JORGE F. LAMAR v. DELTA AIRLINES, INC.
CourtCourt of Appeals of Georgia
Date FiledOctober 26, 2026
DocketA26A0886
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
FIFTH DIVISION
BROWN, C. J.,
MERCIER, P. J., and EPPS, J.
NOTICE: Motions for reconsideration must be
received no later than 4:30 pm on the 10th day after
the decision was issued to be deemed timely filed.
https://www.gaappeals.gov/rules
October 26, 2026
In the Court of Appeals of Georgia
A26A0886. LAMAR v. DELTA AIRLINES, INC. et al.
BROWN, Chief Judge.
Pursuant to our grant of his application for discretionary appeal, Jorge Lamar
appeals from the superior court’s order affirming the Appellate Division of the State
Board of Workers’ Compensation affirmance of the Administrative Law Judge’s
ruling that Delta Air Lines, Inc. (“Employer/Insurer”) complied with OCGA § 34-9-
104(a) and Board Rule 104(a) when it unilaterally reduced his workers’ compensation
benefits. For the following reasons, we reverse the superior court’s order and remand
the case with instruction.
In reviewing a workers’ compensation award, both this [C]ourt
and the superior court must construe the evidence in the light most
favorable to the party prevailing before the appellate division. It is
axiomatic that the findings of the State Board of Workers’ Compensation
[(“Board”)], when supported by any evidence, are conclusive and
binding, and that neither the superior court nor this [C]ourt has any
authority to substitute itself as a fact finding body in lieu of the Board.
MARTA v. Bridges, 276 Ga. App. 220, 220 (623 SE2d 1) (2005). “Questions of law
and the application of law to undisputed facts, however, are reviewed de novo.” City
of Atlanta v. Sebastian, 368 Ga. App. 859, 859(1) (891 SE2d 66) (2023).
So viewed, the record shows that Lamar, a Delta employee, sustained lumbar
spine injuries while lifting baggage as part of his job duties. Lamar filed timely notice
of the accident and injury to the Employer/Insurer.1 On September 7, 2022, Lamar
began receiving temporary total disability (“TTD”) workers’ compensation income
benefits at the rate of $725 per week, based upon his average weekly wage of
$1,510.30.
On August 14, 2023, Employer/Insurer filed a WC-104 form with the Board in
order to notify Lamar that it was converting his TTD benefits to temporary partial
disability (“TPD”) benefits. The form stated that Lamar’s authorized treating
physician, Dr. Donald Langenbeck at Peachtree Orthopedic Center, had released him
1
Delta is self-insured with Sedgwick CMS, Inc., as the servicing agent.
2
to work with restrictions. A medical report completed by Dr. Langenbeck on July 17,
2023 was attached to the form (the “July 17 Medical Report”). The July 17 Medical
Report notes that the appointment was a follow-up visit to address both Lamar’s
reports of pain in “both lower extremities including the anterior portion of both his
thighs equally” and to discuss the results of a CT myelogram of the lumbar spine. It
notes that Dr. Langenbeck “reviewed the CT myelogram of the lumbar spine” and
concluded that there “is no clear connection between the EMG findings or the CT
myelogram findings.” Under a section titled “Physical Exam,” Dr. Langenbeck noted
that he observed the following:
Musculoskeletal: Range of motion of the lumbar spine shows mild
difficulty with extension. Straight leg raise negative bilaterally. No pain
with internal and external rotation of the hip. Neurological: Reflexes
trace/4 in the knees, absent in the ankles. Motor exam shows 5/5
strength. Sensation intact.
Dr. Langenbeck stated that, based upon his examination and CT myelogram, his
impression was that Lamar had myofascial pain, lumbar facet joint pain, and lumbar
radiculitis. He then prescribed a daily medication and instructed Lamar to attend “as
many sessions as possible” of “work conditioning physical therapy” for two weeks.
3
Under a section titled “patient instructions,” the doctor instructed Lamar not to lift
more than 15 pounds. Lamar was instructed to return for a follow-up visit in three
weeks. The July 17 Medical Report did not specifically state that Dr. Langenbeck
released Lamar back to work.
Pursuant to the WC-104 filing, Lamar’s income benefits were converted from
TTD to TPD, with TPD benefits continuing at the rate of $438 per week, effective
July 2024. Lamar filed a WC-14 “Notice of Claim” form contesting this change.
Lamar argued that the Employer/Insurer’s Form WC-104 was invalid under OCGA
§ 34-9-104(a)(2) and Board Rule 104(a).
After briefing and a hearing, the ALJ issued an award denying Lamar’s request
based on its conclusion that the WC-104 form was valid. The ALJ found that Dr.
Langenbeck’s July 17 Medical Report that was attached to the WC-104 form
established that Lamar was capable of returning to work because the only restriction
placed on him in the report was to lift no more than 15 pounds.
Lamar appealed the ALJ’s findings to the Appellate Division, which adopted
the ALJ’s award as its own. Lamar then sought review in the Superior Court of Fulton
County. After oral argument, the superior court issued an order affirming the
4
Appellate Division. This Court granted Lamar’s application for discretionary review
from that order.
In related enumerations of error, Lamar argues that the WC-104 form submitted
by the Employer/Insurer was insufficient to reduce his benefits because the July 17
Medical Report attached to it did not demonstrate that he was capable of performing
work with restrictions as required by OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2) and Ga. Code Ann.
Worker’s Comp. Rule 104(a). We agree.
Under OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2), an employer is allowed to “unilaterally reduce
an employee’s TTD benefits to TPD benefits once the treating physician releases the
employee to work with limitations or restrictions.” MARTA v. Thompson, 326 Ga.
App. 631, 633(2) (757 SE2d 228) (2014). OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2) provides, in
pertinent part:
When an injury is not catastrophic, as defined in [OCGA § 34-9-
200.1(g)], and the employee is not working, the [B]oard shall determine
that a change in condition for the better has occurred and the employee
shall be entitled to the payment of benefits for partial disability in
accordance with [OCGA § 34-9-262] if it is determined that the
employee has been capable of performing work with limitations or
restrictions for 52 consecutive weeks. Within 60 days of the employee’s
release to return to work with restrictions or limitations, the employer
5
shall provide notice to the employee on a form provided by the [B]oard
that will inform the employee that he or she has been released to work
with limitations or restrictions, will include an explanation of the
limitations or restrictions, and will inform the employee of the general
terms of this Code section. ... Whenever an employer seeks to convert an
employee from benefits for total disability to benefits for partial disability
as provided in this paragraph, such employer may convert the benefits
unilaterally by filing a form indicating the reason for the conversion as
prescribed by rule of the [B]oard.
In turn, Workers’ Compensation Board Rule 104(a) (“Board Rule 104(a)”)
governs the WC-104 form that must be filed in order to convert TTD benefits to TPD
benefits under OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2). It provides:
To unilaterally convert the employee’s income benefits from temporary
total disability income benefits to temporary partial disability income
benefits under OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2), the employer/insurer shall file
a Form WC-104 with the Board and shall serve the employee and the
employee’s attorney the Form WC-104 no later than 60 days from the
date the employee was released to work with restrictions by the
employee’s authorized treating physician. In addition, the
employer/insurer shall attach to the Form WC-104 the supporting medical
report from employee’s authorized treating physician demonstrating the
employee is capable of performing work with restrictions.
Ga. Code Ann. Worker’s Comp. Rule 104(a) (emphasis added).
6
Because the statutory scheme governing workers’ compensation is a
“humanitarian measure,” it should be “liberally construed to effectuate its purpose.”
Thompson, 326 Ga. App. at 633(2). Accordingly, an employer/insurer is required to
“strictly comply with OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2)” before it may “avail itself of the
opportunity to unilaterally convert an employee” from TTD to TPD benefits. Id.
(punctuation omitted). See also Coker v. Deep S. Surplus of Ga., 258 Ga. App. 755, 756
(574 SE2d 815) (2002) (“Because the Workers’ Compensation Act is in derogation
of common law, its provisions must be strictly construed.”); City of Atlanta v. Sumlin,
258 Ga. App. 643, 647(3) (574 SE2d 827) (2002) (“[P]ublic policy supports placing
the burden of complying with [OCGA § 34-9-104] on the employer, who can avoid
any overpayment of benefits by giving 60-day notice.”). With this in mind, we find
that, construed together, these statutory and regulatory prerequisites show that an
employer/insurer may not reduce an employee’s income benefits unless it has
attached a medical report to Form WC-104 that demonstrates on its face that the
“employee is capable of performing work with restrictions.” OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2).
In Imerys Kaolin v. Blackshear, 306 Ga. App. 491 (702 SE2d 440) (2010)
(physical precedent only), this Court held that an employer could not use a WC-104
7
form to reduce an employee’s benefits when the December 2002 medical release
attached to the form relied on an evaluation conducted in August 2002. Id. at 492. In
doing so, this Court reasoned that the notice was invalid because it was issued “more
than 60 days from the time the restrictions were ‘determined.’” Id. at 494(1)
(punctuation omitted). This Court concluded that a medical report attached to a WC-
104 form must be “based upon a reasonably concurrent examination and
determination of the employee’s condition, not a mere reaffirmation of an otherwise
untimely examination” in order to support a reduction of benefits.2 Id. at 494(2)
(punctuation omitted). Similarly, in Sumlin, 258 Ga. App. 644, 645–46(1), this Court
affirmed the ALJ’s conclusion that an employer/insurer’s WC-104 form did not
comply with the requirements of OCGA § 34-9-104(a) and thus could not be used to
reduce an employee’s benefits when the July 2000 medical report attached to the form
simply reaffirmed a prior work release from October 1998.
2
Employer/Insurer argues that Blackshear is distinguishable because the WC-
104 notice and medical report in that case were filed outside the 60-day timeline
imposed by OCGA § 34-9-104(a). However, this does not change the fact that the
Blackshear court construed OCGA § 34-9-104(a) and Board Rule 104(a) to require that
the medical report attached to a Form WC-104 must contain results of a “reasonably
concurrent examination” and cannot merely restate findings from earlier
examinations. 306 Ga. App. at 494(2).
8
In this case, the ALJ’s order held that the July 17 Medical Record shows that
Lamar was “capable of performing work with restrictions” because it “indicates what
[the doctor] views as the appropriate restrictions on [Lamar’s] physical activities,
work or otherwise.” In support of this finding, the ALJ points to the fact that a
different provider, Peachtree Occupational Medicine, had released Lamar to light-
duty work with restrictions a year prior as well as Dr. Langenbeck’s instruction that
Lamar not lift anything heavier than 15 pounds. However, the ALJ’s order explicitly
recognized that the 15-pound lifting restriction in the July 17 Medical Record was “not
a change in [Lamar’s] restrictions or work status,” but instead was “merely a
restatement” of an ongoing restriction that had been imposed upon Lamar at prior
appointments.
Accordingly, even when viewed under the “any evidence” standard, there is
no evidence to support the ALJ’s conclusion that Dr. Langenbeck’s July 17 Medical
Report was sufficient to demonstrate that Lamar constituted a release back to work.
OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2). The July 17 Medical Report makes no recommendation at
all regarding Lamar’s ability to return to work. Instead, the July 17 Medical Report is
clear that Dr. Langenbeck believed that Lamar needed to complete additional work-
9
conditioning physical therapy and return for a follow-up visit to prepare for such
return. Further, as noted above, the Board and reviewing courts were confined to
reviewing Dr. Langenbeck’s July 17 examination of Lamar and his medical report
based on that examination, and they may not look to reports that were completed or
examinations that were conducted more than 60 days before that time. See Blackshear,
306 Ga. App. at 494(2); Sumlin, 258 Ga. App. at 645-46(1). Thus, the ALJ’s reliance
upon reports prepared by other medical providers outside the 60-day window was in
error. Finally, the 15-pound weight restriction did not constitute evidence that Lamar
had been cleared to return to work with restrictions at the time of the July 17
examination. As acknowledged by the ALJ, such finding was a “mere restatement”
of a restriction imposed during earlier examinations and medical reports.3 See
Blackshear, 306 Ga. App. at 494(2). If the 15-pound weight restriction was sufficient
to clear Lamar to return to work with restrictions, then the Employer/Insurer should
have provided notice of such release after the first time the doctor added such
restriction to Lamar’s medical records. See OCGA § 34-9-104(a)(2) (“Within 60 days
3
The 15-pound weight restriction is seen in many of Lamar’s medical reports
prior to June 17, 2023, including in medical reports submitted after examinations in
September 2022, October 2022, and June 2023. None of these medical reports cleared
Lamar to return to work with restrictions.
10
of the employee’s release to return to work with restrictions or limitations, the
employer shall provide notice to the employee on a form provided by the [B]oard that
will inform the employee that he or she has been released to work with limitations.”).
In the absence of a more specific statement regarding Lamar’s job duties and his
ability to perform other tasks, the restatement of a restriction upon lifting items
heavier than 15 pounds, by itself, does not constitute a release to return to light duty
work under the circumstances of this case.
Based upon the above, the judgment of the superior court is reversed and
remanded with direction that the case be remanded to the Board for the consideration
of whether attorney fees should be awarded pursuant to OCGA § 34-9-108(b)(1) and
for issuance of an award consistent with this opinion. See Reliance Electric Co. v.
Brightwell, 284 Ga. App. 235, 239–40 (643 SE2d 742) (2007).
Judgment reversed and case remanded with direction. Mercier, P. J., and Epps, J.,
concur.
11