Scottsdale Ins. Co. v. California Military Dept. CA4/3
CourtCalifornia Court of Appeal
Date FiledOctober 14, 2026
DocketG065564
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
Filed 10/14/26
CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION
IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION THREE
SCOTTSDALE INSURANCE
COMPANY,
G065564
Plaintiff and Respondent,
(Super. Ct. No. 30-2024-01411000)
v.
OPINION
CALIFORNIA MILITARY
DEPARTMENT,
Defendant and Appellant.
Appeal from a judgment of the Superior Court of Orange County,
William D. Claster, Judge. Affirmed.
Rob Bonta, Attorney General, Tamar Pachter, Senior Assistant
Attorney General, Brian D. Wesley and Jarrad L. Wood, Deputy Attorneys
General, for Defendant and Appellant.
Selman Leichenger Edson Hsu Newman & Moore, Sheryl W.
Leichenger and Elisabeth M. D’Agostino for Plaintiff and Respondent.
This appeal arises from a summary judgment in favor of
Scottsdale Insurance Company (Scottsdale) declaring that two policies issued
to nonparty TL Veterans Construction, Inc. (TL Veterans) had been
rescinded. The present appeal is by the California Military Department
(CMD), who sought compensation under the policies as an additional insured.
CMD hired TL Veterans to renovate two buildings at the Joint
Forces Training Base in Los Alamitos (the Los Alamitos Base project). During
the construction, TL Veterans negligently caused a fire, resulting in a total
loss of one of the buildings. TL Veterans and CMD made claims on the
insurance policies issued by Scottsdale, but Scottsdale’s subsequent
investigation revealed that TL Veterans had made material
misrepresentations on its application for insurance. Scottsdale rescinded the
policies and filed the underlying lawsuit seeking a judicial declaration that
they had been effectively rescinded, which the trial court granted. CMD
appealed and raises essentially two arguments.
First, CMD contends Scottsdale waived its statutory right of
rescission by failing to adequately investigate a prior claim TL Veterans had
submitted. We conclude, as did the trial court, that the prior claim would not
have revealed one of Scottsdale’s primary bases for rescission, which was TL
Veterans’ misrepresentation that it was not working with asbestos. In fact,
the Los Alamitos project involved asbestos abatement. This was an
independent ground for rescission that was not waived.
Second, CMD contends that once a third party has taken an
economic position based on an insurance policy—here, CMD relying on the
policy to award the contract to TL Veterans—the insurer loses the right of
rescission. However, CMD cites no precedent for applying such a rule in the
context of a misrepresentation on an insurance application. The authorities
2
CMD relies on apply general principles of equity and are inconsistent with
Insurance Code section 6501, which permits the insurer to rescind “any time”
before a lawsuit is filed to enforce the policy. Accordingly, we affirm.
UNDISPUTED FACTS
On or about August 24, 2020, TL Veterans entered into a contract
with the California Department of General Services for ‘“replacement of roof
[sic] of the Skilled Nursing Facilities of the Department of State Hospitals in
the City of Norwalk, County of Los Angeles, California . . . .”’ (Norwalk
project). In carrying out the Norwalk project, TL Veterans entered into a
subcontract with JNH Roofing on or about December 22, 2020, which valued
the subcontract at approximately $1 million. The Department of General
Services publicly posted a notice of its award of the Norwalk project to TL
Veterans on California’s procurement website. The notice stated the amount
awarded under the contract was approximately $2.2 million.
In January 2021, TL Veterans submitted an insurance
application (2021 application) to respondent Scottsdale through its
underwriter. The 2021 application identified TL Veterans’ ‘“Exposures”’ as
follows: “a. Gross Receipts for the next 12 months? $300,000 [¶] b. What are
the Gross Receipts for the last 12 months? $300,000 [¶] c. What are your
subcontractor costs for the next 12 months? $90,000.” The 2021 application
requested that TL Veterans ‘“Describe in detail your largest project in the
last 5 years along with the receipts $$$. (DETAIL REQUIRED FOR
CARRIER APPROVAL).”’ TL Veterans responded with ‘“county office
remodeling $105,869.”’ The 2021 application did not mention the Norwalk
project or reflect the value of its contract.
1 Further statutory references will be to the Insurance Code
except as otherwise specified.
3
The 2021 application asked TL Veterans if it had ‘“been involved
or do you subcontract any work involving blasting operations, hazardous
waste, asbestos, mold, PCB’s or medical and/or industrial life?”’ TL Veterans
answered ‘“No.”’ In fact, the Norwalk project involved a skilled nursing
facility.
Based on the representations contained in the 2021 application,
Scottsdale issued primary and excess insurance policies, Policy Nos.
RBS0072806 and XLS0115910, effective January 23, 2021, through January
23, 2022, to TL Veterans as the named insured (2021-2022 policies). The
primary policy had a limit of $1 million, and the excess policy had a limit of
$4 million.
Less than a month later, on February 16, 2021, CMD posted a
notice of an award of a new contract to TL Veterans for approximately $3
million for the Los Alamitos Base project. The contract included asbestos
abatement. TL Veterans provided the CMD with a certificate of liability
insurance reflecting the insurance policies it had obtained from Scottsdale.
On or about September 8, 2021, Scottsdale received notice of a
claim pertaining to alleged water intrusion at a building involved in the
Norwalk project (the Norwalk claim). The Norwalk claim described the
incident as follows: ‘“TL Veterans Construction, Inc. hired a subcontractor,
project [sic]. Demolition of the roof of the building was completed, and the
roof was covered by plastic covers while waiting for the new roof materials to
be installed by JNH Roofing (subcontractor). When it rained early in the
morning on July 26, 2021, water seep [sic] through those plastic covers and
flowed down inside the building. Patients from 3 out of 4 units inside the
building had to evacuate and were relocated to a different building.
Restoration company was immediately hired. Their work includes removing
4
ceiling, removing water, drying wet parts of the building, etc.”’ The Norwalk
claim did not state the contract price or subcontractor costs involved in the
underlying project. Pursuant to the 2021-2022 policies’ terms, Scottsdale
denied coverage for the water intrusion claim under the policies’ open roof
and open building exclusion, among other provisions, and TL Veterans did
not challenge the denial.
On or about January 21, 2022, TL Veterans submitted an
application to Scottsdale to renew the insurance policies (2022 application).
On the 2022 application, TL Veterans once again misrepresented its gross
receipts from the previous 12 months and anticipated receipts for the
upcoming 12 months as $300,000. And it similarly misrepresented its largest
project over the previous five years as a school remodel in the amount of
$135,000. TL Veterans misrepresented that it had not been involved in
asbestos or medical work. In fact, the Los Alamitos Base project included
asbestos abatement. Based on TL Veterans’ representations, Scottsdale once
again issued primary and excess policies in the same amounts.
On May 27, 2022, TL Veterans notified Scottsdale of a fire that
occurred at the Los Alamitos Base project, seeking coverage under the
policies. The fire completely destroyed one of the buildings being renovated,
requiring a complete demolition and rebuild. A subsequent investigation
revealed that the fire was caused by construction crews leaving a powered
light fixture on top of flammable roofing materials that eventually ignited
due to the heat from the light fixture. TL Veterans accepted responsibility for
causing the fire.
After conducting an investigation and discovering TL Veterans’
misrepresentations, on November 7, 2022, Scottsdale sent TL Veterans a
letter through counsel demanding that TL Veterans agree to rescind the
5
insurance policies. Scottsdale cited as bases for the rescission that TL
Veterans had omitted information in its 2022 application concerning the size
of the contracts and the fact that the Los Alamitos project involved asbestos
removal. Scottsdale’s letter included a draft complaint that it threatened to
file if TL Veterans did not agree to the rescission. After some back and forth,
Scottsdale and TL Veterans agreed to rescind the insurance policies on
January 19, 2023.
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
On July 2, 2024, Scottsdale filed the underlying complaint
seeking declaratory relief confirming its rescission of the insurance policies.
CMD filed a cross-complaint asserting causes of action for promissory
estoppel and declaratory relief against Scottsdale. CMD filed a separate
lawsuit against TL Veterans and obtained a default judgment in the amount
of $9,787,124.
The parties agreed to a case management order in which the case
would be tried in two phases. The first phase included Scottsdale’s causes of
action and CMD’s declaratory relief claim. The second phase included any
remaining claims by CMD.2
Scottsdale and CMD filed competing motions for summary
judgment/adjudication as to phase one issues. The trial court granted
Scottsdale’s motion, declaring the insurance policies rescinded and deemed
void ab initio. Afterward, CMD voluntarily dismissed its remaining claims
without prejudice, leaving no claims to be resolved. The court thus entered
judgment in favor of Scottsdale. CMD timely appealed.
2 There was, at that time, a pending motion to amend CMD’s
cross-complaint to add additional causes of action.
6
DISCUSSION
CMD does not dispute that TL Veterans, the insured, made
material misrepresentations in its 2022 application. In particular, TL
Veterans grossly misrepresented the size of the projects it was taking on, and
it misrepresented the fact that it was performing asbestos abatement. CMD
recognizes this would ordinarily give the insurer a right to rescind the
contract. However, it argues the right to rescind was lost for two reasons.
First, Scottsdale waived the right by failing to adequately investigate the
Norwalk claim, which would have revealed TL Veterans’ misrepresentations.
Second, Scottsdale was prevented from rescinding the contract due to CMD’s
economic reliance on the policies. We address each argument in turn under a
de novo standard of review. (Hamburg v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. (2004) 116
Cal.App.4th 497, 502 [“Summary judgments are reviewed de novo”].)
I.
SCOTTSDALE DID NOT WAIVE THE RIGHT TO RESCIND
A. Legal Principles
An insurer is entitled to material information bearing on the
insured’s risk. Section 332 provides, “Each party to a contract of insurance
shall communicate to the other, in good faith, all facts within his knowledge
which are or which he believes to be material to the contract and as to which
he makes no warranty, and which the other has not the means of
ascertaining.” Section 330 states, “Neglect to communicate that which a party
knows, and ought to communicate, is concealment.” “[A]n insurer does not
have the duty to investigate the insured’s statements made in an insurance
application and to verify the accuracy of the representations. [Citation.]
Rather, it is the insured’s duty to divulge fully all he or she knows.”
(American Way Cellular, Inc. v. Travelers Property Casualty Co. of America
7
(2013) 216 Cal.App.4th 1040, 1051 (American Way); Mitchell v. United
National Ins. Co. (2005) 127 Cal.App.4th 457, 477 (Mitchell) [“an insurer has
the right to rely on the insured’s answers to questions in the insurance
application without verifying their accuracy”].) The obligation to accurately
communicate material information is fundamental to an insurer’s ability to
exercise judgment concerning whether to take on the risk of the insured. (Old
Line Life Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1991) 229 Cal.App.3d 1600, 1604 (Old
Line) [“‘[An insurance company] has the unquestioned right to select those
whom it will insure and to rely upon him who would be insured for such
information as it desires as a basis for its determination to the end that a
wise discrimination may be exercised in selecting its risks’”].)
The failure to provide material information, either through
concealment or misrepresentation, entitles the other party to rescind the
contract. Section 331 provides, “Concealment, whether intentional or
unintentional, entitles the injured party to rescind insurance.” Similarly,
section 359 provides, “If a representation is false in a material point, whether
affirmative or promissory, the injured party is entitled to rescind the contract
from the time the representation becomes false.” “Whenever a right to rescind
a contract of insurance is given to the insurer by any provision of this part
such right may be exercised at any time previous to the commencement of an
action on the contract. The rescission shall apply to all insureds under the
contract, including additional insureds, unless the contract provides
otherwise.” (§ 650.) An “action on the contract” means “an action brought at
law to enforce the insurance policy.” (Resure, Inc. v. Superior Court (1996) 42
Cal.App.4th 156, 167 (Resure).) When a policy is rescinded under these
provisions, it is deemed void ab initio—as if it never existed. (LA Sound USA,
Inc. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. (2007) 156 Cal.App.4th 1259, 1267.)
8
However, the right to obtain material information may be
waived. “The right to information of material facts may be waived, either (a)
by the terms of insurance or (b) by neglect to make inquiries as to such facts,
where they are distinctly implied in other facts of which information is
communicated.” (§ 336.) The critical term in that statute is “distinctly
implied,” which one court has described as “obvious leads.” (Old Line, supra,
229 Cal.App.3d at p. 1606.)
An example of waiver is found in DiPasqua v. California etc. Life
Ins. Co. (1951) 106 Cal.App.2d 281 (DiPasqua). There, the insured answered,
in an application for life insurance, that he had not consulted a physician in
the prior 5 years, nor had he been a patient in a hospital. (Id. at pp. 283–
284.) Neither fact was true. However, another answer in the insured’s
application referred to a diagnosis of vertigo made by a doctor within the last
year, and an independent investigative report by the insurer disclosed that
the insured had recently been confined to a hospital. (Ibid.) Under these
circumstances, the court upheld the enforceability of the insurance policy.
B. CMD’s Waiver Argument
CMD contends Scottsdale waived the right to rescind when it
failed to conduct an investigation upon receiving TL Veterans’ Norwalk
claim. The Norwalk claim communicated to Scottsdale that TL Veterans was
performing a roof removal on a four-unit skilled nursing facility that housed
patients. The Norwalk claim made no reference to the size of the contract.
Nevertheless, according to CMD, this should have tipped Scottsdale off that
TL Veterans had lied about the size of its projects and lied about not being
involved in projects involving “medical . . . life.”
We grant that this information clearly tipped Scottsdale off that
TL Veterans was working on a medical building. Whether it “distinctly
9
implied” TL Veterans was working on much larger projects than the $135,000
school remodel it previously disclosed is arguable. However, the trial court
found that even assuming Scottsdale should have known TL Veterans was
working on larger projects, nothing in the Norwalk claim revealed TL
Veterans was working on a project involving asbestos removal, and that
misrepresentation was an independent basis for rescinding the policy. We
agree with this analysis.
By the time TL Veterans submitted its 2022 application, it had
been working on the Los Alamitos Base project for almost a year. That project
involved asbestos abatement. Yet TL Veterans claimed on its 2022
application that it was not working with asbestos. There is no dispute this
was a material misrepresentation.
CMD’s position is that once Scottsdale was on notice of any
misrepresentation in the 2022 application, its failure to investigate waived
all misrepresentations in the 2022 application. To support its position, CMD
relies on Rutherford v. Prudential Ins. Co. (1965) 234 Cal.App.2d 719
(Rutherford).
Rutherford involved a life insurance policy. The decedent died
from a heart attack, and when the spouse made a claim on the policy, the
insurer rescinded it. (Rutherford, supra, 234 Cal.App.2d at pp. 721–722.) The
insurer discovered that the decedent’s application contained multiple serious
falsehoods, some of which were contradictions within the application itself,
and others were contradicted by information the insurer had in its file.
Moreover, the application form, which was filled out by a doctor hired by the
insurer, was incomplete. (Id. at pp. 734–735.)
The Rutherford court began its discussion of waiver by stating,
“There seems to be some confusion in the authorities in California as to
10
whether, where the insurer has information from which it knows or should
know that any of the insured’s representations are untrue, the insurer is
under any duty to investigate to determine whether any other
misrepresentations have been made.” (Id. at p. 733.) It then discussed two
cases in support of its interpretation that an insurer is obligated to
investigate representations not known to be false, Turner v. Redwood Mutual
Life Assn. of Fresno (1936) 13 Cal.App.2d 573, 578 and DiPasqua, supra, 106
Cal.App.2d 281 at p. 284. The Rutherford court then discussed three cases
that contradict that proposition, including S. F Lathing Co. v. Penn M. L. Ins.
Co. (1956) 144 Cal.App.2d 181, 187 (S. F.), which plainly stated, “‘Appellant
asserts that [insurer] knowing that one of the assured’s answers was
incorrect and having discovered one error was bound to investigate the truth
of all other statements. It may be conceded that if the insurer had actual
notice of the material misrepresentation it could not rescind on the ground of
that misrepresentation. [Citation.] But the insurer with knowledge that one
of the applicant’s answers is erroneous may, if it chooses, waive that fact and
is not thereby estopped from raising other misrepresentations.’” (Id. at p.
734.) The Rutherford court concluded that the application in that case was so
riddled with inaccuracies that the insurer was bound to investigate all of the
facts stated within, even those not suspected to be false. (Rutherford, supra,
234 Cal.App.2d at p. 735.)
Rutherford stands for the proposition that an insurance
application riddled with known falsehoods puts the insurer on notice that
even facts not known to be false must be investigated. That rule has no
application here. There were no obvious falsehoods in TL Veterans’
application, and the Norwalk claim put one, or at most two factual
representations in question.
11
Instead, the general rule is that an insurer may waive its right to
the accurate disclosure of particular material facts without waiving its right
to the accurate disclosure of other material facts. (S.F., supra, 144 Cal.App.2d
at p. 187; see also Mitchell, supra, 127 Cal.App.4th at p. 477 [“Even if the
failure to investigate this issue caused [the insurer] to waive the right to
rescind its policy based on [the insured’s] misrepresentation concerning” one
fact, “it had ample grounds for rescinding the policy based on other
misrepresentations in [the insured’s] application”]; Frederick v. Federal Life
Ins. Co. (1936) 13 Cal.App.2d 585, 588 [“The fact that [the insurer] might
have overlooked or considered as inconsequential an incorrect or incomplete
answer contained in the application does not prevent [the insurer’s] defense
against [other] fraudulent statements, the falsity of which was discovered
after the issuance of the policy”]; 6 Couch on Insurance (3d ed. 1997) § 85:3
[“A waiver has no greater effect than was intended by the insurer or was
manifested by its conduct. Accordingly, an insurer having knowledge that one
of the applicant’s answers is erroneous may, if it chooses, waive its rights as
to that statement yet still raise the defense that other statements of the
insured were false”].) This follows from the rule that “an insurer has the right
to rely on the insured’s answers to questions in the insurance application
without verifying their accuracy.” (Mitchell, at p. 477; see also American Way,
supra, 216 Cal.App.4th at p. 1051.)
This general rule also derives from the statutory language of
section 336, which governs waivers. That section implies a waiver where the
insurer neglects to investigate “such facts.” That language indicates the
waiver is limited to the particular facts neglected.
Finally, the general rule comports with the commonsense notion
that some facts are more important than others, and an insurer should be
12
free to conduct an efficient business that prioritizes investigating more
important facts but saves money by accepting the risk of loss associated with
less consequential facts. As applied to this case, Scottsdale was free to waive
the right to rescind based on TL Veterans’ work on a medical building if it
deemed the investigation not worth the effort, yet not waive rescission in the
more consequential scenario where TL Veterans was involved with asbestos
abatement. Those scenarios present starkly different risk profiles, and
Scottsdale was entitled to treat them independently.
Because TL Veterans misrepresented the material fact that it
was working with asbestos, Scottsdale had the right to rescind the policy on
that basis. Nothing in the Norwalk claim distinctly implied that TL Veterans
was conducting asbestos abatement, and thus Scottsdale did not waive its
right of recission on that basis.
C. Third-Party Prejudice
Next, CMD contends Scottsdale’s right to rescind was lost once
CMD acted in reliance on the policy by awarding the Los Alamitos Base
project to TL Veterans. In support of its contention, CMD relies on a principle
announced in Meyers v. Merillion (1897) 118 Cal. 352, 356 (Meyers): “Where
the rights of others have intervened, and the circumstances have so far
changed that rescission may not be decreed without injury to those parties
and their rights, rescission will be denied and the complaining party left to
his action at law for damages for the fraud.” Meyers involved a dispute
between two business partners. One bought out the other. Later, the seller
tried to rescind the sales agreement on the ground that the buyer
fraudulently induced the agreement by persuading him to part with his
interest for less than what it was worth. Our high court held rescission could
not be had because the buyer had subsequently brought on new partners, and
13
rescission of the sales agreement would interfere with the rights of the new
partners. (Id. at p. 356.) This was especially the case because the plaintiff
plainly had an adequate remedy at law: the difference between the sales price
and the actual market value. (Id. at p. 357.)
Although Meyers had nothing to do with insurance, the doctrine
has been applied in two insurance-related cases, though none involving
rescission based on a misrepresentation of a material fact in an application
for insurance.
Angle v. United States Fid. & Guar. Co. (1962) 201 Cal.App.2d
758 involved a dispute between two different insurers. The two insurers had
provided a fire insurance policy, though the second one did so without
knowledge of the first. (Id. at pp. 759-760.) After a fire destroyed the insured
property, the second insurer discovered the other insurance policy and issued
a new policy, backdated to before the fire, which provided less coverage
(though still enough, between the two policies, to fully cover the insured). (Id.
at p. 760.) “The crucial issue involved in this case is whether there can be a
rescission of an insurance policy after the event giving rise to the liability
occurred, when the effect of such rescission would be to increase the pro rata
liability of another insurance company.” (Id. at p. 761.) Relying on the
doctrine announced in Meyers, the answer was a resounding no. (Id. at p.
763.)
Gill v. Rich (2005) 128 Cal.App.4th 1254 involved a dispute
between physician members of an interindemnity arrangement (through
which hundreds of physicians pooled resources into a trust as an alternative
to medical malpractice insurance) and the receiver eventually appointed to
operate the trust. The physicians claimed they had been fraudulently induced
to remain in the group through material misrepresentations of the solvency
14
of the trust and sought rescission of their membership agreement on that
ground. (Id. at p. 1269.) However, the court denied rescission on the ground
that third parties would be harmed—other members of the interindemnity
agreement who relied on the physicians’ contributions, and patients with
malpractice claims who relied on the fund for reimbursement. (Id. at pp.
1267–1268.) Because this was not a case where an insured made a
misrepresentation to an insurer, the Gill court did not discuss the Insurance
Code provisions dealing with rescission at all, instead relying on general
contract and equity principles to deny rescission.
The fundamental problem with applying the Meyers doctrine in
this case is that the rescission here was not a creature of equity or general
contract principles, but instead a statutory right. Applying the Meyers
doctrine here would be inconsistent with the applicable statutory language.
Section 650 states, “Whenever a right to rescind a contract of insurance is
given to the insurer by any provision of this part such right may be exercised
at any time previous to the commencement of an action on the contract. The
rescission shall apply to all insureds under the contract, including additional
insureds, unless the contract provides otherwise.” (Italics added.) The
rescission here was a right given “by any provision of this part” (i.e., §§ 331,
359).3 Accordingly, it was exercisable “at any time” prior to an “action on the
contract,” which has been construed as “an action brought at law to enforce
the insurance policy.” (Resure, supra, 42 Cal.App.4th at p. 167.) There is no
dispute the rescission here occurred before any action on the contract. As to
third parties, not only is there no limitation based on third-party economic
interests, but the statute expressly contemplates that certain third parties
3 Insurance Code, Division 1, Part 1, includes sections 100
through 679.75.
15
will lose their rights: “The rescission shall apply to . . . additional insureds . . .
.” (§ 650.) An additional insured is, essentially, what CMD is claiming to be.
As our high court explained in Philadelphia Indemnity Ins. Co. v. Montes-
Harris (2006) 40 Cal.4th 151, 157, “When an insurer opts to rescind a liability
policy on this basis, and does so in conformity with all of the requirements
imposed by law (e.g., Ins. Code, § 650), the insurer generally may avoid
liability on the policy to the insured or to any third party injured by the
insured.” (Italics added.) The Meyers rule, therefore, does not apply where an
insurer rescinds a policy based on a material misrepresentation or
concealment by the insured. Accordingly, Scottsdale did not lose its right to
rescind when CMD relied on the policies it issued.
Cases like this—where a loss must be allocated between two
innocent parties—are challenging. Neither party to this appeal did anything
wrong under the law. And both parties, though not required to, could have
done more. Scottsdale could have investigated further, and CMD, being so
reliant on the 2021-2022 policy, could have sent Scottsdale a description of
the Los Alamitos Base project to ensure it was on notice of what the insured
party was performing.
In this case, the rule set by the California Legislature immunizes
the insurer by permitting it to rely on the insured’s representations in the
contract, even to the detriment of innocent third parties. (§ 650.) Whether
that rule should be changed in the context of large construction contracts
involves a difficult balancing of policies. On the one hand are the policies
favoring making victims whole and ensuring insurance policies can be relied
on. On the other hand, any additional burden of investigation placed on
insurers would make the business of insurance more costly and, ultimately,
16
less accessible to the public. Given these competing policy considerations and
the ongoing difficulties our state has been facing in other segments of the
insurance industry, it is particularly appropriate for the California
Legislature to strike that balance, not the Judiciary.
DISPOSITION
The judgment is affirmed. Scottsdale shall recover its costs
incurred on appeal.
DELANEY, J.
WE CONCUR:
MOORE, ACTING P. J.
SCHWARM, J.*
*Judge of the Orange County Superior Court, assigned by the Chief Justice
pursuant to article VI, section 6 of the California Constitution.
17