M. Niculcea v. Susquehanna Valley Nursing and Rehabilitation Center (WCAB)
CourtCommonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Date FiledJuly 10, 2026
Docket1645 C.D. 2024
JudgeWallace
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Monica Niculcea, :
Petitioner :
:
v. : No. 1645 C.D. 2024
: Submitted: March 3, 2026
Susquehanna Valley Nursing and :
Rehabilitation Center (Workers’ :
Compensation Appeal Board), :
Respondent :
BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, President Judge
HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge
HONORABLE STACY WALLACE, Judge
OPINION
BY JUDGE WALLACE FILED: July 10, 2026
Petitioner Monica Niculcea (Claimant), who represents herself on appeal,
petitions for review of an order (Order) entered by the Workers’ Compensation
Appeal Board (the Board) on October 4, 2024, affirming a decision (Decision) by a
Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) on January 24, 2024, denying Claimant’s
petition for benefits under the Workers’ Compensation Act1 based on an alleged
work-related injury.
Respondent Susquehanna Valley Nursing and Rehabilitation Center
(Employer) filed an application (Application) to quash the Petition for Review
1
Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2710.
(Petition), and this Court deferred consideration of the Application until after
briefing on the merits. After review, we deny the Application and affirm the Order.
I. Background
On November 29, 2017, while working for Employer as a patient care
coordinator, Claimant fell while assisting other employees with the transfer of a
patient from the floor to a bed. Claimant alleged that fall resulted in work-related
injuries including neck and back pain, blurred vision, headaches, and incontinence.
Supplemental Reproduced Record (S.R.R.) at 11b.2
Employer paid benefits under several Notices of Temporary Compensation
Payable. Id. at 1b-6b. On February 23, 2018, Employer gave notice it would not
accept liability and issued a Notice Stopping Temporary Compensation and a Notice
of Workers’ Compensation Denial. Id. at 7b-10b. Claimant filed a claim petition
but on May 31, 2018, her then-attorney withdrew that petition and advised the WCJ
“Claimant is unable to produce legally sufficient medical evidence to meet her
burden on the Claim Petition at this time.” Id. at 1089b.3
On November 28, 2020, the last day of the three-year period from the date of
injury allowed for the filing of a claim, Claimant filed a petition requesting various
actions including modification, reinstatement, and review of compensation benefits,
review of compensation benefits offset, review of medical treatment and/or billing,
2
Claimant filed a Reproduced Record that does not comply with the rules requiring
pagination and a table of contents. Pa.R.A.P. 2173, 2174(a). It also omits a number of important
documents including the Decision, the Order, and the Board’s supporting opinion. Many of the
relevant documents are in the Supplemental Reproduced Record filed by Respondents and are
cited from that filing in this opinion.
3
Later interlocutory orders permitted several attorneys to withdraw from representing
Claimant. Id. at 29b, 32b, 35b, 38b. Claimant thereafter represented herself before the WCJ and
the Board.
2
and penalties. Id. at 11b-14b. Employer moved to dismiss, but the WCJ denied the
motion and treated Claimant’s filing as a timely claim petition (the Claim Petition).
Id. at 42b.
After multiple hearings and submission of exhibits, the WCJ issued a 21-page
Decision denying the Claim Petition and finding Claimant failed to meet her burden
of establishing a work-related injury. Id. at 39b-59b. The WCJ reviewed the
evidence in detail and set forth multiple findings of fact. The WCJ did not find
Claimant’s testimony credible and credited the testimony of other witnesses who
contradicted Claimant. The WCJ explained the basis for those credibility
determinations. Id. at 57b-58b (¶ 19).
The WCJ accepted the opinion of a board-certified neurologist, Dr. Howard
Levin, that Claimant had not suffered a work-related injury, and rejected contrary
opinions from other physicians. The WCJ found Dr. Levin’s credentials more
substantial than those of the other doctors and explained the contrary opinions
expressed by the latter rested largely on Claimant’s account of her injury and
symptoms, which the WCJ found not credible. Id. at 58b (¶ 20).
On February 16, 2024, Claimant filed an appeal with the Board. Certified
Record (C.R.) at 73-82.4 Claimant submitted the appeal on the required form
including a handwritten note that referred to an “attached paper.” Id. at 73-74. The
“attached paper” comprised an eight-page, single-spaced typed document, headed
“FINDINGS OF FACTS,” containing multiple paragraphs and subparagraphs. In
that document, Claimant asserted the WCJ ignored various facts and evidence, was
4
Claimant’s appeal form and its eight-page attachment do not appear in the Reproduced
Record or Supplemental Reproduced Record but are found in the certified agency record, cited
here by its electronically numbered pages.
3
“wrong” in certain findings of fact, fabricated other facts, and erred in concluding
Claimant failed to establish a work-related injury. Id. at 75-82.
On October 24, 2024, the Board issued the Order affirming the WCJ’s
Decision. S.R.R. at 67b. The Board’s supporting opinion noted the WCJ’s authority
to assess the credibility of witnesses and other evidence and to find the relevant facts.
The Board concluded substantial evidence supported the WCJ’s findings and the
WCJ adequately explained her determinations as to credibility. The Board
concluded the WCJ did not err in determining Claimant failed to establish a work-
related injury. Id. at 63b-66b.
On November 1, 2024, Claimant submitted a document to this Court
indicating her intention to appeal the Order. In response to the Court’s notice dated
November 4, 2024, Claimant timely filed her Petition on December 2, 2024.
Respondents then filed the Application for which the Court deferred consideration
until after briefing on the merits. Claimant did not file a response to the Application
or address it in her merits brief.
II. Discussion
A. Application to Quash
The Application, styled as a “Motion to Quash Petition for Review,” asserts
the Petition “alleges neither specific errors of law nor any lack of substantial
evidence,” and instead merely attacks the WCJ’s credibility determinations.
Application, ¶ 1. The Application also asserts Claimant failed to raise her issues
“specifically” and made claims of legal error “without any specificity,” thereby
waiving her issues in this appeal. Id., ¶ 2.5
5
Employer’s Application asks this Court to quash the appeal on the ground that Claimant
waived the issues presented in her brief, but if shown waiver would constitute a basis to dismiss,
not to quash. See Sahutsky v. H.H. Knoebel Sons, 782 A.2d 996, 1001 (Pa. 2001).
4
Pennsylvania Rule of Appellate Procedure 1513 makes clear that omission of
an issue from the Petition does not constitute waiver “if the court is able to address
the issue based on the certified record . . . .” Pa.R.A.P. 1513(d)(5). Employer cites
a number of cases for its waiver argument that predate the amendment of the rule in
2014, but the Note to the rule explains that “[t]he 2014 amendments to
Pa.R.A.P. 1513(d) relating to the general statement of objections in an appellate
jurisdiction petition for review are intended to preclude a finding of waiver if the
court is able, based on the certified record, to address an issue not within the issues
stated in the petition for review but included in the statement of questions involved
and argued in a brief.” Pa.R.A.P. 1513, Note. Accordingly, this Court will not find
waiver simply because an issue is not detailed in a petition for review, so long as the
issue is properly presented in the brief.6
B. The Merits of Claimant’s Appeal7
This Court has jurisdiction to review the Order pursuant to Section 763(a)(1)
of the Judicial Code, 42 Pa.C.S. § 763(a)(1). This Court reviews workers’
6
To the extent Employer means to argue in the Application that Claimant waived these
issues by failing to present them to the Board, the argument is unpersuasive.
See Pa.R.A.P. 1551(a). The lengthy attachment to Claimant’s appeal to the Board, like her brief
in this Court, is sometimes unclear or difficult to follow, but we discern issues presented to the
Board and argued again here, including assertions that the evidence does not support the WCJ’s
findings and that the WCJ disregarded relevant evidence.
7
Claimant came dangerously close to waiving her issues in this Court by failing to comply
with various rules governing her brief. Claimant failed to identify where and how she preserved
below the issues presented here; failed to state or fairly suggest some of her issues in the statement
of questions involved; failed to present a concise summary of her arguments in support of those
questions; and failed to develop any argument in support of certain issues. See, e.g.,
Pa.R.A.P. 1551(a), 2216(a), 2117(c), 2118, 2119(a), (e). These defects constitute grounds to
dismiss an appeal under the rules. Pa.R.A.P. 2101. Nonetheless, we construe Claimant’s brief
liberally in light of the fact that she represents herself in this appeal and address the issues we are
able to discern from her brief. See Lassiter v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Rev., 295 A.3d 17, 20
(Footnote continued on next page…)
5
compensation orders for violations of a party’s constitutional rights, violations of
agency practice and procedure, and other errors of law. 2 Pa.C.S. § 704. Regarding
questions of law, our standard of review is de novo, and our scope of review is
plenary. Sedgwick Claims Mgmt. Servs., Inc. v. Bureau of Workers’ Comp., Fee
Rev. Hearing Off. (Piszel & Bucks Cnty. Pain Ctr.), 185 A.3d 429 (Pa. Cmwlth.
2018). In other words, we consider the case anew, see Manor v. Department of
Public Welfare, 796 A.2d 1020, 1029 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2002) (citation omitted), and
review the entire record, Probst v. Department of Transp., Bureau of Driver
Licensing, 849 A.2d 1135 (Pa. 2004).
This Court also reviews workers’ compensation orders to determine whether
substantial evidence supports the findings of fact necessary to sustain
them. 2 Pa.C.S. § 704. See also Supervalu, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.
(Bowser), 755 A.2d 715, 720 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2000) (en banc); Taulton v. Workers’
Comp. Appeal Bd. (USX Corp.), 713 A.2d 142, 144-45 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998).
Substantial evidence is such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as
adequate to support a conclusion. Mrs. Smith’s Frozen Foods Co. v. Workmen’s
Comp. Appeal Bd. (Clouser), 539 A.2d 11 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1988). The WCJ is the sole
judge of the credibility and weight of the evidence and is solely responsible for
finding the facts. Montano v. Advance Stores Co., Inc. (Workers’ Comp. Appeal
Bd.), 278 A.3d 969, 978 n.4 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2022) (citing Sharkey v. Workers’ Comp.
Appeal Bd. (Fed. Express), 786 A.2d 1035, 1038 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001)).
(Pa. Cmwlth. 2023) (when we are able to discern petitioner’s issues, we may overlook technical
violations of the Rules of Appellate Procedure and exercise our discretion to address those issues,
particularly when petitioner proceeds pro se).
6
Claimant’s Brief presents four questions involved in her appeal:
I. The issue is whether the . . . [Claimant’s] benefits should
. . . [have been] stopped on February 23, 2018 as Doctor Levin
. . . state[d] . . . on his Physician’s Affidavit of Recovery 02-08-
2018. (Exhibit# 3)
II. The issue is whether . . . [Claimant’s] injuries are severe
and more than Doctor . . . [Levin] stated on his Physician’s
Affidavit of Recovery (Exhibit #3) as head, cervical, thoracic and
lumbar contusion, or . . . [whether Claimant] is eligible to add
more diagnosis to her case such as: Cervical Radicular pain,
Cervical Strain, Change in mental status, Contusion of back wall
of thorax, Initial encounter, contusion of lower back, Fall from
slip, trip or stumble, Loss of consciousness, Pressure related ear
pain, Strain of thoracic region, Lumbar Strain, Poor
concentration, Bilateral blurred vision, Difficulty in
communication due to slurred speech, lower and upper back
injuries, Bowel and urinary incontinence, Left sciatica,
Intracranial abnormality as remote insult/chronic microvascular
ischemia as opposed to demyelinating disease, loss of smell,
attention and concentration deficit. (Exhibits 5, 6, 7,8, 9, 10, 11)
III. The issue is whether the . . . [Claimant’s] medical bills
should be pa[id] . . . by Susquehanna Valley Nursing and . . .
[R]ehabilitation and the Worker’s Compensation Insurance due
to work related injuries.
IV. The issue is whether the Modification, Penalty,
Reinstatement, Review, and Review Medical Petition was
review[ed] properly base[d] on doctors’ evidence and
documentation[ ] . . . .
Claimant Br. at 5. Construing the brief liberally, we interpret issues I and II to raise
issues with respect to whether substantial evidence supports the WCJ’s findings of
fact, and issues III and IV to suggest an error of law, specifically, capricious
disregard of evidence relevant to her entitlement to benefits.
Based on our review of the record, we conclude substantial evidence supports
the WCJ’s findings of fact. Claimant’s brief does not identify specific findings of
7
fact or attempt to explain why the record lacks substantial evidence to support them.
Rather, Claimant presents a detailed chronological account of all the evidence, as
Claimant sees it, and argues that evidence supports her claim, and the WCJ erred in
crediting certain evidence while rejecting other evidence.
However, neither the Board nor this Court may reweigh the evidence to reach
an independent conclusion regarding whether Claimant established a work-related
injury, as Claimant invites us to do. Supervalu, 755 A.2d at 720. We recognize our
role on appeal; the credibility and weight of the evidence, and the reasonable
inferences to be drawn from that evidence, are questions for the WCJ alone. See
Hoffmaster v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Senco Prods., Inc.), 721 A.2d 1152,
1155-56 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998). Claimant “is viewing the record in a light most
favorable to herself and she is the party who lost before the WCJ,” which “runs
contrary to the established appellate practice of viewing the record in a light most
favorable to the party who prevailed before the factfinder.” Cerasaro v. Workers’
Comp. Appeal Bd. (Pocono Mountain Med., Ltd.), 717 A.2d 1111, 1114 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 1998). Because substantial evidence supports the WCJ’s findings, we
cannot disturb them even if the record contains evidence sufficient to support
Claimant’s assertions, which are contrary to the findings the WCJ actually made.
See Glass v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (City of Phila.), 61 A.3d 318, 325 (Pa.
Cmwlth. 2013); Hoffmaster, 721 A.2d at 1155. Accordingly, we discern no error.
With respect to legal error, the only argument we discern from Claimant’s
brief is that the WCJ “ignored” certain evidence, by which we presume Claimant
means the WCJ committed legal error by capriciously disregarding relevant
evidence. Claimant fails to explain how the Decision reflected such “capricious
disregard,” which “occurs when there is a ‘willful, deliberate disbelief of an
8
apparently trustworthy witness, whose testimony one has no basis to challenge.’”
Cerasaro, 717 A.2d at 1114 (quoting Gallo v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd.
(United Parcel Service), 504 A.2d 985, 988 n.2 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1986)).8
There is no indication in the record the WCJ ignored any relevant evidence.
To the contrary, the WCJ reviewed Claimant’s evidence and the contrary evidence
in extensive detail, and explained what evidence the WCJ credited and rejected, and
why. S.R.R. 42b-58b. The WCJ specifically addressed in her Decision many of the
allegations and evidence Claimant argued the WCJ ignored.9 The WCJ clearly
rejected Claimant’s evidence as not credible, and credited contrary testimony and
documents that undermined her claim, but a decision to reject a claimant’s evidence
is not an indication of capricious disregard. Grimm on Behalf of Grimm v. Workers’
Comp. Appeal Bd. (Federal Express Corp.), 176 A.3d 1045, 1054 (Pa. Cmwlth.),
appeal denied, 189 A.3d 385 (Pa. 2018). Accordingly, the WCJ did not commit
legal error.
8
The WCJ was not required to discuss in the Decision every item of evidence presented.
Supervalu, 755 A.2d at 721. The mere fact that a particular item of evidence is not mentioned in
the Decision does not establish capricious disregard of that evidence.
9
For example, in her submission to the Board Claimant argued the WCJ ignored that
Claimant’s employer disciplined her based on false allegations, C.R. at 75 (item E), but the
Decision noted the discipline and Claimant’s disagreement with it, S.R.R. at 43 (¶ 1(e)). Claimant
also asserted the WCJ ignored physician notes that recommended Claimant remain out of work
through May 3, 2018, C.R. at 77 (item 3(d)), but the Decision discussed those notes, S.R.R. at 48b
(¶ 5(i)). Claimant asserted the WCJ ignored MRI findings relevant to her injury, C.R. at 77 (item
5(a)), but the Decision cited those findings and discussed the related medical testimony, S.R.R. at
51b (¶ 7(f)). Claimant also asserted the WCJ focused only on Dr. Levin’s opinion and ignored
assessments by other doctors supporting her claim, C.R. at 81 (item g-i), but the Decision
acknowledged those other opinions and explained why the WCJ credited Dr. Levin’s opinion over
them, S.R.R. at 58b (¶ 20). Claimant’s brief in this Court does not address these contentions or
otherwise show the WCJ disregarded any of Claimant’s evidence.
9
III. Conclusion
For the reasons stated above, this Court denies the Application and affirms the
Order.
______________________________
STACY WALLACE, Judge
10
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Monica Niculcea, :
Petitioner :
:
v. : No. 1645 C.D. 2024
:
Susquehanna Valley Nursing and :
Rehabilitation Center (Workers’ :
Compensation Appeal Board), :
Respondent :
ORDER
AND NOW, this 10th day of July 2026, the Application filed by Respondent
Susquehanna Valley Nursing and Rehabilitation Center to quash the Petition for
Review is DENIED, and the October 4, 2024 order of the Workers’ Compensation
Appeal Board is AFFIRMED.
______________________________
STACY WALLACE, Judge