Palm Beach County Fire Rescue and Preferred Governmental Claims Solutions v. Andrew Wilkes
CourtDistrict Court of Appeal of Florida
Date FiledDecember 14, 2020
Docket1D20-1615
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
FIRST DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF FLORIDA
_____________________________
No. 1D20-1615
_____________________________
PALM BEACH COUNTY FIRE
RESCUE and PREFERRED
GOVERNMENTAL CLAIMS
SOLUTIONS,
Appellants,
v.
ANDREW WILKES,
Appellee.
_____________________________
On appeal from an order of the Judge of Compensation Claims.
Carol J. Stephenson, Judge.
Date of Accident: May 30, 2019.
December 14, 2020
PER CURIAM.
In this workers’ compensation case, the Employer/Servicing
Agent (E/SA) appeal the Judge of Compensation Claims’ (JCC’s)
order awarding Mr. Wilkes (Claimant) payment of indemnity
benefits under section 112.1815(5), Florida Statutes (2018). This
statute provides that post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
suffered by a first responder as a result of a qualifying event is a
compensable occupational disease. On appeal, the E/SA argue, and
we agree, that the JCC misconstrued the statute to find that
Claimant filed timely notice of claim under this provision. For this
reason, we reverse the order below and find it unnecessary to
address the E/SA’s alternate argument that the JCC also erred by
applying the statute retroactively.
I
In section 112.1815 (effective October 1, 2018), the Florida
Legislature enacted special provisions for accidents and injuries
suffered by first responders, including paramedics and emergency
medical technicians. Among other things, this statute states that
PTSD for first responders is a compensable occupational disease
within the meaning of section 440.151, Florida Statutes. See §
112.1815(5)(a), Fla. Stat. (2018). In contrast to other provisions in
workers’ compensation law, this section establishes entitlement to
indemnity benefits for this psychological or mental disorder
without evidence of an accompanying physical injury. See, e.g.,
§ 112.1815(2)(a)3., Fla. Stat. (2018) (providing medical benefits
only to first responders suffering from mental or nervous injury in
absence of physical injury); § 440.093, Fla. Stat. (2018) (providing,
generally, that mental or nervous injuries in absence of physical
injury are not compensable). But the PTSD must result from one
of the eleven qualifying events listed in section 112.1815(5)(a)2.a.-
k.
In accordance with the statute, the time for filing notice of
injury or death for compensable PTSD suffered by a first responder
under this section “is the same as in s. 440.151(6) and is measured
from one of the qualifying events listed in subparagraph (a)2. or
the manifestation of the disorder, whichever is
later.” § 112.1815(5)(d), Fla. Stat. (2018). In addition, “[a] claim
under this subsection must be properly noticed within 52 weeks
after the qualifying event.” Id.
II
The relevant facts here are not in dispute. In 2015, Claimant
was working as a first responder for the Employer when he
witnessed the rescue of a young boy who drowned. He continued to
work over the next few years, but experienced problems with
distractedness, anxiety, and depression. In April or May of 2019,
2
he went underwater diving with friends. Sometime afterward, he
had a dream that the drowned boy was his own son. At the end of
May 2019, he was diagnosed with PTSD for which, according to
medical opinion, the 2015 incident was the precipitating cause.
Effective May 30, 2019, Claimant was placed on sick leave. On
August 5, 2019, he filed a petition for benefits (PFB) claiming
entitlement to indemnity benefits under section 112.1815(5). The
E/SA raised various defenses including late reporting and notice of
claim.
In the appealed order, the JCC found that (1) the 2015
drowning incident meets the criteria of a qualifying event; 1 (2) as
a result of this qualifying event, Claimant suffers from PTSD; (3)
the symptoms of PTSD manifested as of May 30, 2019; and (4)
Claimant’s date of disablement from the PTSD is also May 30,
2019. Using this May 30, 2019, date of manifestation and the date
of disablement as the applicable benchmark, the JCC found that
Claimant timely filed notice of the injury under section
112.1815(5)(d). Using this same date, the JCC also found that the
claim was timely “as it was filed within 52 weeks of the
manifestation.”
III
On appeal, the E/SA do not challenge the JCC’s findings of
fact or her determination that the notice of injury was timely.
Instead, the E/SA argue that the JCC misinterpreted the statute
when she found that the claim was timely noticed under section
112.1815(5)(d) based on the date of the PTSD manifestation.
Our review of the application of the law to undisputed facts is
de novo. See, e.g., Goding v. City of Boca Raton, 121 So. 3d 1117,
118 (Fla. 1st DCA 2013) (citing Braun v. Brevard Cty., 44 So. 3d
1216, 1217 (Fla. 1st DCA 2010)). To the extent that statutory
construction is necessary, our review is also de novo. See Lombardi
1 The list of qualifying events includes attendance at injuries
resulting in the death of a minor. See § 112.1815(5)(a)2.a.- e., Fla.
Stat. (2018).
3
v. S. Wine & Spirits, 890 So. 2d 1128, 1129 (Fla. 1st DCA 2004)
(holding statutory interpretation is subject to de novo review).
In analyzing a statutory provision, courts must first look to
the plain language of the statute. See, e.g., Sanders v. City of
Orlando, 997 So. 2d 1089, 1094-95 (Fla. 2008) (citing Holly v. Auld,
450 So. 2d 217, 219 (Fla. 1984) (“[W]hen the language of the
statute is clear and unambiguous and conveys a clear and definite
meaning, there is no occasion for resorting to the rules of statutory
interpretation and construction; the statute must be given its plain
and obvious meaning.” (quoting A.R. Douglass, Inc., v. McRainey,
102 Fla. 1141, 137 So. 157, 159 (1931))). Here, subsection
112.1815(5)(d) plainly states that a claim under this section must
be properly noticed within 52 weeks of the qualifying event. Based
on this plain statutory language, the JCC erred when she found
that the claim was timely because it was filed within 52 weeks of
the date of the manifestation of Claimant’s PTSD symptoms.
Claimant contends that the JCC’s interpretation is correct
because the PTSD manifestation itself is a qualifying event. But
section 112.1815(5)(a)2. lists only eleven very particular events
that constitute qualifying events and the manifestation of PTSD
symptoms is not among them. Furthermore, the notice of injury
requirement set forth in the first sentence of section 112.1815(5)(d)
expressly distinguishes between the occurrence of the qualifying
event and that of the manifestation. It simply makes no sense to
find that the Florida Legislature abandoned this unambiguous
distinction in the very next sentence concerning the notice of claim
requirement.
Claimant also argues that the plain statutory language should
not control because the notice of claim requirement is ambiguous
when read in pari materia with the rest of section 112.1815 and
the occupational disease provisions of section 440.151. He correctly
points out that an occupational disease injury under section
440.151 is not compensable unless there is a period of disability
and that this initial date of disability establishes the date of
accident. This Court previously held that, in cases of occupational
disease under section 440.151, the date of disablement or death
establishes the date of injury by accident which commences the
running of the statute of limitations (SOL) under section 440.19
4
(providing that PFB is barred unless filed within two years of
injury and that the time may be tolled for one year by the provision
of benefits). See Sledge v. City of Fort Lauderdale, 497 So. 2d 1231,
1232 (citing Am. Beryllium Co. v. Stringer, 392 So. 2d 1294, 1295-
96 (Fla. 1980)); see also Hoppe v. City of Lakeland, 691 So. 2d 585,
586-87 (Fla. 1st DCA 1997). Of course, the SOL under section
440.19 is not the issue here. Claimant asserts nevertheless that
the date of disablement must be a function of the time limitations
under section 112.1815(5)(d) for a notice of claim despite the
absence of any mention of disability. 2
Assuming, without deciding, that proof of disability is a
requirement for a compensable PTSD claim under section
112.1815(5), a first responder PTSD claim will not accrue until the
PTSD manifests and results in disability. Although a SOL will not
apply until a cause of action accrues, the same is not true for a
statute of repose. As the Florida Supreme Court explained in Hess
v. Philip Morris USA, Inc., 175 So. 3d 687, 695 (Fla. 2015):
[In contrast to statutes of limitation], statutes of repose
“bar actions by setting a time limit within which an action
must be filed as measured from a specified act, after
which time the cause of action extinguished.” Merkle [v.
Robinson], 737 So. 2d [540,] 542 n. 6 [(Fla. 1999)] (citing
Kush [v. Lloyd], 616 So. 2d [415,] 418 [(Fla. 1992)]; see
also Carr v. Broward Cnty., 505 So. 2d 568, 570 (Fla. 4th
DCA 1987) (“The period of time established by a statute
of repose commences to run from the date of an event
specified in the statute. . . . At the end of the time period
the cause of action ceases to exist.”), approved, 541 So. 2d
92 (Fla. 1989). “[T]he statute of repose may be
constitutionally applied to bar claims even when the
cause of action does not accrue until after the period of
2 The JCC here relied on the date of the PTSD manifestation
to find the notice of claim was timely made, but her findings of fact
included that date of manifestation and date of disablement were
both May 30, 2019. Thus, the result here would be the same if the
date of disablement controls.
5
repose has expired.” Damiano v. McDaniel, 689 So. 2d
1059, 1060 (Fla. 1997).
Although its effect may be to eliminate a cause of action before it
accrues, a statute of repose is not unconstitutional as a denial of
equal protection, due process, or access to courts. See, e.g., Doe v.
Shands Teaching Hosp. and Clinics, Inc., 614 So. 2d 1170, 1171
(Fla. 1st DCA 1993) (citing Pullum v. Cincinnati, Inc., 476 So. 2d
657 (Fla. 1985)).
Here, we find that the time requirement for a notice of claim
under section 112.1815(5)(d) operates as a statute of repose.
Furthermore, the Florida Legislature unambiguously chose the
qualifying event date as the measuring point for filing a timely
claim, and there is no evidence of any contrary legislative intent.
The Legislature is presumed to know the law and obviously could
have chosen the date of disablement—or some other date—as the
starting point for noticing a claim under the first responder
statute, but it did not. And because the language of the statutory
filing requirement for a claim is plain and unambiguous, the rules
of statutory construction simply do not come into play to suggest
any other meaning other than the time for filing the claim here
expired fifty-two weeks after the 2015 qualifying event.
IV
In sum, Claimant did not notice his claim within 52 weeks of
the qualifying event, as required by the statute’s plain language.
As a result, the JCC erred when she ruled that the claim was
timely filed under section 112.1815(5)(d) and awarded indemnity
benefits. In light of the untimely notice of claim, we do not reach
the E/SA’s argument concerning any retroactive application of the
statute. The order below is REVERSED accordingly.
ROBERTS, OSTERHAUS, and JAY, JJ., concur.
6
_____________________________
Not final until disposition of any timely and
authorized motion under Fla. R. App. P. 9.330 or
9.331.
_____________________________
Michele E. Ready, of Walton Lantaff Schroeder & Carson LLP,
Miami, and Stephen G. Kaufer of Walton Lantaff Schroeder &
Carson LLP, West Palm Beach, for Appellants.
Richard A. Sicking and Mark A. Touby of Touby, Chait & Sicking,
P.L., Coral Gables, for Appellee.
7