Sharon Adams Odom v. John H. Odom
CourtDistrict Court of Appeal of Florida
Date FiledMarch 18, 2021
Docket1D20-2154
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
FIRST DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA
_____________________________
No. 1D20-2154
_____________________________
SHARON ADAMS ODOM,
Appellant,
v.
JOHN H. ODOM,
Appellee.
_____________________________
On appeal from the Circuit Court for Duval County.
John I. Guy, Judge.
March 18, 2021
LEWIS, J.
Sharon Adams Odom (the Former Wife) appeals from an
amended final judgment that dissolved her short-term marriage to
John H. Odom (the Former Husband). She argues that the trial
court erred by awarding her bridge-the-gap alimony instead of
permanent alimony. For the reasons that follow, we disagree and
affirm the amended final judgment.
BACKGROUND
The parties were married in April 2013 and had no minor
children. The Former Husband filed a petition for dissolution of
marriage in December 2017, and the Former Wife filed a
counterpetition, seeking temporary, bridge-the-gap, lump-sum,
durational, and/or permanent alimony on the ground that she
became disabled during the marriage. At trial, held in June 2020,
the Former Wife requested permanent alimony, and the parties
disputed her employability due to disability.
The Former Husband, fifty years of age, testified in part that
he has been employed by the United States Postal Service for over
ten years. He receives monthly disability benefits from the
Veteran’s Affairs for nerve damage in his foot and ankle, which is
worsening, but he is taking pain medication and continues to work
because he needs the income. The Former Wife suffered multiple
strokes and had brain surgery during the marriage, but she has
held several jobs since then. The parties continued to reside
together during the divorce proceedings, and the Former Husband
observed that the Former Wife was able to get around fine and
went on cruises, to concerts, and on trips with her friends. She
even posted on Facebook videos of herself dancing at a party in
November 2019. Based on his observations, the Former Husband
believed the Former Wife is able to work.
The Former Wife, age fifty-one, testified on direct examination
that at the time of the marriage, she was working full-time as a
store manager. She had her first stroke around May 2013 and then
had heart surgery. That same year, she got laid off from work at
Napa Auto Parts, and the Social Security Administration (“SSA”)
denied her application for disability benefits. She has had about
three or four major strokes and six mini strokes since then, and
she had brain surgery in 2015. She reapplied for disability benefits
in 2018, and the SSA approved her application in January 2019.
When asked to discuss the places she has worked at since being
laid off following her stroke in 2013, the Former Wife explained
that she worked at Acumen Medical Imaging for about a month
and a half, setting imaging appointments for patients, but she got
laid off because she could not make it to work every day due to
doctor’s appointments and being in pain. She also worked
seasonally at UPS from October through December of 2017 and
again from October through November of 2018, getting laid off
both times. When she worked, she was in pain, the medications
made her sleepy, and she had memory problems. She has not been
able to function properly enough to keep a job past a probationary
period since her first stroke.
2
On cross-examination, the Former Wife testified that she
actually stopped working as a store manager a year or two before
the marriage, and she worked at multiple places between 2013 and
2019. After her stroke in 2013, she was hospitalized for a week
and then returned to work at Napa Auto Parts, where she worked
about fifteen hours a week through December 2013, at which time
Napa cut hours “because of the business.” After Napa, she worked
about four hours a day at a dry cleaner for approximately a month,
which employment she quit because of an argument the Former
Husband had with her supervisor. Following that, the Former
Wife helped with her mother’s catering business by preparing and
delivering food. The Former Wife was hired by UPS for seasonal
work through a staffing agency, and she did not lose that job due
to medical issues. In 2018, the Former Wife worked at Acumen
five to six hours a day, five days a week; there, her supervisor
accommodated her medical conditions and she could stand up to
alleviate her back pain. She then returned to UPS for seasonal
work at the end of 2018. In 2019 and 2020, the Former Wife helped
with her sister’s and mother’s catering businesses by preparing,
distributing, and delivering food. She drives a car every day,
visiting family members, going to her sister’s food truck, and
shopping. She waited to reapply for disability benefits until 2018
because she knew she could make more money working than from
disability.
A letter from the SSA was admitted as an exhibit, reflecting
that the SSA found the Former Wife became disabled in January
2019 and she is receiving monthly disability benefits. Another
exhibit consisted of copies of the Former Wife’s Facebook posts on
various dates in May and June of 2020 advertising the specials of
her family’s catering business and giving her contact information
for delivery. The Former Wife also moved into evidence a list of
her fifteen medications and the deposition testimony of Diana
Medina.
Diana Medina, the Former Wife’s physician’s assistant from
January 2015 to August 2018, testified during deposition taken in
October 2018 in part as follows. The Former Wife’s first
appointment with Medina was for an annual wellness check, and
the Former Wife indicated on the new patient form that she was
unemployed. When asked if she had any discussions with the
3
Former Wife about her ability to work, Medina explained, “Yes, we
have. . . . [W]e have talked about her migraines, her dizziness, her
depression, anxiety, and just her chronic pain and fatigue. So all
those things together she’s -- you know, we’ve talked about how it’s
just incapacitating for her to work.” In Medina’s opinion, the Wife
is not employable based on her chronic pain, incapacitating
migraines, anxiety, and depression.
The Former Wife had a congenital heart condition, and in
2015, she had a second stroke and brain surgery and she started
treatment with Medina for anxiety and depression. The Former
Wife presents well and can speak clearly, and her stroke history
and heart condition would not affect her current ability to work,
whereas her brain condition might, depending on the frequency
and severity of the migraines and dizziness she experiences. The
Former Wife did not complain about migraines or dizziness during
the last six or so months of treatment, indicating that the
medications were working and she was not having those
symptoms. Medina did not see any evidence that the medications
were affecting the Former Wife negatively. The Former Wife was
seeing Medina mainly for anxiety and depression, which worsened
due to the stress of this family law case.
Medina was not aware of the Former Wife having had any jobs
since January 2015; when they spoke about it, the Former Wife
said she has been unemployed. It would surprise Medina if the
Former Wife had a job for some of that time period and it would
alter her opinion about the Former Wife’s ability to work “because
a lot of these symptoms are based . . . on the patient,” they are
internal and are based on what the patient reports, and they
cannot be observed or measured. Medina added, “So that would
shock me because from what I know of her, these symptoms are
pretty severe and debilitating.”
In the amended final judgment, the trial court made detailed
findings about the evidence presented at trial and the factors set
forth in section 61.08(2), Florida Statutes (2019), in determining
the type and amount of alimony to award. The trial court found
that the Former Wife has a need for alimony, and it acknowledged
that permanent alimony can be awarded following a short-term
marriage in extraordinary cases where events occurring during the
4
marriage preclude a spouse from earning as much as she did before
the marriage. However, the trial court determined that the
Former Wife’s claim that she is unable to work is not credible and
is not supported by the evidence. The trial court found that the
Former Wife is able to work and earn at least a minimum wage
salary, finding that she is “currently voluntarily underemployed
based on her ability to work, established through her testimony
and work history from 2013 to present.”
The trial court described the Former Wife’s job history since
her stroke in 2013 and found in part as follows. The only medical
testimony provided in support of the Former Wife’s disability claim
was the deposition testimony of Medina, who no longer provides
medical care to her and last saw her nearly two years before the
trial. Medina opined that the Former Wife is not employable, but
she was unaware that the Former Wife had been employed
between 2015 and 2018, and the Former Wife always indicated to
her that she was unemployed. “The most striking portion of Ms.
Medina’s testimony was that she testified that it would alter her
opinion on Wife’s employability if she had learned that the Wife
had been employed for some of the time period[s] between 2015
through October 2018.” The Former Wife was impeached multiple
times with prior inconsistent statements she provided during her
sworn deposition, and the videos she posted on Facebook from a
party in 2019 undermine her disability claim and show her
dancing in heels with ease. “Based on the totality of the evidence,
the Court does not find the Wife’s trial testimony and evidence
regarding her disability to be credible.”
The trial court concluded that the Former Wife is
underemployed and capable of earning a minimum wage salary,
but it is expected that she will need time to find employment
compatible with her physical condition. Accordingly, the court
dissolved the parties’ marriage and awarded the Former Wife
bridge-the-gap alimony of $1,000 per month for nine months. This
appeal followed.
ANALYSIS
We review a trial court’s decision on alimony for an abuse of
discretion. Johnson v. Johnson, 297 So. 3d 700, 702 (Fla. 1st DCA
5
2020). Section 61.08 governs alimony and provides that in
determining whether to award alimony, the trial court must first
make a specific factual determination as to whether either party
has an actual need for alimony and whether the other party has
the ability to pay alimony. § 61.08(2), Fla. Stat. (2019). If the trial
court finds that a party has a need for alimony and that the other
party has the ability to pay alimony, “then in determining the
proper type and amount of alimony . . ., the court shall consider all
relevant factors, including, but not limited to” those enumerated
in the statute. Id. (listing factors such as the standard of living
established during the marriage, the duration of the marriage, the
age and health of each party, the earning capacities and
employability of the parties, and the contribution of each party to
the marriage). The party seeking alimony has the burden to prove
his or her financial need and the other party’s ability to pay.
Demont v. Demont, 67 So. 3d 1096, 1101 (Fla. 1st DCA 2011); see
also Phillips v. Phillips, 264 So. 3d 1129, 1132 (Fla. 2d DCA 2019).
“For purposes of determining alimony, there is a rebuttable
presumption that a short-term marriage is a marriage having a
duration of less than 7 years,” calculated from the date of marriage
until the date of filing for dissolution of marriage. § 61.08(4), Fla.
Stat. “Bridge-the-gap alimony may be awarded to assist a party
by providing support to allow the party to make a transition from
being married to being single”; “[it] is designed to assist a party
with legitimate identifiable short-term needs, and the length of an
award may not exceed 2 years.” § 61.08(5), Fla. Stat. “Permanent
alimony may be awarded to provide for the needs and necessities
of life as they were established during the marriage of the parties
for a party who lacks the financial ability to meet his or her needs
and necessities of life following a dissolution of marriage,” and it
may be awarded following a short-term marriage only “if there are
written findings of exceptional circumstances.” § 61.08(8), Fla.
Stat.
The presumption against awarding permanent alimony in
cases involving a short-term marriage is rebuttable. Reeves v.
Reeves, 821 So. 2d 333, 334 (Fla. 5th DCA 2002). “Permanent
alimony can be awarded in cases involving a short term marriage
where events which occurred during the marriage preclude a
spouse from earning as much as he or she did prior to the
6
marriage.” Id. at 334–35. In considering the propriety of awarding
permanent alimony following a short-term marriage, the question
is whether there would be a genuine inequity without permanent
alimony; more specifically, whether the requesting spouse is
without the means to self-support as a result of something that
happened during the marriage. Levy v. Levy, 900 So. 2d 737, 742
(Fla. 2d DCA 2005). “The short-term marriage cases in which
awards of permanent alimony have been deemed appropriate have
generally involved requesting spouses who were incapable of self-
support by reason of a physical or mental disability.” Id. “An
award of permanent alimony is not appropriate in a short-term
marriage solely to enable the requesting spouse to maintain the
marital lifestyle . . . .” Id. at 743.
The Former Wife argues on appeal that the trial court abused
its discretion by awarding her bridge-the-gap alimony instead of
permanent alimony because the evidence established that she is
unable to work due to being disabled. The trial court made
detailed findings of fact, based primarily on the Former Wife’s own
testimony and evidence, in rejecting her disability claim and
determining that she is able to work. In asserting that the trial
court’s findings in that regard are contradicted by all the evidence,
the Former Wife ignores significant portions of the evidence, as
well as the trial court’s finding that her trial testimony about her
disability was not credible.
It is undisputed that the Former Wife has had numerous
medical conditions since the parties’ marriage in 2013 and that the
SSA deemed her disabled in 2019. The SSA documents, however,
do not state that she is completely disabled and unable to work.
The evidence supports the trial court’s finding that the Former
Wife is able to work. The Former Wife testified that she waited
nearly six years to reapply for Social Security disability benefits
because she knew she would make more money working than from
disability. She also testified that she has held several jobs since
2013. The extent of the Former Wife’s work history and the
reasons she left the jobs came to light primarily on cross-
examination. On direct examination, the Former Wife testified
that she was working full-time as a store manager at the time of
the parties’ marriage in April 2013 and that since being laid off
from Napa after her stroke in 2013, she has worked at Acumen and
7
UPS briefly, before being laid off. On cross-examination, she
conceded that she stopped working as a store manager a year or
two before the marriage, she returned to Napa following her stroke
and worked there through the end of the year, Napa cut her hours
“because of the business” and her jobs at UPS ended because they
were seasonal, she also worked at a dry cleaner for a about a month
before leaving due to an argument the Former Husband had with
her supervisor, and she has been helping with her family’s catering
business by advertising it and preparing and delivering meals.
The Former Wife testified that she cannot function well
enough to maintain employment while on her medications because
of migraines, dizziness, sleepiness, and forgetfulness, but her
testimony on cross-examination showed that she left her places of
employment for reasons unrelated to her health issues and that
she is able to help with her family’s catering business, drive around
daily, and go on trips. The only job the Former Wife testified she
left for medical reasons was Acumen—she claimed she was laid off
because she could not make it to work every day due to medical
appointments and being in pain. The trial court rejected her
testimony, finding she was not credible. In fact, Medina testified
during deposition that she did not see any evidence of the
medications negatively affecting the Former Wife, and the
medications actually seemed to be working because the Former
Wife did not complain about migraines or dizziness during the last
six or so months of treatment in 2018. The trial court was not
presented with any other evidence about the Former Wife’s
medical conditions or employability, such as through her current
treating physician or a vocational counselor.
In addition to downplaying her work history on direct
examination, the Former Wife told Medina that she was
unemployed. Medina testified that if the Former Wife had any job
for a period of time during their course of treatment from January
2015 to August 2018, that would alter her opinion about the
Former Wife’s ability to work, explaining that the symptoms that
would lead to an inability to work are internal and are based on
patient reports as they cannot be observed or measured. The trial
court found Medina’s testimony in that regard significant and
found that the Former Wife’s testimony about her inability to work
was not credible. We defer to the trial court’s credibility
8
determination as it would be inappropriate for us to reweigh the
evidence and the credibility of witnesses, which is in the trial
court’s exclusive purview. See Meyers v. Meyers, 295 So. 3d 1207,
1213 (Fla. 2d DCA 2020). Given such, we conclude that the trial
court’s findings regarding the Former Wife’s ability to work are
supported by competent, substantial evidence.
In support of her claim on appeal, the Former Wife relies on
cases that are distinguishable because they did not involve a short-
term marriage and/or resulted in reversal based on grounds
inapplicable here, such as lack of adequate findings or the
requesting spouse’s inability to work having been established. One
such case is Levy.
In Levy, the wife “became disabled and was unable to
undertake even part-time employment” during the parties’ short-
term marriage. 900 So. 2d at 741. Following the filing of the
dissolution petition, the SSA “ruled that [she] was totally disabled
as to employment,” and at the time of the final hearing, her
physical condition had not improved and she remained
unemployed. Id. In denying her claim for permanent alimony and
instead awarding her bridge-the-gap alimony, the trial court made
no finding that she was capable of working and did not impute any
income to her. Id. The Second District reversed the alimony award
because the trial court applied an incorrect legal standard in
denying the wife’s claim for permanent alimony and failed to make
specific findings as to the section 61.08(2) factors. Id. at 742–44
(describing that the trial court denied the wife’s claim on the
grounds that she was relatively young, she was entitled to Social
Security disability benefits, and there was no evidence that the
husband contributed to her disability and explaining why each of
those rationales was legally incorrect). Unlike in Levy, the trial
court here did not apply an incorrect legal standard and made
sufficient findings of fact; additionally, it found that the Former
Wife is capable of working and imputed income to her accordingly.
Another case the Former Wife relies upon is Kruse v.
Levesque, where the Second District held that the trial court
abused its discretion by awarding durational alimony instead of
permanent alimony following the parties’ moderate-term marriage
“[b]ecause the trial court found that the Former Wife was disabled
9
and the undisputed evidence established that she was unable to
return to work.” 192 So. 3d 1263, 1264 (Fla. 2d DCA 2016) (noting
that in addition to her own testimony about the impact of her
health issues on her ability to work, and evidence that she stopped
working and applied for disability six years before filing for
dissolution of marriage, the wife presented the testimony of her
treating physician, a vocational rehabilitation counselor, and an
attorney who specialized in disability to show that her medical
issues rendered her unable to work). “Particularly pertinent to”
the Second District’s decision was “the trial court’s finding that the
testimony presented established ‘that the [Former] Wife is not able
to return to work,’” and “the trial court made no finding that the
Former Wife could reacquire the capacity for self-support in the
foreseeable future or that her need for support was likely to
change.” Id. at 1266. After discussing when durational and
permanent alimony may be awarded following a moderate-term
marriage and their purposes as set forth in section 61.08, the
Second District concluded that “[t]he trial court abused its
discretion in awarding alimony that would terminate within a
limited period of time when the record and the trial court’s findings
showed that the Former Wife lacked either the actual capacity for
self-support or the potential to develop that capacity.” Id. at 1267.
In contrast to Kruse, the trial court here specifically found that the
Former Wife is able to work, and this case involves a short-term
marriage.
Our case is more analogous to Fichtel v. Fichtel, 141 So. 3d
593, 594 (Fla. 4th DCA 2014), where the trial court awarded the
wife durational alimony instead of permanent alimony upon the
dissolution of the parties’ long-term marriage. At trial, the parties
disputed the wife’s entitlement to permanent alimony and, more
specifically, her employability. Id. When the wife left her teaching
position in 2004, the husband “did not agree that she would never
return to work, and to his knowledge, no doctor ever determined
that [she] was incapable of returning to work.” Id. “According to
Former Wife, however, she left her teaching position for health
reasons.” Id. The parties also presented testimony from
vocational counselors: the husband’s vocational counselor opined
that the wife could reasonably be expected to earn $10 to $15 an
hour, whereas the wife’s vocational counselor opined that she was
100% unemployable due to her medical condition and role as
10
caregiver to the parties’ minor children. Id. The Fourth District
held that the trial court did not abuse its discretion by finding that
only durational alimony was appropriate:
The Final Judgment indicates that the trial court
considered each of the factors enumerated in section
61.08(2) when fashioning the alimony award. It is
apparent from the Final Judgment that the trial court
questioned Former Wife's claim that she was unable to
work due to illness and believed that her voluntary
unemployment negated her need for support on a
permanent basis.
The trial court is granted considerable discretion
with regard to an alimony award and we are loathe to
second guess the trial court’s ruling where, as here, the
statutory factors were considered.
Id. at 595. (noting that the trial court’s findings sufficiently
rebutted the presumption favoring permanent alimony); see also
Heard v. Perales, 247 So. 3d 533, 535 (Fla. 4th DCA 2018)
(affirming the final judgment of child support in which the trial
court imputed income to the mother at minimum wage because
“there was evidence to support the court’s rejection of the mother’s
contention that she was unable to work. She had worked for ten
years with her claimed disabilities, and her applications for
employment showed that jobs were available. . . . The mother had
the ability to work with her limitations in her prior occupation, and
there was no showing that her disabilities prevented her from
obtaining a job.”). In fact, the trial court here stated in the final
judgment that “[t]he Heard case is analogous to the instant case
because despite the Wife’s alleged disability she has worked at
various jobs since the time of her first stroke in May 2013.”
CONCLUSION
Based on the foregoing, we conclude that the trial court’s
findings of fact are supported by competent, substantial evidence
and the court did not abuse its discretion by awarding the Former
Wife bridge-the-gap alimony instead of permanent alimony
11
following the parties’ short-term marriage. Therefore, we affirm
the amended final judgment.
AFFIRMED.
RAY, C.J., and JAY, J., concur.
_____________________________
Not final until disposition of any timely and
authorized motion under Fla. R. App. P. 9.330 or
9.331.
_____________________________
Nina R. Price, Jacksonville, for Appellant.
Brian P. North, Fort Walton Beach, for Appellee.
12