Leonetti v. MacDermid, Inc.
CourtSupreme Court of Connecticut
Date FiledOctober 1, 2013
DocketSC19085
JudgeRogers; Norcott; Palmer; Zarella; Eveleigh; McDonald
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
******************************************************
The ‘‘officially released’’ date that appears near the
beginning of each opinion is the date the opinion will
be published in the Connecticut Law Journal or the
date it was released as a slip opinion. The operative
date for the beginning of all time periods for filing
postopinion motions and petitions for certification is
the ‘‘officially released’’ date appearing in the opinion.
In no event will any such motions be accepted before
the ‘‘officially released’’ date.
All opinions are subject to modification and technical
correction prior to official publication in the Connecti-
cut Reports and Connecticut Appellate Reports. In the
event of discrepancies between the electronic version
of an opinion and the print version appearing in the
Connecticut Law Journal and subsequently in the Con-
necticut Reports or Connecticut Appellate Reports, the
latest print version is to be considered authoritative.
The syllabus and procedural history accompanying
the opinion as it appears on the Commission on Official
Legal Publications Electronic Bulletin Board Service
and in the Connecticut Law Journal and bound volumes
of official reports are copyrighted by the Secretary of
the State, State of Connecticut, and may not be repro-
duced and distributed without the express written per-
mission of the Commission on Official Legal
Publications, Judicial Branch, State of Connecticut.
******************************************************
STEPHEN J. LEONETTI v. MACDERMID,
INC., ET AL.
(SC 19085)
Rogers, C. J., and Norcott, Palmer, Zarella, Eveleigh and McDonald, Js.
Argued May 15—officially released October 1, 2013
John Horvack, Jr., with whom, on the brief, were
Fatima Lahnin and John Cordani, Jr., for the appellant
(named defendant).
Jill F. Morrissey, with whom were David Morrissey
and, on the brief, Laura M. Mooney, for the appellee
(plaintiff).
Opinion
EVELEIGH, J. General Statutes § 31-296 (a)1 of the
Workers’ Compensation Act (act) provides a mecha-
nism through which employers and employees can
work together to come to an agreement regarding the
compensation owed to an employee who suffers an
injury that falls within the purview of the act. Section
31-296 (a) instructs the Workers’ Compensation Com-
missioner (commissioner) to approve these agreements
only if the commissioner ‘‘finds such agreement to con-
form to the provisions of this chapter in every regard
. . . .’’ The principal issue in this appeal is whether the
Workers’ Compensation Review Board (board) prop-
erly affirmed the commissioner’s refusal to approve as
a valid ‘‘stipulation’’2 a ‘‘termination agreement’’
(agreement) between the plaintiff, Stephen J. Leonetti
(claimant), and the named defendant, MacDermid, Inc.
(respondent).3 The commissioner, relying on the claim-
ant’s testimony, found that there was no consideration
offered by the respondent to the claimant in exchange
for the release of his previously accepted workers’ com-
pensation claim. The respondent appealed from the
decision of the commissioner to the board, which
affirmed the decision of the commissioner. The respon-
dent appealed from the board’s decision to the Appel-
late Court pursuant to General Statutes § 31-301b.4 We
transferred the appeal to this court pursuant to General
Statutes § 51-199 (c) and Practice Book § 65-1. We now
affirm the decision of the board.
The record reveals the following undisputed facts
and procedural history. The claimant worked for the
respondent for twenty-eight years until he was dis-
charged in early November, 2009. Five years earlier, in
June, 2004, the claimant sustained a lower back injury
during the course of his employment. The claimant
timely filed notice of a workers’ compensation claim
related to this injury on April 14, 2005. The parties
stipulated to the commissioner that the injury suffered
by the claimant was a compensable injury.
At the time that the respondent informed the claimant
that he would be discharged from his employment, the
respondent presented the claimant with a proposed
termination agreement. Article II of the agreement
signed by the parties provides that the claimant agreed
to release the respondent from the following: ‘‘any and
all suits, claims, costs, demands, attorney’s fees, dam-
ages, back pay, front pay, interest, special damages,
general damages, workers’ compensation claims, puni-
tive damages, liabilities, actions, administrative pro-
ceedings, expenses, accidents, injuries and any other
cause of action in law or equity that [the claimant] has
or may have or might in any manner acquire which
arise out of, relate to, or is in connection with his/her
employment with, relationship with or business deal-
ings with [the respondent] . . . or the termination of
that employment, relationship or dealings, or any other
act, occurrence or omission, known or unknown, which
occurred or failed to occur on or before the date this
[a]greement is executed.’’
Article III of the agreement provides that, in consider-
ation ‘‘for the agreements and covenants made herein,
the release given, the actions taken or contemplated to
be taken, or to be refrained from,’’ the claimant would
be paid twenty-seven weeks ‘‘severance pay, deter-
mined solely upon the [claimant’s] current base salary,’’
which amounted to $70,228.51, within thirty days of the
respondent’s receipt of the properly executed
agreement; the claimant would continue to earn paid
time off through his final day of employment; the claim-
ant would be able to continue to obtain medical and
dental benefits for up to eighteen consecutive months
from his last date of employment under the Consoli-
dated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985; 29
U.S.C. §§ 1161 through 1168; and the claimant had the
option to convert group life insurance to individual life
insurance within thirty days of his last day of
employment.
Article III of the agreement also provided that ‘‘[the
claimant] understands that the payments and benefits
listed above are all that [the claimant] is entitled to
receive from [the respondent]. . . . [The claimant]
agrees that the payments and benefits above are more
than [the respondent] is required to pay under its normal
policies, procedures and plans.’’ (Emphasis in original.)
Article IV of the agreement also required the claimant
to enter into a one year noncompete agreement and also
contained a clause stating in part that ‘‘[the claimant]
acknowledges that he has been given a reasonable
period of time of at least thirty (30) days to review
and consider this [a]greement before signing it. [The
claimant] is encouraged to consult his or her attorney
prior to signing this [a]greement.’’ (Emphasis in
original.)
The claimant did not want to release his preexisting
workers’ compensation claim relating to the 2004 injury
by signing the agreement. He consulted with his attor-
ney, who contacted the respondent’s counsel and
requested that the respondent remove from the
agreement the language that could operate to release
the claimant’s workers’ compensation claim. The
respondent refused to modify the language of the
agreement. The claimant’s counsel wrote a letter to the
respondent’s counsel asserting that the release lan-
guage of article II of the agreement ‘‘really has no effect
without the [c]ommissioner’s approval’’ and scheduled
an informal hearing before a workers’ compensation
commissioner for January 8, 2010. The respondent’s
counsel did not attend the informal hearing, although
a representative of Liberty Mutual Insurance Group,
which administered the claim on behalf of the respon-
dent, did attend. Nothing was resolved on January 8,
and on January 27, 2010, the hearing was rescheduled
for March 1, 2010.
On January 26, 2010, the respondent sent the claimant
a letter stating that, unless the claimant signed the
unmodified agreement within the next ten days, it
would withdraw its offer of $70,228.51 in severance pay.
The claimant signed the agreement on February 2, 2010,
and the commissioner found that the claimant did so
because he did not wish to forfeit his severance pay.
After the respondent received the signed agreement
from the claimant, it paid the claimant the $70,228.51.
At that time, the commissioner had not approved the
agreement as a ‘‘voluntary agreement’’ or stipulation as
defined in § 31-296.
A formal hearing was held several months later to
determine the enforceability of the language in article
II of the agreement that dealt with the release of the
claimant’s workers’ compensation claim. Specifically,
the parties asked the commissioner to determine as
follows: (1) ‘‘[w]hether a signed termination agreement
between [an] employer and [an] employee can effec-
tively waive the parties’ rights and obligations set forth
in the [act] . . . absent approval of the agreement by
a [commissioner]’’; and (2) ‘‘[i]f the termination
agreement does not waive the parties’ rights and obliga-
tions set forth in the [act]—whether the [c]ommissioner
would issue an order that the termination agreement be
entered as a full and final stipulation of the [c]laimant’s
workers’ compensation claim against the
[respondent].’’
The commissioner first found that, without approval
by a commissioner, the agreement did not effectively
waive the parties’ rights and obligations under the act.
Next, the commissioner found that the agreement
should not be approved as a full and final stipulation of
the claimant’s workers’ compensation claim. In making
this determination, the commissioner credited the
claimant’s testimony that ‘‘the [agreement] and payment
of $70,228.51 was based on the number of years [the
claimant] worked for the [respondent] and there was
no money paid in this agreement for [the claimant’s]
workers’ compensation claim.’’ As a result, the commis-
sioner found that the respondent had paid no consider-
ation to the claimant for his accepted workers’
compensation claim. In light of these findings, the com-
missioner found that the Workers’ Compensation Com-
mission (commission) retained jurisdiction over the
claimant’s 2004 injury and scheduled a further hearing
on the claimant’s assertion that the injury has rendered
a 10 percent permanent partial disability rating to the
claimant’s lumbar spine.
The respondent appealed the commissioner’s conclu-
sions to the board and also filed a motion to admit
additional evidence regarding the commissioner’s con-
clusion that the $70,228.51 was not paid to the claimant
in consideration for the release of his workers’ compen-
sation claim.5 The respondent claimed on appeal to
the board that the commissioner improperly: (1) made
conclusions that were legally inconsistent with or
unreasonably drawn from the facts as they were found
by the commissioner; (2) concluded, as a matter of law,
that the agreement was not enforceable as it related to
the claimant’s workers’ compensation claim; (3) con-
cluded, as a matter of law, that there was no consider-
ation paid by the respondent to the claimant for his
workers’ compensation claim; (4) made findings and
conclusions that were against the great weight of evi-
dence presented at the formal hearing; and (5) credited
the testimony of the claimant at the hearing.
The board affirmed the decision of the commissioner.
The respondent claimed that, because the claimant vol-
untarily signed the agreement after receiving ample
time to consult with counsel, the commissioner should
have enforced the agreement. The board rejected this
argument, finding that General Statutes § 31-290 pro-
vides a ‘‘blanket prohibition . . . against employers
seeking to discharge their obligations outside the work-
ers’ compensation forum,’’ and that, while voluntary
agreements or stipulations may be reached between
employees and employers regarding the settlement of
workers’ compensation claims, such agreements are
nonbinding until approved by a commissioner pursuant
to the provisions of § 31-296. The board found that there
was sufficient evidence in the record in the form of
the claimant’s testimony to support the commissioner’s
conclusion that the respondent offered no consider-
ation to the claimant in exchange for his release of his
workers’ compensation claim. The board also found
not ‘‘remotely credible’’ the respondent’s claim that, in
refusing to enforce the agreement, the commissioner
allowed the claimant to ‘‘perpetuate a fraud.’’ The board
refused to rule on the enforceability of the agreement
as a whole, finding that its jurisdiction extended only
to the purported release of the claimant’s workers’ com-
pensation claim. This appeal followed.6
On appeal to this court, the respondent claims that
the board improperly affirmed the commissioner’s
refusal to approve the agreement as a stipulation that,
under § 31-296, would have fully and finally settled the
claimant’s preexisting workers’ compensation claim.
Specifically, the respondent asserts that the board
improperly affirmed the decision of the commissioner
for the following reasons: (1) the agreement complied
with the requirements of the act and it was fair, reason-
able, and voluntarily entered into by the claimant with
the advice of counsel; (2) the board should have found
that there was consideration for the claimant’s release
of his workers’ compensation claim because there was
no competent evidence to the contrary; and (3) the
board improperly concluded that the commission lacks
competency to consider certain allegedly deceitful and
fraudulent conduct in which the claimant engaged both
before and after signing the agreement. In response,
the claimant asserts that the commissioner’s findings
and conclusions should be affirmed because (1) the
agreement did not conform to the provisions of the act,
and (2) the $70,228.51 paid by the respondent to the
claimant pursuant to the agreement, as found by the
commissioner, did not constitute consideration for the
claimant’s release of his workers’ compensation claim.
We agree with the claimant.
‘‘As a threshold matter, we set forth the standard of
review applicable to workers’ compensation appeals.
The principles that govern our standard of review in
workers’ compensation appeals are well established.
The conclusions drawn by [the commissioner] from
the facts found must stand unless they result from an
incorrect application of the law to the subordinate facts
or from an inference illegally or unreasonably drawn
from them. . . . It is well established that [a]lthough
not dispositive, we accord great weight to the construc-
tion given to the workers’ compensation statutes by
the commissioner and [the] board.’’ (Internal quotation
marks omitted.) Dechio v. Raymark Industries, Inc.,
299 Conn. 376, 388–89, 10 A.3d 20 (2010).
I
To determine whether the agreement complied with
the provisions of the act, we examine the statutory
scheme. Section 31-290 provides in relevant part that
‘‘[n]o contract, expressed or implied, no rule, regulation
or other device shall in any manner relieve any
employer, in whole or in part, of any obligation created
by [the act] . . . .’’ Section 31-296 (a) provides in rele-
vant part: ‘‘If an employer and an injured employee . . .
at a date not earlier than the expiration of the waiting
period, reach an agreement in regard to compensation,
such agreement shall be submitted in writing to the
commissioner by the employer with a statement of the
time, place and nature of the injury upon which it is
based; and, if such commissioner finds such agreement
to conform to the provisions of this chapter in every
regard, the commissioner shall so approve it. . . .’’
‘‘Payment of compensation under the act is conse-
quently upon an entirely different basis from payments
made in satisfaction of common law rights.’’ (Internal
quotation marks omitted.) Welch v. Arthur A. Fogarty,
Inc., 157 Conn. 538, 545, 255 A.2d 627 (1969).
Instead, ‘‘[t]he provisions of the [act] make clear that
it is the underlying scheme and purpose of the law to
protect the employee, even to the extent of rendering
nugatory his own agreement when it fails to assure him
of the compensation which the law intends he should
have.’’ (Internal quotation marks omitted.) Id. When an
employee signs a stipulation or voluntary agreement
which purports to settle or release a workers’ compen-
sation claim, ‘‘[i]t is [the commissioner’s] function and
duty to examine all the facts with care before entering
an award, and this is particularly true when the stipula-
tion presented provides for a complete release of all
claims under the act.’’ Id. Under this statutory scheme,
evidence that all parties entered into the agreement
knowingly and voluntarily is a necessary, but not suffi-
cient, requirement for the commissioner to approve
the agreement.
Regardless of whether the agreement entered into by
the parties might be enforceable at common law, ‘‘[a]s
in the case of a voluntary agreement, no stipulation is
binding until it has been approved by the commis-
sioner.’’ Muldoon v. Homestead Insulation Co., 231
Conn. 469, 480, 650 A.2d 1240 (1994). Thus, in the pre-
sent case, the agreement signed by the parties had no
effect on the claimant’s workers’ compensation claim
unless and until the commissioner approved the
agreement. On appeal, the respondent claims that the
commissioner improperly refused to approve the
agreement as a full and final stipulation of the claimant’s
preexisting workers’ compensation claim. We disagree.
The record in this case shows that the commissioner
had not previously approved the agreement as a ‘‘volun-
tary agreement’’ or stipulation settling the claimant’s
preexisting workers’ compensation claim prior to the
formal hearing held on May 4, 2010. The claimant’s
workers’ compensation claim was valuable—the parties
stipulated that the claimant sustained the lower back
injury and that the claimant had timely filed a notice
of claim which, from the record, does not appear to
have been contested in the hearings before either the
commissioner or the board. The claimant also submit-
ted an uncontroverted medical report to the commis-
sion on January 15, 2010, which indicated that the
claimant had a 10 percent permanent partial disability
of his lumbar spine, and that surgery might be required
in the future. The commissioner credited the testimony
of the claimant and found that the $70,228.51 paid by
the respondent to the claimant pursuant to the
agreement was based on the number of years for which
the claimant worked for the respondent. As a result,
the commissioner determined that none of the
$70,228.51 was paid in consideration for the claimant’s
release of his workers’ compensation claim. The board
found that the evidentiary record in the full hearing did
not support a finding that the claimant intended to
release his compensation claim in exchange for the
$70,228.51. Having concluded that the claimant was
receiving nothing for the waiver of his previously
accepted claim, the board properly affirmed the com-
missioner’s refusal to approve the stipulation as a full
and final settlement of the claimant’s workers’ compen-
sation claim.
Further, ‘‘[t]he [act] ‘provides the sole remedy for
employees and their dependents for work-related injur-
ies and death.’ ’’ Pietraroia v. Northeast Utilities, 254
Conn. 60, 74, 756 A.2d 845 (2000), quoting Green v.
General Dynamics Corp., 245 Conn. 66, 71, 712 A.2d
938 (1998). The spirit and purpose of the act, which is
remedial in nature and should be construed broadly to
accomplish its humanitarian purpose; see, e.g., Szudora
v. Fairfield, 214 Conn. 552, 557, 573 A.2d 1 (1990); also
supports the board’s decision to affirm the commission-
er’s refusal to approve the agreement pursuant to § 31-
296. ‘‘[I]n construing workers’ compensation law, we
must resolve statutory ambiguities or lacunae in a man-
ner that will further the remedial purpose of the act.
. . . [T]he purposes of the act itself are best served by
allowing the remedial legislation a reasonable sphere
of operation considering those purposes.’’ (Internal
quotation marks omitted.) DiNuzzo v. Dan Perkins
Chevrolet Geo, Inc., 294 Conn. 132, 150, 982 A.2d 157
(2009), quoting Pizzuto v. Commissioner of Mental
Retardation, 283 Conn. 257, 265, 927 A.2d 811 (2007).
One reason for the existence of the act is the long
recognized disparity in bargaining power that exists
between an employee and his employer. See Fair v.
Hartford Rubber Works Co., 95 Conn. 350, 356, 111
A. 193 (1920) (discussing General Statutes [1918 Rev.]
§ 5361, the predecessor to § 31-296, and noting that,
‘‘by requiring that the commissioner shall see that the
statutory rights of the contracting employee are pro-
tected, [the statute] recognizes the fact that in making
such contracts the employee does not stand on an equal
footing with his employer’’), superseded by statute as
stated in Jacques v. H.O. Penn Machinery Co., 166
Conn. 352, 357, 349 A.2d 847 (1974). In the present case,
the board observed the following regarding the actions
of the respondent: ‘‘[I]t is abundantly clear that the
protections and safeguards contemplated by the provi-
sions of the [act] were not observed by the [respondent]
relative to the circumstances surrounding the [respon-
dent’s] proffer of the termination agreement to the
claimant purporting to release his workers’ compensa-
tion claim. In fact, one could almost go so far as to
say [that] the events portrayed in this matter represent
exactly the type of scenario [that] the provisions of the
[act] were intended to prevent.’’ We agree.7
The actions of the respondent in the present case
were in derogation of the safeguards contemplated by
the act. The respondent refused to negotiate with the
claimant regarding the issue of the workers’ compensa-
tion release even though the claimant clearly expressed
a desire not to release his workers’ compensation claim
as part of the agreement. The respondent’s counsel
did not attend an informal hearing scheduled by the
claimant for the purpose of discussing the enforceabil-
ity of the release as it related to the claimant’s workers’
compensation claim. Before the informal hearing was
rescheduled, the respondent informed the claimant that
if he did not sign an unmodified version of the
agreement within ten days, it would withdraw the
offered severance package of $70,228.51. Only then did
the claimant sign the release, and he testified that he
did so because he ‘‘ran out of time,’’ and felt as though
he had no choice but to sign the unmodified agreement
because he felt that he ‘‘needed the money.’’ The unwill-
ingness of the respondent to engage in meaningful
attempts to amicably resolve the claimant’s concerns
regarding his undisputed workers’ compensation claim
demonstrates the need in our society for the protection
afforded to employees by the act. The decisions of both
the commissioner and the board, in refusing to approve
the stipulation pursuant to § 31-296, comported with
the remedial purpose of the act.
The respondent claims next that the board should
have found that the commissioner’s finding was illegally
or unreasonably drawn from the competent evidence
presented at the formal hearing. In support of its claims,
the respondent relies on the plain language of the
agreement, the testimony of its general counsel, and
aspects of the claimant’s own testimony that it claims
contradicts the commissioner’s conclusion that the
$70,228.51 had not been paid to the claimant as consid-
eration for the release of his workers’ compensation
claim.
The respondent claims that the language of the
agreement provides that the payment of funds by the
respondent is in exchange ‘‘for the covenants and
agreements contained in the agreement itself,’’ which
includes the claimant’s release of his workers’ compen-
sation claim. As a result, the respondent claims, the
claimant’s testimony was contradicted by the writing,
making the claimant’s testimony on this issue ‘‘unquali-
fied, self-contradicted, and inconsistent with the pre-
sumptively proper recitation of consideration in the
contract.’’ In support of this claim, the respondent relies
on TIE Communications, Inc. v. Kopp, 218 Conn. 281,
291–92, 589 A.2d 329 (1991), for the proposition that a
recitation of consideration in a contract is prima facie
evidence that there was consideration.
In TIE Communications, Inc., we examined the
application of the parol evidence rule to testimony
regarding whether a party had fully performed its obli-
gations under an integrated contract. Id., 287–94. We
reiterated that the parol evidence rule ‘‘prohibits the
use of extrinsic evidence to vary or contradict the terms
of an integrated written contract.’’ Id., 287–88; see also
General Statutes § 42a-2-202; 3 A. Corbin, Contracts
(1960) § 573; 4 S. Williston, Contracts (3d Ed. 1961)
§ 631. We also concluded that the parol evidence rule
does not bar the admission of evidence that varies or
contradicts the written terms of an integrated contract
if it is offered: ‘‘(1) to explain an ambiguity appearing in
the instrument; (2) to prove a collateral oral agreement
which does not vary the terms of the writing; (3) to
add a missing term in writing which indicates on its
face that it does not set forth the complete agreement;
or (4) to show mistake or fraud.’’ (Internal quotation
marks omitted.) TIE Communications, Inc. v. Kopp,
supra, 218 Conn. 288–89. Finally, in TIE Communica-
tions, Inc., we noted that the parol evidence rule does
not prevent a party from showing that, despite the
recital of consideration in an integrated contract, no
consideration was actually received. See id., 291–92.
In the present case, it is apparent from the commis-
sioner’s findings that the commissioner chose to credit
the claimant’s testimony on the issue of consideration
over the evidence put forth by the respondent.8 This
decision was well within the commissioner’s province
as the trier of fact. Cf. State v. Hawthorne, 176 Conn.
367, 370–71, 407 A.2d 1001 (1978). Commissioners, in
deciding whether a stipulation satisfies all of the provi-
sions of the act, must be able to consider and credit
the oral testimony of employees regarding the terms
of a proposed settlement of a claim—even when the
employee’s testimony conflicts with the terms of the
proposed agreement. General Statutes § 31-298 pro-
vides in relevant part the following guidance on the
rules that govern commissioners in fulfilling their duty
to examine all relevant facts in a particular case: ‘‘In
all cases and hearings under the provisions of this chap-
ter, the commissioner shall proceed, so far as possible,
in accordance with the rules of equity. He shall not be
bound by the ordinary common law or statutory rules
of evidence or procedure, but shall make inquiry,
through oral testimony, deposition testimony or written
and printed records, in a manner that is best calculated
to ascertain the substantial rights of the parties and
carry out the provisions and intent of this chapter. . . .’’
While ‘‘[a] commissioner’s evidentiary rulings, of
course, must comport with the requirements of due
process’’; Dzienkiewicz v. Dept. of Correction, 291
Conn. 214, 221, 967 A.2d 1183 (2009); ‘‘ ‘the commis-
sioner has broader discretion over evidence than does
a trial court.’ ’’ Id., quoting Bidoae v. Hartford Golf Club,
91 Conn. App. 470, 479, 881 A.2d 418, cert. denied, 276
Conn. 921, 888 A.2d 87 (2005), cert. denied, 547 U.S.
1112, 126 S. Ct. 1916, 164 L. Ed. 2d 665 (2006). Thus,
the fact-finding process in which commissioners engage
when deciding whether to approve a voluntary
agreement or stipulation should be viewed liberally,
with an eye toward ascertaining the true nature of the
stipulation or voluntary agreement.9
We have also tacitly approved of the admission of
evidence to the commissioner regarding each party’s
understanding of the terms of a voluntary agreement
or stipulation prior to the commissioner’s approval of
the agreement, even if it varies from the plain and unam-
biguous language of the agreement. In Welch v. Arthur
A. Fogarty, Inc., supra, 157 Conn. 546–47, we found
that the trial court had acted improperly when it relied
on oral testimony to vary the plain meaning of a volun-
tary agreement or stipulation after the commissioner
had approved the agreement pursuant to § 31-296. We
noted that ‘‘[i]f there was an understanding or
agreement not embraced within the language of the
stipulation, it should have been made known to the . .
. commissioner.’’ (Emphasis added.) Id., 547. Had this
understanding been revealed, ‘‘[i]n view of the apparent
seriousness of the injuries claimed, the commissioner
then might well have refused to approve the stipulation
and render an award.’’ Id. Thus, we have previously
suggested that, even if a party’s understanding of the
nature or circumstances of an agreement clashes with
the unambiguous, plain language of that agreement, the
commissioner may properly consider that understand-
ing when he or she decides whether a voluntary
agreement or stipulation should be approved pursuant
to § 31-296.
Because any agreement releasing an employer from
obligations under the act must be approved by the com-
missioner, such agreements cannot be viewed as fully
executed until such approval is obtained. Accordingly,
the principle applied to fully executed contracts, under
which an agreement’s recitation that consideration has
been given establishes prima facie evidence that must
be rebutted by competent evidence is inapplicable. See
TIE Communications, Inc. v. Kopp, supra, 218 Conn.
292. In most cases, both the employer and employee
wish to have the agreement approved. Therefore, there
is no concern about the burden of proof. In the present
case, however, since the respondent was the proponent
of the agreement and the claimant opposed the
agreement as it related to his workers’ compensation
claim, the burden rested with the respondent to demon-
strate that adequate consideration was paid for the
workers’ compensation claim. It failed to meet its bur-
den in this regard. This rule is especially applicable
where, as here, evidence regarding the employer’s prac-
tices with respect to payment of severance and compen-
sation for release of claims was within the control of
the employer and where, as here, there are concerns
of unequal bargaining power. Therefore, the employer
must establish through evidence satisfactory to the
commissioner that the agreement is in conformity with
the purposes of the act.
In Zhang v. Omnipoint Communications Enter-
prises, Inc., 272 Conn. 627, 645–46, 866 A.2d 588 (2005),
we explained that ‘‘ ‘[i]t is an elementary rule that when-
ever the existence of any fact necessary in order that
a party may make out his case or establish his defense,
the burden is on such party to show the existence of
such fact.’ . . . Nikitiuk v. Pishtey, 153 Conn. 545, 552,
219 A.2d 225 (1966); see C. Tait, Connecticut Evidence
(3d Ed. 2001) § 3 3.1, p. 136 (‘[w]hoever asks the court
to give judgment as to any legal right or liability has
the burden of proving the existence of the facts essential
to his or her claim or defense’). Therefore, as the propo-
nent of the defense that it was entitled to enter and use
the plaintiffs’ property pursuant to easement rights it
had obtained from the power company, the defendant
had the burden of proof as to that fact. See Branch v.
Occhionero, 239 Conn. 199, 205, 681 A.2d 306 (1996)
(defendant asserting right-of-way as special defense to
plaintiff’s quiet title action had burden of proving facts
necessary to prove defense).’’ (Footnote omitted.)
In the present case, apart from the written language
of the agreement itself, the only evidence that the
respondent offered on this issue was that of its attorney,
who confessed that he was not aware of how the claim-
ant’s severance pay was calculated. Furthermore, the
attorney was not aware of the value of the claimant’s
preexisting workers’ compensation claim. ‘‘It is the
power and the duty of the commissioner, as the trier
of fact, to determine the facts.’’ Castro v. Viera, 207
Conn. 420, 435, 541 A.2d 1216 (1988). We will not retry
the case now on appeal. The respondent failed to pro-
duce sufficient evidence in order to sustain its burden
of proof that there was adequate consideration for the
release of the workers’ compensation claim. Therefore,
we conclude that the board properly affirmed the com-
missioner’s refusal to approve the agreement as it
related to the claimant’s workers’ compensation claim.
II
The respondent also claims that the commissioner
and the board improperly refused to consider what the
respondent labels ‘‘deceitful’’ conduct by the claimant
when deciding whether to enforce the agreement. Spe-
cifically, the respondent claims that the board improp-
erly concluded that it was not competent to consider
allegedly fraudulent conduct by the claimant, most
notably, the claimant’s testimony before the commis-
sioner that, despite signing the agreement and retaining
the $70,228.51 paid to him, it was never his intention
to give up his workers’ compensation claim. The respon-
dent asserts that this behavior should have been consid-
ered by the board when considering whether to affirm
the commissioner’s refusal to approve the agreement.
We disagree.
The board considered this issue to be one for another
forum, concluding as follows: ‘‘Whether as a matter of
law the contract as signed by the parties, apart from
the references to the claimant’s workers’ compensation
claim, is an enforceable termination agreement is a
determination for another forum; our jurisdiction is lim-
ited to whether the document serves [as] an acceptable
instrument for releasing the claimant’s workers’ com-
pensation claim, and we find that the record clearly
supports the . . . commissioner’s decision that it
does not.’’
The respondent claims that General Statutes §§ 31-
290c and 31-298, as well as our decision in Welch v.
Arthur A. Fogarty, Inc., supra, 157 Conn. 545, in which
we noted that the commissioner has a duty to consider
‘‘all the facts’’ when deciding whether to approve an
agreement, required the commissioner and the board
to consider the claimant’s allegedly deceitful and fraud-
ulent actions related to the parties’ decision to enter
into the agreement. We disagree. ‘‘Long ago, we said
that the jurisdiction of the [workers’ compensation]
commissioners is confined by the [a]ct and limited by
its provisions. Unless the [a]ct gives the [c]ommissioner
the right to take jurisdiction over a claim, it cannot be
conferred upon [the commissioner] by the parties either
by agreement, waiver or conduct. . . . While it is cor-
rect that the act provides for proceedings that were
designed to facilitate a speedy, efficient and inexpen-
sive disposition of matters covered by the act . . . the
charter for doing so is the act itself. The authority given
by the legislature is carefully circumscribed and juris-
diction under the act is clearly defined and limited to
what are clearly the legislative concerns in this remedial
statute. . . . A commissioner may exercise jurisdiction
to hear a claim only under the precise circumstances
and in the manner particularly prescribed by the
enabling legislation. . . . Because of the statutory
nature of our workers’ compensation system, policy
determinations as to what injuries are compensable and
what jurisdictional limitations apply thereto are for the
legislature, not the judiciary or the board, to make.’’
(Citations omitted; internal quotation marks omitted.)
Del Toro v. Stamford, 270 Conn. 532, 541–42, 853 A.2d
95 (2004). Neither our decision in Welch, nor §§ 31-
290c and 31-298 grant the commission subject matter
jurisdiction over the general enforceability of sever-
ance agreements.
Section 31-290c (a)10 criminalizes the behavior of a
person who makes a claim or obtains an award based
in whole or part on a material misrepresentation or
intentional nondisclosure of material fact, and it also
confers the right to bring a cause of action for statutory
theft pursuant to General Statutes § 52-564. Desmond
v. Yale-New Haven Hospital, Inc., 138 Conn. App. 93,
98–99, 50 A.3d 910, cert. denied, 307 Conn. 942, 58 A.3d
258 (2012). Section 31-290c (a) does not create a private
cause of action independent from the civil theft statute;
see id.; nor does it require the commissioner or the
board to consider these activities in approving a volun-
tary agreement or stipulation. See General Statutes § 31-
290c (a).
Section 31-298,11 meanwhile, has been interpreted to
cover only the manner in which hearings are conducted.
‘‘[Section 31-298] deals with the manner in which testi-
mony is obtained and hearings are conducted. It does
not provide the commissioner with any specific jurisdic-
tion over particular types of claims or questions.’’
Stickney v. Sunlight Construction, Inc., 248 Conn. 754,
765, 730 A.2d 630 (1999). In Stickney, an insurance
company moved to open a previously approved volun-
tary agreement to settle an issue of contract law that
was ‘‘independent of the rights of [either] the injured
employee or his employer . . . .’’ (Internal quotation
marks omitted.) Id., 759. The insurance company
claimed that the commission had subject matter juris-
diction over the motion because several sections of the
act, including § 31-298, provided the commission with
‘‘equitable powers,’’ that established subject matter
jurisdiction over the motion to open. Id., 759. We
rejected this claim, noting that ‘‘the act explicitly must
provide authority by which the coverage issue central
to this appeal may be determined.’’ Id., 764. Section 31-
298 does not, by its plain language, confer upon the
commission the authority to consider and determine
the enforceability of those portions of a contract that
do not involve the rights of either the injured employee
or the employer under the act. The ‘‘equity’’ reference
relied upon by the respondent does not refer to the
commission’s jurisdiction. Rather, it indicates only that
a commissioner is not bound by the rules of evidence
or procedure when determining what evidence he or she
may properly consider in deciding whether to approve a
given agreement. See id., 765.
Thus, neither § 31-290c nor § 31-298 indicates that
the commission has special competency to consider
the type of fraudulent behavior in which the respondent
accuses the claimant of engaging: the former statute
criminalizes certain behavior and provides a claimant
with the ability to bring a claim for civil theft in the
Superior Court, while the latter statute governs the type
of evidence that a commissioner may properly consider
when he or she is determining the rights and liabilities
of employers and employees that are expressly covered
by the other statutory provisions of the act.
Even if we were to assume, for the sake of argument,
that the claimant’s conduct prior to entering into the
agreement was deceitful, those actions have no bearing
on the commissioner’s decision to approve the
agreement as a voluntary agreement or stipulation pur-
suant to § 31-296. The facts referenced in Welch v.
Arthur A. Fogarty, Inc., supra, 157 Conn. 545–47, that
a commissioner must consider when deciding whether
to approve an agreement are those affecting the com-
pensation owed to a claimant for a compensable injury.
In the present case, the conduct of which the respon-
dent complains does not relate to the existence or sever-
ity of the claimant’s compensable workers’
compensation claim. Indeed, the respondent did not
challenge the validity of the claimant’s injury or its
compensable nature before either the commissioner or
the board. Moreover, the conduct of the claimant