James P. Little v. United Services Automobile Association, Inc.
CourtCourt of Appeals of Tennessee
Date FiledSeptember 28, 2026
DocketE2024-01434-COA-R3-CV
JudgeThomas R. Frierson, II, Judge
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
09/28/2026
IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE
AT KNOXVILLE
May 12, 2026 Session
JAMES P. LITTLE v.
UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION, INC.
Appeal from the Chancery Court for Hamilton County
No. 21-0139 Jeffrey M. Atherton, Chancellor
___________________________________
No. E2024-01434-COA-R3-CV
___________________________________
The plaintiff insured filed a claim against his homeowners insurance company for damages
from an earthquake that occurred in 2018. The insurance company denied the claim, and
the insured subsequently filed this action against the insurer alleging claims of breach of
contract, fraud, and bad faith. The trial court conducted a jury trial spanning several days.
During trial, at the close of the plaintiff’s proof, the defendant insurer moved for a directed
verdict on all claims. The trial court directed a verdict on the fraud claim but allowed the
other claims to proceed. Following deliberation, the jury returned a verdict in favor of the
plaintiff in the amount of $2,000,000. The jury found that the defendant had breached its
contract with the plaintiff but declined to find that the defendant had acted in bad faith.
The defendant insurer filed a post-trial motion, which was denied by the trial court. The
plaintiff timely appealed. Following our thorough review, we affirm the trial court’s
judgment in all respects. However, we deny the insurer’s request for an award of attorney’s
fees on appeal.
Tenn. R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Chancery Court
Affirmed; Case Remanded
THOMAS R. FRIERSON, II, J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which W. NEAL
MCBRAYER and KRISTI M. DAVIS, JJ., joined.
Rebecca M. Little, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the appellant, James P. Little.
Derek W. Mullins, Chattanooga, Tennessee, and Michael D. Mulvaney, Birmingham,
Alabama, for the appellee, United Services Automobile Association, Inc.
OPINION
I. Factual and Procedural Background
On March 2, 2021, the plaintiff, James P. Little, filed a complaint in the Hamilton
County Chancery Court (“trial court”) and named United Services Automobile
Association, Inc. (“USAA”) as the defendant. In his complaint, Mr. Little stated that he
had maintained homeowners insurance with USAA for many years and that his policy
included a specific earthquake endorsement. During the years that the coverage had been
in place, USAA had inspected the home from time to time, reporting after an inspection
performed in October 2016 that the structural integrity of the residence was “fine.”
According to Mr. Little, seismic activity near Signal Mountain in December 2018 had
caused significant sinking and shifting of roads, homes, and driveways in the area,
including damage to Mr. Little’s home and driveway. Mr. Little averred that his ex-wife
and children had been forced to leave the home and find lodging elsewhere due to this
damage.
Mr. Little asserted that he had submitted a timely claim to USAA on March 4, 2019,
regarding the earthquake damage to his home and driveway. USAA had subsequently sent
an independent adjustor to examine the property damage, as well as a civil engineer. Mr.
Little claimed that although USAA had later sent a letter confirming that earth shifting had
occurred and that Mr. Little’s home had sustained damage, USAA nonetheless had denied
his claim. USAA stated in its denial letter that the civil engineer had opined that any
damage to the home was caused by construction deficiencies in the home’s retaining wall
and was not the result of a “single, sudden, or recent event.” Mr. Little also alleged that
the denial letter contained “patently false statements” attributed to Mr. Little’s ex-wife
regarding purported long-standing issues with the home.
Mr. Little noted that following receipt of the denial letter, he had hired structural
engineers to ascertain the cause of the damage. According to Mr. Little, these engineers
had reported that “the ground shifting was of such a magnitude that they would be unable
to draw plans for remediation or provide an opinion on the cause of the earth shifting
without a geotechnical investigation.” Mr. Little then hired a geotechnical engineering
firm to perform the investigation.
Mr. Little further stated that he had received a report in December 2020 from the
geotechnical engineering firm, which concluded that the issues with Mr. Little’s property
were due to “saturation and seismic events.” Mr. Little, through his insurance agent,
promptly sent a letter to USAA demanding payment of his claim. In turn, USAA denied
his demand for payment, asserting that there was no coverage for the loss. Mr. Little’s
agent reportedly filed a complaint with the Tennessee Department of Commerce and
Insurance (“the Department”) regarding the denial. Mr. Little later received a copy of the
response that USAA had submitted to the Department, which he characterized as replete
-2-
with misrepresentations of fact. Mr. Little averred that USAA had also failed to comply
with his multiple requests for policy documents and had engaged in dilatory and evasive
tactics since the claim was filed. In addition, Mr. Little alleged that USAA had ultimately
“fabricated” reasons to deny coverage and discontinue the insurance policy.
Mr. Little asserted claims of breach of contract, bad faith, and fraud against USAA
and included a jury demand in his complaint. He asked that the trial court (1) require
USAA to produce the underwriting file, initial policy, and inspection documents related to
the claim; (2) enjoin USAA from terminating Mr. Little’s insurance coverage; (3) sanction
USAA for restricting Mr. Little’s access to claim and policy documents under USAA’s
control; (4) award Mr. Little compensatory, bad faith, and punitive damages; and (5) award
Mr. Little attorney’s fees.
USAA filed an answer, denying the material allegations of the complaint and
presenting various affirmative defenses. On August 18, 2021, the trial court conducted a
hearing regarding a petition for injunctive relief that had been filed by Mr. Little, and the
court entered an order denying the petition. On June 29, 2023, Mr. Little filed a motion
for partial summary judgment. Mr. Little subsequently filed an amended motion for partial
summary judgment on February 5, 2024, wherein he posited that he was entitled to
judgment as a matter of law regarding his claims of breach of contract and bad faith. USAA
filed a competing motion for summary judgment on that same date. Although no order
related to the motions for summary judgment appears in the record, these motions were
apparently denied by the trial court, and the matter proceeded to trial in August 2024,
spanning multiple days.
On August 16, 2024, upon the close of Mr. Little’s proof, USAA moved for a
directed verdict concerning Mr. Little’s claims. The trial court granted a directed verdict
in favor of USAA on the fraud claim such that the only claims remaining for the jury’s
determination were for breach of contract and bad faith. On August 20, 2024, after both
parties had rested, USAA renewed its motion for directed verdict concerning those claims.
The trial court denied the motion.
After deliberation, the jury returned a verdict in favor of Mr. Little, finding that
USAA had breached the insurance contract but declining to find that USAA had acted in
bad faith. The jury awarded damages to Mr. Little in the amount of $2,000,000. The trial
court entered a judgment in accordance with the jury’s verdict. USAA then filed a motion
for entry of a judgment pursuant to its motion for a directed verdict, and the trial court
denied this motion. Mr. Little timely appealed.
During the appellate proceedings, Mr. Little’s initial brief was stricken and his
counsel was granted additional time to file a corrected brief. After the corrected brief’s
filing, USAA filed a motion to strike the brief and dismiss the appeal, which motion was
deferred to this panel for adjudication.
-3-
II. Issues Presented
Mr. Little presents the following issues for our review, which we have restated and
reordered slightly:
1. Whether the jury’s finding that USAA had not acted in bad faith was
contrary to the clear weight of the evidence.
2. Whether the trial court erred by granting a directed verdict in USAA’s
favor respecting Mr. Little’s fraud claim rather than allowing the jury
to determine the claim.
3. Whether USAA acted improperly by denying Mr. Little’s claim
without conducting a good faith investigation into the peril expressly
covered by its insurance policy.
USAA presents additional issues for this Court’s consideration, which we have also
restated slightly:
4. Whether the jury’s determination that USAA had breached its
insurance contract with Mr. Little was unsupported by material
evidence in the record.
5. Whether Mr. Little waived appeal of his fraud claim by failing to (1)
develop his argument regarding the applicable elements of the claim,
(2) support his argument with evidence in the record, and (3) properly
raise his issues before the trial court.
6. Whether Mr. Little waived appeal of his bad faith claim by failing to
(1) file a motion for new trial regarding the claim, (2) develop
arguments regarding the applicable elements of the claim, and (3)
support his argument with evidence in the record.
7. Whether Mr. Little’s appeal is frivolous such that USAA should be
awarded costs and attorney’s fees on appeal.
III. Standard of Review
Regarding review of a jury’s verdict that has been approved by the trial court, this
Court has clarified:
-4-
Our review of the trial court’s approval of a jury verdict is based on a
“material evidence” standard. Under this standard, “appellate courts may
only review the record to determine whether it contains material evidence to
support the jury’s verdict.” Overstreet v. Shoney’s, Inc., 4 S.W.3d 694, 718
(Tenn. Ct. App. 1999) (citing Tenn. R. App. 13(d)); see Barnes v. Goodyear
Tire & Rubber Co., 48 S.W.3d 698, 704 (Tenn. 2000). As with the standard
for reviewing the denial of a motion for a [judgment notwithstanding the
verdict], this Court must “(1) take the strongest legitimate view of all the
evidence in favor of the verdict; (2) assume the truth of all evidence that
supports the verdict; (3) allow all reasonable inferences to sustain the verdict;
and (4) discard all [countervailing] evidence.” Crabtree Masonry Co. v. C
& R Constr., Inc., 575 S.W.2d 4, 5 (Tenn. 1978); see also Foster v. Bue, 749
S.W.2d 736, 741 (Tenn. 1988).
In re Estate of Blackburn, 253 S.W.3d 603, 613 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2007).
Concerning the denial of a motion for a directed verdict, the following standard of
review applies:
In ruling on a motion for directed verdict, trial courts must take the
strongest legitimate view of the evidence in favor of the non-moving party,
construing all evidence in that party’s favor and disregarding all
countervailing evidence. Eaton v. McLain, 891 S.W.2d 587, 590 (Tenn.
1994). A court may grant the motion only if reasonable minds could reach
only one conclusion from the evidence. Id. Appellate courts apply the same
standard in reviewing the trial court’s decision on a directed verdict. Sauls
v. Evans, 635 S.W.2d 377, 379 (Tenn. 1982).
Gaston v. Tenn. Farmers Mut. Ins. Co., 120 S.W.3d 815, 819 (Tenn. 2003). The same
standard applies to a motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict. Mairose v. Fed.
Express Corp., 86 S.W.3d 502, 511 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2001) (“In ruling on a motion for a
judgment notwithstanding the verdict, the standard applied by both the trial court and the
appellate court is the same as that applied to a motion for a directed verdict made during
the trial.”).
IV. Bad Faith
Mr. Little contends that the jury’s determination that USAA had not acted in bad
faith was contrary to the clear weight of the evidence. In response, USAA asserts that Mr.
Little has waived this issue by failing to file a motion for a new trial regarding his bad faith
claim. Upon review, we agree with USAA.
Our Supreme Court has explained:
-5-
It has long been the rule in this state that in order to preserve errors
for appeal, the appellant must first bring the alleged errors to the attention of
the trial court in a motion for a new trial. See Memphis St. Ry. Co. v. Johnson,
114 Tenn. 632, 88 S.W. 169 (1905). This requirement was initially imposed
by this Court to make more efficient the process of reviewing “the ever
increasing number of appeals,” and we have recognized that this practice
significantly aids the functions of the appellate courts by limiting and
defining the issues for review. See Board of Equalization v. Nashville, C. &
St. L. Ry., 148 Tenn. 676, 680, 257 S.W. 91, 93 (1923) (noting that this Court
“was constrained to exercise its power of prescribing rules of practice,
requiring that errors be first assigned in a motion for new trial presented to
the trial court, and . . . limiting the inquiry on appeal to error assigned in the
motion”). Moreover, and perhaps most importantly, motions for a new trial
also help to ensure that
the trial judge might be given an opportunity to consider or to
reconsider alleged errors committed during the course of the
trial or other matters affecting the jury or the verdict, such as
alleged misconduct of jurors, parties, or counsel which either
occurred after the trial or could not reasonably have been
discovered until after the verdict.
McCormic v. Smith, 659 S.W.2d 804, 806 (Tenn. 1983). In modern appellate
practice, the requirement of filing a motion for a new trial to preserve most
errors is governed by Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(e), which reads in
relevant part,
[I]n all cases tried by a jury, no issue presented for review shall
be predicated upon error in the admission or exclusion of
evidence, jury instructions granted or refused, misconduct of
jurors, parties or counsel, or other action committed or
occurring during the trial of the case, or other ground upon
which a new trial is sought, unless the same was specifically
stated in a motion for a new trial; otherwise such issues will be
treated as waived.
Fahey v. Eldridge, 46 S.W.3d 138, 141-42 (Tenn. 2001). This Court has further noted that
an appellant who asserts that the jury’s verdict was unsupported by material evidence must
first raise the issue in a motion for new trial to avoid waiver of the issue. See Chilton v.
Austin, No. M2001-02891-COA-R3-CV, 2003 WL 237365, at *3 (Tenn. Ct. App. Feb. 4,
2003) (“[The appellant] asserts that there is no evidence to support the jury verdict. This
ground requires a motion for a new trial in the trial court in order to raise it on appeal, see
-6-
Tenn. R. App. P. 3(e)[.]”); see also Johnson v. Ford, No. E2011-00486-COA-R3-CV, 2012
WL 1253269, at *10 (Tenn. Ct. App. Apr. 12, 2012) (finding that the appellants had waived
the issue of whether material evidence supported the jury’s verdict that the appellants were
not entitled to punitive damages by failing to raise it in their motion for new trial).
Here, Mr. Little failed to file a motion for new trial or any post-trial motion pursuant
to Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(e). Accordingly, Mr. Little has waived
appellate review of this issue.
V. Fraud
Mr. Little asserts that the trial court erred by granting a directed verdict concerning
his fraud claim rather than allowing the claim to go to the jury.1 USAA contends that the
trial court’s grant of a directed verdict was proper due to the lack of evidence of fraudulent
misrepresentations by USAA. USAA further argues that Mr. Little failed to properly
support his arguments on appeal, resulting in waiver of this issue.
Regarding the review of a grant of directed verdict, our Supreme Court has clarified:
On review of the grant of a directed verdict on motion of a defendant, it is
not the office of an appellate court to weigh the evidence. Rather, it must
take the strongest legitimate view of the evidence in favor of the plaintiff,
indulging in all reasonable inferences in his favor, and disregarding any
evidence to the contrary. The trial judge’s action may be sustained only if
there is no material evidence in the record that would support a verdict for
the plaintiff, under any of the theories that he has advanced.
Conatser v. Clarksville Coca-Cola Bottling Co., 920 S.W.2d 646, 647 (Tenn. 1995)
(quoting Williams v. Brown, 860 S.W.2d 854, 857 (Tenn. 1993)). “A verdict should not
be directed during, or after, trial except where a reasonable mind could draw but one
conclusion.” Mercer v. Vanderbilt Univ., Inc., 134 S.W.3d 121, 131 (Tenn. 2004).
In Tennessee, a fraud claim must satisfy the following elements:
(1) the defendant made a representation of an existing or past fact; (2) the
representation was false when made; (3) the representation was in regard to
a material fact; (4) the false representation was made either knowingly or
without belief in its truth or recklessly; (5) plaintiff reasonably relied on the
1
Mr. Little’s failure to file a post-trial motion is not dispositive of this issue. Tennessee Rule of Civil
Procedure 50.05 specifically provides: “Whenever a court shall have granted a directed verdict, it shall not
be necessary for the party against whom the verdict was directed to file a motion for a new trial in order to
obtain appellate review of such action of the court.”
-7-
misrepresented fact; and (6) plaintiff suffered damage as a result of the
misrepresentation.
Walker v. Sunrise Pontiac-GMC Truck, Inc., 249 S.W.3d 301, 311 (Tenn. 2008). “The
party alleging fraud bears the burden of proving each element.” PNC Multifamily Capital
Institutional Fund XXVI Ltd. P’ship v. Bluff City Cmty. Dev. Corp., 387 S.W.3d 525, 548
(Tenn. Ct. App. 2012).
In his appellate brief, Mr. Little posits that he proved knowing misrepresentations
made by USAA’s representative, Sabra Johnson. In support, Mr. Little cites to Ms.
Johnson’s testimony from the 2021 preliminary injunction hearing. During the subsequent
jury trial, Mr. Little’s counsel sought to introduce the prior testimony of Ms. Johnson by
reading portions of that testimony aloud to the jury. The trial court allowed the testimony
to be introduced to the jury in this manner; however, the trial transcript merely reflects that
testimony was read to the jury but does not contain an actual transcription of what was read
aloud. USAA therefore urges that Mr. Little cannot demonstrate that the trial court erred
in granting a directed verdict as to his fraud claim because the record does not contain a
sufficient transcript of the evidence introduced at trial in support of that claim.
Although Mr. Little relies primarily on testimony from Ms. Johnson to support his
fraud claim, he cites to her testimony introduced at a prior hearing regarding a preliminary
injunction. During the jury trial, Mr. Little’s counsel introduced portions of Ms. Johnson’s
testimony from the injunction hearing by reading to the jury from the prior hearing
transcript. In doing so, counsel relied on Tennessee Rule of Civil Procedure 65.04(7),
which states in pertinent part:
[A]ny evidence received upon an application for a preliminary injunction
which would be admissible upon the trial on the merits becomes part of the
record on the trial and need not be repeated upon the trial.
The trial court permitted portions of the testimony from the injunction hearing to be read
to the jury. However, the transcript from the jury trial merely states, “testimony of
[witness] read aloud” and does not contain an actual transcription of what was read to the
jury.
By failing to provide this Court with an actual transcript of the portions of Ms.
Johnson’s prior testimony that were read to the jury, Mr. Little has waived review of this
proof. Mr. Little is responsible for providing this Court with an adequate record to review
the issues that he has raised. See State v. Ballard, 855 S.W.2d 557, 561 (Tenn. 1993). As
this Court has explained:
Appellant’s failure to provide a record of the proceedings below does
not enable us to review the issues he raises. As the Supreme Court stated in
-8-
State v. Ballard, 855 S.W.2d 557 (Tenn. 1993), “[w]hen a party seeks
appellate review there is a duty to prepare a record which conveys a fair,
accurate and complete account of what transpired with respect to the issues
forming the basis of the appeal.” State v. Bunch, 646 S.W.2d 158, 160 (Tenn.
1983). Where the record is incomplete and does not contain a transcript of
the proceedings relevant to an issue presented for review, or portions of the
record upon which the party relies, an appellate court is precluded from
considering the issue. State v. Roberts, 755 S.W.2d 833, 836 (Tenn. Cr. App.
1988).
Sturgeon v. Sturgeon, No. E2008-01099-COA-R3-CV, 2009 WL 2213485, at *3 (Tenn.
Ct. App. July 24, 2009). Moreover, Tennessee Rule of Appellate Procedure 24(b) provides
that “the appellant shall have prepared a transcript of such part of the evidence or
proceedings as is necessary to convey a fair, accurate and complete account of what
transpired with respect to those issues that are the bases of appeal.”
Here, Mr. Little has failed to provide this Court with a transcript that reflects what
transpired during trial with respect to the testimony upon which he seeks to rely. Without
a transcript detailing the portions of the prior testimony that were read to the jury, we
cannot fully evaluate the trial court’s basis for directing a verdict on the fraud claim.
In addition to the preliminary injunction hearing testimony, Mr. Little also relies on
certain exhibits that were introduced at trial, namely USAA’s initial denial letter regarding
his claim and USAA’s response sent to the Department following Mr. Little’s consumer
complaint. Mr. Little further mentions other documentary exhibits, including the
independent adjustor’s report, notes recorded by Ms. Johnson during her investigation of
the claim, Mr. Little’s complaint filed with the Department, and the engineering report
prepared by GEOServices, LLC. However, none of these documents demonstrate that a
“false representation was made either knowingly or without belief in its truth or
recklessly,” upon which Mr. Little relied or that caused him to suffer damages. See Walker,
249 S.W.3d at 311.
Mr. Little first references the report from an independent adjuster, dated March 21,
2019. In this report, the adjuster noted multiple areas in and around the home that contained
cracks and concluded by stating:
There were some cracks on the right side of the home that appeared to have
been sealed over previously, and insured’s ex-wife advised those cracks were
previously present, indicating the area is prone to settlement. The home sits
on the edge of the mountain, with the grounds being very steep downward
from the front of the home to the rear. Based on our inspection, it appears
likely that due to the heavy rains in the area recently, the soil is heavily
saturated and is eroding, causing the home to settle. The services of a
-9-
structural and/or soil engineer may be needed to ensure the grounds are
stable.
As Mr. Little points out, Ms. Johnson’s notes reflect that Ms. Johnson then telephoned Mr.
Little on April 4, 2019, following receipt of the independent adjuster’s report, and advised
Mr. Little that the adjuster had noted “some damages that may be earth movement” and
had stated that because of the earthquake endorsement, USAA would need to hire an expert
to determine the cause of the losses. Ms. Johnson stated that USAA would thus hire an
engineer “to inspect and confirm [cause of loss].”
It is undisputed that USAA retained a structural engineer to inspect the home.
Following inspection, the structural engineer provided a report to USAA, wherein he
concluded that “observed distress throughout the residence, including sloping floors and
interior/exterior cracks and separations, is the result of long-term differential movement of
the foundation due to deficiency in initial construction details of the retaining wall. These
items were not the result of any single, sudden, or recent event.” Ms. Johnson sent the
initial denial letter to Mr. Little on May 17, 2019, along with a copy of the structural
engineer’s report. Relying on that report, USAA denied coverage. Ms. Johnson stated in
the letter that in order to trigger coverage under the earthquake endorsement, “the damage
must be direct physical loss caused by an earthquake.”
We note that it was not until Mr. Little’s receipt of the report from GEOServices,
LLC, dated December 30, 2020, more than a year after the initial denial by USAA, that he
obtained an engineer’s opinion that the damage to his home was likely due in part to seismic
activity. Accordingly, Ms. Johnson’s representations in 2019, which essentially quoted the
structural engineer’s report, cannot be classified as knowingly or recklessly false. Ms.
Johnson’s letter evinced that she was relying upon the expert opinion that was available to
her at that time.
Similarly, although Mr. Little sent his complaint to the Department on January 12,
2021, which was after the date of the GEOServices report, he failed to mention that report
in his complaint. Instead, his complaint focused on USAA’s purported lack of cooperation
with requests for policy documents. Accordingly, in USAA’s responsive letter to the
Department, USAA addressed the document requests and again cited the structural
engineer’s report regarding the cause of Mr. Little’s losses. Although USAA did
acknowledge that Mr. Little had supplied an “engineer’s report,” apparently referring to
the report by GEOServices, USAA stated that “the engineer’s report supplied by [Mr.
Little] does not state any evidence of earthquake damage. The decision to deny remains
unchanged.”
Mr. Little now propounds that USAA’s statement that “the engineer’s report . . .
does not state any evidence of earthquake damage” was false or misleading because the
GEOServices report does cite seismic activity as a cause of the damages. Even if we
- 10 -
assume, arguendo, that this amounts to a knowing or reckless misrepresentation, Mr.
Little’s evidence still falls short of supporting his fraud claim because he failed to
demonstrate that he “reasonably relied on the misrepresented fact” or that he was damaged
thereby. See Walker, 249 S.W.3d at 311. As the trial court noted in its explanation
regarding its grant of a directed verdict on the fraud claim:
[W]hen I granted the motion for a directed verdict . . . there was the issue of
reliance and damages related to misrepresentation. And that is what I didn’t
hear during the course of the plaintiff’s proof, and that was the primary focus
when I said you have intentional misrepresentation, and you got the elements
that are listed there. Even if we were to assume, for argumentative purposes
only, that there was an intentional misrepresentation made to the Tennessee
Department of Commerce and Insurance, kind of hard to rely upon
representation you didn’t hear. Kind of hard to suffer damages, when it
wasn’t discussed what authority the Tennessee Department of Commerce
and Insurance would’ve had to somehow intervene in the process anyway.
There was no—there was not enough proof to get to the jury on reliance and
damages related to the misrepresentation, which is why the Court granted
that motion for a directed verdict on that.
We agree with the trial court’s determination.
This Court has previously elucidated that a “false representation alone does not
amount to fraud; there must be a showing by plaintiff that the representation was relied on
by him or her, and that the reliance was reasonable under the circumstances.” Homestead
Grp., LLC v. Bank of Tenn., 307 S.W.3d 746, 752 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2009). Mr. Little has
shown neither of these elements. Mr. Little clearly did not rely upon USAA’s
representation made to the Department because he has consistently maintained since
receipt of the GEOServices report that his losses were caused by seismic activity. As the
trial court stated, Mr. Little did not present any proof of reliance or damages related to the
purported misrepresentation made by USAA to the Department. Taking the strongest
legitimate view of the evidence in favor of Mr. Little, we conclude that there exists no
material evidence in the record that would support a verdict in favor of Mr. Little regarding
his fraud claim. See Conatser, 920 S.W.2d at 647. We therefore affirm the trial court’s
grant of a directed verdict on the fraud claim.
VI. Breach of Contract
The jury returned a verdict in favor of Mr. Little, finding that USAA had breached
the insurance contract and awarding to Mr. Little $2,000,000 in damages. USAA
subsequently filed a post-trial motion and requested that the trial court enter a judgment in
accordance with its directed verdict, but the court denied the motion. USAA contends that
- 11 -
the jury’s finding of breach of contract was not supported by material evidence in the
record.
This Court has explained:
On appeal, “our review of a jury’s factual findings in a civil action is
limited to determining whether any material evidence supported the verdict.”
Potter v. Ford Motor Co., 213 S.W.3d 264, 268 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2006) (citing
In re Estate of Brindley, No. M1999-02224-COA-R3-CV, 2002 WL
1827578, at *2 (Tenn. Ct. App. Aug. 7, 2002); Tenn. R. App. P. 13(d)). We
“do not determine the credibility of witnesses or weigh evidence on appeal
from a jury verdict.” Id. at 268-69 (citing In re Estate of Brindley, 2002 WL
1827578, at *2; Conatser v. Clarksville Coca-Cola Bottling Co., 920 S.W.2d
646, 647 (Tenn. 1995); Benson v. Tennessee Valley Elec. Coop., 868 S.W.2d
630, 638-39 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1993)). “Where the record contains material
evidence supporting the verdict, the judgment based on that verdict will not
be disturbed on appeal.” Id. at 269 (citing Reynolds v. Ozark Motor Lines,
Inc., 887 S.W.2d 822, 823 (Tenn. 1994); Whaley v. Rheem Mfg. Co., 900
S.W.2d 296, 300 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1995)).
State ex rel. Slatery v. Witherspoon Law Grp. PLLC, 700 S.W.3d 370, 382 (Tenn. Ct. App.
2022). In determining whether there is material evidence to support a verdict, this Court
must: “(1) take the strongest legitimate view of all the evidence in favor of the verdict; (2)
assume the truth of all evidence that supports the verdict; (3) allow all reasonable
inferences to sustain the verdict; and (4) discard all [countervailing] evidence.” Old
Republic Life Ins. Co. v. Woody, 652 S.W.3d 418, 424-25 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2022) (quoting
Barnes v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 48 S.W.3d 698, 704 (Tenn. 2000)).
USAA postulates that the jury’s verdict was in error because (1) no material
evidence existed supporting a finding of breach because there was no evidence of direct
physical loss caused by an earthquake, (2) the policy purportedly excluded rainwater issues
from coverage, and (3) Mr. Little failed to provide evidence of recoverable damages. We
will address each of these contentions in turn.
A. Direct Physical Loss
USAA advances the position that because the insurance policy required proof of a
“direct physical loss” due to earthquake to afford coverage, the jury’s determination of
breach was unsupported by the evidence. The earthquake endorsement attached to Mr.
Little’s insurance policy provides in pertinent part:
For an additional premium, we insure for direct physical loss to property
covered under SECTION I-PROPERTY WE COVER of the policy to which
- 12 -
this endorsement is attached caused by earthquake including land shock
waves or tremors before, during or after a volcanic eruption.
(Emphasis added.) The policy does not define the phrase, “direct physical loss.”
With regard to proper construction of the language incorporated in an insurance
policy, our Supreme Court has instructed:
The analysis used in construing insurance policies is well settled.
“Insurance contracts like other contracts should be construed so as to give
effect to the intention and express language of the parties.” Blaylock &
Brown Construction, Inc. v. AIU Insurance Co., 796 S.W.2d 146, 149 (Tenn.
App. 1990). Words in an insurance policy are given their common and
ordinary meaning. Where language in an insurance policy is susceptible of
more than one reasonable interpretation, however, it is ambiguous. See e.g.,
Moss v. Golden Rule Life Insurance Co., 724 S.W.2d 367, 368 (Tenn. App.
1986). Where the ambiguous language limits the coverage of an insurance
policy, that language must be construed against the insurance company and
in favor of the insured. Allstate Insurance Co. v. Watts, 811 S.W.2d 883,
886 (Tenn. 1991).
Tata v. Nichols, 848 S.W.2d 649, 650 (Tenn. 1993). Our Supreme Court has also stated:
Where there is no ambiguity, it is the duty of the Court to apply to the words
used their ordinary meaning and neither party is to be favored in their
construction. The well recognized rule of construing language of an
insurance policy most strongly against the insurance company does not
permit or cause the Court to create an ambiguity where none exists.
Brown v. Tenn. Auto Ins. Co., 237 S.W.2d 553, 554-555 (Tenn. 1951) (citation omitted).
Mr. Little and USAA differ in their positions concerning the proper construction of
the phrase, “direct physical loss.” In its most basic form, this disagreement involves
whether the damages must have immediately manifested following the earthquake and
whether any other contributing cause existed. Concerning this issue, the trial court
instructed the jury as follows:
Now, to prove that the defendant owes benefits under the earthquake
endorsement, the plaintiff must prove by a preponderance of the evidence
that an earthquake caused direct physical loss to his dwelling or other
structures on the property. It is physical loss damage or injury that, in the
natural and continuous sequence unbroken by an efficient intervening cause,
produces the injury and without which the results would not have occurred.
- 13 -
However, you may find coverage exists or that there is coverage if a non-
excluded cause is a substantial factor in producing the damage or injury, even
though an excluded cause may have in -- may have contributed in some form
to the ultimate result and standing alone would have properly invoked the
exclusion contained in the policy.
The trial court’s instruction mirrors the language of Allstate Ins. Co. v. Watts, 811 S.W.2d
883, 888 (Tenn. 1991), wherein the Supreme Court adopted the “concurrent causation
doctrine,” holding that “an insurer should not be excused from its obligation under a
homeowner’s policy unless it has been determined that the loss being complained of did
not result in substantial part from a risk for which it provided coverage and collected a
premium.”
USAA insists that this instruction was in error because the policy contains an “anti-
concurrent cause” provision (“ACC clause”), which states:
LOSSES WE DO NOT COVER UNDER DWELLING PROTECTION,
OTHER STRUCTURES PROTECTION AND PERSONAL PROPERTY
PROTECTION:
1. We do not insure for damage consisting of or caused directly or
indirectly by any of the following regardless of:
(i) The cause of the excluded event or damage that; or
(ii) Other causes of the loss that; or
(iii) Whether the event or damage occurs, suddenly or gradually,
involves isolated or widespread damage, or occurs as a result
of any combination of these to; or
(iv) Whether other causes or events act concurrently or in any
sequence with the excluded event to
produce the loss.
The policy then lists several exclusion clauses, such as “earth movement,” including
“landslide,” and “weather conditions,” including “rain.”
As a general rule, however, the provisions of a specific endorsement on a policy of
insurance will take precedence over conflicting terms of the initial policy. See Hamill v.
Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 499 S.W.2d 892, 898 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1972). Ergo, the inclusion
of a provision (accompanied by payment of an additional premium) expressly covering
- 14 -
earthquake damage would take precedence over general exclusions found in the initial
policy. Moreover, if the loss is covered under one portion of the policy, the insurer may
not rely on conflicting policy provisions to deny that coverage. See Solomon v. Hager, No.
E2000-02586-COA-R3-CV, 2001 WL 1657214, at *8 (Tenn. Ct. App. Dec. 27, 2001)
(“Allstate will not be permitted to specifically provide coverage for an event and then take
it away in the general language of the policy.”).
In Solomon, the plaintiff was a homeowner who had been constructing a home and
had obtained a “builder’s risk policy” through Allstate Insurance Company. Id. at *1.
During construction of the home, a basement wall collapsed following several days of
heavy rain. Id. When the plaintiff attempted to file a claim for the loss, Allstate’s a