I.L. v. Middlesex County Board of Social Services
CourtNew Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Date FiledOctober 27, 2026
DocketA-0766-25
StatusUnpublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION
This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court." Although it is posted on the
internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited . R. 1:36-3.
SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
DOCKET NO. A-0766-25
I.L.,1
Petitioner-Appellant,
v.
MIDDLESEX COUNTY BOARD
OF SOCIAL SERVICES,
Respondent-Respondent.
____________________________
Submitted October 13, 2026 – Decided October 27, 2026
Before Judges Sabatino and Berdote Byrne.
On appeal from the New Jersey Department of Human
Services, Division of Medical Assistance and Health
Services.
Simon P. Wercberger LLC, attorneys for appellant
(Eliyahu Zaghi, on the briefs).
1
We use appellant's initials to protect the confidentiality of Medicaid applicant
information concerning medical services, financial circumstances, and
eligibility. See Rule 1:38-3(a).
Apruzzese McDermott Mastro & Murphy, attorneys for
respondent Middlesex County Board of Social Services
(Kyle J. Trent, of counsel and on the brief).
Jennifer Davenport, Attorney General, attorney for
respondent New Jersey Department of Human Services,
Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services
(Sookie Bae-Park, Assistant Attorney General, of
counsel; Francis X. Baker, Deputy Attorney General,
on the brief).
PER CURIAM
This appeal from a final agency decision arises from the Middlesex
County Board of Social Services ("MCBSS")'s denial of petitioner I.L.'s
December 1, 2023 application for Medicaid benefits. Once again, we are asked
in the present appeal to determine whether a county welfare agency ("CWA")
met its statutory obligation to assist an applicant. Once again, we conclude a
CWA failed to meet the minimum requirements of its statutory obligation. As
a result, we vacate the final agency decision and award decedent's estate
retroactive Medicaid coverage, commencing as of October 1, 2023.
I.L., a now-deceased elderly, nursing-home resident, submitted the
application through her designated authorized representative ("DAR") on
December 1, 2023. The application was received by MCBSS on December 5,
2023. MCBSS issued its first and only Request for Information ("RFI") on
March 8, 2024, ninety-four days after the application was received.
A-0766-25
2
The DAR thereafter submitted various items of documentation in several
batches from May 2024 to June 2024. In addition, between May 2024 and
September 2024, the DAR sent at least nine successive emails seeking an update
or asking MCBSS to identify any remaining deficiency. MCBSS did not
respond to any of those inquiries before denying the application on September
10, 2024.
I.L. argues that the final agency decision should be reversed, claiming
MCBSS failed to comply with state and federal regulations requiring the CWA
assist her. We agree. MCBSS's statutory affirmative duty to assist was not
satisfied merely by issuing a broad RFI and later denying the application. Once
MCBSS received appellant's submissions, identified a specific remaining
deficiency, and received repeated inquiries from the DAR asking whether
anything else was needed to review the application, MCBSS was required to
identify that deficiency and afford petitioner a reasonable opportunity to cure it
before denying the application.
We have consistently held an appellate court's scope of review of a final
administrative agency decision is limited. See Parsells v. Bd. of Educ. of
Somerville, 254 N.J. 152, 162 (2023); In re Carter, 191 N.J. 474, 482 (2007).
An agency decision is entitled to a presumption of reasonableness, and we
A-0766-25
3
generally will not disturb it unless there is a clear showing that the agency: "(1)
did not follow the law; (2) the decision was arbitrary, capricious, or
unreasonable; or (3) the decision was not supported by substantial evidence." In
re Virtua-West Jersey Hosp. Voorhees for a Certificate of Need, 194 N.J. 413,
422 (2008). That standard of review remains constant despite the United States
Supreme Court's recent decision in Loper Bright Enters. v. Raimondo, 603 U.S.
369 (2024). See Board of Education of Sparta v. M.N. ex rel. A.D., 258 N.J.
333, 342 n.4 (2024) ("Loper Bright is not binding on this Court.")2 The burden
of demonstrating the agency acted arbitrarily, capriciously, or unreasonably
rests with the party challenging the decision. In re Arenas, 385 N.J. Super. 440,
443-44 (App. Div. 2006).
In reviewing an agency decision, we consider:
(1) whether the agency's action violates express or implied
legislative policies, that is, did the agency follow the law; (2)
whether the record contains substantial evidence to support the
findings on which the agency based its action; and (3) whether in
applying the legislative policies to the facts, the agency clearly erred
2
See also, In re State, 484 N.J. Super. 442, 453 n.6 (App. Div. 2026) (noting
the Court otherwise "has not yet decided whether our deference to agency
decisions should track Loper [Bright]"); In re P.T. Jibsail Fam. Ltd. P'ship, 263
N.J. 208, 217 (2026) (stating "[w]e do not attempt to . . . grapple with the
reasoning of Loper Bright, because our decision in this case would be the same
regardless of whether we deferred to the [Commissioner's] interpretation . . . or
review the [regulatory language] de novo.").
A-0766-25
4
in reaching a conclusion that could not reasonably have been made
on a showing of the relevant factors.
In re Protest Filed by El Sol Contracting & Const. Corp., 260 N.J. 362, 373-74
(2025) (quoting In re Quest Acad. Charter Sch., 216 N.J. 370, 385 (2013)).
A reviewing court may not substitute its own judgment for that of the
agency merely because it might have reached a different result on the same
record. Campbell v. N.J. Racing Commission, 169 N.J. 579, 587 (2001).
However, there are limits to this deference. We review legal conclusions,
including those reached by administrative agencies, de novo. El Sol, 260 N.J.
at 373. We are not bound by an agency's interpretation of a statute, regulation,
or purely legal question. Allstars Auto Grp., Inc. v. N.J. Motor Vehicle Comm'n,
234 N.J. 150, 158 (2018). Nor is an agency's interpretation of its own regulation
entitled to deference when it is plainly unreasonable or inconsistent with the
regulation's language. U.S. Bank, N.A. v. Hough, 210 N.J. 187, 200 (2012). As
a result, we review de novo here the obligations imposed by N.J.A.C. 10:71-
2.2(c) upon MCBSS during the processing of petitioner's application.
We begin our analysis by reviewing the statutory and legal principles
applicable to petitioner's claim. Medicaid is a federally created, state-
implemented program designed for individuals who cannot otherwise afford
necessary medical care. 42 U.S.C. § 1396-1. Although not required to
A-0766-25
5
participate in Medicaid, once a state elects to do so, it must comply with federal
law. A.B. v. Div. of Med. Assistance & Health Servs., 407 N.J. Super. 330, 342
(App. Div. 2009). New Jersey participates in Medicaid through the New Jersey
Medical Assistance and Health Services Act, N.J.S.A. 30:4D-2. The Division
of Medical Assistance and Health Services ("DMAHS") is required to take all
steps necessary for the proper administration of the program. N.J.S.A. 30:4D -7.
County welfare agencies, referred to in the governing regulations as
"CWAs" including, for purposes of the present appeal, MCBSS, are charged
with evaluating Medicaid eligibility at the local level. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(a).
The regulations divide responsibility for the application process between the
CWA and the applicant. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c); N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(e).
The CWA "exercises direct responsibility in the application process to"
inform applicants of the eligibility requirements and their right to a fair hearing.
N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c)(1). The CWA must also assist applicants "in exploring
their eligibility for assistance." N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c)(3). The CWA must
"make known to the applicants the appropriate resources and services both
within the agency and the community, and, if necessary, assist in their use."
N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c)(4). The applicant must complete required forms, with the
CWA's assistance if needed, "assist the C[W]A in securing evidence that
A-0766-25
6
corroborates his or her statements," and promptly report any change affecting
their circumstances. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(e)(1)-(3). The regulations describe the
resulting process as one of review "for completeness, consistency, and
reasonableness." N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.9.
The CWA must process an application within a defined period, and it must
notify the applicant of its decision in a timely manner. See N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.3.
Furthermore, if an application is denied, the CWA must include the reasons for
the denial and the right to request a fair hearing. 42 C.F.R. § 435.911; N.J.A.C.
10:71-2.3; N.J.A.C. 10:71-8.3. Where an applicant fails to provide requested
documentation in a timely manner, the CWA may deny the application. 42
C.F.R. § 435.952; N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(e), -2.9, -3.1(b). The regulations
nonetheless recognize there will be instances in which the ordinary processing
period cannot be met, including where "[c]ircumstances wholly outside the
control of both the applicant and the [CWA]" have delayed the applicant's ability
to produce required information. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.3(c). In such cases, the
CWA may extend the application's deadline instead of denying it.
Federal and state regulations impose a forty-five-day processing period
for typical Medicaid eligibility applications. 42 C.F.R. § 435.912(c)(3);
N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.3. When the ordinary period cannot be met, the CWA has two
A-0766-25
7
responsibilities. First, the CWA "shall be prepared to demonstrate that the delay
resulted from one of the following:"
(1) Circumstances wholly within the applicant's
control;
(2) A determination to afford the applicant, whose
proof of eligibility has been inconclusive, a further
opportunity to develop additional evidence of
eligibility before final action on his or her application;
(3) An administrative or other emergency that could not
reasonably have been avoided; or
(4) Circumstances wholly outside the control of both
the applicant and [CWA].
[N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.3(c).]
Second, the CWA must provide "written notification . . . to the applicant on or
before the expiration of such period, setting forth the specific reasons for delay. "
N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.3(d).
Federal law places specific limits on when an agency may require
additional information and when it may deny an application on that basis.
Critically, "the agency may not deny or terminate eligibility… unless the agency
has sought additional information from the individual in accordance with
paragraph (c) of this section, and provided proper notice and hearing rights to
the individual." 42 C.F.R. § 435.952(d). In addition, "[t]he agency may only
require an applicant to provide the information necessary to make an eligibility
A-0766-25
8
determination or for a purpose directly connected to the administration of the
State plan." 42 C.F.R. § 435.907(e)(1).
As previously noted in our introduction, on December 1, 2023, I.L.
submitted an application for Medicaid benefits through her DAR. She also
sought retroactive coverage of Medicaid benefits from October 1, 2023, as
requesting retroactive coverage is permissible for "the three-month period prior
to the month of application." N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.16. The application was
received on December 5, 2023. MCBSS issued its first and only RFI on March
8, 2024, ninety-four days after the application was received.
The RFI directed I.L. and her DAR to "answer all questions below and
return by March 22, 2024" advising that "the application cannot be processed
until all the information requested is received." The RFI requested bank
statements for three Bank of America accounts dating back to January 2019, and
a copy of a $4,197.57 John Hancock Life Insurance check with an explanation
of how the funds were spent. In addition, the RFI stated that "all deposits,
withdrawals, and transfer transactions from these accounts will need to be
explained and verified." As to cash deposits, the RFI required "[d]eposit slips
for cash deposits along with a written explanation detailing source of funds. "
A-0766-25
9
The DAR submitted documentation in batches, including bank statements
and the John Hancock insurance materials. Between May 8, 2024, to September
2, 2024, the DAR emailed MCBSS nine times regarding the application:
• On May 8, 2024, after sending the first batch of documentation, the
DAR wrote, "please let me know if there is anything you are still
waiting on at this time in order to approve the case."
• The DAR followed up on May 27, 2024, and after sending the
second batch of documentation, the DAR wrote, "[c]an you please
have this processed and the case approved?"
• On May 31, 2024, after sending the third batch of documentation,
the DAR wrote, "[c]an you please update us on the approval of this
case?"
• On June 3, 2024, the DAR sent the fourth and last batch of
documentation in two separate emails. In the first email, the DAR
wrote, "if anything is still needed to approve this case, please let me
know what that would be so we can work on getting it to you!" In
the second email, the DAR attached some bank statements that were
too large to fit in the first email and wrote "[p]lease confirm receipt
of all requested documents."
A-0766-25
10
• Even after sending the documentation, the DAR continued to email
MCBSS. On June 19, 2024, the DAR wrote, "I believe all requested
documents were submitted for this client. What is the update on the
approval?"
• On July 15, 2024, the DAR wrote, "[c]an I please receive an update
on this application? When can we expect the approval to be
processed? As it's been months."
• On August 15, 2024, the DAR wrote, "Is there any update on this
client's Medicaid application? [I]s anything still needed for an
approval to be processed?"
• On September 2, 2024, the last email sent before the denial was
issued, the DAR wrote:
The requested documents for this client were
submitted in the beginning of June. Were they
reviewed? Is anything else needed for an
approval to be processed? The client is in need
of Medicaid as of October of last year, it's almost
been a full year. When can we expect this case
to be processed?
On September 10, 2024, MCBSS denied the application. The denial letter
stated only generally that I.L. had "failed to provide requested information
required to determine eligibility in a timely manner," citing 42 C.F.R. § 435.952.
A-0766-25
11
It is undisputed MCBSS did not respond to any of the DAR's emails before
issuing the blanket denial.
After the denial, MCBSS informed the DAR that the missing information
concerned supporting documentation for two cash deposit slips. The DAR
supplied that information in a subsequent Medicaid application.
After the denial, the DAR requested a fair hearing. MCBSS's witness
testified the denial was based on an alleged failure to provide verification of two
cash deposits totaling $410.00 in 2019 ($150.00 deposited January 11, 2019, and
$260.00 deposited May 7, 2019). Although the explanations were missing, the
bank statements reflecting those deposits had been provided to the CWA before
the denial date. On cross-examination, MCBSS's witness conceded the RFI
"never, explicitly, asked for information on these two deposits." When asked
about the necessity of the verification of the $410.00 for the Medicaid eligibility
determination, the witness stated: "I did not process this case nor review it, so
I don't know why these were requested." He also could not confirm or deny
whether the deposits represented an essential income source.
The agency's witness also acknowledged on cross examination that the
CWA "never responded to the multiple request[s] for anything that was needed"
despite agreeing it has a duty to assist applicants. When further asked whether
A-0766-25
12
ignoring the DAR's emails for approximately six months constituted assistance,
he answered, "[n]o." He confirmed MCBSS's position is that it will step in to
help only if the DAR advised it "specifically what help [it] would need," for
example, that it could not obtain verification of particular deposits.
As we noted above, N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c) imposes direct and affirmative
responsibilities upon a CWA. Those responsibilities include informing
applicants of eligibility requirements, assisting applicants in exploring
eligibility, identifying appropriate resources and services, and, where necessary,
assisting in their use. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c)(1), (3)-(4). Those obligations were
not met here.
As an aside, we observe that if a DAR, who is specially trained in
Medicaid eligibility applications, cannot complete an application successfully,
there is little hope for an elderly or infirm applicant to navigate this process,
particularly when the CWA has decreed the only method of communication will
be by email, which will often go unanswered. A confused applicant has no
ability to speak with the CWA to get his or her questions answered.
The record abundantly demonstrates MCBSS's lack of compliance with its
minimum statutory obligations. The CWA's duty to assist is clearly set forth as
a continuing obligation rather than a single act discharged by issuing an RFI and
A-0766-25
13
another act in denying the application. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c) describes the
CWA's functions in ongoing, present-tense terms, stating it "exercises direct
responsibility in the application process," and "inform[s]" applicants, and
"assist[s]" them. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c)(1), (3)-(4). Our plain language reading
of this regulation imposes a responsibility upon CWAs to help applicants
throughout the entire Medicaid eligibility determination process, not limited to
a one-time request at the outset. See U.S. Bank, 210 N.J. at 199 (explaining
courts "must construe the regulation as written" because "the drafter's intent is
found in the actual language of the enactment.").
The federal verification framework reinforces our interpretation. 42
C.F.R. § 435.952 structures the agency's duty to "seek additional information
from the individual" around the moment at which submitted information "is not
reasonably compatible," that is, after the agency has reviewed what the applicant
provided. 42 C.F.R. § 435.952(c)(2). That structure imposes an ongoing duty
to assist and make the applicant aware the agency has identified a specific
deficiency in the applicant's submission. Once MCBSS reviewed the DAR's
materials and identified the two cash deposits as a disqualifying deficiency, its
duty to assist the applicant required it to bring that deficiency to the DAR's
A-0766-25
14
attention, particularly given the numerous requests from the DAR to provide
information regarding any deficiency.
42 C.F.R. § 435.952(d) provides the agency "may not deny or terminate
eligibility" unless it "has sought additional information from the individual in
accordance with paragraph (c)" and provided proper notice and hearing rights.
Read in light of the cooperative structure of N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2, the regulation's
requirement to seek additional information is evident. A blanket RFI issued at
the outset does not discharge the duty to seek additional information where the
agency has subsequently isolated a deficiency that the applicant does not know
exists.
MCBSS never issued a supplemental or clarifying request identifying the
two deposits totaling $410.00. MCBSS never responded to the DAR's nine
follow-up emails, several of which expressly requested information as to
whether anything was outstanding. In fact, the first time the DAR learned that
supporting documentation for the two deposit slips was missing and that was the
basis for the denial was only after the denial had already been issued.
It is undisputed only MCBSS knew which items it had determined were
missing. It is also undisputed the DAR's repeated inquiries placed MCBSS on
actual notice the applicant believed her submission was complete and was
A-0766-25
15
seeking direction. Finally, it is undisputed the deficiency was readily curable.
Therefore, it is indisputable MCBSS fell far short of its statutory obligation to
"inform" and "assist" the applicant. N.J.A.C. 10:71-2.2(c)(1), (3). Accordingly,
the final agency decision is arbitrary, capricious, and unreasonable as applied to
the uncontroverted facts of this record. Although we appreciate the Medicare
program is a high-volume program to administer, with many technical eligibility
requirements, the chronology of this case exemplifies a failure to adhere to basic
norms of fairness and transparency. Government must "turn square corners,"
despite the administrative burdens and resource limitations that may be
involved. See Twp. of Jackson v. Getzel Bee, LLC, 264 N.J. 531, 550 (2026)
("When the government interacts with the public, it 'must turn square corners.'"
(quoting F.M.C. Stores Co. v. Borough of Morris Plains, 100 N.J. 418, 426-27
(1985))).
The final agency decision of September 22, 2025 is vacated and this matter
is remanded to DMAHS for further proceedings and retroactive coverage
consistent with this opinion. We do not retain jurisdiction.
A-0766-25
16