Intal Construction, Inc./Zurich North America v. Moises Mancera
CourtDistrict Court of Appeal of Florida
Date FiledMarch 31, 2021
Docket1D20-1766
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
FIRST DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA
_____________________________
No. 1D20-1766
_____________________________
INTAL CONSTRUCTION,
INC./ZURICH NORTH AMERICA,
Appellants,
v.
MOISES MANCERA,
Appellee.
_____________________________
On appeal from an order of the Office of the Judges of
Compensation Claims.
Iliana Forte, Judge.
Date of Accident: December 11, 2018.
March 31, 2021
PER CURIAM.
The Employer/Carrier (E/C) challenges an order of the Judge
of Compensation Claims (JCC) awarding retroactive temporary
partial disability (TPD) benefits to Moises Mancera (Claimant).
The E/C raises several arguments for reversal, but we write only
to address the argument that the JCC’s factual basis for the
retroactive TPD award is ambiguous. We affirm all other issues
without further discussion.
Facts
Claimant, a construction worker, hit his head on a metal
beam, lost consciousness, and fell inside the bucket of a boom lifter
when a forklift struck the boom lifter from below. The E/C accepted
compensability of a workplace injury and authorized medical care.
The accepted injuries included the left ankle, left shoulder, neck,
and head. Claimant received conservative care for his complaints
of pain from various physicians and was assigned light duty work
restrictions.
In August 2019, Claimant’s orthopedic surgeon placed him at
maximum medical improvement (MMI) from his ankle injury and
assigned a zero percent permanent impairment rating. The E/C
paid Claimant TPD benefits until all authorized medical providers
had released Claimant to full duty work.
In November 2019, Claimant filed a petition for benefits (PFB)
seeking retroactive TPD benefits. To support his request,
Claimant submitted the expert medical opinion of his independent
medical examiner, Dr. Katzell. He also submitted, over the E/C’s
objection, medical records from Dr. Murray at MD Now. Dr.
Murray’s first report, filed February 15, 2019, only recommended
a transfer of care to an orthopedist and a neurologist. But his
second report (DWC-25), filed March 17, 2020, recommended a
transfer of care to an orthopedist for left knee and left shoulder
pain, asserted that Claimant was not at MMI, and assigned work
restrictions.
In response, the E/C acknowledged that Claimant was not at
overall MMI from his compensable injuries to his neck and left
shoulder but asserted that no retroactive TPD benefits were due
because he had been released to full duty work. Yet, based on a
finding that Claimant was not “capable of engaging in regular
work regarding his neck and shoulder injuries,” the JCC granted
the claim for TPD benefits from July 9, 2019, to the present.
Analysis
2
The standard of review for an award of TPD benefits is
competent, substantial evidence. Fardella v. Genesis Health, Inc.,
917 So. 2d 276, 277 (Fla. 1st DCA 2005).
Under section 440.15(4)(a), Florida Statutes (2018), TPD
benefits are payable only “if overall [MMI] has not been reached
and the medical conditions resulting from the accident create
restrictions on the injured employee’s ability to return to work.”
See, e.g., Wyeth/Pharma Field Sales v. Toscano, 40 So. 3d 795, 799
(Fla. 1st DCA 2010); see also § 440.02(13), Fla. Stat. (2018)
(defining “disability”). Medical evidence is necessary to support an
award of TPD benefits. See Massey Servs., Inc. v. Knox, 131 So. 3d
797 (Fla. 1st DCA 2013).
But here, the JCC’s factual finding of medical restrictions
based on the medical evidence is ambiguous. The JCC stated in the
order on appeal that she accepted Dr. Katzell’s opinion that
Claimant is restricted to sedentary work. But this is not an
accurate characterization of Dr. Katzell’s opinion. Dr. Katzell
concluded that Claimant is not at MMI from injuries to his
shoulder, lower back, and left knee and that Claimant is restricted
to sedentary work. That said, neither the lower back nor the left
knee is an accepted compensable injury. And Dr. Katzell did not
address any restriction attributable solely to the compensable
shoulder injury. For these reasons, Dr. Katzell’s opinion is not
competent, substantial evidence of medical restrictions for
Claimant’s compensable workplace injuries.
The JCC also discussed Dr. Murray’s reports when she
awarded Claimant retroactive TPD benefits. Although the JCC
acknowledged that there were unexplained differences between
the reports and found that there was no evidence the reports had
been altered, she did not make any attempt to reconcile those
differences. See Landmark Towers, LLC v. Ibarguen, 954 So. 2d 43,
44−45 (Fla. 1st DCA 2007) (holding that a JCC may resolve
conflicts in the evidence). Instead, the JCC merely noted that the
E/C did not argue “any irregularity” with the DWC-25 and
accepted the form’s medical directions. She found that the DWC-
25 form “continues the Claimant on physical therapy, refers the
Claimant to an orthopedist, provides work restrictions for the left
3
ankle, back of head, neck and left shoulder and finds the Claimant
is not at MMI.”
Because the DWC-25 identifies work restrictions limited to
the accepted compensable injuries, this form may have provided
competent, substantial evidence to support an award of TPD
benefits. But the language in the order on appeal calls into doubt
whether the JCC relied on this form. Even if we were to assume
the JCC relied on the DWC-25, this report alone does not show that
the assigned work restrictions are retroactive. See Knox, 131 So.
3d at 797 (reversing retroactive award of TPD benefits because no
medical evidence established work restrictions during that time).
Claimant asserts that we should affirm the order on appeal
because “reasonable inferences” from the earlier medical reports
show that he has continuously been subject to work restrictions for
the accepted compensable injuries. But those reports document
work restrictions assigned only for the compensable left ankle and
head injuries, which were arguably rescinded by subsequent
treating providers. Considering the conflicting medical evidence on
that issue as well as the JCC’s apparent reliance on restrictions
for the neck and shoulder, we are reluctant to draw any inferences
that have never been acknowledged by the JCC.
Because the JCC’s findings of work restrictions based on the
medical evidence are ambiguous and insufficient to support an
award of TPD benefits, we AFFIRM in part and REVERSE in part.
The case is REMANDED for further proceedings and clarification in
accordance with this opinion.
ROWE, MAKAR, and OSTERHAUS, JJ., concur.
_____________________________
Not final until disposition of any timely and
authorized motion under Fla. R. App. P. 9.330 or
9.331.
_____________________________
Rosalind Milian of MKRS Law, P.L., Coral Gables, for Appellants.
4
Michael J. Winer of Winer Law Group, P.A., Tampa, and Randall
T. Porcher of Morgan & Morgan, Tallahassee, for Appellee.
5