Proceviat v. Collins
CourtCourt of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
Date FiledNovember 4, 2026
Docket26-1373
StatusUnpublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 1 Filed: 11/04/2026
NOTE: This disposition is nonprecedential.
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit
______________________
RICHARD A. PROCEVIAT,
Claimant-Appellant
v.
DOUGLAS A. COLLINS, SECRETARY OF
VETERANS AFFAIRS,
Respondent-Appellee
______________________
2026-1373
______________________
Appeal from the United States Court of Appeals for
Veterans Claims in No. 25-717, Chief Judge Michael P. Al-
len.
______________________
Decided: November 4, 2026
______________________
RICHARD A. PROCEVIAT, Elma, Manitoba, Canada, pro
se.
RETA EMMA BEZAK, Commercial Litigation Branch,
Civil Division, United States Department of Justice, Wash-
ington, DC, for respondent-appellee. Also represented by
WILLIAM JAMES GRIMALDI, PATRICIA M. MCCARTHY, BRETT
SHUMATE; DAVID HARMANTAS, Y. KEN LEE, Office of Gen-
eral Counsel, United States Department of Veterans Af-
fairs, Washington, DC.
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 2 Filed: 11/04/2026
2 PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS
______________________
Before TARANTO, LINN, and CUNNINGHAM, Circuit
Judges.
PER CURIAM.
Richard Arnold Proceviat, who served honorably in the
U.S. Army between 1970 and 1972, sought benefits from
the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) based on
rheumatoid arthritis in 1987, and VA’s relevant regional
office (RO) awarded him a non-service-connected pension
effective August 1989. In 1996, Mr. Proceviat submitted
new evidence that he needed regular aid and attendance
(A&A), and VA awarded him the higher amount of a special
monthly pension (SMP) with A&A effective June 1996.
Since then, Mr. Proceviat has been unsuccessfully seeking
an earlier effective date (back to 1987 or 1989) of the SMP-
with-A&A benefit. The present appeal arises from a
rejection of his contention by VA’s Board of Veterans’
Appeals (Board) in 2024, a rejection that, the following
year, the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans
Claims (Veterans Court) affirmed in light of previous
adjudications. Proceviat v. Collins, No. 25-717, 2025 WL
3443439 (Vet. App. Dec. 1, 2025) (Decision).
Mr. Proceviat’s challenge centers on two arguments—
that the Board did not sympathetically read medical
records from July 1987 and July 1989 that, so read, support
an earlier effective date for the SMP-with-A&A benefit;
and that the RO failed to notify him of the denial of SMP
claims in November 1987 and March 1989, violating his
due-process rights. Proceviat Informal Br. at 4–5, 6–10.
We conclude that Mr. Proceviat has not shown reversible
error in the Veterans Court’s decision. We therefore affirm
that decision.
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 3 Filed: 11/04/2026
PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS 3
I
In March 1987, Mr. Proceviat, a veteran, indicated to
VA that he wanted to apply for veterans’ benefits. See
Proceviat v. Peake, 296 F. App’x 941, 942 (Fed. Cir. 2008)
(Proceviat Fed. Cir. 2008). In July 1987, he applied for
compensation for service-connected disability or for
pension benefits for non-service-connected disability, see,
e.g., 38 U.S.C. §§ 1110, 1521, for rheumatoid arthritis. In
November 1989, the RO granted non-service-connected
pension benefits, see 38 U.S.C. § 1521(e), assigning a 60-
percent disability rating and an effective date of August 1,
1989.
In June 1996, Mr. Proceviat reopened his claim to
assert that he required the aid and assistance of another
person to complete daily activities due to his rheumatoid
arthritis, and he filed an A&A questionnaire, along with
photographs of his hands and feet, as support. The RO
awarded him an SMP with A&A, effective June 7, 1996.
Mr. Proceviat on several occasions has sought an
earlier effective date of his SMP-with-A&A benefit. In
March 1997, he asked the RO for an earlier effective date,
but the RO denied the request, finding no indication of a
need for regular A&A before June 1996. In November
1997, Mr. Proceviat again asserted, this time in a notice of
disagreement, that the proper effective date should be
March 1987. Mr. Proceviat argued that “medical evidence
in the record at the time [his] . . . claims were denied
dictated a grant of pension and A&A.” Decision, at *1; see
also S. Appx. 20–21 (Board discussion of a July 1987 letter
from Dr. Kenneth A. Murray and a July 1989 X-ray
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 4 Filed: 11/04/2026
4 PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS
report). 1 In 2005, the Board ultimately rejected his
argument and held that there was no statement in the
March 1987 record by Mr. Proceviat that he required
assistance. S. Appx. 14–37. The Board instead concluded
that the need for A&A was first shown in the A&A
questionnaire Mr. Proceviat filed in 1996. S. Appx. 16, 34–
35. The Board also rejected an argument by Mr. Proceviat
that RO decisions in November 1987 and March 1989
denied him due process because he did not receive notice of
the denials of his claims. S. Appx. 34. The Veterans Court
affirmed the Board’s decision in relevant part in 2007, S.
Appx. 38–40; Proceviat v. Mansfield, 26 Vet. App. 38
(table), 2007 WL 3083547, at *2 (Oct. 22, 2007), and we
dismissed Mr. Proceviat’s subsequent appeal from that
decision for lack of jurisdiction, concluding that he sought
review only of factual findings and the application of a
regulation to facts, Proceviat Fed. Cir. 2008, 296 F. App’x
at 943–44 (citing Buchanan v. Nicholson, 451 F.3d 1331,
1334 (Fed. Cir. 2006)).
In December 2008, Mr. Proceviat filed a motion for
revision of the RO’s November 1989 decision, raising
various claims of clear and unmistakable error (CUE). See
Proceviat v. Shinseki, 524 F. App’x 674, 676 (Fed. Cir. 2013)
(Proceviat Fed. Cir. 2013). The Board both deemed the
claims to be barred by res judicata and reiterated that
there was no evidence that his rheumatoid arthritis “was
related to his military service.” Id. at 676–77. The
Veterans Court agreed that res judicata barred the CUE
claims. Id. at 677. On appeal to this court, Mr. Proceviat
argued that his due-process rights were violated “because
of [VA’s] alleged failure to adjudicate his inferred SMP
1 “Appx.” refers to the appendix submitted to this
court by Mr. Proceviat. ECF No. 5 (labeling pages with let-
ters A–F). “S. Appx.” refers to the supplemental appendix
submitted to this court by the government. ECF No. 6.
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 5 Filed: 11/04/2026
PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS 5
claim from 1986” and “because the Board ignored treatise
evidence supposedly relevant to his claim for service-
connected rheumatoid arthritis.” Id. We rejected the
argument. We held that Mr. Proceviat’s CUE claims were
barred by res judicata, reasoning that his CUE claims
“relate to the denial of an earlier effective date for SMP in
relation to the 1989 rating decision and . . . challenge the
RO’s assessment of the same evidence citing the same
regulatory provisions relating to the weight of evidence and
applications of diagnostic codes.” Id. at 677–78.
In January 2022, Mr. Proceviat filed a supplemental
claim with the RO, arguing that VA “failed to read the
medical evidence sympathetically to infer a claim for SMP
based on A&A” and that the RO “failed to provide him
notice that he was denied SMP based on A&A in 1987 and
1989.” Decision, at *2; see Moody v. Principi, 360 F.3d
1306, 1310 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“[VA] has a duty to fully and
sympathetically develop a veteran’s claim to its optimum,
and . . . this requires [VA] to determine all potential claims
raised by the evidence, applying all relevant laws and
regulations.” (citation and quotation marks omitted)).
After the RO denied the supplemental claim, he filed a
notice of disagreement challenging as CUE the effective-
date assignment of his SMP-with-A&A benefits. On
October 31, 2024, the Board dismissed, determining that
“its August 2005 decision . . . precludes reconsideration of
the claim” and stating that it had already “adjudicated [Mr.
Proceviat’s] claim of entitlement to an earlier effective date
for SMP based on the need of [A&A] of another person on
the basis of CUE.” S. Appx. 8, 10, 12.
The Veterans Court affirmed the Board’s dismissal.
Regarding Mr. Proceviat’s contention that the Board failed
to fulfill its sympathetic-reading duty and thereby failed to
infer an SMP-with-A&A claim from the medical evidence,
the Veterans Court agreed with the Board that it had
previously decided the question whether “the RO should
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 6 Filed: 11/04/2026
6 PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS
have inferred an SMP A&A claim from the medical
records” and “found no evidence demonstrating” such a
need before June 1996. Decision, at *3. The Veterans
Court concluded that, given the prior rulings, those
findings “[were] no longer subject to a CUE challenge.” Id.
Despite Mr. Proceviat’s attempt to distinguish the current
CUE challenge, the Veterans Court concluded that the
“underlying issue” of “how the RO interpreted [Mr.
Proceviat’s] medical records” remains the same. Id.
Regarding Mr. Proceviat’s due-process-denial claim, the
Veterans Court held that the Board already “determined
that the RO did not adjudicate SMP with A&A before 1996”
(so no notice of such an adjudication was needed) and that
no exceptional circumstances existed to warrant departure
from the Court’s prior decision. Id. at *4 (citing Toro Co. v.
White Consolidated Industries, Inc., 383 F.3d 1326, 1337
(Fed. Cir. 2004) (“The law is well-settled; decisions once
made are not to be disregarded except for exceptional
circumstances.”)).
The Veterans Court entered final judgment on
December 23, 2025, see Judgment, Proceviat v. Collins, No.
25-717 (Vet. App. Dec. 23, 2025), and Mr. Proceviat timely
appealed to this court. We have jurisdiction to hear certain
challenges to final judgments of the Veterans Court under
38 U.S.C. § 7292.
II
Our jurisdiction under 38 U.S.C. § 7292 is limited. A
challenge must identify an error in the decision of the
Veterans Court, not an error in a Board or RO
determination. 38 U.S.C. § 7292(a). Moreover, even within
that basic limit, our review is limited: Except for
constitutional issues, we cannot review findings of fact or
application of law or regulation to the facts. 38 U.S.C.
§ 7292(a), (d)(2); see Winsett v. Principi, 341 F.3d 1329,
1331 (Fed. Cir. 2003). When we have jurisdiction, we
generally affirm the Veterans Court’s decision unless it is
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 7 Filed: 11/04/2026
PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS 7
“(A) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or
otherwise not in accordance with law; (B) contrary to
constitutional right, power, privilege, or immunity; (C) in
excess of statutory jurisdiction, authority, or limitations, or
in violation of a statutory right; or (D) without observance
of procedure required by law.” 38 U.S.C. § 7292(d)(1). “We
review de novo the Veterans Court’s interpretation of law.”
Roane v. McDonough, 64 F.4th 1306, 1308 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
Mr. Proceviat frames his challenge as presenting two
arguments: (1) that the Board decision contains CUE in
failing to read his medical records sympathetically and
(2) that he did not receive notice of his November 1987 and
March 1989 RO decisions on his SMP with A&A and, thus,
lost his appeal rights, amounting to a due-process
violation. Proceviat Informal Br. at 4–5, 6–10. Neither
argument, as framed, presents a legal question or a
constitutional challenge to the decision of the Veterans
Court. As framed, his appeal raises no issue within our
limited jurisdiction. But we will, in this case, choose to
treat Mr. Proceviat as suggesting that the Veterans Court,
in affirming the Board’s 2024 decision, departed from
proper legal standards and erroneously approved a due-
process violation. Reframed in that way, we have
jurisdiction to address the merits of those suggestions. We
reject his suggestions of error by the Veterans Court.
Regarding Mr. Proceviat’s argument about failure to
receive a sympathetic reading of his 1987 and 1989 medical
records, Proceviat Informal Br. at 4, the Veterans Court
rejected the argument on the ground that this issue had
been previously litigated and decided against him,
Decision, at *3. We discern no legal error in that
conclusion. In Mr. Proceviat’s prior litigation involving his
claim for SMP with A&A, the Board in 2005 found that an
earlier effective date was not warranted by the evidence, S.
Appx. 35, and it considered the July 1987 Murray letter
and July 1989 x-ray consultation report, S. Appx. 20, 21,
that Mr. Proceviat now highlights, Appx. A, B. The
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 8 Filed: 11/04/2026
8 PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS
Veterans Court affirmed, S. Appx. 38–40; Proceviat v.
Mansfield, 2007 WL 3083547, at *2, and we held on appeal
that we could not review the question “whether the Board
gave adequate weight to the medical evidence in the record,”
Proceviat Fed. Cir. 2013, 524 F. App’x at 678 (emphasis
added).
A CUE challenge to a Board decision is unavailable for
those “[d]ecisions on issues which have been appealed to
and decided by a court of competent jurisdiction.” 38 C.F.R.
§ 20.1400(b)(1). As we discussed in Winsett v. Principi, a
CUE claim is thus foreclosed when there is “not a new
issue, different from the one adjudicated previously,” and,
instead, there is only a claim “in which the facts have
previously been reviewed by a court in light of the relevant
law on the same claim.” 341 F.3d at 1332 (citing 38 C.F.R.
§ 20.1400(b)). That is the case here. The 2005 Board
decision addresses the same question on the same facts,
with decisions on appeal from that decision effectively
closing the matter. See id. This court’s decision in Moody,
invoked by Mr. Proceviat, see Proceviat Informal Br. at 6
(citing Moody, 360 F.3d at 1310), does nothing to establish
a legal or constitutional error in the Veterans Court’s
decision here.
As to Mr. Proceviat’s notice argument, see Proceviat
Informal Br. at 7–10 (arguing that the RO “did not send
[him] notice of the denial” in 1987 and 1989, violating his
due-process rights), we similarly see no constitutional or
legal error in the Veterans Court’s rejection of the
contention on the ground that the issue had already been
adjudicated. The Board, in its 2005 decision, addressed
and rejected Mr. Proceviat’s claim that “he was denied due
process because he was never given notice of [November
1987 and March 1989] decisions.” S. Appx. 34 (determining
that the reports were “generated in regard to VA
examinations . . . and are not rating decisions”). The
Veterans Court, in Mr. Proceviat’s current appeal,
correctly reasoned that Mr. Proceviat’s due-process claim
Case: 26-1373 Document: 16 Page: 9 Filed: 11/04/2026
PROCEVIAT v. COLLINS 9
was “decided . . . in [the Board’s] 2005 decision,” which was
affirmed by the Veterans Court in 2007 (itself then subject
to an appeal to this court), and concluded that no
“exceptional circumstances . . . warrant[ed] departure”
from the prior decision. Decision, at *4 (citing Toro, 383
F.3d at 1336–37). We see no constitutional error or any
non-constitutional legal error in the Veterans Court’s
recitation or application of res judicata principles.
III
We have considered the remainder of Mr. Proceviat’s
arguments, and we find them unpersuasive. Accordingly,
we affirm.
The parties shall bear their own costs.
AFFIRMED