City of Maitland v. McGovern
CourtDistrict Court of Appeal of Florida
Date FiledOctober 7, 2026
Docket1D2025-2729
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
FIRST DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA
_____________________________
No. 1D2025-2729
_____________________________
CITY OF MAITLAND and DAVIES
CLAIMS NORTH AMERICA, INC.,
Appellants,
v.
WILLIAM MCGOVERN and
SANFORD AIRPORT
AUTHORITY/PREFERRED
GOVERNMENTAL CLAIMS
SOLUTIONS/PGCS,
Appellees.
_____________________________
On appeal from the Office of the Judges of Compensation Claims.
Wilbur W. Anderson, Judge.
Date of Accident: June 25, 2012.
October 7, 2026
PER CURIAM.
This appeal involves a firefighter’s workers’ compensation
claim filed under section 112.18(1), Florida Statutes, which creates
a rebuttable presumption of occupational causation for disabling
heart disease suffered by firefighters, among other professions,
who meet certain prerequisites. Appellants, the City of Maitland
(“Maitland”) and Davies Claims North America, Inc. (collectively,
“E/SA 1”), appeal a compensation order in which the judge of
compensation claims (“JCC”) determined that Claimant’s heart
disease was compensable as to E/SA 1, directed E/SA 1 to authorize
a physician to treat Claimant’s condition and to pay him
impairment benefits, and denied E/SA 1’s claim for contribution
against Appellees, Sanford Airport Authority (“SAA”) and
Preferred Governmental Claims Solutions/PGCS (collectively,
“E/SA 2”). E/SA 1 raise several arguments on appeal, only one of
which merits discussion. They contend that, contrary to the JCC’s
determination, E/SA 2 is responsible for Claimant’s workers’
compensation claim under the last injurious exposure rule
applicable to occupational disease claims. For the following
reasons, we reject E/SA 1’s argument and affirm as to all issues
raised on appeal.
Claimant began working as a firefighter for Maitland in 1988.
As found by the JCC, Claimant passed a preemployment physical
with no evidence of heart disease. In June 2012, Claimant had a
cardiac stenting procedure performed after a heart catheterization
revealed a seventy to eighty percent occlusion of his left anterior
descending artery. Rather than returning to work after the
procedure, Claimant used his accrued sick leave and Family
Medical Leave Act time before retiring from Maitland in August
2012. Claimant did not report his heart condition as a workers’
compensation injury at that time, and Maitland did not report the
incident to its servicing agent. Shortly after retiring, Claimant
began working as a firefighter for SAA. Not surprisingly,
Claimant’s preemployment physical with SAA showed evidence of
heart disease. After working for SAA for about twelve years,
Claimant experienced further heart complications in 2024,
underwent additional stent procedures and a double bypass
surgery, and was placed on a heart transplant list.
Thereafter, Claimant filed a petition for benefits against E/SA
1, claiming compensability of his heart condition and seeking
authorization for medical care along with temporary disability and
impairment benefits. The alleged date of accident was June 25,
2012. E/SA 1 defended against the claim and filed a notice of
controversy under section 440.42(4), Florida Statutes, seeking a
determination that E/SA 2 were responsible for providing workers’
compensation benefits to Claimant under the last injurious
2
exposure rule. The JCC rejected E/SA 1’s assertion, concluding
that there can be no injurious exposure in heart disease cases
where the presumption provided for in section 112.18(1) does not
apply, absent a concession or finding that an employee’s heart
disease is compensable without the benefit of the presumption.
The JCC determined that because Claimant’s preemployment
physical with SAA showed evidence of heart disease, the
presumption did not apply against E/SA 2. He noted as well that
Claimant did not file a workers’ compensation claim against E/SA
2, and E/SA 1 did not attempt to prove that Claimant’s heart
disease was independently compensable as to E/SA 2. The JCC
found Claimant’s heart condition compensable as to E/SA 1 and
awarded him medical care and impairment benefits but denied his
claim for temporary disability benefits. This appeal followed.
Section 440.151, Florida Statutes (2011), which applies to
“Occupational diseases,” provides in part:
(1)(a) Where the employer and employee are subject to
the provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Law, the
disablement or death of an employee resulting from an
occupational disease as hereinafter defined shall be
treated as the happening of an injury by accident,
notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter, and
the employee or, in case of death, the employee’s
dependents shall be entitled to compensation as provided
by this chapter . . . .
....
(5) Where compensation is payable for an
occupational disease, the employer in whose
employment the employee was last injuriously
exposed to the hazards of such disease, and the
insurance carrier, if any, on the risk when such
employee was last so exposed under such
employer, shall alone be liable therefor, without
right to contribution from any prior employer or
insurance carrier; . . . .
3
(Emphasis added). The parties agree that heart disease may
constitute an occupational disease. This Court has explained that
“[c]oronary artery disease is an occupational illness when suffered
by a firefighter meeting the requirements of section 112.18(1).”
City of Mary Esther v. McArtor, 902 So. 2d 942, 943 (Fla. 1st DCA
2005) ∗; see also N. Collier Fire Control & Rescue Dist. v. Harlem,
371 So. 3d 368, 369 (Fla. 1st DCA 2023) (noting that the claimant
“leaned exclusively on the occupational-causation presumption
found in section 112.18, Florida Statutes”); Miami-Dade Cnty. v.
Davis, 26 So. 3d 13, 14 (Fla. 1st DCA 2009) (citing McArtor and
explaining that when a firefighter suffers a condition caused by
heart disease, the firefighter’s heart disease is deemed a
compensable occupational disease unless the employer is able to
rebut the statutory presumption of compensability); Sledge v. City
of Fort Lauderdale, 497 So. 2d 1231, 1233 (Fla. 1st DCA 1986)
(“[C]laimant’s claim for heart disease is a claim for an occupational
disease rather than an accident by injury.”).
E/SA 1 argue that under the plain language of section
440.151(5), SAA is responsible for Claimant’s heart condition
because he was last injuriously exposed to the hazards of
firefighting while working there. Like the JCC did, we reject this
contention. As the JCC correctly recognized, and as E/SA 1
acknowledge, because Claimant’s preemployment physical with
SAA showed evidence of heart disease, the presumption created by
section 112.18 did not apply to his employment there. See §
112.18(1)(a), Fla. Stat. (2011) (providing in part that so long as a
firefighter successfully passes a physical examination before
employment, any heart disease suffered by him or her is presumed
to have been accidental and to have been suffered in the line of
duty unless the contrary is shown by competent evidence). Cf. City
of Jacksonville v. Ratliff, 217 So. 3d 183, 185 (Fla. 1st DCA 2017)
(“The claimant qualified for the ‘heart-lung’ presumption under
∗
In Friesen v. State of Florida Highway Patrol/Division of
Risk Management, 364 So. 3d 1051, 1059 (Fla. 1st DCA 2023), this
Court explained that McArtor was implicitly overturned in City of
Port Orange v. Sedacca, 953 So. 2d 727 (Fla. 1st DCA 2007), due to
its reliance on the definition of “disability” in section 440.02(13),
Florida Statutes.
4
section 112.18(1), having no evidence of heart disease on his pre-
employment physical, among other prerequisites.”). Moreover,
E/SA 1 presented no evidence demonstrating any connection
between Claimant’s heart condition and his employment with
SAA. Nor did E/SA 2 concede that Claimant’s heart condition was
compensable as a result of his employment with SAA. Under these
circumstances, E/SA 1 failed to support its claim that Claimant
was last “injuriously exposed” while working for SAA.
§ 440.151(5), Fla. Stat. (2011). Thus, the JCC did not err in
denying E/SA 1’s claim for contribution from E/SA 2.
Accordingly, we affirm the compensation order.
AFFIRMED.
LEWIS, M.K. THOMAS, and TREADWELL, JJ., concur.
_____________________________
Not final until disposition of any timely and
authorized motion under Fla. R. App. P. 9.330 or
9.331.
_____________________________
Karen J. Cullen of Broussard, Cullen & Eldridge, Orlando, for
Appellants.
James Robert Spears of Law Office of James R. Spears, PLLC,
Orlando; George W. Boring, III, and George W. Helm, III, of Public
Entity Legal Solutions, Lake Mary, for Appellees.
5