First Solar Electric LLC v. Zurich American Insurance Company
CourtCourt of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
Date FiledOctober 22, 2026
Docket25-10606
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 1 of 27
FOR PUBLICATION
In the
United States Court of Appeals
For the Eleventh Circuit
____________________
No. 25-10606
____________________
ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY,
Defendant-Appellant-Cross Appellee,
versus
FIRST SOLAR ELECTRIC LLC,
Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross Appellant.
____________________
Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of Georgia
D.C. Docket No. 5:21-cv-00408-MTT
____________________
Before NEWSOM, ABUDU, and KIDD, Circuit Judges.
KIDD, Circuit Judge:
Golfers get mulligans. But in this case, the insurance com-
pany does not. First Solar Electric LLC was building a solar power
plant in Georgia when five rain events damaged the project. First
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 2 of 27
2 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
Solar filed a claim with its insurer, Zurich American Insurance
Company, which initially determined that the events were covered
as water damage under First Solar’s insurance policy. Based on that
determination, Zurich gave First Solar three $200,000 checks as ad-
vance payments for the first three events. Before making the pay-
ments, Zurich did not attempt to reserve any right to change its
coverage determination.
Zurich later reversed course and determined that the dam-
age was flood damage instead of water damage. This matters be-
cause the water damage deductible was $100,000 per event,
whereas the flood deductible was $2.5 million per event. Zurich
then determined that First Solar’s damages for each event did not
exceed the flood deductible, so Zurich owed First Solar nothing and
closed the claim. First Solar sued.
The district court granted partial summary judgment to
both parties. It ruled that the flood deductible applied but that Zur-
ich had waived its right to apply it to any of the events. It also ruled
that the policy’s suit-against-the-company provision was not a suit-
limitation provision that barred First Solar’s suit as untimely. The
case proceeded to a damages-only trial. During the trial, Zurich
moved to strike one of First Solar’s witnesses as a sanction, but the
district court denied the motion. The jury ultimately returned a
verdict for First Solar.
Zurich appeals the district court’s partial grant of summary
judgment to First Solar and the denial of its motion for sanctions.
First Solar asks us to affirm the final judgment based on the jury’s
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 3 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 3
verdict but, alternatively, cross-appeals the district court’s partial
grant of summary judgment to Zurich.
The central question in this appeal is whether Georgia law
permits an insurer in Zurich’s situation to take a mulligan—to re-
ceive a do-over after messing up the first time. Or, under Georgia
law, did Zurich’s conduct waive its right to apply the flood deduct-
ible after previously applying the water damage deductible?
We conclude that, under Georgia law, because Zurich
(1) made a coverage determination that led it to apply a lower, but
improper, deductible, and (2) made unconditional payments under
that determination without reserving its right to apply the proper
deductible later, Zurich waived its right to apply the proper deduct-
ible later. As such, Zurich waived the flood deductible for the first
three events, but a genuine dispute remains as to whether Zurich
waived the flood deductible for the two remaining events.
As to the remaining issues, we conclude that the suit-against-
the-company provision is not a suit-limitation provision; the district
court did not abuse its discretion in denying Zurich’s motion for
sanctions; and, absent waiver, the flood deductible applies.
I. BACKGROUND
In 2018, First Solar was building a 1,038-acre solar power
plant in Georgia. Prior to construction, First Solar purchased a mas-
ter builders risk insurance policy from Zurich. The policy provided
coverage from August 24, 2017, to August 24, 2020. The policy in-
sured First Solar “against all risks of direct physical loss of or dam-
age to [c]overed [p]roperty while at the location of the [insured
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 4 of 27
4 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
project] and occurring during the [p]olicy or [c]ertificate [t]erm.”
A. Rain Events and Claims Investigation
The construction project experienced five separate, heavy
rain events on or around December 13, 2019; February 5, 2020; Feb-
ruary 13, 2020; March 3, 2020; and April 18, 2020. Each rain event
resulted in rainwater accumulating on and diffusing over the
ground, which damaged solar arrays, access roads, security fences,
grading, and other civil, structural, and electrical works.
The policy covers both water and flood damage. “Water
damage” and “flood” are both defined in the policy. “Flood” has
five separate definitions. One of those definitions is relevant here:
“A general and temporary condition of partial or complete inunda-
tion of normally dry land areas, including dewatered areas,
from . . . [t]he unusual and rapid accumulation or runoff of surface
waters from any source.” “Water damage” is defined as “[a]ll dam-
age caused by water, whatever the source, whether or not driven
by wind, other than that otherwise defined as flood or that result-
ing from a named storm.” If Zurich determines an event was
caused by water damage, a $100,000 deductible applies for each
event, but if the event is deemed a flood, then a $2.5 million de-
ductible would apply for each event.
Zurich adjuster Scott Klaben was assigned to handle all of
First Solar’s claims. In February 2020, Klaben visited the project to
inspect the damage. Klaben recorded the losses in the claim file as
water damage. Klaben was prompted in the claim file system to
answer whether the February 5 event was “caused by a flood?”
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 5 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 5
Klaben marked “No.” Additionally, Klaben informed his boss a Zur-
ich claims manager that the first three events each “carrie[d] a
$100K deductible.” First Solar’s insurance broker, John Shaw, testi-
fied that he had “several” conversations with Klaben during which
Klaben stated that First Solar’s claims “were going to be viewed as
water damage claims.” In June 2020, Klaben approved three
$200,000 advance payments to First Solar for the first three events.
In advancing these payments, Klaben noted that a $100,000 deduct-
ible applied. Zurich did not reserve any right to change its coverage
determination before issuing the payments.
On August 4, 2020, Klaben sent First Solar a status report
that, for the first time, noted that the events may have been caused
by floods and that the flood deductible may apply. The report also
contained language that attempted to reserve Zurich’s rights. In
October 2020, Shaw responded to Klaben’s letter outlining multiple
reasons why he disputed that the events were caused by floods.
From October 2020 to February 2021, Zurich continued to adjust
First Solar’s claims. Specifically, Zurich’s third-party building con-
sultant, MKA, continued to verify First Solar’s damages.
By March 10, 2021, Shaw followed up with Klaben about the
status of First Solar’s claims, and Klaben responded that he was still
working on it. On March 22, 2021, Anthony Morris, Zurich’s out-
side counsel, sent a letter to Shaw confirming that Zurich’s position
was that the flood deductible applied to each rain event individually
and, based on MKA’s damage assessment, Zurich owed nothing
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 6 of 27
6 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
under the policy because First Solar did not incur damages that ex-
ceeded the flood deductible for any of the five events.
B. Procedural History
First Solar filed an action against Zurich and, as relevant
here, brought state law claims for breach of contract, waiver and
estoppel, and reformation. Zurich argued that the action was
barred because the policy’s suit-against-the-company provision
limited the time for filing suit and made First Solar’s suit untimely.
First Solar moved for partial summary judgment, and Zurich
moved for summary judgment. The district court partially granted
each party’s motion, concluding that, absent waiver, Zurich did not
breach the parties’ contract because the flood deductible applied,
and there was no evidence of mutual mistake to support refor-
mation of the flood deductible. However, the court determined
that Zurich waived application of the deductible. The court then
permitted First Solar leave to file a successive motion for summary
judgment on the suit-against-the-company-provision. The district
court granted that motion, ruling that the provision was not a con-
tractual suit-limitation provision that barred First Solar’s lawsuit as
untimely.
The district court held a five-day jury trial on the sole issue
of First Solar’s damages. During the trial, Zurich moved to sanction
First Solar by striking the testimony of its damages witness, Ted
Garrett. The district court denied the motion. The jury returned a
verdict in First Solar’s favor. The court entered final judgment and
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 7 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 7
denied Zurich’s post-trial motions, prompting the instant cross-ap-
peal.
II. STANDARD OF REVIEW
Summary judgment is appropriate “if the movant shows
that there is no genuine dispute as to any material fact and the mo-
vant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P.
56(a). “When the parties have filed cross-motions for summary
judgment, we review de novo the district court’s grant of summary
judgment and view the facts in the light most favorable to the non-
moving party on each motion.” Cambridge Christian Sch., Inc., v. Fla.
High Sch. Athletic Ass’n, 115 F.4th 1266, 1287 (11th Cir. 2024) (cita-
tion modified). “The moving party bears ‘the initial responsibility
of informing the . . . court of the basis for its motion, and identifying
those portions of [the record] which it believes demonstrate the ab-
sence of a genuine issue of material fact.’” Hickson Corp. v. N.
Crossarm Co., 357 F.3d 1256, 1260 (11th Cir. 2004) (quoting Celotex
Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986)).
If the movant shows that no evidence supports the non-
moving party’s case, “[t]he burden then shifts to the non-moving
party, who must go beyond the pleadings, and present affirmative
evidence to show that a genuine issue of material fact exists.” Porter
v. Ray, 461 F.3d 1315, 1320 (11th Cir. 2006) (citing Fitzpatrick v. City
of Atlanta, 2 F.3d 1112, 1115–17 (11th Cir. 1993)).
A factual dispute is considered “genuine” only if “a reasona-
ble jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving party.” Anderson
v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). “If the record presents
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 8 of 27
8 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
disputed issues of fact, we may not decide them; rather, we must
deny the motion” and let the case proceed to trial. Jones v. UPS
Ground Freight, 683 F.3d 1283, 1292 (11th Cir. 2012) (citation modi-
fied).
Federal jurisdiction in this matter is based on diversity of cit-
izenship under 28 U.S.C. § 1332(a). The parties do not dispute that
Georgia substantive law applies. See Am. Cas. Co. of Reading v.
Etowah Bank, 288 F.3d 1282, 1285 (11th Cir. 2002). We review a dis-
trict court’s interpretation of an insurance contract de novo. Id.
We review “a district court’s refusal to grant sanctions under
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 37 for abuse of discretion.” MONY
Life Ins. Co. v. Perez, 146 F.4th 1018, 1026 (11th Cir. 2025).
III. DISCUSSION
Zurich raises three issues on appeal. First, Zurich challenges
the district court’s interpretation of the policy’s suit-against-the-
company provision. Second, Zurich argues it did not waive its abil-
ity to apply the flood deductible to all the rain events. Finally, Zur-
ich asserts that the district court abused its discretion by denying
the motion for sanctions that sought to strike Garrett’s testimony.
In its cross-appeal, First Solar maintains that, even without
Zurich’s waiver, the flood deductible is $100,000 per event. We dis-
cuss these issues in turn.
A. The Suit Against the Company Provision
The suit against the company provision is contained within
a policy endorsement titled “Construction Property General
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 9 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 9
Conditions.” The provision states, in pertinent part, that “[a]ny ac-
tion or proceeding against the Company for recovery of any loss
under this Policy will not be barred if commenced within (12)
twelve months after the OCCURRENCE* becomes known to the
Named Insured unless a longer period of time is required by appli-
cable statute.”
The district court determined, and First Solar maintains on
appeal, that this provision is an unambiguous time-expansion pro-
vision, akin to a delayed discovery rule. Zurich maintains that the
provision acts as an enforceable time bar, like the suit limitation
provision that the Supreme Court of Georgia considered in Encom-
pass Insurance Co. of America v. Friedman, 682 S.E.2d 694 (Ga. 2009).
The provision at issue in Encompass stated that “no action
against Encompass can be brought unless the policy provisions
have been complied with and the action is started . . . within one
year after the date of loss.” Id. at 696 (citation modified). By con-
trast, the provision at issue here does not include the “no ac-
tion . . . can be brought” language, which, had it been included,
would have made the provision an enforceable bar to untimely
suits under Georgia law. Id.
Instead, the provision at issue here is phrased as a guarantee
of non-bar within a period, leaving Zurich to argue an implied neg-
ative. Grammatically, “will not be barred if” is a negative condi-
tional or negative guarantee. In other words, if the condition is
met—that a suit is commenced within twelve months of the occur-
rence—the provision guarantees that the suit will not be barred.
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 10 of 27
10 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
The provision, read as a whole, does not expressly state the con-
verse: that a suit will be barred if it is not commenced within twelve
months of the occurrence. “It is the function of the [c]ourt to con-
strue a contract of insurance as it is written, and the [c]ourt by con-
struction cannot create a liability not assumed by the insurer, nor
make a new contract for the parties, or one different from that
plainly intended, nor add words to the contract of insurance to ei-
ther create or avoid liability.” Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Morgan, 94 S.E.2d
765, 768 (Ga. Ct. App. 1956) (citation omitted).
Additionally, Zurich’s argument that we should apply the
converse interpretation of the provision would introduce ambigu-
ity—it would allow the provision to be interpreted two ways.
“[C]ontractual provisions are ambiguous when they are susceptible
to more than one meaning, even if each meaning is logical and rea-
sonable.” Wilkinson v. Ga. Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., 833 S.E.2d 579,
582 (Ga. Ct. App. 2019). In cases of ambiguity, three rules of con-
tract construction apply: “(1) ambiguities are strictly construed
against the insurer as the drafter, (2) exclusions from coverage the
insurer seeks to invoke are strictly construed, and (3) the contract
is to be read in accordance with the reasonable expectations of the
insured when possible.” Id. Thus, if we were to accept Zurich’s po-
sition, any ambiguity should be resolved in First Solar’s favor.
We agree with First Solar that the provision acts as a delayed
discovery rule for the benefit of the insured by permitting a suit
within twelve months of becoming aware of an occurrence, even
if the occurrence was unknown until after the statute of limitations.
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 11 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 11
The provision contains only language permitting an action and no
language suggesting an intent to limit the time to file an action.
Pilot, 94 S.E.2d at 768. Accordingly, we conclude that the suit
against the company provision is not a suit-limitation provision.
B. The Flood Deductible
Zurich argues that Georgia law does not permit waiver of
the flood deductible. Their argument goes something like this: Be-
cause the deductible provision limits the scope of coverage to
losses exceeding the deductible, waiver cannot apply because it
would afford coverage to a loss that the policy otherwise would
not cover. Alternatively, even if it could waive the flood deductible,
a factual dispute remains as to whether it actually did so for the rain
events.
First Solar maintains that the deductible provision does not
affect whether a loss is covered. Instead, it serves as a contractual
payment limitation for Zurich’s benefit because Zurich’s obliga-
tion to pay for a covered loss does not arise until the deductible is
met. First Solar cites Sargent v. Allstate Insurance Co., 303 S.E.2d 43
(Ga. Ct. App. 1983), in support of its argument that the flood de-
ductible can be waived. We agree with First Solar.
1. Georgia Law Permits Waiver
Resolving this issue requires us to consider two interrelated
questions of first impression under Georgia law concerning the de-
ductible provision: (1) whether the provision operates as a
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 12 of 27
12 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
limitation on Zurich’s obligation to pay for a covered loss or, in-
stead, a limitation on the policy’s scope of coverage; and (2) if it
operates as a limitation on Zurich’s obligation to pay, whether the
flood deductible may be waived.
When the Supreme Court of Georgia has not spoken on a
topic, “we must predict how [it] would decide th[e] case.” Turner v.
Wells, 879 F.3d 1254, 1262 (11th Cir. 2018). “Decisions of the inter-
mediate appellate courts . . . provide guidance for this prediction,”
and generally, “we must follow the decisions of these intermediate
courts” unless “persuasive evidence demonstrates that the highest
court” would reach a different conclusion than the intermediate
appellate court. Id.
To resolve the first question, we begin by looking to the pol-
icy language and applying Georgia’s established rules governing
the interpretation of insurance contracts. In Georgia, insurance is a
matter of contract, so “when the provisions of an insurance policy
are clear and unambiguous,” we apply their plain meaning. Taylor
Morrison Servs., Inc. v. HDI-Gerling Am. Ins. Co., 746 S.E.2d 587, 590
(Ga. 2013).
The first section of the policy is titled “SECTION I -
COVERAGE AND EXCLUSIONS.” [R200-1:14] The “Coverage”
provision is under the “INSURING AGREEMENT” subsection,
and it states that the policy covers “all risks of direct physical loss
of or damage to [c]overed [p]roperty” located at the project and
occurring during the policy term, subject to the exclusions, limita-
tions, and conditions contained in the policy. Section I also contains
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 13 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 13
an “EXCLUSIONS” section that states Zurich would not “pay for
loss, damage or expense caused by, resulting from, contributed to
or made worse by” several specified risks. For example, loss or
damage arising from any fungus is specifically excluded from cov-
erage in that section. But there is no language in the Coverage and
Exclusions section that conditions coverage on the loss exceeding
the applicable deductible.
The second section of the policy is titled “SECTION II -
RATES AND DEDUCTIBLES / RATING CONDITIONS.”
[R200-1:24] Therein is a subsection titled “RATING
CONDITIONS,” and within that subsection is a sub-subsection ti-
tled “APPLICATION OF DEDUCTIBLES” that contains several
deductible provisions. The provision Zurich relies on provides that
the applicable deductible “shall be deducted from the amount of
each claim and the liability of the Company shall be only for the
amount of such insured loss or damage in excess thereof,” subject to
the policy’s limits. (emphasis added). Zurich maintains this lan-
guage means a loss is not covered until the insured’s amount of loss
exceeds the deductible. We disagree with this reading.
The phrase “shall be deducted from the amount of each
claim” requires subtraction of the deductible from the “amount of
each claim.” It therefore identifies the deductible as an amount to
be subtracted from a claim, not as a condition that determines
whether the underlying loss is covered. The phrase then provides
that “the liability of the Company shall be only for the amount” of
the “insured loss or damage” remaining “in excess thereof.” Here,
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 14 of 27
14 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
“the liability of the Company” is the subject of the sentence, and
“shall be only for the amount” limits that liability to a specified
amount. The phrase “such insured loss or damage” identifies the
loss for which Zurich is liable. The adjective “insured” describes
the loss or damage, not the deductible. Finally, “in excess thereof”
limits Zurich’s liability to the portion of the insured loss or damage
that remains after the deductible is applied.
We therefore conclude that the provision establishes a
method for calculating Zurich’s liability to pay for an insured loss:
The deductible is subtracted from the amount of the claim, and
Zurich is liable only for the resulting amount. Pilot, 94 S.E.2d at
768. Nothing in the provision states that a loss must exceed the de-
ductible to qualify as an “insured loss,” that a loss below the de-
ductible is excluded from coverage, or that the deductible operates
as a threshold to coverage. Id.
The policy’s structure supports our interpretation. The de-
ductible provision appears under “Application of Deductibles,”
within the “Rating Conditions” subsection of the “Rates and De-
ductibles/Rating Conditions” section. Those provisions primarily
address the amount Zurich must pay for a covered loss. The policy
addresses coverage elsewhere, in the “Coverage and Exclusions”
section. Read as a whole, the policy treats the deductible as a limi-
tation on the amount Zurich pays for a covered loss, not as a limi-
tation on coverage.
Moreover, Zurich does not dispute that “a deductible de-
fines when an insurer’s payment obligation begins.” “Most
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 15 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 15
property insurance policies contain one or more deductibles that
can affect the amounts payable under that policy. A deductible is a
portion of a covered loss that is not paid by the insurer.” Richard J.
Cohen et al., The Insured’s Share of the Loss, 5 New Appleman on
Insurance Law Library Edition § 47.03. Although the Supreme
Court of Georgia has previously cited an earlier edition of Apple-
man, it has recognized Appleman as a “leading treatise on insur-
ance.” Love v. Money Tree, Inc., 614 S.E.2d 47, 49 n.8 (Ga. 2005). Ac-
cordingly, we conclude that the policy’s deductible provision limits
the amount Zurich must pay for a covered loss, but it does not limit
the policy’s coverage. Turner, 879 F.3d at 1262.
To resolve the second question, whether the flood deducti-
ble may be waived, we turn to Georgia’s established principles gov-
erning the waiver of contractual provisions. Under Georgia law,
“[a]n insurer may waive any provision in an insurance policy in-
serted for its benefit, and may waive any condition or limitation in
the policy upon which it could otherwise rely.” Sargent, 303 S.E.2d
at 46. However, “[t]he doctrines of implied waiver and estoppel,
based upon the conduct or action of the insurer, or its agent, are
not available to bring within the coverage of a policy risks not cov-
ered by its terms, or risks expressly excluded therefrom.” Id. at
45–46 (citation modified).
The parties do not dispute that a loss caused by a “flood” is
covered by the policy. Thus, “waiver of [the flood deductible] in no
way results in an expansion of the coverage so as to include a risk
not assumed by the insurer.” Id. at 46. Nor is this a case in which
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 16 of 27
16 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
waiver would bring an expressly excluded risk, such as loss caused
by fungus, within the policy’s coverage. Id. at 45–46. The flood de-
ductible “is a condition imposed for the benefit of [Zurich], and is,
therefore, subject to waiver.” Id. at 46; see also New Appleman on
Insurance § 47.03 (“Deductibles are a risk financing technique that
requires the insured to retain a portion of the loss that is otherwise
being transferred to an insurer.”). The deductible can also be
waived because it is a payment “limitation in the policy upon which
[Zurich] could otherwise rely.” Sargent, 303 S.E.2d at 46.
Accordingly, we conclude that Zurich could waive the flood
deductible. Turner, 879 F.3d at 1262. We will now explain why we
find that Zurich waived the deductible for the first three rain
events, but a genuine dispute remains as to whether Zurich waived
the deductible for the two remaining events.
2. The Rain Events
“Waiver is the voluntary relinquishment of a known right
and may be established by express statements or implied by con-
duct.” Kennestone Hosp. v. Hopson, 538 S.E.2d 742, 745 (Ga. 2000).
Implied waiver can be “shown by a party’s decisive, unequivocal
conduct reasonably inferring the intent to waive.” Id. (citation
modified). “[N]ormally the question of waiver is a matter for the
jury, [but] where the facts and circumstances essential to the
waiver issue are clearly established, waiver becomes a question of
law.” C&M Enters. of Ga., LLC v. Williams, 816 S.E.2d 44, 51 (Ga. Ct.
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 17 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 17
App. 2018) (citation modified).
The following facts are not disputed. Zurich, as the insurer
that drafted and administered the policy, knew the policy’s defini-
tion of “flood” and “water damage” and the different deductibles
applicable to each. Klaben inspected the property in February 2020.
The day after his inspection, Klaben recorded the losses in the claim
file as water damage. Shaw, First Solar’s insurance broker, testified
that he had “several” conversations with Klaben during which Kla-
ben stated that First Solar’s claims would be viewed as water dam-
age claims. Klaben specifically answered “no” when prompted in
the claim file system to answer whether the February 5 event was
caused by a flood. Klaben noted in an email to a Zurich claims man-
ager that the first three events each carried a $100,000 deductible.
In June 2020, Klaben issued First Solar three $200,000 checks as ad-
vance payments for the first three rain events, treating the losses as
covered water damage. Zurich made the payments uncondition-
ally and did not reserve its rights to change its coverage determina-
tion or apply a different deductible. See Sargent, 303 S.E.2d at 866–
67.
Viewing the undisputed facts in Zurich’s favor, First Solar
met its initial burden to show that there is no genuine dispute that
Zurich knew of and impliedly waived its right to apply the flood
deductible to the first three events through Klaben’s conduct and
the unconditional payments. Id.; Hickson, 357 F.3d at 1260.
We must now consider whether Zurich has presented af-
firmative evidence that, viewed in its favor, creates a genuine
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 18 of 27
18 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
dispute as to whether its conduct reasonably indicated an intent to
waive the deductible. Porter, 461 F.3d at 1320. We conclude that
Zurich has not met its burden. Klaben was never deposed, and Zur-
ich did not present evidence identifying the basis for the change in
coverage determination. In response to First Solar’s motion, Zur-
ich identifies no record evidence that would allow a reasonable jury
to find that its conduct did not reasonably indicate an intent to
waive the flood deductible. Instead, Zurich relied solely on its legal
argument that Georgia law does not permit waiver of a deductible.
For the first time on appeal, Zurich maintains that the Au-
gust 4, 2020, status report, and the testimony of First Solar’s corpo-
rate representative about his understanding of the report, create a
genuine factual dispute as to whether it waived the flood deducti-
ble. We will assume that Zurich preserved this argument. Even so,
the letter “is wholly ineffective to prevent a waiver that has already
occurred.” Sargent, 303 S.E.2d at 47. Viewing the undisputed evi-
dence in Zurich’s favor, at the latest, Zurich waived the deductible
for the first three rain events on June 11, 2020, when it issued the
checks under its water-damage coverage determination without re-
serving its right to challenge that determination. “Once [Zurich]
waived the policy conditions as to [applying the flood deductible],
the condition could not be reclaimed.” Id.
In a last-ditch effort, Zurich argues for the first time on ap-
peal in its reply brief that Klaben lacked the authority to waive the
deductible. This argument was not presented to the district court
or raised in Zurich’s opening brief. Accordingly, we do not
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 19 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 19
consider this argument. See United States v. Oakley, 744 F.2d 1553,
1156 (11th Cir. 1984) (“Arguments raised for the first time in a reply
brief are not properly before the reviewing court.”).
Thus, we find no genuine dispute that Zurich waived appli-
cation of the flood deductible for the first three rain events. Because
“the facts and circumstances essential to the waiver issue are clearly
established,” we affirm the district court’s summary judgment rul-
ing that Zurich waived the flood deductible for the December 13,
2019, February 5, 2020, and February 13, 2020, rain events. Wil-
liams, 816 S.E.2d at 51.
But as to the last two rain events, we conclude that First So-
lar failed to show that no genuine dispute exists as to whether Zur-
ich waived the flood deductible. In its summary judgment motion,
First Solar argues that Klaben’s issuance of the payments for the
first three events establishes waiver for all five events. First Solar
further maintains that waiver, as a matter of law, for each event is
established because the August 4, 2020, status update did not ex-
pressly state that Zurich changed its position or that the flood de-
ductible applied—and even if it did, the status update could not
save Zurich from waiving its prior position.
First Solar’s corporate representative testified that the status
update “was the first time that [it was] formally notified that [Zur-
ich was] going to apply the deductible related to flood instead of
what was being previously applied in relation to water damage.”
The parties do not dispute that Zurich did not make any advance
payments for the last two events before it sent the status update.
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 20 of 27
20 Opinion of the Court 25-10606
And Klaben’s actions supporting waiver as a matter of law all per-
tained to claims adjustment decisions he made regarding the first
three events.
Viewing the evidence in Zurich’s favor, we cannot say “the
facts and circumstances essential to the waiver issue [for the last
two rain events] are clearly established.” Id. Thus, we conclude that
a factual question remains for a jury to decide: whether Zurich im-
pliedly waived its ability to apply the flood deductible to the March
3, 2020, and April 18, 2020, rain events based on Zurich’s conduct
before it sent the August 4, 2020, status update. Id. Accordingly, we
reverse the district court’s summary judgment ruling as to the last
two rain events. As a result, we need not decide whether Zurich
preserved its factual waiver arguments for appeal. See Fitzpatrick, 2
F.3d at 1116 (“If the party moving for summary judgment fails to
discharge the initial burden, then the motion must be denied and
the court need not consider what, if any, showing the non-movant
has made.”).
At the conclusion of the trial, the district court entered a
comprehensive order and judgment that separates the damages
and prejudgment interest awarded per event. We affirm the por-
tions of the judgment awarding damages and prejudgment interest
for the first three events and vacate the portions of the judgment
awarding damages and prejudgment interest for the last two
events.
C. Zurich’s Motion for Sanctions
Zurich maintains that the district court abused its discretion
USCA11 Case: 25-10606 Document: 55-1 Date Filed: 10/22/2026 Page: 21 of 27
25-10606 Opinion of the Court 21
by denying Zurich’s motion to strike First Solar’s first witness at
trial, Ted Garrett. Garrett testified regarding First Solar’s damages.
Specifically, he testified that he was the senior project manager for
the project and approved contractor invoices and change orders af-
ter the events. Additionally, Garrett testified that the documenta-
tion reflecting approved invoices and change orders was stored in
First Solar’s project information system, referred to as PIMS. On
the fourth day of trial and two days after Garrett testified, Zurich
filed a motion to exclude and strike Garre