S. Waldman v. Limerick Fire Dept. (WCAB)
CourtCommonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Date FiledOctober 21, 2026
Docket1706 C.D. 2024
JudgeWallace. Cohn Jubelirer
StatusUnpublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Steven Waldman, :
Petitioner :
:
v. : No. 1706 C.D. 2024
: Submitted: March 3, 2026
Limerick Fire Department (Workers’ :
Compensation Appeal Board), :
Respondent :
BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, President Judge
HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge
HONORABLE STACY WALLACE, Judge
OPINION NOT REPORTED
MEMORANDUM OPINION
BY JUDGE WALLACE FILED: October 21, 2026
Steven Waldman (Claimant) petitions for review of the November 25, 2024
order (Order) of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) affirming the
decision (Decision) of a workers’ compensation judge (WCJ) that granted Limerick
Fire Department’s (Employer) Petition to Suspend Compensation Benefits
(Suspension Petition) under the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act).1 After review,
we affirm.2
1
Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2710.
2
The vote of the panel of judges that resolved this case resulted in a 2 to 1 vote to affirm the Board.
However, in keeping with this Court’s internal operating procedures, all commissioned judges
voted on this Memorandum Opinion (including those who were not on the panel), except for one
(Footnote continued on next page…)
BACKGROUND
On January 19, 2020, Claimant sustained a work injury when he slipped and
fell while working for Employer as a volunteer firefighter. Certified Record (C.R.)
at 10-11.3 Employer issued a Notice of Compensation Payable (NCP) recognizing
the injury as a low back strain. Id. at 11, 22. On March 22, 2023, Employer filed
its Suspension Petition and a Petition for Modification of Benefits (Modification
Petition) (collectively, Petitions) asserting work was generally available for
Claimant within his medical and vocational restrictions based on a labor market
survey (LMS) completed on January 25, 2023. Id. at 10, 22.
In support of its Petitions, Employer presented the deposition testimony of
William Spellman, M.D. (Dr. Spellman), a board-certified orthopedic surgeon, who
conducted an Independent Medical Examination (IME) of Claimant on October 20,
2022. Id. at 279. According to Dr. Spellman, Claimant reported that he was a full-
time electrician and volunteer fireman. Id. Additionally, Dr. Spellman testified that
Claimant reported continuing back pain following his slip and fall in 2020, which he
rated as moderate intensity. Id. Dr. Spellman performed a physical examination of
Claimant, which was benign and not consistent with Claimant continuing to have
any physical problems with his back. Id. at 281. Dr. Spellman reviewed Claimant’s
medical records including Claimant’s chiropractic records, Magnetic Resonance
Images (MRIs) of Claimant’s low back, and a functional capacity evaluation (FCE),
which was completed by Pivot Industrial Services on August 26, 2021. Id. at 282.
Dr. Spellman reviewed the FCE’s recommendation that Claimant was capable of
judge who recused herself. This resulted in the voting judges being evenly split regarding the
proper disposition of this matter. Accordingly, this opinion is being filed “as circulated,” pursuant
to Section 256(b) of this Court’s internal operating procedures, 210 Pa. Code § 69.256(b).
3
References to page numbers in the Certified Record reflect electronic pagination.
2
performing medium-duty work, lifting up to 50 pounds occasionally, 20 pounds
frequently, and 10 pounds constantly. Id. Dr. Spellman indicated the FCE’s
recommendations were consistent with his own examination and recommendations
for Claimant. Id. at 282.
Following the IME, Dr. Spellman opined, to a reasonable degree of medical
certainty, that Claimant was capable of returning to work in a medium-duty capacity.
Id. at 283-84. Dr. Spellman explained he based his opinion on the benign nature of
Claimant’s physical examination, as well as his clinical history. Id. Dr. Spellman
testified to receipt of employment positions from Hoover Rehabilitation Services
(Hoover) outlining potentially suitable positions for Claimant. Id. at 284-85. Those
six positions included the following: West Carver Electric as a service manager,
North Penn YMCA as a building and grounds director, Precision Tech as a plant
electrician, Global Advanced Medicals, as an electrical technician, and Donald
Miller Electric, as a resident electrician (collectively, the Positions). Id. at 288.
After reviewing the Positions and having further discussions with Hoover, Dr.
Spellman ultimately approved the Positions as suitable for Claimant. Id. at 288.
Employer also submitted the testimony of Yvette Duncan (Duncan), a
certified Rehabilitation Counselor and Rehabilitation Specialist for Hoover. Id. at
207-08. Duncan testified that in her role, she meets with injured workers to conduct
vocational assessments, conduct LMS activities, locate employment for injured
workers within their restrictions and geographic area, review medical
documentation, analyze labor market nuances, and assist claimants with returning to
work. Id. Duncan indicated she received an assignment to conduct an LMS activity
for Claimant on November 8, 2022. Id. at 216. She conducted a vocational
evaluation with Claimant on December 6, 2022. Id. Regarding Claimant’s
3
vocational background, Duncan noted Claimant was a journeyman electrician who
worked in the field for approximately 30 years in a variety of roles. Id. at 217. After
reviewing Dr. Spellman’s report and his physical capabilities checklist for Claimant,
Duncan identified the Positions she felt Claimant capable of performing with respect
to his vocational background and physical restrictions. Id. at 218. Duncan
forwarded the Positions to Dr. Spellman, which he approved as suitable for
Claimant. Id. at 221. Duncan then notified Claimant of the Positions via job lead
letters. Id. at 222. In her job lead letters, Duncan included descriptions of each
position, such as physical duties, hours, and pay that would be involved, as well as
instructions regarding how to submit an application for each position. Id. at 223.
Additionally, Duncan testified that she created an Earning Power Assessment Report
dated January 25, 2023. Id. at 224. Duncan considered the Positions to be open and
available positions Claimant was physically and vocationally capable of performing.
Id. In her Earning Power Assessment Report, Duncan opined, to a reasonable degree
of professional certainty, that Claimant was qualified to perform the Positions and,
by taking an average of the wages for the Positions which ranged from $900 to
$1,730 per week, she calculated Claimant’s earning power capacity to be $1,220 per
week. Id.
Claimant testified on his own behalf. Claimant stated he continues to have
ongoing pain in his lower back. Id. at 178, 180. He indicated he applied for the
Positions with all six companies per his instructions by Hoover. Id. at 179.
According to Claimant, he did not receive any job offers from the applications he
sent. Id. at 180. The only response he received from his applications was from
Donald Miller Electric, which requested his resume. Id. at 180. Claimant testified
he did not believe he could return to work full-time or part-time as an electrician
4
because “of the chronic back pain and what it takes to be an electrician for doing it
for 35 years, . . . [he] couldn’t do it.” Id. at 180. When asked specifically what he
would not be able to do, Claimant explained: “Lifting wire spools, lifting wire,
carrying ladders, hanging ceiling fans. It all requires lifting more than 20 pounds.”
Id. at 180-81.
The WCJ found the testimony of Dr. Spellman, with respect to Claimant’s
physical capabilities, to be credible. Id. at 24. The WCJ found Claimant’s job
restrictions set by Dr. Spellman credible after considering Dr. Spellman’s findings
upon physical examination and Claimant’s testimony regarding his ongoing
symptomatology and medical treatment. Id. at 24. The WCJ noted Claimant did not
present medical evidence challenging Dr. Spellman’s assessment. Id. Moreover,
the WCJ deemed Duncan’s testimony regarding Claimant’s earning capacity to be
credible, as she testified to all necessary elements of her preparation of the LMS and
earning power assessment, including having confirmed that there was no work
available with Employer within his work restrictions. Id. The WCJ noted she
accepted Duncan’s testimony based on her calculations of Claimant’s earning
capacity based on the wages advertised by the prospective employers and took the
average of the six approved jobs to reach the figure of $1,220.00. Id. Regarding
Claimant’s testimony, the WCJ explained she
carefully considered Claimant’s testimony. Claimant argues, in his
brief, that Employer did not prove that the job positions remained open
until such time that Claimant was afforded an opportunity to apply.
However, Claimant did apply, according to his sworn testimony, to all
identified job positions and was not offered a job. This defeats
Claimant’s argument.
Id. at 24. The WCJ noted Claimant had the opportunity to go out on his own and
find a job within his physical capabilities himself and has not done so. Id.
5
Accordingly, the WCJ concluded the average of the weekly wages for the Positions
is above Claimant’s pre-injury average weekly wage and, therefore, the WCJ
suspended Claimant’s temporary total disability benefits as of January 25, 2023, the
date of the LMS. Id. at 25.
Claimant appealed the WCJ’s Decision to the Board, and the Board affirmed
in its Order. Claimant now appeals to this Court. On appeal, Claimant argues the
WCJ’s Decision and the Board’s Order indicating Claimant has an earning capacity
of $1,200.00 weekly is not supported by competent evidence and pertinent authority.
Claimant’s Br. at 5. In response, Employer asserts the WCJ’s Decision granting
Employer’s Suspension Petition was based on substantial, competent evidence.
Employer’s Br. at 4.
DISCUSSION
This Court reviews workers’ compensation orders for violations of a party’s
constitutional rights, violations of agency practice and procedure, and other errors
of law. 2 Pa.C.S. § 704. We also consider whether substantial evidence supports
the findings of fact necessary to sustain the Board’s decision. Id. Substantial
evidence is such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as sufficient
to support a conclusion. Waldameer Park, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.
(Morrison), 819 A.2d 164, 168 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003) (citation omitted). When
performing a substantial evidence analysis, we view the evidence in the light most
favorable to the party who prevailed before the WCJ. Id. Additionally, we draw all
reasonable inferences from the evidence in support of the prevailing party. Id. It
does not matter if there is evidence in the record that supports contrary findings;
rather, we consider whether there is substantial evidence to support the findings the
WCJ actually made. Hoffmaster v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Senco Prods., Inc.),
6
721 A.2d 1152, 1155 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998). So long as substantial evidence supports
the WCJ’s findings, those findings are conclusive on appeal. Glass v. Workers’
Comp. Appeal Bd. (City of Philadelphia), 61 A.3d 318, 325 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2013).
To amount to substantial evidence, the evidence must be competent. Fessler
by Fessler v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Nationwide Ins. Co.), 484 A.2d 422, 425
(Pa. Cmwlth. 1984). Regarding medical testimony, competent evidence means
medical testimony that is “unequivocal and positive.” Roeberg Enter., Inc. v.
Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd., 400 A.2d 911, 912 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1979). “Medical
testimony will be found unequivocal if the medical expert, after providing a
foundation, testifies that in his professional opinion that he believes a certain fact or
condition exists.” Campbell v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Pittsburgh Post
Gazette), 954 A.2d 726, 730 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008). However, medical testimony is
equivocal if, “after a review of a medical expert’s entire testimony, it is found to be
merely based on possibilities.” Id. We review a medical expert’s testimony “as a
whole and may not base our analysis on a few words taken out of
context.” Amandeo v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Conagra Foods), 37 A.3d 72,
80 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2012)
Moreover, while this Court considers the competency and sufficiency of the
evidence presented to the WCJ, the WCJ’s assessment of credibility is not subject to
our review on appeal. Davis v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (City of Phila.), 753
A.2d 905, 909 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2000). The WCJ is the ultimate fact finder in workers’
compensation cases and is entitled to weigh the evidence and assess the credibility
of witnesses. Montano v. Advance Stores Co., Inc. (Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.),
278 A.3d 969, 978 n.4 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2022) (citing Sharkey v. Workers’ Comp.
Appeal Bd. (Fed. Express), 786 A.2d 1035, 1038 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001)). The WCJ is
7
free to evaluate the evidence offered and accept or reject any witness’s testimony, in
whole or in part. Davis, 753 A.2d at 909. This Court “may overturn a credibility
determination only if it is arbitrary and capricious, so fundamentally depended on a
misapprehension of material facts, or so otherwise flawed as to render it irrational.”
West Penn Allegheny Health System, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.
(Cochenour), 251 A.3d 467, 475 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2021) (citation omitted).
As to the Modification and Suspension Petitions, Section 413 of the Act, 77
P.S. § 722, authorizes a WCJ to modify or suspend a claimant’s workers’
compensation benefits where the claimant has some earning power. Fedchem, LLC
v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd., 221 A.3d 348 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2019). Specifically,
Section 413(a) of the Act states, in relevant part:
A [WCJ] . . . may, at any time, modify, reinstate, [or] suspend . . . a
notice of compensation payable . . . upon petition filed by either party .
. . , upon proof that the disability of an injured employe has increased,
decreased, recurred, or has temporarily or finally ceased . . . . Such
modification, reinstatement, [or] suspension . . . shall be made as of the
date upon which it is shown that the disability of the injured employe
has increased, decreased, recurred, or had temporarily or finally
ceased[.]
77 P.S. § 772. The term “disability” under the Act is synonymous with “loss of
earning power.” Donahay v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Skills of Cent. PA, Inc.),
109 A.3d 787, 792 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015) (citation omitted). Thus, “[i]f the reduction
in earnings is not tied to a loss of earning power attributable to the work injury, no
disability benefits are due.” Id. at 793. Disability compensation is based upon the
difference between a claimant’s pre-injury wages and his post-injury earning power.
Fedchem, 221 A.3d at 354.
An employer bears the burden of proving a claimant’s earning power. Id. at
355. Notably, the determination of a claimant’s earning power is a question of fact
8
to be resolved by the WCJ. Select Sec., Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Kobrin),
901 A.2d 1129, 1132 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006) (citation omitted). Section 306(b)(2) of
the Act sets forth how a claimant’s “earning power” is to be determined, stating:
“Earning power” shall be determined by the work the employe is
capable of performing and shall be based upon expert opinion evidence
which includes job listings with agencies of the department, private job
placement agencies and advertisements in the usual employment area.
Disability partial in character shall apply if the employe is able to
perform his previous work or can, considering the employe’s residual
productive skill, education, age and work experience, engage in any
other kind of substantial gainful employment which exists in the usual
employment area in which the employe lives within this
Commonwealth. If the employe does not live in this Commonwealth,
then the usual employment area where the injury occurred shall apply.
If the employer has a specific job vacancy the employe is capable of
performing, the employer shall offer such job to the employe. In order
to accurately assess the earning power of the employe, the insurer may
require the employe to submit to an interview by a vocational expert
who is selected by the insurer and who meets the minimum
qualifications established by the department through regulation. The
vocational expert shall comply with the Code of Professional Ethics for
Rehabilitation Counselors pertaining to the conduct of expert
witnesses.
77 P.S. § 512. Thus, an employer may establish a claimant’s earning power by
offering the claimant a job or by locating appropriate positions through “expert
opinion evidence.” Fedchem, 221 A.3d at 355. Once an employer proves a
claimant’s earning power, the claimant may refute the employer’s evidence by
showing that the employer’s labor market survey was erroneous, or that “the
claimant’s actual experience with the employers identified in the [LMS]” shows that
the positions were not available. Id. (citation omitted).
In Phoenixville Hospital v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Shoap),
81 A.3d 830 (Pa. 2013), the Pennsylvania Supreme Court addressed whether a
9
claimant’s benefits could be modified under Section 306(b)(2) of the Act when the
claimant applied for specific, recommended jobs but did not receive an offer of
employment. The employer sought to modify the claimant’s benefits based on two
LMSs that provided jobs within the claimant’s physical restriction in the relevant
geographical area. Id. at 833. The Supreme Court interpreted Section 306(b)(2) of
the Act’s “substantial gainful employment which exists” section to require proof of
the “existence of meaningful employment opportunities, and not the simple
identification of jobs found in want ads or employment listings.” Id. at 842-43. The
Court held the identified jobs must “remain open until such time as the claimant is
afforded a reasonable opportunity to apply for them.” Id. at 845. Additionally, the
Court held a claimant must be given an opportunity to present evidence about the
claimant’s experience in applying for the identified jobs, including evidence that the
positions were already filled by the time the claimant had a reasonable opportunity
to apply for them. Id.
In Smith v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Supervalu Holdings Pa,
LLC), 177 A.3d 394, 404 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2018), appeal denied, 189 A.3d 983 (Pa.
2018), this Court confirmed the “employer bears the burden of proving all facts
entitling it to a modification of benefits, including the continued availability of the
jobs identified as proof of earning power.” We noted the modification of benefits
based on earning power associated with identified jobs cannot be granted “without
evidence in the record that the specific positions remain open until such time as a
claimant is afforded a reasonable opportunity to apply for them.” Id. While the
employer must establish evidence that the identified jobs remained available, this
Court explained that if a claimant offers evidence regarding his pursuit of the jobs,
such evidence can be considered when assessing their availability. Id. We noted
10
that evidence the claimant “was interviewed for some identified positions constitutes
substantial evidence that those positions remained open and available.” Id. Thus,
the Court affirmed the granting of the modification petition based on the claimant’s
ability to interview for two positions, even though the claimant was not actually
offered any jobs. Id.
Here, Claimant first asserts the WCJ and Board erred because the WCJ’s
conclusion that Claimant has an earning capacity of $1,200.00 per week is not
supported by competent evidence and pertinent authority. Claimant’s Br. at 14.
Specifically, Claimant asserts the WCJ’s finding that Claimant is capable of
performing medium-duty work, is not supported by competent evidence. Id.
Claimant maintains that Dr. Spellman’s report is inconsistent with the conclusions
of the FCE he relied upon. Id. According to Claimant, the FCE provides the
evaluator’s opinion that Claimant could complete work “restricted to sedentary PDL
within the restrictions outlined in” the report, but the Employer’s LMS of “medium
duty” jobs exceed his physical capabilities as established by the FCE. Id. at 15.
Our review of Dr. Spellman’s testimony, in its entirety, reveals an
unequivocal, or, in other words, an unquestionable opinion of Claimant’s ability to
perform medium-duty work. Dr. Spellman opined that Claimant was able to work
in a medium-duty capacity and agreed the Positions identified by Duncan were
appropriate. In addition to a review of the FCE, Dr. Spellman based his opinion on
his own physical examination of Claimant, as well as Claimant’s medical records
including Claimant’s chiropractic records and MRIs. Dr. Spellman opined “to a
reasonable degree of medical certainty” that Claimant was capable of performing
medium-duty work. See C.R. at 283-84. While we acknowledge the FCE indicates
Claimant “would be able to complete work restricted to sedentary [physical demand
11
level] within the restrictions outlined in this report,” Reproduced Record (R.R.), at
49a, the FCE also states under the Physical Demand Level section that Claimant
“can currently perform work . . . that is characterized by the range of the Medium
physical demand level.” Id. at 59a (original emphasis removed). Moreover, on the
next page of the FCE entitled Physical Demand Characteristics of Work Definitions,
which lists and describes Sedentary Work, Light Work, Medium Work, Heavy
Work, and Very Heavy Work, the Medium Work section is highlighted. Id. at 61a.
Dr. Spellman indicated he agreed with the recommendation in the FCE, but that did
not render Dr. Spellman’s opinion incompetent. The WCJ found Dr. Spellman to be
credible, and even if Claimant had presented medical evidence, which he did not,
we do not review whether the record could support Claimant’s contrary assertions,
but rather whether the evidence supports the findings the WCJ actually made. See
Hoffmaster, 721 A.2d at 1155. Because Dr. Spellman’s testimony was competent
and unequivocal, the WCJ did not err in relying on his testimony as substantial
support for her finding that Claimant can perform medium-duty work.
Claimant also argues the positions identified by Duncan exceed his physical
capabilities because those positions were “not even medium duty positions.”
Claimant’s Br. at 16. Claimant bases this contention on his own testimony asserting
he “has been an electrician for decades and established how demanding carrying
tools, wire, and other equipment can be.” Id. Again, we recognize our role on appeal
and to the extent Claimant seeks to have this Court reweigh the evidence, we cannot
do so because the WCJ has the sole authority to assess credibility, resolve conflicting
evidence, and determine the weight to give the evidence. See Hoffmaster, 721 A.2d
at 1155-56. As addressed above, the WCJ found Claimant could perform medium-
duty work. Additionally, Duncan, who the WCJ found credible, testified that she
12
contacted the employers to establish the work duties for each of the Positions. C.R.
at 220. She also indicated the Positions were open and available and suitable for
Claimant’s physical capabilities, as outlined by Dr. Spellman. Id. at 24.
It does not escape the Court that Claimant was injured doing a commendable
act of volunteer firefighting. It also does not escape the Court that Claimant’s
volunteer work was in addition to his full-time work as an electrician. Plainly,
Claimant is not a person who shirked working, and the Court has no question that
Claimant would prefer to be relieved of pain and not need benefits in the first
place. That being said, the Court’s authority is limited by its standard of review. The
Court cannot determine the Board erred when it affirmed the WCJ. Because the
WCJ’s findings that the Positions were for medium-duty work within Claimant’s
capabilities were supported by substantial evidence, we discern no error.
Finally, relying on Phoenixville, Claimant argues Employer failed to meet its
burden of proving the Positions identified in the LMS remained open and available
for a sufficient period. Whether a claimant had a “reasonable opportunity” to apply
and did, in fact, apply for an identified position, and whether the job was already
filled by the time a claimant had an opportunity to apply, are factual matters that the
WCJ is fully qualified to determine. Phoenixville, 81 A.3d at 846. Here, Employer
presented the testimony of Duncan, who testified that she contacted the employers
regarding the available positions and sent the referral letters to Claimant regarding
the positions. C.R. at 220. While Duncan did not testify regarding the continued
availability of the jobs beyond that date, Claimant testified that he received the
referral letters and applied to all six of the identified positions. C.R. at 179.
Claimant received a response from Donald Miller Electric requesting his resume.
Id. at 180. Like in Smith, Claimant’s testimony supports the WCJ’s finding that the
13
positions were open and available when he applied. See Smith, 177 A.3d at 404. As
the Board noted, there was no indication in the record that Claimant was prevented
from applying for any of the identified jobs or that Claimant was not offered a
position because the jobs had already been filled before his applications. C.R. at 50.
Accordingly, we discern no error by the Board when it affirmed the WCJ.
CONCLUSION
Employer met its burden of proving, through competent and substantial
evidence, that Claimant was capable of performing medium-duty work, and it
identified open and available jobs within Claimant’s vocational and physical
capabilities. Employer demonstrated an increase in Claimant’s earning power under
Section 306(b)(2) of the Act, and, therefore, the WCJ’s grant of Employer’s
Suspension Petition was not in error. Accordingly, the Board’s Order upholding the
WCJ’s Decision granting Employer’s Suspension Petition is affirmed.
______________________________
STACY WALLACE, Judge
Judge Dumas did not participate in the decision of this case.
14
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Steven Waldman, :
Petitioner :
:
v. : No. 1706 C.D. 2024
:
Limerick Fire Department (Workers’ :
Compensation Appeal Board), :
Respondent :
ORDER
AND NOW, this 21st day of October 2026, the November 25, 2024 order of
the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board is AFFIRMED.
______________________________
STACY WALLACE, Judge
IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Steven Waldman, :
Petitioner :
:
v. : No. 1706 C.D. 2024
: Submitted: March 3, 2026
Limerick Fire Department (Workers’ :
Compensation Appeal Board), :
Respondent :
BEFORE: HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, President Judge
HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge
HONORABLE STACY WALLACE, Judge
OPINION NOT REPORTED
DISSENTING OPINION BY
PRESIDENT JUDGE COHN JUBELIRER FILED: October 21, 2026
Upon review, I must, respectfully, disagree with the Majority’s conclusion
that the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) did not err in finding that
the Limerick Fire Department (Employer) met its burden of proving that it identified
jobs within Steven Waldman’s (Claimant) vocational and physical capabilities that
remained open and available until such time as he had a reasonable opportunity to
apply. While the Majority and the Board appear satisfied that the jobs were open
and available based on (1) the mere fact that Claimant was able to submit his
applications online and (2) testimony from the vocational expert that she reached out
to confirm availability of these jobs with prospective employers at some unspecified
date, I do not agree that this evidence supports finding that the positions were
actually open and potentially available so that Claimant had a reasonable opportunity
to apply to them. Rather, I would follow this Court’s approach in Smith v. Workers’
Compensation Appeal Board (Supervalu Holdings PA, LLC), where we required
“additional circumstantial evidence”—beyond the mere submission of a job
application and vague testimony by a vocational expert that she contacted
prospective employers at some unspecified time—to conclude that the jobs
identified by an employer were open and available until such time as a claimant was
afforded a reasonable opportunity to apply. 177 A.3d 394, 404 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2018)
(en banc) (emphasis added).
“[A]n employer is required to establish the existence of substantial gainful
employment that is compatible with the claimant’s residual productive skills,
education, age, and work experience . . . .” Phoenixville Hosp. v. Workers’ Comp.
Appeal Bd. (Shoap), 81 A.3d 830, 844 (Pa. 2013). “[T]he proof required to reduce
or suspend a claimant’s benefits must rest upon the existence of meaningful
employment opportunities, and not the simple identification of jobs found in want
ads or employment listings.” Id. at 842-43 (emphasis added). Our Supreme Court
has described the meaning of the phrase “substantial gainful employment which
exists” as follows:
The statutory concept of “substantial gainful employment which exists”
would be meaningless with respect to a claimant’s actual medical and
vocational circumstances unless the jobs identified by the employer's
expert witness, which are used as the employer’s proof of earning
power under Section 306(b), remain open until such time as the
claimant is afforded a reasonable opportunity to apply for them.
Otherwise, the legislatively selected terms “earning power,”
“substantial gainful employment” and “exists,” would become
mockeries of their commonly understood meanings. See 1 Pa.C.S. §
1903(a) (“Words and phrases shall be construed according to . . . their
common and approved usage”). Among other things, the
Commonwealth Court’s holding could lead to the absurdity of an
RCJ - 2
employer identifying one “open” job and using it to establish earning
power for a number of “eligible” claimants, when clearly at most only
one of these claimants could actually have the opportunity to
achieve “substantial gainful employment” via this one opening. See
1 Pa.C.S. § 1922(1) (providing that statutes should be interpreted in a
manner that presumes that the General Assembly did not intend an
absurd result).
Id. at 845 (first emphasis added). In sum, “[t]he jobs identified by the employer’s
expert witness that the claimant is ‘capable of performing’ must thus be those jobs
that are actually open and potentially available, not simply jobs that are already
filled with existing employees.” Id. at 843 (emphasis added). “Whether a claimant
had a ‘reasonable opportunity’ to apply and did, in fact, apply for an identified
position (and whether the job was already filled by the relevant time) are factual
matters that the [Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ)] is fully qualified to
determine.” Id. at 846.
In Smith, this Court considered what evidence amounts to “substantial
evidence” in support of a finding that a position remains open and available to afford
a claimant a reasonable opportunity to apply, as required under Phoenixville. 177
A.3d at 404-05. The claimant in Smith applied to five jobs identified by the employer
as compatible with his vocational and medical restrictions. Id. at 401. The
vocational expert in Smith testified that these five jobs were open and available at
the time she conducted her labor market survey, based on contacts she made to
the prospective employers; she could not, however, testify to whether the jobs
remained opened and available “when Claimant made his applications.” Id. at
399-400, 402 (emphasis added). The WCJ found that the claimant “immediately
applied for the positions” identified by the vocational expert, after which he
received two interviews but no offers. Id. at 398, 404 (emphasis added). For one of
RCJ - 3
the five positions (separate from the two jobs that conducted interviews), Claimant
contacted the job, spoke to Human Resources (HR), and submitted a resume upon
request. Id. at 398. This Court concluded that “merely mailing an application or
making an online application to a prospective employer” does not constitute
substantial evidence that a position remained open and available at the time of
a claimant’s application, as “[s]uch evidence, by itself, is so ambiguous and so
suggestive of different inferences as to amount to speculation on this point.” Id. at
404 (emphasis added). Rather than the mere submission of an application, Smith
proposed that the test for whether a job is actually open and potentially available
depends on whether “there is additional circumstantial evidence about a job
application.” Id. (emphasis added). Smith offers the following examples of
additional circumstantial evidence which “may” support a finding that a position
remains open and available at the time of application:
[1] testimony of an in-person application during which information is
exchanged, [2] evidence of follow-up communications between a
claimant and a prospective employer which prompt acts or inaction by
a claimant, or [3] evidence relating to an interview . . . .
Id. Applying this reasoning, this Court in Smith determined that the claimant having
interviewed for two positions constituted “substantial evidence” that these two
positions remained open and available for claimant to apply. Id. at 404. For all other
positions, including the separate position that requested a resume following the
claimant’s contact with HR, this Court found that there was an “absence of additional
circumstantial evidence beyond mere applications” and, therefore, concluded that
there was not substantial evidence to support finding that these remaining jobs were
open and available to afford the claimant a reasonable opportunity to apply. Id.
RCJ - 4
Here, Claimant applied online for six jobs identified by Employer but, like
the claimant in Smith, received no offers. Claimant received no interviews and
heard nothing back from any of the six jobs except for one, which asked that he
forward his resume. Employer’s vocational expert testified that she contacted the
prospective employers to confirm availability and job duties of the six positions. In
my view, this outreach by the vocational expert is not the sort of “additional
circumstantial evidence” described in Smith. To the contrary, this testimony is, at
most, substantial evidence that the six positions may have been open and available
at some point in time—not substantial evidence that they remained open and
available at the time Claimant made his applications. Given this record, I do not
agree that substantial evidence supports finding that any of the six jobs were open
and available at the time Claimant applied under the “additional circumstantial
evidence” analysis in Smith.
While the Majority finds significant that “there was no indication in the record
that Claimant was prevented from applying,” (Majority Op. at 13-14), we are bound
by Smith that the mere submission of an online application to a prospective employer
is not substantial evidence of a job being open and available at the time a claimant
applies. Id. at 404. Particularly given that Claimant’s job application was submitted
online, there are any number of reasons why an online job listing may remain posted,
even if it is not actually open and potentially available—to collect resumes for future
hiring purposes, to evaluate the job pool, to give the appearance of efforts to hire an
external candidate, to signal growth (whether to existing employees or outside
observers),1 or perhaps less cynically, because the position was swiftly filled and an
1
This is not to say that the prospective employers in this case had a pretext for posting the
six jobs at issue here, but rather, to illustrate why the mere fact that an online application was
(Footnote continued on next page…)
RCJ - 5
employer has forgotten or not had the time to take the listing down. The latter
possibility is not difficult to envision in the context of online applications, where
modern recruitment technologies afford employers broader reach across a global
talent pool and significant reduction in “time-to-hire,” and where candidates can
apply with the click of a button, interview virtually, and accept emailed offers via e-
signature in as little as a matter of days—sometimes before an employer has had a
chance to take down a listing or before another candidate may have had a chance
to apply.2
As to the sole position for which a prospective employer asked Claimant for
a resume (the Donald Miller Electric job), I am not convinced that this
communication qualifies as “additional circumstantial evidence” as contemplated in
Smith. Smith itself rejects that an employer’s request for a resume counts as
“additional circumstantial evidence” that a position is open and available at the time
a claimant applies, notwithstanding that it enumerates “follow-up communications
between a claimant and a prospective employer which prompt acts or inaction by a
claimant” as an example of such evidence. Id. at 404. As set forth above, the
claimant in Smith applied for five jobs, receiving interviews for two and submitting
a resume upon request to a third after he contacted the job and spoke to HR. Id. at
398. He did not hear back further or receive an interview or offer from the job that
successfully submitted without an immediate rejection notification should not be seen as
substantial evidence of openness and availabi