover, the above language is not
contained within Section 402(b) of the Law and is not binding on this Court’s analysis.
11
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Karen Lemke, :
Petitioner :
:
v. :
:
Unemployment Compensation :
Board of Review, :
Respondent : No. 413 C.D. 2025
ORDER
AND NOW, this 25th day of August, 2026, the order of the Unemployment
Compensation Board of Review is AFFIRMED.
__________________________________
STELLA M. TSAI, Judge