Cameron Holbrook Winters and Jason Winters v. Terry Tyshell Harper
CourtDistrict Court of Appeal of Florida
Date FiledJune 16, 2021
Docket1D19-1650
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
FIRST DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA
_____________________________
No. 1D19-1650
_____________________________
CAMERON HOLBROOK WINTERS
and JASON WINTERS,
Appellants,
v.
TERRY TYSHELL HARPER,
Appellee.
_____________________________
On appeal from the Circuit Court for Duval County.
Waddell A. Wallace, Judge.
June 16, 2021
TANENBAUM, J.
Cameron Winters was driving his dad’s car at a low speed
when he rear-ended a car driven by Terry Harper, who was
stopped at a red light. Harper sued both Cameron and his dad,
Jason, in negligence to recover damages for injuries she claimed to
have suffered as a result. Cameron and Jason admitted to liability,
and the parties went to trial regarding causation and damages.
The jury found in favor of Harper on those issues. The father and
son now appeal the money judgment that ensued, seeking a new
trial on several theories. We affirm in all respects but write to
explain why, despite the appellants’ contention to the contrary,
two references to automobile insurance in the course of a four-day
trial do not entitle them to relief.
I.
We start, though, with an aside. The leitmotif of the
appellants’ appeal is that the trial court did not do enough to keep
the idea of insurance coverage from becoming the gestalt of the
trial. Notably, as we will discuss more fully in a moment, there
were at least two points in the trial where the appellants’ counsel
complained about the repeated questioning of witnesses by
Harper’s counsel about the exchange of information at the scene.
This, the appellants ostensibly feared, was going to turn the jury’s
attention toward insurance and away from what was supposed to
be the sole question for the jury—whether Harper suffered
compensable damages because of Cameron’s admitted negligence.
The appellants, though, seemingly fail to appreciate the role their
own counsel played in this perceived problem.
The appellants’ lawyer was quite candid in the trial court
about his aggressive strategy that would focus on the conduct of
and communications between Harper and Cameron following the
crash. He presumably hoped to highlight what might be perceived
as Harper’s haste in leaving the scene, thereby calling into
question the veracity of Harper’s claim that her injuries were
significant. Here is but one example from the record: In opposition
to a motion in limine by Harper, counsel for the appellants insisted
that “everything that happened at the scene [of the accident] is
extremely important,” including “what the plaintiff said, what the
plaintiff did, what the defendant said, what the defendant did . . .
all of that is relevant.”
He continued:
This is observation at the scene based on what the
plaintiff says in her own words to the
defendant. . . . They’re trying to gloss over the whole
scene. I don’t blame them, Judge. If I was representing
the plaintiff in this case, I would be wanting to do the
same exact thing that they are doing, glossing over the
entire scene in total and moving on. The last thing they
want to talk about in this trial is the actual incident and
what occurred after the incident. Move on from that. I get
it. There’s going to be a lot of testimony in this case about
2
the minutes – well, the accident itself and the minutes
after the accident and what occurred between the parties
and what everybody did. A huge part of the cause.
Even though both the trial court and Harper’s lawyer cautioned
that this strategy risked touching on insurance, the appellants’
counsel stated that everything “actually said and done by the
various parties” was “probative.”
This said, now we can turn to the two specific references to
auto insurance that lie at the heart of the appellants’ appeal.
A.
The first reference came from Harper herself. Harper testified
that she offered Cameron her driver information. Rather than
provide his information, Cameron handed Harper his cell phone
and asked her to speak to his mother. Harper’s testimony then
continued with the following exchange between her lawyer and
her:
Q: What was the only thing you were able to get
from Mr. Winters or his mother?
A: Her phone number.
Q: At any time did Mr. Winters or his mother say,
“Ms. Harper, how are you doing?”
A: No, sir.
Q: And as you got the phone number, did you take
a picture of the license plate of the Winters’ vehicle?
A: Yes, sir.
Q: And did you take a picture just in case you
needed it?
3
A: I just felt like I – I didn’t know if it was the right
number. I just needed to walk away with something that
I’ll be able to report to my insurance.
Three questions later (which were about Harper having to
leave the scene to pick up her child from daycare in time), counsel
for the appellants objected. Counsel argued that the questioning of
Harper elicited “the idea that there was insurance involved . . . she
needed this information to call her insurance carrier to give them
the information about [the appellants], all of which now has
influenced and affected and infused the trial with the notion of
insurance . . . .”
The appellants moved for a mistrial, and in the alternative,
they asked for a curative instruction. The trial court denied both
requests. Regarding the curative, the trial court concluded that “it
would be better not to address it from the bench here at this time.
It would heighten the issue.”
B.
The other mention of auto insurance came during cross-
examination of Cameron by Harper’s counsel. Cameron’s
testimony on direct examination had provided a slightly different
version of events after the crash. He had explained that he called
his mother because he had never been in an accident and was
unsure what to do. Cameron denied that Harper gave him her
driver information. Harper’s counsel asked Cameron the following
question: “Did you ever give Ms. Harper your information or your
registration?” Cameron responded, “I planned to, but I didn’t know
how to use that information exactly, so I didn’t know exactly like
the numbers and names I was looking for that.”
The appellants’ lawyer objected, and at sidebar, he explained
his concern that the questioning would lead to a question whether
Cameron and Harper exchanged insurance information. Counsel
for Harper agreed to rephrase his question to the following: “Other
than the phone number, your mother’s phone number, did you
provide any other information to Ms. Harper?” At the conclusion of
the sidebar, Harper’s lawyer resumed by asking, “To be clear, sir,
other than your mother’s insurance – I’m sorry – other than your
4
mother’s phone number – .” The appellants’ lawyer of course
objected again.
At sidebar counsel renewed his motion for a mistrial, because,
he explained, Harper’s reference to her own insurance “has now
been put in the direct context of his mother’s insurance. And it was
not candy-coated, it was not stated any other way, other than the
word ‘insurance.’ I have to move for a mistrial.” The trial court
reserved on that question, but it granted counsel’s request for a
curative instruction. The court instructed the jury as the
appellants’ counsel requested: “The question was made. I
sustained the objection to the question. So please disregard the
question in its entirety.”
II.
We cannot say that the trial court abused its discretion in
either situation. To be sure, it is not the mere mention of
insurance, or even the introduction of evidence of the plaintiff’s
insurance, that creates a problem in a trial like this. Almost
everyone, everywhere, in Florida knows what is discussed at that
roadside meeting between drivers after a crash. The appellants’
stated strategy put heavy attention on the post-crash roadside
exchange between Harper and Cameron, so the jury no doubt had
insurance on their collective mind throughout the case already. A
mention or two of auto insurance, then, was not enough to vitiate
the fairness of the trial and require a new one in this case. Cf.
Crowell v. Fink, 167 So. 2d 614, 615 (Fla. 1st DCA 1964) (“The
manner in which this isolated reference to insurance was made
was not likely to unfairly prejudice the minds of the jury or inflame
their passions in favor of appellee.”).
The age-old rule certainly is that “evidence of insurance
carried by a defendant is not properly to be considered by the jury.”
Carls Markets, Inc. v. Meyer, 69 So. 2d 789, 793 (Fla. 1953)
(emphasis supplied). There is good reason for this rule regarding
evidence of the defendant’s insurance: The jury “might be
influenced thereby to fix liability where none exists, or to arrive at
an excessive amount through sympathy for the injured party and
the thought that the burden would not have to be met by the
defendant.” Id. at 793; Ryan v. Noble, 116 So. 766, 768–69 (Fla.
5
1928) (holding that in a liability trial for damages, the admission
of evidence that the defendant has insurance against the claimed
loss “constitutes prejudicial and reversible error”); Thompson v.
Fla. Drum Co., 651 So. 2d 180, 182 (Fla. 1st DCA 1995) (explaining
that evidence of a defendant’s insurance in a negligence trial
creates a risk of “the jury attributing liability where none exists,
because of sympathy and the belief that the financial burden would
not be born[e] by the defendant”).
However, this rule was not implicated here. Neither
incident—not Harper’s testimony about her own auto insurance, *
and not the unanswered, accidentally misstated question to
Cameron about his mother’s insurance—amounted to actual
evidence of the appellants’ auto insurance coverage. To the extent
that even the single, fleeting suggestion that the appellants had
auto insurance coverage could still be considered problematic, the
trial court acted within the proper bounds of its discretion when it
sustained the appellants’ objection, determined that the mention
by Harper’s lawyer was inadvertent, and promptly gave a curative
instruction suggested by the appellants’ lawyer. Cf. Barnes v.
State, 303 So. 3d 275, 277 (Fla. 1st DCA 2020) (reviewing the trial
court’s decision to give curative instruction, instead of granting
mistrial, for arbitrariness and reasonableness under the
circumstances of the case). As the supreme court has told us:
We adhere to the principle that if insurance is
inadvertently mentioned, or information about insurance
is volunteered, or even if such testimony is attempted to
be introduced and the court upon objection immediately
acts to prevent further transgression of the rule and to
caution the jury to disregard the testimony the trial need
not be discontinued.
* In fact, this testimony about auto insurance from Harper
about her own insurance may have been the only evidence of auto
insurance introduced at trial. And that evidence could have served
only to turn the jury’s sympathy against Harper’s effort at
recovery, if at all.
6
Carls Market, 69 So. 2d at 793; see also Compania Dominicana de
Aviacion v. Knapp, 251 So. 2d 18, 20–21 (Fla. 3d DCA 1971)
(correctly noting that “not every breath of insurance automatically
results in a mistrial” and “frequently curative instructions are the
proper means of correcting the error”).
Then there also is the statutory limitation placed on our
ability to grant the relief requested by the appellants, of which we
are ever mindful. A new trial may not be granted for the improper
admission of evidence or for any procedural error, unless we are of
the opinion, “after an examination of the entire case . . . that the
error complained of has resulted in a miscarriage of justice.”
§ 59.041, Fla. Stat. Even if, theoretically, there had been a better
way for the trial court to have handled the references to insurance,
there was nothing about these two references, when we consider
them within the context of the whole trial, that vitiated the
fairness of that trial, or that otherwise entitled the appellants to a
new one. See Barnes, 303 So. 3d at 276–77 (Fla. 1st DCA 2020)
(collecting cases that explain that a mistrial should be granted only
when an error’s prejudice is significant enough to vitiate the entire
trial and that ordinarily, an instruction to disregard will be
sufficient to cure the error); Jones v. State, 128 So. 3d 199, 201 (Fla.
1st DCA 2013) (explaining that a “mistrial is a drastic remedy to
be granted only when an error is so prejudicial as to vitiate the
entire trial”).
AFFIRMED.
OSTERHAUS and JAY, JJ., concur.
_____________________________
Not final until disposition of any timely and
authorized motion under Fla. R. App. P. 9.330 or
9.331.
_____________________________
Kansas R. Gooden and Geneva R. Fountain of Boyd & Jenerette,
P.A., Jacksonville, for Appellants.
7
James R. Holland, II and W. Holt Harrell of Harrell & Harrell P.A.,
Jacksonville; Jessie L. Harrell of The Harrell Firm, Jacksonville,
for Appellee.
8