Romprey v. Safeco Ins. Co. of America
CourtSupreme Court of Connecticut
Date FiledOctober 29, 2013
DocketSC18858
JudgeRogers; Norcott; Palmer; Zarella; Eveleigh; McDonald and
Espinosa
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
******************************************************
The ‘‘officially released’’ date that appears near the
beginning of each opinion is the date the opinion will
be published in the Connecticut Law Journal or the
date it was released as a slip opinion. The operative
date for the beginning of all time periods for filing
postopinion motions and petitions for certification is
the ‘‘officially released’’ date appearing in the opinion.
In no event will any such motions be accepted before
the ‘‘officially released’’ date.
All opinions are subject to modification and technical
correction prior to official publication in the Connecti-
cut Reports and Connecticut Appellate Reports. In the
event of discrepancies between the electronic version
of an opinion and the print version appearing in the
Connecticut Law Journal and subsequently in the Con-
necticut Reports or Connecticut Appellate Reports, the
latest print version is to be considered authoritative.
The syllabus and procedural history accompanying
the opinion as it appears on the Commission on Official
Legal Publications Electronic Bulletin Board Service
and in the Connecticut Law Journal and bound volumes
of official reports are copyrighted by the Secretary of
the State, State of Connecticut, and may not be repro-
duced and distributed without the express written per-
mission of the Commission on Official Legal
Publications, Judicial Branch, State of Connecticut.
******************************************************
ROMPREY v. SAFECO INS. CO. OF AMERICA—DISSENT
McDONALD, J., with whom ZARELLA, J., joins, dis-
senting. The text of General Statutes § 38a-336 (g) (1)
and the historical treatment of tolling periods of limita-
tion compel the conclusion that the insured bears the
burden of proving tolling in accordance with the dual
requirements of § 38a-336 (g) (1) if the insured chooses
to assert tolling to avoid judgment in the insurer’s favor
on the ground that the claim for underinsured motorist
benefits has not been made within the time period pre-
scribed under the policy. Therefore, in the present case,
the trial court properly determined that, once the defen-
dant, Safeco Insurance Company of America, success-
fully met its burden of proving that there was no
material issue of fact as to whether the plaintiffs, Dolly
Romprey and Peter Romprey, had commenced an
action after the three year limitations period prescribed
under the policy, the plaintiffs bore the burden of estab-
lishing an issue of material fact as to whether they had
satisfied the requirements for tolling that period under
§ 38a-336 (g) (1). Accordingly, I disagree with the major-
ity and would affirm the Appellate Court’s judgment
affirming the trial court’s judgment in favor of the defen-
dant, albeit for different reasons than those relied upon
by the Appellate Court.1
The majority opinion sets forth our well established
rules on summary judgment, which I need not repeat
in full. Simply put, under those rules, the defendant, as
the moving party, bore the burden of establishing that
it was entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Marinos
v. Poirot, 308 Conn. 706, 712, 66 A.3d 860 (2013). The
defendant sought summary judgment on the ground
that the plaintiffs had failed to bring an action within the
period prescribed under their underinsured motorist
policy, three years from the date of the accident, a
limitation period consistent with § 38a-336 (g) (1). In
their objection to the motion, the plaintiffs interposed,
inter alia, a claim that their action was not time barred
because: ‘‘(1) [t]he defendant had sufficient notice prior
to the expiration of the three year time limit imposed
by the applicable insurance policy and . . . § 38a-336
(g) (1); [and] (2) [t]he plaintiffs made a demand for
arbitration prior to the running of the statute . . .
[t]herefore tolling [the] three year time limit imposed
by the applicable insurance policy and . . . § 38a-336
(g) (1) . . . .’’ The trial court concluded that the defen-
dant had established that the plaintiffs failed to bring
an action within the three year limitations period and
that the plaintiffs had failed to proffer evidence that
established a material issue of fact supporting their
tolling claim. The question before us is whether this
allocation of proof is consistent with the posture of the
parties and their obligations under the statute.
Section 38a-336 (g) (1) provides: ‘‘No insurance com-
pany doing business in this state may limit the time
within which any suit may be brought against it or any
demand for arbitration on a claim may be made on the
uninsured or underinsured motorist provisions of an
automobile liability insurance policy to a period of less
than three years from the date of accident, provided,
in the case of an underinsured motorist claim the
insured may toll any applicable limitation period (A)
by notifying such insurer prior to the expiration of the
applicable limitation period, in writing, of any claim
which the insured may have for underinsured motorist
benefits and (B) by commencing suit or demanding
arbitration under the terms of the policy not more than
one hundred eighty days from the date of exhaustion
of the limits of liability under all automobile bodily
injury liability bonds or automobile insurance policies
applicable at the time of the accident by settlements or
final judgments after any appeals.’’ (Emphasis added.)
Thus, under the statute, an insured may timely initiate
an underinsured motorist claim through two avenues.
The first is by commencing an action or demanding
arbitration within the limitations period prescribed
under the policy, which cannot be less than three years
from the date of the accident. The plaintiffs do not
dispute that the action in the present case was com-
menced after that period expired. The second is by
compliance with the two-pronged proviso to this limita-
tions period, what this court has called the ‘‘compulsory
tolling mechanism . . . .’’ Voris v. Middlesex Mutual
Assurance Co., 297 Conn. 589, 606, 999 A.2d 741 (2010).
Certain consequences flow from the question of
whether this proviso is treated as an alternative limita-
tions period to the specific time limit prescribed under
the policy in accordance with § 38a-336 (g) (1), as the
majority effectively concludes, or whether it is treated
as a means to ‘‘toll’’ that limitations period. A limitations
period is generally treated as a special defense that the
defendant bears the burden of pleading and proving.
Practice Book § 10-50; State v. Ward, 306 Conn. 698, 706,
52 A.3d 591 (2012). Tolling, whether under common-law
doctrines or statutes, consistently has been viewed as
a matter in avoidance of a limitations period that the
plaintiff bears the burden of pleading and proving. See,
e.g., State v. Ward, supra, 707; DeLeo v. Nusbaum, 263
Conn. 588, 597, 821 A.2d 744 (2003); Beckenstein v.
Potter & Carrier, Inc., 191 Conn. 150, 163, 464 A.2d 18
(1983); Mocarski v. United Services Automobile Assn.,
3 Conn. App. 250, 251–52, 487 A.2d 206 (1985); see also
Practice Book § 10-57 (matter in avoidance of answer);
Ross Realty Corp. v. Surkis, 163 Conn. 388, 392, 311
A.2d 74 (1972) (‘‘matters in avoidance of the [s]tatute
of [l]imitations need not be pleaded in the complaint
but only in response to such a defense properly raised’’).
The text of § 38a-336 (g) (1) does not yield a plain
and unambiguous answer to this question. On the one
hand, the operation and effect of the proviso does not
appear to be consistent with the usual effect of a tolling
statute. A ‘‘tolling statute’’ is defined as ‘‘[a] law that
interrupts the running of a statute of limitations in cer-
tain circumstances . . . .’’ Black’s Law Dictionary (9th
Ed. 2009). In other words, tolling suspends the limita-
tions period. State v. Ali, 233 Conn. 403, 413 n.8, 660
A.2d 337 (1995) (noting ‘‘the traditional meaning of the
term ‘toll’ within the parlance of statutes of limitations,
namely as a synonym for ‘suspend’ ’’). The limitations
period is not enlarged; it simply is interrupted or
delayed while certain activity takes place.2 Tolling
under § 38a-336 (g) (1) does not, however, appear to
operate in this manner. If written notice of a potential
underinsured motorist claim is provided to the insurer
within the three year (or longer) period prescribed
under the policy, the time remaining in that period may
become irrelevant.3 The insured can take advantage of
a different limitations period, under which the insured
has 180 days from the date of exhausting the tortfeasor’s
coverage to commence an action or demand arbitration
under the terms of the policy.
On the other hand, there are many other indications
that this proviso should be characterized for purposes
of allocation of burden of proof as a tolling provision.
The legislature chose to characterize the effect of the
prescribed mechanism as tolling, a term that has long
been understood to be a matter in avoidance of a special
defense that the plaintiff bears the burden of proving.
See General Statutes § 1-1 (a) (‘‘[i]n the construction
of the statutes, words and phrases shall be construed
according to the commonly approved usage of the lan-
guage; and technical words and phrases, and such as
have acquired a peculiar and appropriate meaning in
the law, shall be construed and understood accord-
ingly’’). Had the legislature intended to depart from
the usual allocation of proof, one would expect some
expression to that effect. Indeed, to the contrary, the
legislature’s choice of language providing that ‘‘the
insured may toll’’; (emphasis added) General Statutes
§ 38a-336 (g) (1); suggests it intended the insured to
bear the burden of proof in accordance with this
usual allocation.
In addition, the requirements that must be met for
the insured to toll the policy’s limitation period relate
to affirmative matters principally within the knowledge
or control of the insured, factors that have been deemed
significant in allocation of proof. See Arrowood Indem-
nity Co. v. King, 304 Conn. 179, 203, 39 A.3d 712 (2012)
(considering both difficulty of proving negative and
inferiority of access to information when overruling
case law imposing burden on party to prove lack of
prejudice); Slack v. Greene, 294 Conn. 418, 435, 984
A.2d 734 (2009) (‘‘[I]t is not the plaintiff’s burden to
establish that an otherwise apparently adverse use of
the defendant’s property was conducted without the
defendant’s permission or license. . . . Indeed, a con-
trary rule would unfairly charge a party with proving a
negative.’’ [Citation omitted; footnote omitted; internal
quotation marks omitted.]); Albert Mendel & Son, Inc.
v. Krogh, 4 Conn. App. 117, 124, 492 A.2d 536 (1985)
(‘‘The proper allocation of the burden of proof may be
distilled to a question of policy and fairness based on
experience in different situations. . . . A number of
variables are considered in determining where the bur-
den properly lies. One consideration is which party has
readier access to knowledge about the fact in question.’’
[Citations omitted; footnote omitted.]); see also Mur-
phy v. Wakelee, 247 Conn. 396, 401, 721 A.2d 1181 (1998)
(‘‘[A] fiduciary claiming a benefit from his dealing with
his cestui que trust . . . should be made to prove that
he dealt in fairness and under the conditions prescribed
by law. The full knowledge of the transaction is within
his possession; he can and he must assume the burden
of its proof.’’ [Internal quotation marks omitted.]). With
respect to timely written notice of an underinsured
motorist claim, the insured clearly has readier access
to proof of the affirmative act of sending written notice
of a potential claim following an automobile accident
than the insurer has to proof of the negative. With
respect to the requirement of commencing an action
or demanding arbitration within 180 days of exhausting
the tortfeasor’s coverage, the insurer has no direct
access to evidence of: whether the tortfeasor is insured;
what the limits are of any such policies; whether the
insured has exhausted those limits; and when such
exhaustion was finalized through settlement, judgment
or appeal. The fact of the insured’s superior knowledge
as to these affirmative matters, in combination with the
text providing that the insured may toll, weighs strongly
in favor of a conclusion that the so-called tolling provi-
sion should be treated in conformity with the general
rules applicable to tolling. Moreover, placing this bur-
den on the insured would be consistent with the fact
that exhaustion of the tortfeasor’s policy limits, the fact
of which must be established for tolling, also is an
element of the insured’s prima facie case of entitlement
to underinsured motorist benefits. See General Statutes
§ 38a-336 (b); Fiallo v. Allstate Ins. Co., 138 Conn. App.
325, 337 n.5, 51 A.3d 1193 (2012).
Although a textual analysis weighs heavily in favor
of a conclusion that the insured bears the burden of
establishing tolling as a matter in avoidance of a limita-
tions period special defense, I would not conclude that
this imbalance is sufficient to render the statute plain
and unambiguous. Therefore, it is appropriate to con-
sult extratextual sources, such as pertinent legislative
history. See General Statutes § 1-2z (plain meaning
rule). As this court has previously recognized; see Bayu-
sik v. Nationwide Mutual Ins. Co., 233 Conn. 474, 478
n.2, 659 A.2d 1188 (1995); that history reflects that § 38a-
336 (g) (1) was enacted in response to a pair of decisions
by this court. In Hotkowski v. Aetna Life & Casualty
Co., 224 Conn. 145, 617 A.2d 451 (1992), and McGlinchey
v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 224 Conn. 133, 617
A.2d 445 (1992), this court held that an insurer properly
could impose a two year limit from the date of the
accident to file a claim for underinsured motorist bene-
fits, deeming applicable the minimum two year period
prescribed by statute for ‘‘uninsured’’ motorist claims.
The court rejected the proposition that the two year
period commences upon, or is tolled until, the date
on which the tortfeasor’s policy limits are exhausted.
Hotkowski v. Aetna Life & Casualty Co., supra, 149–50;
McGlinchey v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., supra,
138–40. This court reasoned that, even though exhaus-
tion of those limits was a precondition to recovery
of underinsured motorist’s benefits, an insured could
commence an action and hold litigation in abeyance
pending the outcome of recovery from the tortfeasor.
Hotkowski v. Aetna Life & Casualty Co., supra, 150
n.6. In response, a bill initially was proposed to preclude
insurers from imposing a time limit for bringing underin-
sured and uninsured motorist claims to a period of
less than two years from the date of exhaustion of the
tortfeasor’s policy limits. Raised House Bill No. 6853,
1993 Sess. In committee hearings on that bill, a board
member of the Connecticut Trial Lawyers Association,
William F. Gallagher, underscored that the exhaustion
problem arises specifically in the underinsured context.
Conn. Joint Standing Committee Hearings, Judiciary,
Pt. 2, 1993 Sess., pp. 541–46 (summary of testimony).
The Insurance Association of Connecticut submitted
a written statement proposing substantial changes to
Raised House Bill No. 6853 in which it explained: ‘‘[W]e
believe that the [two year after exhaustion] limitation
period . . . is overly broad. It could lead to cases
where an insurer is first notified of a claim seeking
hundred[s] of thousands of dollars ten years or more
after the injury was sustained. We respectfully suggest
that the committee consider a less open-ended
approach which could include permitting the use of a
limitation[s] period of three years from the date of the
accident. We believe that this gives claimants ample
opportunity to determine whether an uninsured or
underinsured claim will be made upon an insurer. To
accommodate those situations in which the uninsured/
underinsured claim may be reasonably anticipated but
is nonetheless not ‘ripe’ because of unresolved liability
and damage issues in the claim against the negligent
party, the statute could provide for a notification proce-
dure by which a claimant could place the uninsured/
underinsured motorist insurer on notice of an antici-
pated claim under the policy. Such a notice would serve
to preserve that claim until final resolution of the under-
lying claim against the negligent party. Once that under-
lying claim is finally resolved and a[n] uninsured/
underinsured motorist claim is available to an insured,
prompt institution of a formal demand for arbitration
or lawsuit should be required.’’ Id., p. 538. Although the
raised bill was reported favorably out of committee
without addressing these concerns and suggestions, a
substitute bill subsequently was proposed and adopted
that reflected the current statutory language: (1) barring
insurers from limiting the time to bring an action or
demand arbitration for underinsured and uninsured
claims to a period of less than three years from the
date of the accident; and (2) permitting an insured to
toll that period for underinsured claims subject to (a)
written notice within the prescribed period that the
insured ‘‘may’’ have such a claim and (b) commence-
ment of an action or demand of arbitration within 180
days of exhausting the tortfeasor’s coverage. Substitute
House Bill No. 6853, 1993 Sess., § 2, as amended by
House Amendment Schedule A. In statements during
debate on Substitute House Bill No. 6853, legislators
consistently described the second part as resulting in
an ‘‘extension’’ of the limitations period. 36 S. Proc.,
Pt. 5, 1993 Sess., p. 1708, remarks of Senator Donald
E. Williams, Jr.; see also 36 H.R. Proc., Pt. 8, 1993 Sess.,
p. 2751, remarks of Representative Cameron Staples
(‘‘this [bill] extends beyond the time period within
which the suit may be brought’’); 36 H.R. Proc., supra,
p. 2753, remarks of Representative Dominic Mazzoccoli
(‘‘this provision is going to extend the period for which
litigation can be filed’’).
Although not conclusive, the characterization of the
tolling provision as intending to extend the three year
(or more) limitations period is consistent with the effect
of tolling as that term usually is understood. Moreover,
allocating the burden between the parties is consistent
with the balancing of interests that the substitute bill
struck.4 Accordingly, I would conclude that the evi-
dence overwhelmingly supports the conclusion that
§ 38a-336 (g) (1) is intended to operate such that the
insurer may assert the three year (or longer) period of
limitation under the policy as a special defense, and
the insured may plead satisfaction with both prongs of
the tolling provision as a matter in avoidance of that
special defense if applicable.5 The mere fact that these
issues may arise in the posture of a motion for summary
judgment does not necessarily change this allocation
of proof. See Voris v. Middlesex Mutual Assurance
Co., supra, 297 Conn. 600–604 (in insurer’s motion for
summary judgment on ground that insured’s claim was
time barred, once insurer established that fact, insured
bore burden of establishing existence of material issue
of fact as to claim that insurer had misled them to
believe that their notice was sufficient); Flannery v.
Singer Asset Finance Co., LLC, 128 Conn. App. 507,
516–17, 17 A.3d 509 (in insurer’s motion for summary
judgment on its special defense that insured’s claim was
filed outside limitations period, insured bore burden of
establishing material issue of fact as to tolling theory
pleaded as matter in avoidance of special defense), cert.
granted, 302 Conn. 902, 23 A.3d 1242 (2011).
I respectfully dissent.
1
I agree with the majority that the defendant’s concession in its motion for
summary judgment that the issue of whether the tortfeasor was underinsured
was in dispute necessarily would raise a genuine issue of material fact as
to whether the plaintiffs had a colorable claim for underinsured motorist
benefits. Nonetheless, in light of my conclusion that the trial court properly
determined that the plaintiffs had failed to meet their burden of proving that
tolling saved their otherwise untimely claim, this disputed issue ultimately is
immaterial.
In addition, it is important to emphasize what this court is not deciding
in this certified appeal. The plaintiffs make no claim that, even if the trial
court properly placed the burden on them to establish a material issue of
fact as to whether they met the tolling requirements, they submitted evidence
to meet this burden. Therefore, I express no opinion on the merits of the
trial court’s conclusion that the plaintiffs failed to meet their burden of
proof as to either prong of the tolling requirements of § 38a-336 (g) (1) and
the policy. In their reply brief, the plaintiffs do claim that, even if the
defendant met its threshold burden of establishing the inapplicability of the
tolling requirement, they submitted documentation that created an issue of
fact warranting denial of the defendant’s motion for summary judgment if
the evidence is viewed in the light most favorable to them as the nonmoving
party. This contention, however, is predicated on the defendant bearing the
burden of proving tolling, a proposition that I reject. In addition, the plaintiffs
raise for the first time in their reply brief a claim that the policy is invalid
because it conflicts with § 38a-336 (g), thus making the six year limitations
period for contract actions under General Statutes § 52-576 applicable. I do
not reach this claim because it is outside the scope of both the certified
question and the additional issue that this court sua sponte granted the
parties permission to brief; see State v. Rose, 305 Conn. 594, 604 n.9, 46
A.3d 146 (2012); and because it is well settled that a claim cannot be raised
for the first time in a reply brief. See Plante v. Charlotte Hungerford Hospital,
300 Conn. 33, 59, 12 A.3d 885 (2011). Accordingly, I treat the policy and the
statute as one.
2
See, e.g., Lagassey v. State, 281 Conn. 1, 2–3, 914 A.2d 509 (2007) (conclud-
ing that trial court properly concluded that tolling provision of General
Statutes § 4-160 [d] operates only to suspend running of two year limitations
period under wrongful death statute and does not cause that limitations
period to begin running anew after Claims Commissioner has granted permis-
sion to sue); State v. Gibson, 114 Conn. App. 295, 317, 969 A.2d 784 (2009)
(‘‘The plain language of [General Statutes] § 53a-31 [b] provides that the
period of the sentence is interrupted by the issuance of a warrant, referring
to a tolling of the time remaining on a defendant’s sentence. This ensures
that if a defendant has a six month suspended sentence, for example, and
a violation of probation warrant is issued and the violation hearing is not
concluded for one year that the defendant still has six months remaining
on the sentence.’’ [Internal quotation marks omitted.]), rev’d in part on other
grounds, 302 Conn. 653, 31 A.3d 346 (2011).
3
As I later explain, the tolling provision in § 38a-336 (g) (1) was enacted
to address the situation in which exhaustion of the tortfeasor’s coverage
cannot be established until after the time limit prescribed under the policy
for bringing an action expires. When exhaustion occurs well before the
policy’s limitation period expires, however, as the plaintiffs claim occurred
in the present case, the 180 day period under the tolling provision may lapse
before the three year period expires. In such cases, the insured still may
benefit from the three year period. Thus, in the present case, the accident
occurred on November 16, 2004, and the three year period to bring an action
or demand arbitration expired on November 16, 2007. If exhaustion of
the tortfeasor’s coverage occurred on December 12, 2005, as the plaintiffs
contend, the 180 day period to bring an action or demand arbitration would
have expired on June 9, 2006, more than one year before the three year
limitation period under the policy lapsed.
4
I do not view as material to the allocation of proof question the fact
that the legislature prescribed the permissible limitations period and the
means to ‘‘toll’’ that period in the same statute. Indeed, it is not uncommon
for the legislature to address both subjects in the same statute. See General
Statutes §§ 4-160 (d), 47-277 (a) and 52-596. Moreover, it is more accurate
to characterize this provision as a tolling statute because the insurance
policy actually sets the time limitation, as long as that limitation meets the
statutory minimum, whereas the statute specifically dictates the tolling
period.
5
In the present case, the plaintiffs did not plead tolling as a matter in
avoidance of the defendant’s special defense that the claim was time barred
under the policy and § 38a-336 (g) (1). Rather, they filed a general denial
to all of the defendant’s special defenses. Nonetheless, the trial court had
discretion to consider this issue in connection with the plaintiffs’ objection
to the defendant’s motion for summary judgment. See Zatakia v. Ecoair
Corp., 128 Conn. App. 362, 369, 18 A.3d 604 (concluding that trial court did
not abuse its discretion in considering matter in avoidance of defendant’s
statute of limitations special defenses that was not pleaded by plaintiff when
issue was squarely before court, defendant was given ample opportunity to
respond to plaintiff’s claim, and plaintiff could have amended her pleadings
to conform to evidence at trial), cert. denied, 301 Conn. 936, 23 A.3d 729
(2011).