Tri County Telephone Association v. Twin City Fire Insurance Company
CourtCourt of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit
Date FiledNovember 3, 2026
Docket26-8007
StatusUnpublished
📰 News Coverage: Read the LAWS.com news report on this case
Full Opinion
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 1
FILED
United States Court of Appeals
Tenth Circuit
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
November 3, 2026
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT
_________________________________ Christopher M. Wolpert
Clerk of Court
TRI COUNTY TELEPHONE
ASSOCIATION, INC., a Wyoming
corporation,
Plaintiff - Appellant,
v. No. 26-8007
(D.C. No. 1:24-CV-00274-KHR)
TWIN CITY FIRE INSURANCE (D. Wyo.)
COMPANY; THE HARTFORD
INSURANCE GROUP, d/b/a
Hartford Financial Products,
Defendants - Appellees.
_________________________________
ORDER AND JUDGMENT *
_________________________________
Before EID, CARSON, and FEDERICO, Circuit Judges.
_________________________________
Joseph Campbell, then a director of Tri County Telephone Association
(TCT), tried to block its acquisition by a different company. His efforts
failed, the deal closed, and nearly a year later Campbell filed a class action
lawsuit against TCT and some of its former directors and officers. When
* This order and judgment is not binding precedent, except under the
doctrines of law of the case, res judicata, and collateral estoppel. It may be
cited, however, for its persuasive value consistent with Federal Rule of
Appellate Procedure 32.1 and Tenth Circuit Rule 32.1.
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 2
TCT informed its insurance carrier, Twin City Fire Insurance Company, of
the lawsuit and sought coverage for its defense costs, Twin City denied
coverage.
TCT filed suit against Twin City in the District of Wyoming. It sought
a declaratory judgment that its insurance policy with Twin City covered
Campbell’s lawsuit. On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district
court held the claim was not covered and granted judgment in favor of Twin
City. TCT timely appealed. Exercising jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291,
we affirm.
I
TCT was a nonprofit telecommunication cooperative with
825 members, with a board of directors consisting of a subset of those
members. Joe Campbell was a member of the board. TCT was acquired by
BHT Holdings, Inc. and was converted into a privately held Wyoming
corporation. Campbell opposed the acquisition but failed to block its
passage.
For reasons explained below, the dates and sequence of the merger
are important to this appeal. The vote approving the merger was certified
on December 23, 2014. The former board, including Campbell, tendered its
resignation on December 31, 2014, pursuant to a resolution passed at its
2
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 3
final meeting on December 16, 2014. The transaction formally closed on
January 2, 2015, the “Effective Time” as defined in the merger agreement.
Almost a year after the merger, on December 28, 2015, Joe Campbell
and his wife Barbara filed a class action lawsuit against TCT, TCT’s prior
board, BHT, Chris Davidson (former CEO), Neil Schnenkler (BHT officer),
and outside counsel in Wyoming state court (Campbell Action). The suit
alleged breach of fiduciary duty and other claims in connection with the
acquisition. The class consisted solely of TCT’s former members, who were
also considered as security holders for purposes of the acquisition.
On February 8, 2016, Campbell amended the complaint to include
Steve Harper, TCT’s former chief financial officer. The amended complaint
did not assert new claims. Throughout the litigation, Campbell acted as
class representative and actively participated in depositions, class
certification, and summary judgment phases. After his death in 2020, he
was replaced as class representative. TCT and the individual defendants
were granted summary judgment in 2022.
TCT had directors and officers (D&O) policy coverage with Twin City
that covered both “Entity Claims” and “Insured Person Claims,” as defined
in the policy. The policy provided coverage for defense costs for covered
claims when there was a duty to defend. The policy also excluded coverage
for certain situations, one of which was an insured v. insured exclusion. The
3
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 4
insured v. insured exclusion excluded from coverage claims “brought or
maintained by or on behalf any Insureds (in any capacity) or any security
holder of an Insured Entity.” Aplt. App. XII at 8.
There were several carveouts to the insured v. insured exclusion listed
in the policy. Relevant to this appeal is only one:
[T]his exclusion shall not apply to the portion of Loss directly
resulting from:
(5) a civil proceeding by or on behalf of a former Manager who has
not served in such capacity for at least one year prior to such Claim
being made, provided that such Claim is made without the
assistance, participation or solicitation of any current Manager or
any former Manager who has served in such capacity during the
one year prior to such Claim being made.
Id.
In the Interrelationship of Claims provision, the policy also provided
that “[a]ll Claims based upon, arising from or in any way related to the same
Wrongful Act or Interrelated Wrongful Acts shall be deemed to be a single
Claim for all purposes under this Policy first made on the earliest date that:
(A) any of such claims was first made[.]” Id. at 9 (alterations in original).
The policy defines Wrongful Act as “any actual or alleged: (1) error,
misstatement, misleading statement, act, omission, neglect, or breach of
duty committed by an Insured Person in their capacity as such or in their
Outside Capacity, or, with regard to Insuring Agreement (C) an Insured
Entity; or (2) matter claimed against an Insured Person, solely by reason of
4
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 5
their serving in such capacity, including service in an Outside Capacity.”
Id.
Two days after the Campbell Action was filed, TCT “submitted the
Campbell [] Action as a claim for coverage under” its policy. Aplt. App. XII
at 12. Twin City denied coverage, citing the insured v. insured exclusion
amongst other reasons that are not relevant on appeal. TCT and Twin City
were unable to resolve their coverage disagreement despite correspondence
throughout the litigation of the Campbell Action. TCT therefore paid its
own defense fees and costs related to the Campbell Action.
Following the denial of coverage, TCT filed suit against Twin City in
the District of Wyoming, bringing claims for declaratory judgment, breach
of contract, and bad faith. The parties filed cross-motions for summary
judgment. The district court granted summary judgment in favor of Twin
City on all claims, holding that Twin City had no duty to defend the lawsuit
against TCT because coverage was barred by the insured v. insured
exclusion and because a carve out did not apply. 1 The district court also held
that a carveout similarly did not apply to the subsequent amendment to the
1On appeal, TCT challenges the district court’s ruling on the
declaratory judgment claim. The district court noted in its order that the
parties did not brief the breach of contract claim during summary judgment.
And TCT does not make any arguments as to the district court’s decision on
the bad faith claim on appeal. We therefore do not address the district
court’s rulings as to these two other claims.
5
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 6
Campbell Action complaint that added defendant Harper because the
amendment did not constitute a separate claim from the originally filed
complaint. This appeal timely followed.
II
This appeal requires us to interpret coverage under TCT’s insurance
policy. We review a district court’s rulings on cross-motions for summary
judgment de novo, apply the same standard as the district court, and view
any inferences to be drawn from the record “in the light most favorable to
the party that did not prevail[.]” Allen v. Sybase, Inc., 468 F.3d 642, 649
(10th Cir. 2006) (quotation omitted); see also D.K. v. United Behavioral
Health, 67 F.4th 1224, 1235 (10th Cir. 2023). Here, we view inferences to
be drawn from the record in the light most favorable to TCT.
In this diversity suit, we apply the substantive law of the forum state
(here, Wyoming) and federal procedural law. Racher v. Westlake Nursing
Home L.P., 871 F.3d 1152, 1162 (10th Cir. 2017). When applying state
substantive law, we follow the decisions from the state’s highest court and
look to the decisions of the state’s lower courts, the district courts, and other
state courts, for guidance in predicting what the highest court would do if
there is no controlling authority. Wade v. Emcasco Ins. Co., 483 F.3d 657,
665–66 (10th Cir. 2007).
6
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 7
Under Wyoming law, interpreting an insurance policy is a question of
law, with courts interpreting insurance policies just as any other contract,
beginning with the plain language. Memorial Hosp. of Sweetwater Cnty. v.
Menapace, 404 P.3d 1179, 1182 (Wyo. 2017). Courts may not consider
extrinsic evidence in absence of an ambiguous contract term. Doctors’ Co. v.
Ins. Corp. of Am., 864 P.2d 1018, 1024 (Wyo. 1993). “Because insurance
policies represent contracts of adhesion where the insured has little or no
bargaining power to vary the terms, if the language is ambiguous, the policy
is strictly construed against the insurer.” Id. (citations omitted).
Insurers have a duty to defend the insured against lawsuits, which is
broader than their duty to indemnify. Insurers have the duty to defend any
alleged claim, which on the face of the complaint, “rationally falls within
the policy coverage.” Shoshone First Bank v. Pacific Employers Ins. Co.,
2 P.3d 510, 513 (Wyo. 2000) (citations omitted).
On appeal, TCT challenges the following rulings of the district court:
(1) that the insured v. insured exclusion applies; (2) that the former
manager carve out did not apply to the Campbell Action; (3) that the
allocation provision does not allow for splitting the Campbell Action into
covered and excluded Claims; and (4) that the addition of Harper as a
defendant to the Campbell Action in February 2016 arose out of the same
Wrongful Act and thus also was excluded from coverage.
7
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 8
We will proceed to analyze each contention, noting that on appeal
there is no dispute between the parties that: (1) Campbell and the
individual defendants in the Campbell Action are Insureds; (2) TCT is an
Insured Entity; (3) Campbell is a former Manager and security holder of
TCT; (4) all members of the class in the Campbell Action are security
holders of TCT; (5) the Campbell Action is an Insured Person Claim and an
Entity Claim, and (6) the Campbell Action arose from an alleged Wrongful
Act.
A
TCT’s first argument is that the district court erred by misapplying
the insured v. insured exclusion in the policy. As modified to reflect the
parties to this case, the insured v. insured exclusion states:
[Twin City] shall not pay Loss:
***
(H) in connection with any Claim brought or maintained by or on
behalf of any Insureds (in any capacity) [e.g., the Campbells] or
any security holder [e.g., the Campbells and all class members] of
an Insured Entity [TCT.]
Aplt. App. V at 122–23. It is undisputed that, as defined in the policy, the
Campbell Action is a Claim, Campbell and the individual defendants in the
Campbell Action are Insureds, and that TCT is an Insured Entity. Thus,
pursuant to the plain language of the policy, the Campbell Action is
excluded from coverage.
8
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 9
TCT argues that we should look beyond the plain language of the
policy and interpret this exclusion to only bar coverage when there is
evidence of collusion or of bitter disputes between board members. For this
proposition, TCT principally relies on a Seventh Circuit case, Level 3
Communications, Inc. v. Federal Insurance Company. 168 F.3d 956 (7th Cir.
1999). In Level 3, minority shareholders had brought a securities fraud
lawsuit against a company. Id. at 957. Later, a former director of the
company joined as a plaintiff. Id. at 957–58. The company’s D&O insurance
carrier subsequently denied coverage based on a similarly-worded insured
v. insured exclusion in the policy. After some discussion, the Seventh
Circuit affirmed the district court’s ruling that the claim arising out of the
securities lawsuit was excluded. Id. at 959. In doing so, it explicitly declined
to “read the ‘Insured versus Insured’ exclusion in light of its purpose,” which
was ostensibly to “exclude coverage both of collusive suits . . . and of suits
arising out of those particularly bitter disputes that erupt when members
of a corporate . . . family . . . fall to quarrelling.” Id. at 958 (citations
omitted). The Seventh Circuit arrived at this decision because “it [was]
apparent from the wording [the parties] chose” that they had opted for a
“simple, flat rule” that is easily applied rather than a “standard” that
“cannot be applied without a potentially costly, time-consuming, and
9
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 10
uncertain inquiry into the nature of the underlying dispute sought to be
covered.” Id. (citations omitted).
Thus, Level 3 was a textual analysis based upon the plain language of
the policy and a holding that cuts the other way from TCT’s argument in
this case. Indeed, TCT lacks any support for its argument that the insured
v. insured exclusion should be read to only bar coverage when there is
evidence of collusion or an intra-board “family feud.” Op. Br. at 23. The
policy language doesn’t include those words. Under Wyoming law, we
interpret the terms of insurance policies according to their plain language
absent an ambiguous term, which TCT does not identify here. Menapace,
404 P.3d at 1182; Ins. Corp. of Am., 864 P.2d at 1024. The district court was
correct to find that the Campbell Action was excluded from coverage under
the policy’s insured v. insured exclusion.
B
Finding the Campbell Action falls under the insured v. insured
exclusion, our next task is to determine whether a carveout from the
exclusion applies. The insured v. insured exclusion contains eight
carveouts, but only one is pressed by TCT on appeal. It reads:
The insurer shall not pay Loss:
***
(H) in connection with any Claim brought or maintained by or on
behalf of any Insureds (in any capacity) or any security holder of
10
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 11
an Insured Entity, provided that this exclusion shall not apply to
the portion of Loss directly resulting from:
***
(5) a civil proceeding by or on behalf of a former Manager who has
not served in such capacity for at least one year prior to such Claim
being made, provided that such Claim is made without the
assistance, participation or solicitation of any current Manager or
any Former Manager who has served in such capacity during the
one year prior to such Claim being made[.]
Aplt. App. V at 122–23.
TCT argues that this “former manager” carveout applies here,
asserting that Campbell did not serve in the capacity of a director less than
a year before the lawsuit was filed. A brief revisit of the acquisition closing
timeline is appropriate here.
TCT’s final board meeting was December 16, 2014. The board was
formally dissolved on December 31, 2014, pursuant to a board resolution
unanimously passed at the final board meeting. Campbell filed his lawsuit
on December 28, 2015. A common-sense understanding of this timeline is
that Campbell served in his capacity as a TCT director until the board was
dissolved on December 31, 2014, and thus his lawsuit, brought on
December 28, 2015, was less than a year after he ceased to serve in such
capacity. This understanding means, upon application of the plain language
of the policy, the Campbell Action cannot be carved out from the insured v.
insured exclusion pursuant to the former manager carve out.
11
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 12
TCT asserts that the phrase “serv[ing] in such capacity” has a
different meaning that should be read in favor of the insured. That is, TCT
says this phrase means “actively” serving in the capacity of a director, which
means Campbell would have ceased serving in his capacity as director
following the final board meeting on December 16, 2014, where Campbell
took his last active action as a director by voting on the resolution to
dissolve the board. Conveniently, under this interpretation, that also means
the Campbell Action was filed just over a year after Campbell ceased to
serve as a director and should be carved out from the insured v. insured
exclusion.
TCT’s argument does not persuade. First, Wyoming courts do not read
plain policy language in favor of the insured as TCT asserts – they only read
ambiguous language in favor of the insured. See Ins. Corp. of Am., 864 P.2d
at 1024. “In the absence of any ambiguity,” as here, “the contract will be
enforced according to its terms because no construction is appropriate.”
Gumpel v. Copperleaf Homeowners Association, Inc., 393 P.3d 1279, 1290
(Wyo. 2017) (quoting Claman v. Popp, 279 P.3d 1003, 1013 (Wyo. 2012)).
Second, TCT’s preferred interpretation of serving in the capacity of a
director is contrary to “the plain meaning that a reasonable person would
give” to that phrase. Id. (quoting Claman, 279 P.3d at 1013). A general
description of the role of a director and some examples are helpful in
12
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 13
illustrating this point. Directors serve for a period or terms, and they meet
as a board periodically. Sometimes, board meetings are scheduled and
routine, other times they are special, unscheduled meetings. Directors may
have other jobs and generally take action as directors at board meetings
only. By the very nature of the role of director, there are some, in TCT’s
words, “dead duck” periods of their service. Op. Br. at 29.
TCT would have us interpret the policy language to mean that
directors only serve in such capacity during the limited time when they
meet and act as directors. This contention fails the commonsense test. Take
this counterfactual for example – if a special board meeting had been called
on December 29, 2014, less than a year prior to Campbell’s lawsuit,
Campbell would have had to attend that meeting as a director because he
was to continue to serve out his term until December 31, 2014, when the
board was formally dissolved. Whether a special board meeting was called
or not is not the point; the point is that he continued to serve as a director
until the date his resignation became effective, even if no meetings were
called or action required during that short period of time.
Another example comes to mind. Consider an officeholder who is
serving in office and who serves the remainder of the term in office following
an election in which they are defeated. This officeholder remains in the
position until the moment their successor takes office despite being a “lame
13
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 14
duck” after losing that election. This officeholder does not cease serving in
office just because the end of the term is contemplated or just because they
may not take much, if any, action during the remaining months of the term.
Having no legal support for its argument, TCT provides a selection of
dictionary definitions for the word “serve” to bolster their contention that
the word “connote[s] some activity.” Op. Br. at 29. But these definitions do
not counsel a reading that differs from the common sense understanding of
the word in this context. Even so, TCT quotes definitions of “serve” as “to
work through or complete a period of service,” “be of service or use,” or “meet
requirements or needs.” Id. (emphasis added). TCT’s former board
completed its period of service when it was dissolved. Its members met
requirements or needs and were of service or use by sheer existence, in the
event of an unforeseen need for board action between the final board
meeting and the dissolution of the board. These definitions simply do not
require constant activity on the part of the person who serves.
Campbell served in his capacity as director until TCT’s board was
dissolved on December 31, 2014, and therefore the Campbell Action, filed
December 28, 2015, does not fall under the former manager carve out to the
insured v. insured exclusion.
14
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 15
C
We now consider TCT’s argument that some smaller portion of the
Campbell Action can be allocated coverage under the policy. In support of
its argument, TCT again relies on Level 3. The policy in Level 3 had an
insured v. insured exclusion that “exclude[d] liability on account of any
‘Claim made against an Insured Person’ if the Claim [was] ‘brought or
maintained by or on behalf of any Insured.’” 168 F.3d at 957. The lawsuit
had been brought against a company and one of its directors by six of its
shareholders, so it was not subject to the insured v. insured exclusion.
However, a former director was later added as a plaintiff to the lawsuit,
rendering the entire lawsuit subject to the exclusion. Id. at 957–58. The
Seventh Circuit, after finding the claim was excluded from coverage under
the plain language of the policy’s insured v. insured exclusion, separately
held that the language of the allocation clause in the policy meant that the
lawsuit as a whole could be split into covered and uncovered claims, with
loss being allocated to the covered claims only. Id. at 960. This, the Seventh
Circuit said, would avoid “the odd result that a claim fully covered when
made could become fully uncovered when another plaintiff was permitted
to join it.” Id.
Here, TCT argues that most class members in the Campbell Action
were only security holders, not former officers or directors like Campbell,
15
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 16
and so those class members’ claims should be considered covered under the
policy. But, unlike the language of the policy in Level 3, the insured v.
insured exclusion in TCT’s policy applies to Insureds and to “any security
holder of an Insured Entity[.]” Aplt. App. V at 123. Therefore, TCT’s
argument on this point also fails. All members of the class were at least
security holders of TCT, the Insured Entity. So, the insured v. insured
exclusion applies to the entire class by its plain terms. There is therefore
no need to decide how the allocation clause in the policy operates because it
is inapplicable in this case.
D
TCT’s final argument is that the addition of Harper, TCT’s former
CFO, as a defendant in February 2016 should be considered a covered claim.
Specifically, TCT argues that Harper’s addition would fall under the former
manager carveout since the lawsuit was brought against him over a year
after he ceased to serve in his capacity as an officer. We note again that,
when the complaint was amended to add Harper as a defendant, no new
claims were added to it.
The district court was not persuaded by TCT’s argument because the
plain text of the policy states that “[a]ll Claims based upon, arising from or
in any way related to the same Wrongful Act or Interrelated Wrongful Acts
shall be deemed to be a single Claim for all purposes under this Policy first
16
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 17
made on the earliest date that[] . . . any of such claims was first made.” Aplt.
App. V at 111. Wrongful Acts under the policy are “any actual or alleged[]
. . . error, misstatement, misleading statement, act, omission, neglect, or
breach of duty committed by an Insured Person in their capacity as such[.]”
Id. at 121. And Interrelated Wrongful Acts under the policy are “Wrongful
Acts that have as a common nexus any fact, circumstance, situation, event,
transaction, goal, motive, [or] methodology or cause[.]” Id. at 106.
Here, the Campbell Action consisted of several claims, primarily for
breach of fiduciary duty, brought collectively against TCT and its directors
and officers. Again, that complaint was later amended to add Harper, a
former officer, without adding additional claims or facts. The allegations
brought against Harper were the same as those originally brought against
TCT and the other individual defendants, and therefore “arose from” the
same Wrongful Act underlying the Campbell Action. The plain language of
the policy required that the amendment to add Harper be “deemed to be a
single Claim . . . first made” on December 28, 2015, the date the Campbell
Action alleging the Wrongful Act was filed. Id. at 111.
TCT once more tries to avoid the plain language of the policy by
arguing that the claims against Harper constituted a separate Wrongful Act
because a Wrongful Act refers to an act by “an” Insured, not “any” Insured
17
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 18
– meaning that Wrongful Acts are person specific. 2 Even assuming TCT’s
distinction is correct, it has no answer for the fact that the Interrelationship
of Claims provision groups all claims “arising from or in any way related to
the same Wrongful Act or Interrelated Wrongful Act.” Aplt. App. V at 111
(emphasis added). So even if claims brought against Harper are a separate
Wrongful Act from claims brought against TCT, for instance, the claims
against Harper are related to the claims brought against TCT because they
arose from the acquisition and are based on the entirely same set of facts
using entirely the same legal theories. And because the policy plainly states
that claims relating to the same Wrongful or Interrelated Wrongful Acts are
to be deemed one Claim first made on the earliest date that any of the claims
were first made, the Campbell Action, even as amended to add Harper, is
one Claim first made on December 28, 2015. Therefore, the February 2016
amendment to the Campbell Action remained completely excluded from
coverage under the insured v. insured exclusion.
2 TCT also attempts to avoid the unambiguous plain language of the
terms by appealing to policy arguments. Policy arguments cannot overcome
the plain reading of unambiguous contract language. See Copperleaf
Homeowners Association, Inc., 393 P.3d at 1290 (“In the absence of any
ambiguity, the contract will be enforced according to its terms[.]” (quotation
omitted)).
18
Appellate Case: 26-8007 Document: 31-1 Date Filed: 11/03/2026 Page: 19
AFFIRMED.
Entered for the Court
Richard E.N. Federico
Circuit Judge
19