Liberty v. North Tarrant
CourtCourt of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Date FiledOctober 27, 2026
Docket25-10725
StatusUnpublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
Case: 25-10725 Document: 59-1 Page: 1 Date Filed: 10/27/2026
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit
United States Court of Appeals
Fifth Circuit
____________ FILED
October 27, 2026
No. 25-10725 Thomas B. Plunkett, III
____________ Clerk
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company,
Plaintiff—Appellee,
versus
North Tarrant Infrastructure, L.L.C.; Ferrovial
Construction US Corporation; Webber, L.L.C.,
Defendants—Appellants.
______________________________
Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Texas
USDC No. 4:23-CV-1043
______________________________
Before Smith and Higginson, Circuit Judges. 1
Per Curiam: *
A 130-vehicle pileup in February 2021 on I-35W in Fort Worth, Texas,
generated dozens of lawsuits against several parties, including Defendants–
Appellants North Tarrant Infrastructure, L.L.C. (“NTI”), Ferrovial
Construction US Corporation, and Webber, L.L.C. (collectively,
_____________________
1
Judge WIENER was present for oral argument but is unable to participate in this
decision. The case is decided by a quorum. See 28 U.S.C. § 46(d).
*
This opinion is not designated for publication. See 5th Cir. R. 47.5.
Case: 25-10725 Document: 59-1 Page: 2 Date Filed: 10/27/2026
No. 25-10725
“Defendants”). An insurance agreement obligated Plaintiff–Appellee
Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company (“Liberty Mutual”) to provide
coverage to Defendants for certain bodily injury arising out of their 2013 to
2018 construction work on a segment of I-35W. As a result, Liberty Mutual
initially agreed to defend Defendants, subject to a full reservation of rights.
But several years into litigation, Liberty Mutual filed a declaratory judgment
action to establish that it owed no duty to defend Defendants in the
underlying lawsuits, arguing that the claims against Defendants were not
covered by the policy language. The district court granted summary
judgment in favor of Liberty Mutual, interpreting the insurance agreement to
cover only injuries arising out of the rebuilding, constructing, and expanding
of the relevant segment of I-35W, and finding that the underlying lawsuits did
not allege any facts regarding Defendants’ acts or omissions during
construction which could have caused the underlying plaintiffs’ injuries;
instead, the allegations all concerned alleged failures in maintenance and
operation of the roadway. We AFFIRM.
We review a district court’s award of summary judgment de novo,
applying the same Rule 56 standard as the district court. Ford Motor Co. v.
Tex. Dep’t of Transp., 264 F.3d 493, 498 (5th Cir. 2001). Summary judgment
is proper only when “there is no genuine dispute as to any material fact
and . . . the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R.
Civ. P. 56(a).
We apply Texas law to this dispute. See Edwards Co. v. Monogram
Indus., Inc., 730 F.2d 977, 979 n.5 (5th Cir. 1984) (applying Texas law in
diversity action where “[b]oth parties have briefed and argued this case to
the district court and this court on the theory that Texas law applies”). “In
Texas, ‘[t]he eight-corners rule provides that when an insured is sued by a
third party, the liability insurer is to determine its duty to defend solely from
[the] terms of the policy and the pleadings of the third-party claimant.’”
2
Case: 25-10725 Document: 59-1 Page: 3 Date Filed: 10/27/2026
No. 25-10725
Gore Design Completions, Ltd. v. Hartford Fire Ins. Co., 538 F.3d 365, 368 (5th
Cir. 2008) (quoting GuideOne Elite Ins. Co. v. Fielder Rd. Baptist Church, 197
S.W.3d 305, 307 (Tex. 2006)) (first alteration in original). “If the four
corners of a petition allege facts stating a cause of action which potentially
falls within the four corners of the policy’s scope of coverage, the insurer has
a duty to defend.” Liberty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Graham, 473 F.3d 596, 600 (5th
Cir. 2006).
Much of the dispute in this case centers around how to read the
insurance policy and its various exclusions and amendments, some of which
are clunky and poorly drafted. Defendants interpret the insurance agreement
to apply to bodily injury arising out of their completed work on the relevant
segment of I-35W, known as “Segment 3A.” Defendants then argue that the
exclusions in the policy only exclude bodily injury arising out of their
completed work conducted for some project other than Segment 3A.
But the Court need not wade into the contractual dispute to resolve
this case, since Defendants cannot prevail even under their own
interpretation of the policy. Assuming for a moment that the Defendants’
interpretation is correct, we must assess whether, under the eight-corners
rule, any of the petitions implicate this interpretation of the insurance
agreement. They do not. 2
Defendants identify multiple petitions that allegedly implicate their
work on Segment 3A. See, e.g., Vardy v. New Prime, Inc., Case No. DC-21-
_____________________
2
Defendants assert that the district court proceeded out of order, and they argue
that our precedent and Texas state law require us to first determine which allegations fall
within the policy’s coverage, and only then determine which of those allegations are
separately excluded. See Buchholz v. Crestbrook Ins. Co., 65 F.4th 766, 769–71, (5th Cir.
2023) (noting that this approach is “required by the Supreme Court of Texas”). But this
only undermines Defendants’ arguments, as it is clear when applying this framework here
that Defendants do not prevail under their own interpretation.
3
Case: 25-10725 Document: 59-1 Page: 4 Date Filed: 10/27/2026
No. 25-10725
09849 (Tex. Dist. Ct. Dallas Cnty.); Gerred v. Fed Ex Ground Package Sys.
Inc., Case No. 352-327055-21 (Tex. Dist. Ct. Tarrant Cnty.). But viewed in
context, those petitions allege that “Roadway Defendants” failed to
“operate and maintain” the segment of I-35W on which the accident
occurred. While Defendants are named in a list of companies comprising the
“Roadway Defendants,” the petitions’ allegations focus on the failure to
“properly prepare for oncoming winter weather,” “deploy all the resources
necessary to accomplish that,” or “constantly monitor the roadways.” 3 The
accident giving rise to the underlying lawsuits in this matter occurred on
February 11, 2021, years after Defendants completed their work on Segment
3A.
Read in context, none of the claims in these petitions alleges bodily
injury arising out of Defendants’ work. 4 At most, these petitions allege that
the companies responsible for day-to-day maintenance and operations
breached their duties, and the segment that Defendants worked on was the
mere situs of the tragic 2021 pileup. Cf. Lancer Ins. Co. v. Garcia Holiday
Tours, 345 S.W.3d 50, 57–58 (Tex. 2011) (rejecting argument that “injury-
producing event” arose out of the use of a vehicle when the event “only
_____________________
3
Defendants concede that “[b]y definition, ongoing-maintenance-and-operations
allegations are not within the ‘products-completed operations hazard’” that the policy
language covers.
4
Defendants state that Liberty Mutual has never disputed that the underlying
allegations fall within the initial scope of the policy language. Even if that were true,
Defendants also urge us to first determine which allegations fall within the scope of the
policy language, because “the insured has the burden first to prove that their loss falls
within the terms of the contract.” Buchholz, 65 F.4th at 769. It is clear that there are no
allegations that fall within the scope of the policy language at this first step (or within
Defendants’ overall interpretation, more broadly). “We can affirm the district court on
any grounds supported by the record on appeal.” Id. at 771. For that reason, we also need
not decide if the district court’s precise holding on the scope of the exclusionary language
was correct.
4
Case: 25-10725 Document: 59-1 Page: 5 Date Filed: 10/27/2026
No. 25-10725
incidentally occurred within the locational setting of a motor vehicle”).
Because these Defendants had no role in that day-to-day maintenance, and
because their work had been completed years prior to the accident, the
petitions’ allegations fall outside even Defendants’ interpretation of the
contract. 5
On these grounds, we AFFIRM the district court’s grant of
summary judgment.
_____________________
5
Defendants also more broadly contend that several plaintiffs allege that (1) bodily
injury occurred on Segment 3A and (2) Defendants built Segment 3A, and that this alone
is enough to establish bodily injury arising out of Defendants’ long-completed work on
Segment 3A. We disagree for the same reasons. Segment 3A was “merely the situs of an
incident that could have occurred anywhere” under plaintiffs’ allegations against these
Defendants, and “the causal connection to the” Defendants’ work is “too remote to
invoke coverage.” Lancer, 345 S.W.3d at 57 (analyzing similar policy language in the
automobile-insurance context) (quotation omitted). On reply, Defendants take this a step
further, arguing that they only need to show that the suits alleged (1) bodily injury or
property damage (2) that occurred within 10 years of either the policy period or the
completion of their work on Segment 3A. This is also incorrect, as it ignores the fact that
the ten-year coverage only applies to bodily injury within the “products-completed
operations hazard”—in other words, bodily injury “arising out of . . . ‘[Defendants’]
work.’”
5