Elaine Dial v. Calusa Palms Master Association, Inc.
CourtDistrict Court of Appeal of Florida
Date FiledDecember 11, 2020
Docket2D18-4339
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
NOT FINAL UNTIL TIME EXPIRES TO FILE REHEARING
MOTION AND, IF FILED, DETERMINED
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
OF FLORIDA
SECOND DISTRICT
ELAINE DIAL and JOHN DIAL, )
)
Appellants/Cross-Appellees, )
)
v. ) Case No. 2D18-4339
)
CALUSA PALMS MASTER )
ASSOCIATION, INC., )
)
Appellee/Cross-Appellant. )
)
Opinion filed December 11, 2020.
Appeal pursuant to Fla. R. App. P.
9.030 from the Circuit Court for
Lee County; Michael T. McHugh, Judge.
Alexander Brockmeyer of Boyle,
Leonard & Anderson, P.A., Fort Myers
for Appellants/Cross-Appellees.
Michael Noone, Scot Goldberg, Elizete
Velado and Sheba Abraham of
Goldberg Noone, LLC, Fort Myers for
Appellants/Cross-Appellees.
Michael R. D'Lugo of Wicker, Smith,
O'Hara, McCoy & Ford, P.A., Orlando
for Appellee/Cross-Appellant.
LUCAS, Judge.
This is a slip and fall case in which the plaintiffs below, Elaine and John
Dial, appeal the entry of a judgment in Ms. Dial's favor following a jury verdict. Of the
$109,641.69 verdict, Ms. Dial was awarded $34,641.69 in past medical expenses. The
Dials raise three issues, and the defendant below, Calusa Palms Master Association,
Inc. (Calusa Palms), has filed a cross-appeal. We find no merit in the Dials' third issue
or Calusa Palms' cross-appeal. With respect to the Dials' first two arguments—both of
which revolve around the discrete issue of whether the circuit court erroneously limited
Ms. Dials' evidence of her past medical expenses to the Medicare bills that were
indisputably tendered and paid—we affirm based upon our decision in Cooperative
Leasing, Inc. v. Johnson, 872 So. 2d 956, 960 (Fla. 2d DCA 2004), wherein we held
that the appropriate measure of compensatory damages for
past medical expenses when a plaintiff has received
Medicare benefits does not include the difference between
the amount that the Medicare providers agreed to accept
and the total amount of the plaintiff's medical bills. The trial
court should have granted the appellants' motion in limine
and prohibited Johnson from introducing the full amount of
her medical bills into evidence.
While we recognize that Cooperative Leasing cited to the Florida Supreme
Court's decision in Florida Physician's Insurance Reciprocal v. Stanley, 452 So. 2d 514
(Fla. 1984), a decision that was subsequently receded from in Joerg v. State Farm
Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., 176 So. 3d 1247 (Fla. 2015), we do not believe the
Joerg decision "implicitly abrogated" our evidentiary ruling in Cooperative Leasing, as
Ms. Dial suggests. First of all, whatever its analytical underpinnings, the Joerg court
very clearly set the scope of its holding to evidence concerning future Medicare
benefits, which is not in dispute here. See, e.g., Joerg, 176 So. 3d at 1253 ("Whether
the exception to the collateral source rule created in Stanley applies to future benefits
provided by social legislation such as Medicare is a purely legal question. . . . We
conclude that future Medicare benefits are both uncertain and a liability under Stanley,
due to the right of reimbursement that Medicare retains."); id. at 1254 (summarizing
legislative Medicare liability and observing that "[w]ith such enforcement tools, future
-2-
Medicare benefits constitute a serious liability for all beneficiaries" (emphasis omitted));
id. at 1255 ("Moreover, it is absolutely speculative to attempt to calculate damage
awards based on benefits that a plaintiff has not yet received and may never receive,
should either the plaintiff's eligibility or the benefits themselves become insufficient or
cease to continue."); id. at 1257 ("Further, the uncertainty of the future for any social
legislation benefits is far too great to permit damage reductions. . . . We conclude that
the trial court properly excluded evidence of Luke Joerg's eligibility for future benefits
from Medicare, Medicaid, and other social legislation as collateral sources.").
Second, the Joerg opinion includes a citation to Cooperative Leasing for
the proposition that there is no risk of a "windfall" to plaintiffs by precluding evidence of
future Medicare benefits. Id. at 1254-55. If our evidentiary holding in Cooperative
Leasing was so antithetical to Joerg's holding that the latter implicitly reversed the
former, we doubt the Florida Supreme Court would have favorably cited our opinion
without some kind of caveat or explanation.
Finally, we are not convinced that the foundational concern we raised in
Cooperative Leasing—that plaintiffs ought not to receive a windfall to recover the
purported value of past medical "expenses" that were never paid—was squarely
addressed in Joerg. True, as Ms. Dial points out, in the final footnote of the Joerg
opinion, the court did state:
Like Peterson, the Illinois Supreme Court in Wills also
considered the admissibility of past Medicare benefits, not
the future benefits at issue here. Wills, 323 Ill.Dec. 26, 892
N.E.2d at 1020. Given our agreement with the policy
pronouncement in Wills, we do not consider this factual
distinction relevant.
Joerg, 176 So. 3d at 1256 n.7. But just because a court observes why a factual
distinction in a holding it relies upon is "not relevant" to its analysis, it does not mean
-3-
that the court intends its holding to encompass that very distinction. All the more so
where the court explicitly and repeatedly confined the extent of its holding in the way the
Joerg court did.
However, the evidentiary issue Ms. Dial raises is one that frequently arises
in negligence cases. Moreover, we recognize the tension between competing policies
this issue implicates—there is a balance between limiting evidence of collateral sources
to avoid jury confusion, while ensuring litigants can present relevant evidence to aid the
jury in rendering a "reasonable value" for medical expenses. Cf. Fla. Std. Jury Instr.
(Civ.) 501.2(b). Therefore, pursuant to Florida Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.125, we
certify the following as a question of great public importance:
DOES THE HOLDING IN JOERG V. STATE FARM
MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE CO., 176 SO. 3D
1247 (FLA. 2015), PROHIBITING THE INTRODUCTION OF
EVIDENCE OF MEDICARE BENEFITS IN A PERSONAL
INJURY CASE FOR PURPOSES OF A JURY'S
CONSIDERATION OF FUTURE MEDICAL EXPENSES
ALSO APPLY TO PAST MEDICAL EXPENSES?
We have answered the certified question in the negative and affirm the
judgment below accordingly.
Affirmed.
SILBERMAN, J., Concurs.
ROTHSTEIN-YOUAKIM, J., Concurs specially.
-4-
ROTHSTEIN-YOUAKIM, Judge, Specially concurring.
I concur in the result based on our precedent. As the majority points out,
Joerg repeatedly cited Cooperative Leasing without reservation and addressed future
Medicare benefits rather than past. Nonetheless, I believe that the rationale in Joerg
compels the conclusion that our evidentiary holding in Cooperative Leasing was
incorrect. Although arising in the context of future benefits, Joerg did not create any
exception for future benefits; rather, it negated the exception for future benefits, created
by Stanley, to the rule "that the admission of evidence of social legislation benefits such
as those received from Medicare, Medicaid, or Social Security, is considered highly
prejudicial and constitutes reversible error." Joerg, 176 So. 3d at 1250. In doing so, the
court emphasized that apart from Stanley and "[u]nlike the common law damages
aspect of the collateral source rule, the evidentiary collateral source rule remains largely
intact." Joerg, 176 So. 3d at 1250 (citing Gormley v. GTE Prods. Corp., 587 So. 2d 455,
459 (Fla. 1991)). In my view, our evidentiary holding in Cooperative Leasing was
inconsistent with that rule.
Accordingly, were we writing on a clean slate, I would vote to reverse the
decision below. As it stands, however, I concur in the decision to affirm, and I echo the
need for guidance on the question certified.
-5-