Merck & Co., Inc. v. Ace American Insurance Company
CourtNew Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
Date FiledMay 1, 2023
DocketA-1879-21/A-1882-21
StatusPublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION
SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
DOCKET NO. A-1879-21
A-1882-21
MERCK & CO., INC. and
INTERNATIONAL INDEMNITY
LTD.,
Plaintiffs-Respondents,
v.
ACE AMERICAN INSURANCE
COMPANY, ALLIANZ GLOBAL
RISKS US INSURANCE
APPROVED FOR PUBLICATION
COMPANY, GENERAL
SECURITY INDEMNITY May 1, 2023
COMPANY OF ARIZONA, APPELLATE DIVISION
HOUSTON CASUALTY
COMPANY, LIBERTY MUTUAL
FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE
COMPANY, QBE INSURANCE
CORPORATION, SYNDICATE
NOS. 609, 1200, 1686, 1886, 1919,
1955, 2003, 4444, 4472 and 5555,
and CONSORTIUM 9536 AT
LLOYD'S, LONDON, WESTPORT
INSURANCE CORPORATION,
XL INSURANCE AMERICA, INC.,
ASSICURAZIONI GENERALI
S.P.A., HANNOVER RÜCK SE,
HELVETIA SCHWEIZERISCHE
VERSICHERUNGSGESELLSCHAFT
AG, and MÜNCHENER RÜCK
VERSICHERUNGSGESELLSCHAFT,
Defendants,
and
ASPEN INSURANCE UK LIMITED,
HDI GLOBAL INSURANCE COMPANY,
NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE
COMPANY OF PITTSBURGH, P.A.,
SYNDICATE NO. 1183 AT LLOYD'S
LONDON, ZURICH AMERICAN
INSURANCE COMPANY, MAPFRE
GLOBAL RISKS, COMPAÑIA
INTERNACIONAL DE SEGUROS Y
REASEGUROS S.A., and VIENNA
INSURANCE GROUP AG,
Defendants-Appellants.
__________________________________
Argued February 8, 2023 - Decided May 1, 2023
Before Judges Currier, Mayer and Enright.
On appeal from an interlocutory order of the Superior
Court of New Jersey, Law Division, Union County,
Docket No. L-2682-18.
James E. Rocap, III (Steptoe & Johnson LLP) of the
District of Columbia bar, admitted pro hac vice,
argued the cause for appellant National Union Fire
Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, PA (Walsh Pizzi
O'Reilly Falanga LLP, and James E. Rocap, III,
attorneys; James L. Brochin, Liza M. Walsh, James E.
Rocap, III, Marc D. Haefner, and Selina M. Ellis, on
the joint briefs).
Philip C. Silverberg argued the cause for appellants
Aspen Insurance UK Limited, HDI Global Insurance
A-1879-21
2
Company, Syndicate No. 1183 at Lloyd's London,
Mapfre Global Risks, Compañía Internacional de
Seguros y Reaseguros SA, Vienna Insurance Group
AG, and Zurich American Insurance Company
(Mound Cotton Wollan & Greengrass LLP, attorneys;
Philip C. Silverberg, Bruce Kaliner (Mound Cotton
Wollan & Greengrass LLP) of the New York bar,
admitted pro hac vice, Hilary M. Henkind (Mound
Cotton Wollan & Greengrass LLP) of the New York
and Massachusetts bars, admitted pro hac vice,
Maegan McAdam, William D. Wilson, and Craig R.
Rygiel, on the joint briefs).
Mark W. Mosier (Covington & Burling LLP) of the
District of Columbia bar, admitted pro hac vice,
argued the cause for respondents (Dughi, Hewit &
Domalewski PC and Mark W. Mosier, attorneys; Anna
P. Engh (Covington & Burling LLP) of the District of
Columbia bar, admitted pro hac vice, Mark D. Herman
(Covington & Burling LLP) of the District of
Columbia bar, admitted pro hac vice, Mark W. Mosier
and Russell L. Hewit, on the brief).
Laura A. Foggan (Crowell & Moring LLP) of the
District of Columbia bar, admitted pro hac vice,
argued the cause for amicus curiae American Property
Casualty Insurance Association (Eckert Seamans
Cherin & Mellott, LLC, attorneys; Robert P. Zoller
and Michael A. Alberico, on the brief).
Sherilyn Pastor argued the cause for amici curiae The
New Jersey Hospital Association, The National
Association of Manufacturers, The Pharmaceutical
Research and Manufacturers of America, The Product
Liability Advisory Council, Inc., and The Restaurant
Law Center (McCarter & English, LLP, attorneys;
Sherilyn Paster, on the brief).
Genova Burns LLC, attorneys for amicus curiae New
Jersey Association of Counties (Angelo J. Genova,
A-1879-21
3
William F. Megna, and Lawrence Bluestone, of
counsel and on the brief).
Reed Smith LLP, attorneys for amicus curiae United
Policyholders (Nicholas M. Insua, on the brief).
Lowenstein Sandler LLP, attorneys for amicus curiae
Insurance Law Scholars (Lynda A. Bennett, Andrew
Reidy (Lowenstein Sandler LLP) of the District of
Columbia and Massachusetts bars, admitted pro hac
vice, Joseph Saka (Lowenstein Sandler LLP), of the
District of Columbia, Maryland and Texas bars,
admitted pro hac vice, and Rosemary Loehr
(Lowenstein Sandler LLP) of the Colorado bar,
admitted pro hac vice, on the brief).
Greenberg Dauber Epstein & Tucker, PC, attorneys
for amici curiae International Law Scholars, and
Former Government Officials, Professor Chimene I.
Keitner, Professor Rebecca Crootof, Professor David
Sloss, and Professor Mary Ellen O'Connell (Edward J.
Dauber, on the brief).
The opinion of the court was delivered by
CURRIER, P.J.A.D.
On leave to appeal, we consider whether plaintiff Merck & Co., Inc. 1
(plaintiff or Merck) is entitled to insurance coverage under the "all risks"
property insurance policies issued by defendants after a cyberattack infected
and damaged thousands of plaintiff's computers in its global network.
Defendants denied coverage under the "Hostile/Warlike Action" exclusion
1
Plaintiff International Indemnity Ltd. is a captive insurance company wholly
owned by Merck.
A-1879-21
4
included in all their policies. The trial court granted plaintiffs' summary
judgment motions, finding the exclusion did not apply to plaintiffs' claims. 2
In considering the plain language of the exclusion, and the context and
history of its application, we conclude the Insurers did not demonstrate the
exclusion applied under the circumstances of this case, namely, that this
cyberattack was a "hostile" or "warlike" action as contemplated under the
exclusion. Therefore, we affirm.
I.
Merck is a multinational pharmaceutical company based in New Jersey.
Plaintiffs instituted suit against multiple insurers and reinsurers seeking
declaratory judgment that Merck was entitled to coverage under twenty-six "all
risk" property policies for losses caused by a June 2017 malware/cyberattack
known as NotPetya. 3
From June 1, 2017 to June 1, 2018, Merck's property insurance program
included the "all risks" property policies in a three-layer structure, with $1.75
billion in total limits above a $150 million deductible. The eight Insurer's
2
Many of the defendants resolved their claims with plaintiffs during the
discovery period and the pendency of the appeal. At the time of oral argument
before this court, there were eight remaining defendants/appellants. We refer
to appellants as "the Insurers".
3
The name NotPetya derived from the distinction of the malware from
another ransomware known as "Petya."
A-1879-21
5
policies insured percentages of coverage in one, two or all three of the layers.
In total, the parties dispute $699,475,000 in coverage or just under forty
percent of Merck's total coverage for the policy period.
Each of the 2017-2018 policies included two coverage clauses and one
exclusion significant to this appeal.
Section 5, entitled "LOSS OR DAMAGE INSURED" states:
This policy insures against all risks of physical loss or
damage to property, not otherwise excluded in this
policy, while at an Insured Location except as
hereinafter excluded.
Physical loss or damage shall include any destruction,
distortion or corruption of any computer data, coding,
program or software except as excluded specifically in
clause 6.M., Electronic Date Recognition Exclusion, [4]
and as hereinafter excluded.
Section 7, entitled "COVERAGE," includes subsection C, entitled
"COMPUTER SYSTEMS—NON PHYSICAL DAMAGE." It states:
In addition to the coverage provided herein, this
Policy covers the Actual Loss Sustained and Extra
Expense incurred by the Insured during the Period of
Interruption directly resulting from the failure of the
Insured's Electronic Data Processing Equipment or
Media to operate, provided such failure is the direct
result of a malicious act directed at the NAMED
INSURED.
4
Clause 6.M does not apply to Merck's NotPetya claim.
A-1879-21
6
The hostile/warlike action exclusion was also included in each of the
2017-2018 policies, under Section 6, entitled "LOSS OR DAMAGE
EXCLUDED." Section 6 excludes damage arising from twenty specific causes
or events. Section 6 (A)(1) provides that "[t]his policy does not insure"
against:
Loss or damage caused by hostile or warlike action in
time of peace or war, including action in hindering,
combating, or defending against an actual, impending,
or expected attack:
(a) by any government or sovereign power (de
jure or de facto) or by any authority maintaining
or using military, naval, or air forces;
(b) or by military, naval, or air forces;
(c) or by an agent of such government, power,
authority, or forces[.]
A.
On June 27, 2017, a malware known as NotPetya infected Merck's
computer and network systems. Prior to that date, someone had gained access
to the computer systems of a Ukrainian company that had developed an
accounting software called M.E. Doc used by Merck and other companies in
Ukraine. The NotPetya malware was delivered into the accounting software.
Merck explained the malware attack in its "IT Compliance Investigation
Interim Summary Report":
A-1879-21
7
Merck and other companies doing business in the
Ukraine use a trusted third-party application called
M.E. Doc for processing and transmission of invoice,
tax, and other financial data to the Ukrainian
government. Based on third-party analysis, Merck
understands that prior to April 14, 2017, threat actors
gained access to the M.E. Doc vendor's source code
and software update distribution infrastructure for the
M.E. Doc system. Using this access, the threat actors
built backdoors into M.E. Doc software updates that
allowed for the threat actors to access customer
systems using M.E. Doc software. Using these
backdoors, the threat actors established a command
and control infrastructure capable of sending,
receiving, and executing code on the networks of
companies using M.E. Doc software without detection
through anti-virus or other malware detection tools or
sensors.
Threat actors directed malicious versions of the M.E.
Doc software to existing M.E. Doc customers using
the standard M.E. Doc update method. Merck
received the malicious updates through its server
located in Ukraine, which automatically conducts
periodic checks for new versions of the M.E. Doc
software for updating purposes. As a result of these
compromised updates, prior to June 27, 2017, threat
actors could send instructions and retrieve
reconnaissance information from companies' infected
systems through command-and-control capabilities.
Such transmissions were disguised as legitimate,
routine checks for M.E. Doc updates.
According to the parties' experts,
Once on a system or network, NotPetya would
attempt to encrypt certain data on the system,
rendering the data inaccessible and preventing most
users from recovering their files, and once complete,
would leave the infected system in an inoperable state.
A-1879-21
8
After encrypting data on an infected system or
network, NotPetya displayed a message offering to
provide a decryption key to recover the data in return
for payment of a ransom, presenting itself as
ransomware.
Victims of NotPetya paid thousands of dollars
within hours . . . .
NotPetya's propagation within networks was
rapid and extensive and crossed many national
borders.
Within ninety seconds of the initial infection, approximately 10,000
machines in Merck's global network were infected by NotPetya; about 20,000
machines were infected within five minutes. Ultimately, over 40,000
machines in Merck's network were infected. Merck contends the malware
"caus[ed] production facilities and critical applications to go offline and
create[ed] massive disruptions to Merck's operations, including its
manufacturing, research and development, and sales operations."
The NotPetya malware spread to at least sixty-four different countries,
including Russia. Among the companies infected by NotPetya were "a number
of leading Russian companies, including Russia's largest oil producer, Rosneft;
one of Russia's top lenders, Home Credit bank; and Evraz, a Russian steel
manufacturing and mining company." NotPetya also infected the systems of
other multinational companies. While the attack caused property damage,
there was no evidence the NotPetya malware caused bodily injury or death.
A-1879-21
9
B.
In July 2017, Merck submitted a notice of loss to the Insurers for the
NotPetya damage. The Insurers responded with a reservation of rights letter.
In March 2018, the Insurers sent another reservation of rights letter, this time
expressly raising the hostile/warlike action exclusion. Defendant National
Union did not join in this reservation of rights letter.
Merck filed its complaint on August 2, 2018. On August 20, 2018, most
of the Insurers denied coverage for Merck's NotPetya-related claims based on
the hostile/warlike action exclusion. The Insurers noted that Kroll Cyber
Security (Kroll), their "cyber consultant," had concluded that Merck's systems
were infected with NotPetya, which was "introduced into Merck through a
server located in its Ukraine office that was running M.E. Doc (a tax software
application used by Merck and other companies operating in Ukraine)." Kroll
also concluded, "with high confidence, that the NotPetya cyber-attack was
very likely orchestrated by actors working for or on behalf of the Russian
Federation." 5
On the same day, National Union sent Merck a reservation of rights
letter, stating that "[b]ased on Kroll's findings and the publicly avai lable
5
The parties disputed attribution for the cyberattack. The trial court did not
need to reach that issue in granting partial summary judgment.
A-1879-21
10
information on the NotPetya cyber-attack," National Union reserved its rights
based on the "WAR AND TERRORISM EXCLUSION" in its policy. It is
undisputed that this exclusion is materially identical to the hostile/warlike
action exclusions contained in the other Insurers' policies.
II.
Between April and September 2021, following extensive discovery, the
parties filed numerous motions and cross-motions for summary judgment or
partial summary judgment on a variety of issues, including the applicability o f
the hostile/warlike action exclusion.
On December 6, 2021, the trial court granted plaintiffs' motion for
partial summary judgment, finding the hostile/warlike action exclusion did not
apply to exclude coverage for Merck's losses caused by NotPetya. In its
written opinion, the court analyzed the applicable contract-interpretation legal
principles and case law. The court concluded:
Given the plain meaning of the language in the
exclusion, together with the foregoing examination of
the applicable caselaw, the court unhesitatingly finds
that the exclusion does not apply. As [p]laintiff[s]
correctly note[] in [their] brief, no court has applied a
war (or hostile acts) exclusion to anything remotely
close to the facts herein. The evidence suggests that
the language used in these policies has been virtually
the same for many years. It is also self-evident, of
course, that both parties to this contract are aware that
cyber attacks of various forms, sometimes from
private sources and sometimes from nation-states[,]
A-1879-21
11
have become more common. Despite this, Insurers
did nothing to change the language of the exemption
to reasonably put this insured on notice that it
intended to exclude cyber attacks. Certainly they had
the ability to do so. Having failed to change the
policy language, Merck had every right to anticipate
that the exclusion applied only to traditional forms of
warfare. Given the rules of construction, Merck's
position that they did not anticipate that the exclusion
would be applied to acts of cyber based attacks
reasonably shows that the expectation of the insured
was that the exclusion applied only to traditional
forms of warfare. Accordingly, the [c]ourt finds that
the exclusion is not applicable under the facts
presented.
We granted the Insurers leave to appeal. We also granted the following
groups and entities leave to appear as amicus curiae: American Property
Casualty Insurance Association (American Property); New Jersey Association
of Counties; United Policyholders; the New Jersey Hospital Association, the
National Association of Manufacturers, the Pharmaceutical Research and
Manufacturers of America, the Product Liability Advisory Council, Inc., the
Restaurant Law Center (collectively the Amici Companies); Insurance Law
Scholars, and individual "law professors and former government lawyers"
Chimène I. Keitner, Rebecca Crootof, David L. Sloss, and Mary Ellen
O'Connell (collectively, the Individual Lawyers).
A-1879-21
12
III.
On appeal, the Insurers assert the trial court erred in concluding the
hostile/warlike exclusion did not apply to the NotPetya cyberattack. Amici
American Property, the "primary national trade association for home, auto, and
business insurers," agrees with the Insurers' position and contends that damage
caused by any unfriendly action of any nature undertaken by a "nation-state"
falls under the plain meaning of the hostile/warlike action exclusion.
The other amici urge this court to uphold the trial court's ruling. The
New Jersey Association of Counties is "a non-partisan organization that
provides a unified and proactive voice for county governments in New Jersey."
It contends that accepting the Insurers' interpretation of the hostile/warlike
exclusion "would operate to change the settled meaning of war exclusions and
. . . also threaten to undo the policy interpretation rules that local governments
have historically relied upon" to ensure adequate insurance coverage.
United Policyholders is "a dedicated advocate and information resource
for individual and commercial insurance consumers throughout the entire
United States." It contends the trial court "correctly interpreted the war
exclusion based on its plain language" and "correctly adhered" to "established
principles of New Jersey insurance law."
A-1879-21
13
The Amici Companies are "associations composed of companies
engaged in various businesses or industries in New Jersey and elsewhere," that
"rely significantly upon insurance policies to provide coverage for their
various risks and they rely on New Jersey law that protects their insurance
rights." The companies urge this court to affirm the trial court's ruling because
"the Insurers' proposed interpretation and application of policies' standard -
form War Exclusions, if adopted, could have far-reaching, detrimental impact
on the many insurance products that policyholders buy to protect themselves
from risks in this and other states."
Insurance Law Scholars is "a group of law professors from across the
country whose area of academic focus is insurance law," giving them "a
special interest and expertise in and substantial exposure to questions
involving commercial property insurance policies, war-exclusion clauses, and
insurance claims for cyber-related losses." It submits that the trial court's
decision should be affirmed because it was "supported by the drafting history
of war exclusions" and because the Insurers "failed to use readily available
insurance policy provisions that would have excluded or limited the coverage
provided for cyber-related events."
The Individual Lawyers are "law professors and former government
lawyers with expertise in international law and the laws of war, who have an
A-1879-21
14
interest in the proper characterization of various types of malicious cyber
activity." They argue that "[t]he terms 'war' and 'hostilities' are terms of art
that have long been understood as describing the use of armed force between
rival states," that "[t]he U.S. government has been careful not to broaden the
legal definitions of these categories, despite the advent of various types of
malicious cyber activity," and that interpreting the NotPetya attack as the
Insurers urge would be inconsistent with international law.
IV.
We "review a grant of summary judgment de novo, applying the same
standard as the trial court." Norman Int'l, Inc. v. Admiral Ins. Co., 251 N.J.
538, 549 (2022) (quoting Woytas v. Greenwood Tree Experts, Inc., 237 N.J.
501, 511 (2019)). Thus, we consider "whether the competent evidential
materials presented, when viewed in the light most favorable to the non -
moving party in consideration of the applicable evidentiary standard, are
sufficient to permit a rational factfinder to resolve the alleged disputed issue in
favor of the non-moving party." Brill v. Guardian Life Ins. Co. of Am., 142
N.J. 520, 523 (1995).
Summary judgment must be granted "if the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories and admissions on file, together with the affidavits,
if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact challenged
A-1879-21
15
and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment or order as a matter of law."
R. 4:46-2(c). "If there is no genuine issue of material fact, we must then
'decide whether the trial court correctly interpreted the law.'" DepoLink Ct.
Reporting & Litig. Support Servs. v. Rochman, 430 N.J. Super. 325, 333 (App.
Div. 2013) (citations omitted).
A.
"A court's interpretation of an insurance contract is a determination of
law." Cypress Point Condo. Ass'n, Inc. v. Adria Towers, L.L.C., 441 N.J.
Super. 369, 375 (App. Div. 2015), aff'd, 226 N.J. 403 (2016). "We afford no
special deference to a trial court's interpretation of the law and the legal
consequences that flow from the established facts." Ibid. (citing Manalapan
Realty, L.P. v. Twp. Comm. of Manalapan, 140 N.J. 366, 378 (1995)).
We begin our review by applying well-established contract interpretation
principles. "Insurance policies are reviewed using contract principles," and
"will be enforced as written when [their] terms are clear in order that the
expectations of the parties will be fulfilled." Norman Int'l, 251 N.J. at 552
(quoting Mem’l Props., LLC v. Zurich Am. Ins. Co., 210 N.J. 512, 525
(2012)). Policies must be construed "as a whole and effect given to every part
thereof." Herbert L. Farkas Co. v. N.Y. Fire Ins. Co., 5 N.J. 604, 610 (1950).
A-1879-21
16
Terms in an insurance policy "are given their 'plain and ordinary meaning.'"
Norman Int'l, 251 N.J. at 552 (quoting Mem'l Props., 210 N.J. at 525).
Generally, the insured must establish whether a particular claim falls
within the basic terms of the policy. IMO Indus. Inc. v. Transamerica Corp.,
437 N.J. Super. 577, 624 (App. Div. 2014). Once it is shown that a claim falls
within a policy's scope of coverage, the insurer bears the burden of
establishing that an exclusionary provision of the policy applies. Norman Int'l,
251 N.J. at 552; see United Rental Equip. Co. v. Aetna Life & Cas. Ins. Co.,
74 N.J. 92, 99 (1977) ("When an insurance carrier puts in issue its coverage of
a loss under a contract of insurance by relying on an exclusionary clause, it
bears a substantial burden of demonstrating that the loss falls outside the scope
of coverage.").
Insurance policy exclusions must be construed narrowly. Princeton Ins.
Co. v. Chunmuang, 151 N.J. 80, 95 (1997). Accord Ariston Airline &
Catering Supply Co. Inc. v. Forbes, 211 N.J. Super. 472, 478 (Law Div. 1986)
(quoting Pan Am. World Airways, Inc. v. Aetna Cas. & Surety Co., 505 F.2d
989, 1000 (2d Cir. 1974)) (noting that "[t]he experienced all risk insurers
should have expected the exclusions drafted by them to be construed narrowly
against them and should have calculated their premiums accordingly").
A-1879-21
17
"On the other hand, 'clauses that extend coverage are to be viewed
broadly and liberally.'" Villa v. Short, 195 N.J. 15, 24 (2008) (quoting Gibson
v. Callaghan, 158 N.J. 662, 671 (1999)). In short, "[p]rinciples of insurance
contract interpretation 'mandate [a] broad reading of coverage provisions, [a]
narrow reading of exclusionary provisions, [the] resolution of ambiguities in
the insured's favor, and [a] construction consistent with the insured's
reasonable expectations.'" Hampton Med. Grp., P.A. v. Princeton Ins. Co., 366
N.J. Super. 165, 172 (App. Div. 2004) (latter four alterations in original)
(quoting Search EDP, Inc. v. Am. Home Assurance Co., 267 N.J. Super. 537,
542 (App. Div. 1993)). "If there is any doubt, uncertainty or ambiguity in the
phraseology of a policy, or if the phraseology is susceptible to two meanings,
the construction favoring coverage must be adopted." Ibid. (quoting Aetna Ins.
Co. v. Weiss, 174 N.J. Super. 292, 296 (App. Div. 1980)).
"Exclusionary clauses are presumed valid if they are 'specific, plain,
clear, prominent and not contrary to public policy.'" Mem'l Props., 210 N.J. at
528 (quoting Chunmuang, 151 N.J. at 95). "If the terms used in an
exclusionary clause are ambiguous, 'courts apply the meaning that supports
coverage rather than the one that limits it.'" Ibid. (quoting Flomerfelt v.
Cardiello, 202 N.J. 432, 442 (2010)).
A-1879-21
18
Where, however, the terms of an exclusion are clear and unambiguous,
"a court should not engage in a strained construction to support the imposition
of liability." Ibid. (quoting Flomerfelt, 202 N.J. at 442); see also Walker
Rogge, Inc. v. Chelsea Title & Guar. Co., 116 N.J. 517, 529 (1989) (noting
that "courts should not write for the insured a better policy of insurance than
the one purchased"). As our Supreme Court has explained:
[C]ourts must be careful not to disregard the "clear
import and intent" of a policy's exclusion, and we do
not suggest that "any far-fetched interpretation of a
policy exclusion will be sufficient to create an
ambiguity requiring coverage." Rather, courts must
evaluate whether, utilizing a "fair interpretation" of
the language, it is ambiguous.
[Flomerfelt, 202 N.J. at 442 (citations omitted).]
B.
Against this backdrop we turn to the policy and exclusion at issue. As
stated, at the time of NotPetya, Merck was insured under twenty-six "all risks"
property insurance policies. We have stated that an all risk insurance policy
"creates a 'special type of insurance extending to risks not usually
contemplated, and recovery under the policy will generally be allowed . . ., in
the absence of fraud or other intentional misconduct of the insured, unless the
policy contains a specific provision expressly excluding the loss from
coverage.'" Victory Peach Grp., Inc. v. Greater N.Y. Mut. Ins. Co., 310 N.J.
A-1879-21
19
Super. 82, 87 (App. Div. 1998) (quoting 43 Am. Jur. 2d Insurance § 505
(1982)).
Merck's claim for coverage for damages incurred as a result of NotPetya
was covered under Sections 5 and 7 of the Insurers' policies unless excluded
under a specific provision. The Insurers invoked the hostile/warlike action
clause as that exclusion.
The Insurers assert summary judgment should have been granted in their
favor because the exclusion "is clear and unambiguous, and it plainly applies
to the NotPetya attack." Although they concede the word "warlike" might not
be applicable, they assert the word "hostile" should be read in the broad est
possible sense, as meaning "adverse," "showing ill will or a desire to harm,"
"antagonistic," or "unfriendly." According to the Insurers, any action that
"reflects ill will or a desire to harm by the actor" falls within the
hostile/warlike action exclusion, as long as the actor was a government or
sovereign power, in this case the Russian Federation.
However, the plain language of the exclusion does not support the
Insurers' interpretation. The exclusion of damages caused by hostile or
warlike action by a government or sovereign power in times of war or peace
requires the involvement of military action. The exclusion does not state the
A-1879-21
20
policy precluded coverage for damages arising out of a government action
motivated by ill will.
V.
Although there is no precedent considering the hostile/warlike action
exclusion, our Supreme Court has consistently required the need for plain
language pertinent to the situation to permit the enforcement of an exclusion.
For example, in Mem'l Props., the allegations against the insureds, the
owner and manager of a cemetery and crematory, were that the remains of
certain bodies in their care had been unlawfully dissected and that tissue, bone,
and organs had been illegally harvested and sold. 210 N.J. at 516-17. The
Court addressed the question of whether an "'improper handling' exclusionary
clause, barring coverage for bodily injury or property damage arising from
specified acts and omissions including '[f]ailure to bury, cremate or properly
dispose of a deceased body'" applied to preclude coverage for the claims. Id.
at 517. The Court held that "[t]he conduct of which [the insureds] [we]re
accused—participation in a common undertaking to dissect and remove body
parts from the decedents without legal authorization—falls squarely within the
parameters of the clause." Id. at 528. Because none of the asserted causes of
action were "independent of the illegal harvesting allegations," the exclusion at
A-1879-21
21
issue "plainly encompasse[d] all of the claims asserted" against the insu reds.
Id. at 528-29.
Similarly, in United Rental, the Court noted that the insurance policies at
issue excluded "those losses occasioned by the lifting of any load which
exceeded the registered lifting or supporting capacity of any machine
otherwise within the scope of coverage." 74 N.J. at 95. The Court noted that
proving the applicability of the exclusion was a "demanding standard," but the
insurer "succeed[ed] in clearly showing that the loss fell within the terms of
the exclusionary clause" with unrebutted proof and an admission by the
insured that the accident injuring the plaintiff was caused by a crane in an
overloaded condition. Id. at 100; see also Norman Int'l, 251 N.J. at 546, 555-
56 (broad and unambiguous language excluding any claim "in any way
connected with" insured's "operations" or "activities" in designated counties in
New York applied to claim for injury to Home Depot worker using blind -
cutting machine supplied and maintained by insured); Villa, 195 N.J. at 26
(holding that the phrase "an insured" was not ambiguous and included all
persons who could make a claim under the policy and noting courts "will not
search for ambiguities where there are none"); Am. Motorists Ins. Co. v. L-C-
A Sales Co., 155 N.J. 29, 41-42 (1998) (exclusion for claims "arising out of
and in the course of employment" clearly and unambiguously precluded
A-1879-21
22
coverage for wrongful discharge claim, which "unquestionably arose out of
and in the course of [the plaintiff's] employment, as did the essential factual
allegations on which the cause of action was predicated"); Abboud v. Nat'l
Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, Pa., 450 N.J. Super. 400, 407-08 (App. Div.
2017) (finding no ambiguity in "insured vs. insured" exclusion in a directors
and officers liability policy that expressly disallowed coverage for claims
raised by either an executive of the company or the company itself).
In each of these cases, the scope of the exclusion was clear and specific,
and the conclusion that the circumstances at issue fell within that scope was
evident. None of the cases held that words in an exclusion should be
interpreted using the broadest dictionary definition available, as the Insurers
contend.
Coverage could only be excluded here if we stretched the meaning of
"hostile" to its outer limit in an attempt to apply it to a cyberattack on a non-
combatant firm that provided accounting software updates to various non -
combatant customers, all wholly outside the context of any armed conflict or
military objective. But that approach would conflict with our basic
construction principles requiring a court to narrowly construe an insurance
policy exclusion. The specific, plain, clear, and prominent meaning of, and the
clear import and intent of, a word or phrase in an exclusion does not equate to
A-1879-21
23
its broadest possible interpretation, but rather its narrowest. See Chunmuang,
151 N.J. at 95; Flomerfelt, 202 N.J. at 442; Mem'l Props., 210 N.J. at 528.
We agree with the trial court that the plain language of the exclusion did
not include a cyberattack on a non-military company that provided accounting
software for commercial purposes to non-military consumers, regardless of
whether the attack was instigated by a private actor or a "government or
sovereign power."
We have addressed the exclusion in terms of the presented circumstances
before us. And we have found the Insurers have not satisfied their burden to
show it could be fairly applied to the NotPetya cyberattack. That is the scope
of our review. Therefore, we decline the Insurers' request to delineate the
exact scope of what cyberattacks might be encompassed under the
hostile/warlike exclusion.
VI.
A.
We also consider the history of the war exclusion. Here, all of the
experts agreed that insurance policies have included standard-form coverage
exclusions known as "war exclusions" for centuries. Merck's expert stated that
"[a]s early as the eighteenth century, the war exclusion was introduced by
insurers in the London-based Lloyd's market to exclude 'war risks' from marine
A-1879-21
24
coverage policies in response to increasing war-related risks in the shipping
trade." Similar language was used in "war exclusions" appearing in policies
issued in both the United States and the United Kingdom. The experts
concurred that the phrase "hostile or warlike action," or similar variants, have
appeared in war exclusions since the 1950s. The Insurers' representatives
agreed that property policies always contain an exclusion similar to the
hostile/warlike action exclusion.
B.
As we have stated, there is no precedent interpreting the exact language
at issue here and no cases that involve a cyberattack. However, the few cases
cited by the parties reinforce our conclusion that similar exclusions have never
been applied outside the context of a clear war or concerted military action and
they do not support the Insurers' arguments.
In Diamond Shamrock Chems. Co. v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 258 N.J.
Super. 167, 179, 197 (App. Div. 1992), we considered the scope of coverage
and whether liability policies issued to Diamond Shamrock, one of the
manufacturers of the herbicide Agent Orange, covered liability for pollution
discharges in the United States caused by Diamo